Honda CR-Z set for November introduction in Malaysia

It’s confirmed – the photo snapped of it last week suggested its arrival was on the cards, and now Honda Malaysia has announced that the CR-Z will be introduced to the Malaysian market in early November, making us the first country in Southeast Asia to launch the vehicle. No word with regards to specs and pricing on the three-door hatch though.

The CR-Z, which is equipped with a 1.5 litre LEA i-VTEC four-cylinder mill and Honda’s Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) hybrid-electric system, with 122 hp and 174 Nm for output numbers, will be the second Honda hybrid currently available here, following the Insight, which was launched at KLIMS in December last year. Until next month, then!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• bring it on..

• nice car~~ hopefully in a reasonable price

• “The CR-Z, which is equipped with a 1.5 litre LEA i-VTEC four-cylinder mill and Honda’s Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) hybrid-electric system, with 122 hp and 174 Nm for output numbers, will be the second Honda hybrid currently available here, following the Insight, which was launched at KLIMS in December last year.”

Correct me
      I thought that CR-Z will be the third hybrid by Honda in Malaysia
      1st – Civic Hybrid
      2nd – Insight
      3rd – CR-Z

• Civic Hybrid has been discontinued. So, currently, Honda M’sia offering only 2 Hybrid models.

• Arca,

Its quite a different between second and two
          Do you means that if the Insight has been discontinued,
          CR-Z will be the first hybrid model?

• agreed with you

• Timmy on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm

This is really looking up on hybrid car market here…. BRING IT ON !!!

• Johan Ahmad on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:50 pm

Don’t be too happy about the tax incentives given for hybrid cars when 99% of Malaysians are suffering paying extreme high prices for their cars. The bullshit budget, which the main stream media was singing praises the next day, has absolute no idea how peope are suffering paying a large proportion of their pay for their cars and fuel.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm

without the tax exemption, the Japanese CBU cars would’ve cost 100% more. the budget is not about reducing car tax, if reducing car tax is the main agenda, gov could have easily reduce tax on proton and perodua cars (37% excise, plus 10% sales tax now). but i think the exemptions on hybrid cars is to fulfil gov pledge to reduce carbon emission to 40% by 2020. it will also reduce fuel subsidy. proton could start producing Exora and Saga electric by next year, without excise and sales tax, these cars could really gain big number on sales.

• Feast on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Reduce carbon emission my foot. How much emission can that ‘few’ hybrid reduce? They are not much different from most new cars today and higher tech cars like VW engines, Mazda Skyactive engines etc which have far better fuel economy than this so call ‘Hybrid’. Instead they should first tackle that crappy diesel which is the most polluted. Give us an option of Euro 5 diesel and we will get to enjoy far better fuel economy, much more cleaner and most importantly the humongous torque than this stupid cc hybrid.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm

the effort is there, even though it’s slow.
          euro5 diesel is expensive to produce, and even if gov provide euro5 diesel, how many cars running on diesel here? previously, road tax for diesel is 4 times higher than petrol but now has been reduced to be similar. diesel is also cheaper than petrol at pump, and even give much lower fc compared to petrol… but do you see many people adopting diesel engine cars? if gov introduce euro5 diesel at higher price now, maybe price of everything will increase due to increment in transport cost. or, offer two grade of diesel? again, not many cars with diesel engine so maybe not many station would offer euro5.. we can see less and less people pumping ron97now too.
          IMHO, hybrid and electric is the way to go, simply because diesel is still burning fossil fuel, but electricity can be produced from much cleaner sources.

• Feast on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:27 am

Get your fact right. Peoples are not adopting diesel engine cars because of this CRAP diesel here. There are so many fantastic diesel cars in Europe but they are not bringing in because this crap diesel will choke the hell out of the diesel cars. Hybrid is not burning fossil fuel?? They still need and in fact if they travel fast, consumption can be worst than non hybrid. and thats the fact.

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Interested in your facts regarding hybrid consume more fuel when travelling fast compared with conventional engine…

You’re pointless my friend…

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm

why do i have to explain everything in great details? can’t you think, feast? yes hybrid is also burning fossil fuel, but some hybrids could have their batteries charged from socket / plugged. so, hybrids too could run on ‘electric only’ mode.
            to me, hybrids are just bridging the gap between petrol and electric cars. i believe they’ll move to fully electric cars once the battery tech matured. it’s almost possible now to get 10,000km per charge and 20,000 charge cycle. which means even if you charge the battery every day, the battery could stil last for almost 55 years!

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:35 pm

sorry, not 10,000km, but 1000km per charge :)

• Actually Feast is correct. Hybrids does consume the same or in certain cases more fuel when driving fast or long drives. On the Prius the battery will cut off after 8km or 40km/hr. It then relies solely on the petrol engine. And the engine also has to recharge the batteries.

Hybrids shines when its driven in the city and start stop traffic situations when it can regen energy from braking etc etc.

As for plug in and charge electric cars. How do you think most of our power stations generate their electricity? Using fossil fuel of course. Unless we go nuclear (which has its own issues) do you think it will really help the environment?

IMO the real environment friendly cars will be powered by hydrogen fuel cells which is coming real soon.

• yeah right on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm

and how do u know that the diesel here is gonna choke European diesel engines…please back ur theories with facts…cuz i just always thought that most malaysians just prefer getting a petrol over a diesel variant

• Feast on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:32 pm

@yeah right. Get ur notebook, desktop, or iPad and go to google and type the diesel car model in Europe and look for minimum Euro diesel requirement. if you want to know more about diesel grade, come back here again. Sigh…

• Diesel Head on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm

True..hybrid is a transition to somewhere. Not to forget..it’s still using petrol engine with HUGE maintenance 5 years down the road..replacing the batteries and even those chargers. It has hidden cost which is far higher than the Euro 5 diesel engine. The way it’s now, there’s still a lot of hidden agenda the government is driving behind it. Since subsidies are reducing, why not open up the market giving latest standard diesel so we can make use of?

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:58 pm

You and your hidden agenda… my god… talk like u own a cracker plant…

Are you owning a hybrid car? since the comment on HUGE maintenance?

Are you ready to pay up to RM2.50 for euro5 diesel if they really want to bring it in + all the expenses? Refer to your close friend working in O&G.

Talk (in this case, type) is cheap.

• Wallstreet on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm

With the mileage and crazy torque, I will be more than willing to pay Rm2.50…that’s why the European are still happy to stick with diesel. Smarter than those who thought paying more up front for a hybrid will save them more while they drive like tortoise and hope for better fuel consumption..

• arcana on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

i’m sure alot of ppl would like to enjoy the benefits of diesel and lets say we do get a Euro 5 fuel? whats next? diesel influx? nope. coz this diesels are from european cars and they are expensive or premium which most cant afford.

secondly asian cars be it jap, korean or even chinese dont focus on diesels apart from suv or trucks. so we aint gonna get good diesel sedans even if u wanna import coz there’s none unless u import an asian diesel from euro itself…or u can try india which adores diesel cars perhaps?

• Feast on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:44 am

Most Japanese manufacturer produce diesel cars and its in the saloon as well. Please use your google. Mazda even beats the European with their recently launched Skyactive diesel which has the lowest compression diesel engine in the world and claimed fuel consumption of 4.6l/100km and thats even better than some hybrid cars. People always say Hybrid cars are cleaner. Yes, they may burn less fuel but have you thought of how the battery was produced? Its one of the major contribution to pollution. and how about disposing the old battery? Another major pollution which many have not thought of it.

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:05 pm

86% of green/harmful emission is emitted when u’re drive, compared to producing the car.

Yes u’ll argue the pollution will only be relocated to the battery manufacturing plant, assembly line etc, but they do have their TS16949. Its easier to regulate a group of people doing their work in one place, compared to regulate u, me, and everyone else when we’re behind the wheels, all over the world…..

• arcana on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:32 pm

i know most japs produce diesel cars….but it is not meant for asian market, its for the euro market and our jap models are based on asian makes, not euro….so we dont get to sample their diesels here at all, unless like i said, import a jap that comes from euro.

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

The world is going no where with such attitude..

• spyrers on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

If they are serious about emissions, the first thing they should start with is to get those vehicles (especially lorries) that are endlessly spewing black smoke, off the roads!!

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:07 pm

I have to second you…

• Ordinary Joe on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:14 am

The black smoke u see is soot, a diesel by product. Its no doubt nasty lookin and smellin, but its NOT a green house gas like CO2. It doesn’t contribute to the so called global warming.

• Booooo!

Your comment which include Protong Sampah is turning down my appetite! Nobody wants to know about it.

This thread is all about the most anticipated Honda CR-Z and please don’t compare your Protong Juara fuel efficiency with this beauty.

Let us Malaysians enjoy our short moments with exemplary tax on all hybrid cars.

• drMpower on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:06 pm

if it hadnt the slightest idea, i guess the petrol subsidy is already gone by now
      30-40 billion is expensive figure u know it

i am a fan of floating fuel system
      the world market determines it
      they go up we go up
      they go down we go down

• PakAbu on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:40 pm

I am also for floating fuel system (world price?).

But if Mofaz’s figures above are anything to go by… 47% tax on *local* cars? Come on…. that’s already burning a hole in my pocket every single month.

Imagine if the tax is only 10% total. A RM 55k Myvi will only cost RM 40k.

Interest payable you save by not paying for that extra RM 15k is already Rm 2,250 (assuming 5 years @ 3%). Not to mention that extra 15k tax of course.

Yes, float the price of fuel. But reduce the tax as well. The billions that the government is supposedly spending on the “subsidi kerajaan” can more than make up for the loss in taxes for automobiles.

Of course the changes can’t be drastic. But I don’t see clear movement towards that direction.

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:10 pm

economy is not as simple as 1,2,3… they might not ready to implement that yet, maybe slowly as they do not want drastic changes in our livehood also…
          car taxes contributed about RM3-4bil annually, but petroleum subsidies is around RM18bil. by everyone’s logic, gov could’ve reduced car taxes and remove subsidy, saving RM15bil every year, but why gov doesn’t do that? the reason is simple, we’re not ready for world’s price on petrol yet because of our percapita income. car price reduction will only benefit certain people who enjoy changing cars so often, but increament on petrol price will affect the whole malaysia including those who can’t even afford a car. simple, right?
          take a look on UK, car taxes are low, but the tax on petrol is the highest in the world even though they produced twice as much our petroleum output. you’ll need to pay 170% of tax for every litre you pump into your car in UK! Australia and Singapore also have tax on petrol. See, reduction on 1 tax would probably increase the other tax…

• TurboMan on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:52 pm

No mention about the fact that malaysia is an oil producing country?

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:52 pm

dude, i mentioned that UK is producing twice the amount of petroleum produced in Malaysia… doesn’t that tell anything to you?
            so yes, it means Malaysia is oil producing country!

• chevy owner on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:25 pm

do you actually know how much produce per day…trust me..its not that much k…it just got the quality n not the quantity..

• oil producing does not mean we have so much oil…singapore is good example non oil producer but profit from oil refine process..they r bigger exporter of process crude oil..they r top 20 oil exporter 19th to be exact..they export bout 1.3million barrel/day..malaysia export 0.64million barrel/day..malaysia produce 0.66million bbl/day sing merely 10k bbl/day…sing is the 10th largest oil importer bout 2million bbl/day, we r 30th 330k bbl/day……..produce oil does not mean big oil exporter singapore has proved it their export bigger than malaysia/indonesia combine

• “take a look on UK, car taxes are low, but the tax on petrol is the highest in the world even though they produced twice as much our petroleum output.”

• Feast on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:18 am

and why did you think we are not ready for world price? Our per capita is low because of our G sucked the hell out of us. and you want to compare Singapore oil price with us? Their per capita income is 56K and ours 14K. and their oil price is S$2.10 and ours RM1.90. So which one you prefer, earn S$10K and pay S$2.10/liter or earn RM2500 and pay RM1.90/liter? So what say u now? Start comparing us with Zimbabwe, Namibia, Kenya again?

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:47 pm

So u’re foreseeing your company will increase your salary overnights, the moment after government announced excise duty exemption for cars + float the fuel price? No my friend. It far more complex than that.

If you’re a government servant, then its good for you. Salary can increase overnight. But for the rest of us whom striving to survive everyday, such changes will only kill us.

The best is look for alternative. Since fossil fuel wont move us forever, investing in alternative energy such as electric hybrid and subsequently electric vehicle is the only way forward. Yes the technology is still very far, but we are stepping into the right direction. Even the G already thinking of nuclear powerplant that is far more efficient than coal or hydro plant, and should be safe, provided we are competent enough to handle it.

Even the ‘rare earth’ that somebody/some group politicize recently (remember the Lynas issue) contains thorium that can be a safe nuclear powerplant fuel compared to UOX though still need some study. But with the material in hands, some investment in nuclear technology, we could have electric as clean, efficient and hopefully cheap to move and shine our descendants.

We are thinking of our child and grandchild and so on. Getting euro5, getting cheap fuel, cheap cars, is just for us now. What about them and the future?

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm

dude, you and your closed mindset will not get you anywhere…
            i work in SG. you think you can easily earn S$10k here? come to SG and try it for yourself.
            average income is S$4k, small apartment would easily costs about S$500,000, rental for whole apartment costs more than S$2k. cars are taxed more than 100%, plus COE now about S$50k….
            ok, forget about the car as they have good MRT system. still, rental would easily consume 50% of average salary. and deduction of CPF (only if you’re singaporean or PR) is 20% here. only 30% left, which is about S$1k… enough for foods, cloths, ultilities and bills?
            senior citizen could easily lepak in kampung after they retired in Malaysia, but it’s a common sight to see senior citizen sweeping floor and continue working here… can’t afford anything if they ‘retire’…

• klata-klata on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:55 am

CPF with matching employer contributions is very significant forced savings, but can be unlocked towards purchase of a home. Housing loans and Income taxe are significantly lower in Singapore.

Due to labor shortage, Singapore encourages hiring of senior citizens who are willing to work, otherwise go retire in Iskandar or Camerons.

• I’d prefer they do the same with clean diesel car. i think diesel cars are better in terms of fuel efficiency compared to petrol hybrid. look at VW bluemotion for example. Hybrid is so much more expensive that diesel, both short and long term…

• bobdbilder on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

The last time I saw the hierarchy of needs, there wasn’t a car in there. The other time I look at lists of human rights, guess what? No cars. Its not a need people. Its a WANT.

People have a choice of buying new or used cars and live with it. Not buying cars which we can’t afford just for the sake of image. If you buy a car that you cannot afford to pay and let alone feed it, you are digging your own grave.

I cannot share your pain. Coz I see loads of expensive, overpriced AND slow cars on the road everyday. A certain 90K 1.5l car comes to mind and its everywhere. If people drive these kind of cars, why should we feel grief?

The savings in fuel money is VERY subjective to the point you will not get your ROI. The savings in CO2 is down the drains after a volcano erupts. Its a ploy and people are falling for it left right center.

• gigganet on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Agreed on lower car taxes but i prefer to have a managed float of petrol price. As a developing country, we cannot afford to fully float petrol prices. World prices can be manipulated. Any sudden jump in prices will cripple small economies. Also, the prices of hybrid cars are in the upper segment. Who benefits? To see people paying 9 years loan for the cheapest car in the market is really troubling.

Subsidies are not as bad as it’s is hyped up to be. It is a very useful and strategic mechanism to run an economy. It is the abuse that needs to be addressed.

• alistair lim li wei on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm

onli comes in 2 door?

• Car driver on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Luv it except that it is 2 door. Can we have the 4 door version too!

• There is no 4 door version, its not just 2 door, but also 2 seater..

• calvint78 on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:16 pm

its 2 dr 4 seater bro, i seen with my own eye in singapore. but the rear seat really cant seat adult, maybe kid boleh. manyak sempit or!

• There is no 4 door version, not just 2 door, but 2 seater as well..

• An651 on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm

the 4-door version called Civic Hybrid. Bro… this car has CR-X gene.

CR-X only have 2 doors since it was born in 1984. CR-X is always a driver’s car because of very unconfortable rear seat. And Honda produce a straight 2 seater car called CRX Del-Sol. Some people called it Civic Del-sol as it shared parts with Civic during that era.

The new CR-Z follows back CR-X legendary lines & weight kept at minimum level.
      *Gosh… I can read wikipedia. Ha ha!

• Will it be another cheap made like insight which has super plasky interior and small cabin space?

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

So your car is made of 100% steel, and big, hmmm… interesting…. let me guess… a tank is it… :p

• Wallstreet on Oct 18, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Ppl are talking about cheap plastic interior and u here talking about steel and tank…sigh.Malaysia Boleh.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Two door car, limited market ………………….

• Hope the price will be reasonable.

• Area51LE on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:56 pm

I wonder what would the price be ? :hmmph:

• Expatriate VN on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:57 pm

This 2-door should be price lower than Insight! Then laku sikit. However, our NAP tax is hostile to all non national makes.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm

The CR-Z is a hot hatch, not a family car. Hot hatches are always more expensive than typical family cars. Period.

• 2 doors??..only a boy racer would buy that, family guy wont even consider that

• chenslmy on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Cann’t wait to see the real car…sure over 100 k to 120 k.

• Area51LE on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:15 pm

But i thought there is no tax for hybrid cars?? Correct me if I’m wrong =X

• I think the tax is exempted only for excise duty tax.

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Excise duty : 0%
        Import : 0%
        Sales tax : 10%

Honda is making big money.

• Kraven on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Heard pricing would be around 120-130k region.. Putting it in the polo gti range.. Hmmmm 120k for 120hp n crap torque or top up a lil bit for vw dsg twin charged polo? No rocket science there for me

• benedict on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Dude its a hybrid..wan fast car go for VW..wan car but still wan do part for environment then get it..but u all drive a proton anyway..

• the fuel consumption for crz

Japanese fuel economy ratings are 4.0 litres per 100 kilometres (59 mpg-US) for CVT and 4.4 litres per 100 kilometres (53 mpg-US) for MT in 10•15 mode; and 4.4 litres per 100 kilometres (53 mpg-US) for CVT and 4.9 litres per 100 kilometres (48 mpg-US) for MT in JC08 mode.[8]

The 2011 CR-Z U.S. EPA ratings are 31 miles per US gallon (7.6 L/100 km; 37 mpg-imp) for city and 37 miles per US gallon (6.4 L/100 km; 44 mpg-imp) for highway with manual transmission. The model with CVT transmission has a rating of 35 miles per US gallon (6.7 L/100 km; 42 mpg-imp) for city driving cycle and 39 miles per US gallon (6.0 L/100 km; 47 mpg-imp) for highway.[21]

Quoted wiki

In comparison, the polo gti sips 5.9L/100km

wow!

• Bertzz on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

more than likely its only available in manual transmission.. bringing in auto will crash their insight sales definitely if priced at 120k

• Carl Wong on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Not necessarily, different size, different segment, different market. And that’s more than 20K difference in price.

• khairibad on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

VW Golf R (260bhp) is RM120k in US. Just saying.

• looks fast………. tapi lambat nya
    meh

yes i know its a hybrid. but why make it look so sporty then
    … and its suppose to be a cr-x replacement….
    Not wanting to be a basher but sorry, this car just doesnt make sense to me
    but i guess some people wants a slow, sporty looking car =/

• Hazeman Lukman on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Well you got it spot on. it is intended to just LOOK sporty. if 122hp is considered in sports car territory then i think 95% of the cars in malaysia can be considered a sport car. and not to mention 1200+kg is not really what you can consider light. but considering todays car standard with the safety features and all it weighs good.

but if they were to put a turbocharged engine then thats a different story altogether..

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Its not a conventional engine. Its different in power transfer. Yes its looks ridiculous in spec but if you’re spec incline geek then its your lost.

The electric unit is what making wonders. High torque and timely usage of it. Please test drive it once its available. You’re in for a big shock.

• So shall we buy it from u? Mr Honda salesman?

• So how does this compare to the Peugeot 308T, Polo GTi or Golf TSi in terms of power and torque? Looks sporty only but moves like a snail.

• Wisdom on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm

You’ll be surprise with the ‘magical’ acceleration……

• You mean this car is like the Harry Potter’s flying car?

• in europe, this CRZ having a hard time against the green & frugal golf GTD (more powerful)

• Hey Honda, any plan to bring in jazz hybrid?

• Wall Net on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm

More rubbish cars from Honda..I rather buy Kia Forte Koup more sporty and no gimmick about Hybrid technology that until now still umproven the reliability on it. You need to change every 3-5 years huge of hybrid parts that cost more than 10k something that not cost efficient at all. Get Kia Koup or Polo.

• Wall Net,

Could you please share with us what is the parts that cost 20k-30k in 9 years loan that you are saying

• Diesel Head on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm

That’s what you can see now..what happens if government decided to make batteries import duties of 100% because there’re some GLC producing substandard batteries for the replacement? Many possibilities..so dont bet that the saving you have now will give you years of trouble free and subsequently decent resale value.

• benedict on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:30 am

U stupid or what not reliable..have proof la u stupid kia salesman.,salesman duno anything..go sell ur cheap ass kia..

• Shaycoat on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:38 pm

heard this car from Honda SP. the price is RM125k. With the price, i am thinking that honda can only sell 100 per year. please be reasonable for next car launch…

• RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm

RM125K? damn, waste my expectation. Rm125K can buy so much more car than this…i hoping it around Rm100K…2nd car :P

• i will ask honda to do a 1.3 cr-z for you at rm99K

• An651 on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Hahaha! Good one CK. Dont forget 0.5 Brio Hybrid also. They can seel it like 30k sahaja :p

• maserati on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:42 pm

Some fella comparing a crz and a polo gti. Hello! Its not called a hybrid for nothing! Besides polo gti waiting list is so damn long. You book now, maybe middle next year only get car.

This crz is gonna top the sales chart again, just watch!

• MoFaz on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:37 pm

maserati is honda salesman

• OMG..CRZ gonna be top sales chart? Maybe more appropriate is CRZ gonna be top of Hybrid car sales chart. I expect the pricing will between Prius and Insight.

• arcana on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:01 pm

long live the dream of topping the sales charts….a 2 door is always serving its niche market hence small number of sales. u dont see satria neos topping sales charts at 1/2 the price of the honda, do u?

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:24 pm

i hate to say this… but malaysian would buy cars based on what they can afford… they dont care about segmen a b c d fg hi jk….

if they have 120k… they’ll consider polo, 308 turbo, crz and even altis…. they give a lil damn about tech and so on…. thats the way malaysian buy cars… like it or not

• drgn86 on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:42 pm

If memory serves me right, this CR-Z should be around the same price as the Insight, refer to their prices in Japan and US and see for yourselves…

• arcana on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:28 pm

hopefully it is, but since this car’s demand is quite limited due to its 2 door nature, its likely to priced higher as honda wanna earn more for every car sold and maintain its exclusivity just like Freed and Jazz which is like 15-25k more than a similar powered City.

my guess is around RM120k which is 20k premium over Insight.

• An651 on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Correct me if I am wrong:
        Malaysia is the only country where Scirocco is MORE expensive than a Golf; given same engine used.
        Tax structure for 2-door cars is higher than 4-door. Eventhough with the specs valued around Insight’s cost, it may not be RSP in our 1Malaysia (except labuan & langkawi)

• MoFaz on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:30 pm

AFAIK, tax only based on engine capacity (cc)… also based on country of origin.

• But hybrid cars do not have tax apart from the 10% sales:)

For CRZ and Insight, I think it is purely a pricing strategy.

• lkhoe on Oct 17, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Don’t you mean third hybrid car from Honda? You forgot abt the Honda Civic Hybrid.

• sr paul on Oct 17, 2011 at 5:45 pm

2dr car for 100k ? i better ops for zx6r or zx10r

• Only manual will come out….

• Calvin Foo on Oct 17, 2011 at 6:15 pm

I am reserving my Year-End Bonus for this baby

• Small H badge car with 2 doors and 2+2 seat ….should be <90k only…more than that is what we call overprice. This is H, its japanese, not european, not german…nuff said

• nice car

• tubik racer on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:05 pm

how bout ford focus tdci?

• Young wankers can’t afford it. Old farts find it pointless. Such 3-dr hatch is a non-starter with the majority.

• Simon Ng on Oct 18, 2011 at 8:53 am

Dude. You never know. Nowadays, young wankers are quite willingly to spent money. Have you not noticed? Many C class, 3 series, A4 are driven by them.

• RadzLee on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm

no need polo GTi. cheaper Polo Tsi can beat the crap out of this car when it comes to performance, fuel consumption and practicallity. of course these 2 sits on a different places when it comes to design but i’ll definitely spend my hard earn money for polo…

• deftones on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm

i dont know why so many ppl dreaming to have polo..polo is like kancil / kelisa in their country..u want to spend your hard earn money for that?? they drive polo for wet market and you drive polo for the brand name..

at least this cr-z is not threaten as cheapskate car in japan..the chasis has some serious capability..unlike polo i doubt if you can go more than 200 stabily..

• Medic on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Another retarded comment…So,in Msia we have taxis using Mercedes,does this make it a cheapskate car?In Italy,they use Lamborghini as police car,does this makes it a cheapskate car?If u use even 10% of ur brain,i’m sure u wouldn’t comment like this.

Why u wanna go 200km/h in Msia?Please drive safely &race on the track only.Can Honda CRZ even reach 180km/h?No need to compare to polo then…

• DSG for wet market
        HAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHA

sorry

• What an idiotic comment.

if Polo is like kancil/kelisa in germany, what do you think kancil/kelisa or even crv be in Germany?

• bulletmaniac on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:56 am

polo is not a reliable car. crz is a reliable car. good luck.

• honta san on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:43 am

But sorry mate, VW polo is seriously ugly. Go get the Scirocco laa, its more fierce and that what a real car alike. OR buy this CRZ.

• Totally disgusting! Honda still haven’t establish it’s hybrid technology to a mature level yet but keep launching hybrid car. I really afraid all these Honda hybrid car will be thrown at roadside very soon.

• Wow ! Forte Koup is in “Big” trouble, CRZ will be their nightmare.

• TurboMan on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:49 pm

Different segment la.

Jolo, still haven’t grow up yet ka?

• RedBeanBun on Oct 17, 2011 at 8:52 pm

price! price! price! under Rm100K my 2nd car :)

• Carl Wong on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm

Different kind of blue compared to Insight, which I think they’re all beautiful. I would love to have a blue hybrid. Ya this is too small for me. Maybe the upgraded facelifted Insight with even better fuel efficiency and rear vision.

• VW Polo / Polo GTI would be a better option.

Cons:
    1. Better built
    2. More powerful
    3. More space
    4. Cheaper (Polo without GTI)
    5. 5 years warranty
    6. Four doors
    6. Brand prestige

More value for money getting the VW Polo if the CRZ going to be launched around RM110-RM130K.

• Calvin Foo on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Let’s talk about resell value then

• Medic on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Hybrid resale value ain’t proven yet.Expect it to be low as battery will be worn down by then &cost of new ones are astromical.As for VW..only Gti have been in the market long enough to see resale trend.A 5-6 yrs old Mark 5 Gti is still sold at 140k or higher(Damn good re-sale value).

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm

polo’s built quality is terrible. the car is made in south africa for starters. i really hope the gti is better built because my friend’s polo 1.4 is falling apart =(

• Kambing Gurun on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:57 pm

This is how a Honda should look like.

• That anemic puny lil 1.5 lump is a joke to begin with.

• Diesel Head on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:24 pm

This car doesnt sell well in Japan..at its current power output, it’s just a lively car to drive around than even consider hot at all. The only advantage probably is it’s greener than the 1980s Honda VTi models.

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:27 pm

bla bla bla….

hoi… how to say this car name eh?

CR zed
    or
    CR zee

hahaha

• Wisdom on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:38 pm

I’m comfortable enough to just call it CR jek..

• Calvin Foo on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Though I prefer UK English, but I like to call it See-Are-Zee,

CR-Zy sounds nicer rather than CR-Zek (awkward and doesn’t rhyme)

• ken dan on Oct 17, 2011 at 10:28 pm

All Stupid……………………….

• Now TurböMan, Forte & Vios is too different segment, did that stop Korean fanboy to compare it ? Malaysian like to compare base on pricing, this 2 will be priced at similar segment, Forte Koup is a DeadMeat for sure. Who want to be in a ciplak korean wannabe when they can get a Genuine Japanese Sporty Hatch, look at Vios sales by 6-7 folds of Forte dispite smaller size & less fancy stuff, Got the point ?

• honda kia on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:39 pm

i think the price is about 140k
    Honda insight is 1.3 and it cost 109k
    crz 1.5 will cost at least 130k
    since it is a “sport car” it will cost more
    i expect 140k for this “sport car” on the road

• stevy on Oct 17, 2011 at 11:43 pm

this car shd be around rm60k to fight with Myvi SE :)

• honda kia on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:28 am

i think the price is about 140k
    Honda insight is 1.3 and it cost 109k
    crz 1.5 will cost at least 130k
    since it is a “sport car” it will cost more
    i expect 140k for this “sport car” on the road .

• The insight and crz is priced the same in the usa, between US$19800 -USD23000.

So if honda malaysia price it at 99k then it is reasonable. Anything above RM105k is overpriced and ripping off the public!!!

• eurocarnut on Oct 27, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Last time I checked, the exchange rate from U$23000 is about MYR70000…. so 99k is not reasonable, its a rip off!! U$23k is retail price….

Duty free but not profit free. If what others are saying is true, Honda Msia asking for MYR120k then its highway robbery.

Govt promoting hybrid, companies taking advantage to make excessive profit. Same for Lexus Ct200h….

• Price will be RM118,000 – RM120,000.

Siapa sudah booked? Sila thumbs up post ni! :)

• VW Polo / Polo GTI would be a better option

Cons:
    1. Better built
    2. More powerful
    3. More space
    4. Cheaper (Polo without GTI)
    5. 5 years warranty
    6. Four doors
    6. Brand prestige

More value for money getting the VW Polo if the CRZ going to be launched around RM110-RM130K

• will be the second Honda hybrid currently available here, following the Insight, ? how about the civic hybrid ?

• That’s why the word “currently” is added there la bodoh. The Civic Hybrid is off the market. Haihhh…

• why u u guys bashing hybrid. u guys jealous and cant afford one ah? afraid of new technology taking on old tech a? want kia so get kia la, its a matter of preference, nobody who owns honda go and smackgobbled your poor choice of korean car. u want diesel get diesel lah, nobody stops u leh…at least the government has initiated some carbon emisson reducing steps, at least that something.

what kind of mentality u guys have

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm

What kind of mentality?

At the current state, hybrids are still immature technology. Eventually these will go the way of the dodo, replaced by full electric (once they figure out the battery technology) and for longer range, Hydrogen fuel cell.

That said, the synergy drive from Toyota is one step up from the IMA Honda is using. Too bad its more expensive but it is a proper hybrid.

In the meantime, if you want cleaner emissions, clean diesels are the way to go.

Carbon emissions reducing steps? how ’bout getting polutting busses and lorries off the road first, fix public transportation and fix ineffiecient and confusing jammed up road system.

I spend RM100/mth (my petrol bills are 500+ /mth) on petrol for the previlage of getting stuck in a jam. You think your Hybrid can do better? Try sitting in your car in a jam with no A/C, due to yer start stop….. and tell me how well that works.

• Fluid on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:41 am

This will no doubt be a all-looks-no-go car unless you got a K20 or B16 within reach…

• i thinik not worth the price if hit Rm120k, this car too small size, see in real life in euro, compare to
    size Polo gti = same , but polo have 2&4 door option, more headroom
    compare to power = u know it la , hybrid vs turbo…haha
    compare to FC = google it = not much differ 5.9L/100….lol
    Compare Price = if rate as rm120k ,is asking too much since oversea is differ 1k compare to insight
    Last maybe personal is stylish fight. that i think crz more Kakkoii

• richman on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:52 am

hey you cheapos….
    no money dont talk.. i’m getting this and i dont care how much it costs.
    why? because my father kaya la.

breathe in my expensive green CO2 you poor peoples… haha.

and ya.. the whole green thing is a scam. literally who cares, sooner or later, most of us wont be around in probably 50 years. so suck on that.

and ya… i’m rich too.

• An651 on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Richman…. can i be ur BFF? Sambil membuat muka comel Blink blink~

• CivicEK on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:01 pm

If its price 110-120k better pick normal civic huhu..
    It shud price 100k the most..
    Ahhh i like this hot hatch! :D

• izhar on Oct 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm

harap2..byk lg kete hybrid masuk msia lepas nih…byk choice skit..

• Kitolo on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:38 am

this technically should be RM6 – 8K more expensive than insight.. if you compare the prices from US.. but knowing the malaysian honda team, confirm capitalize on the “sports” concept and jack-up the price unreasonably.. but who can blame them.. no income no bonus wei!

• people exicted about hybrid because no exise duty only not about performance or technology

• These comments up here. Macam baca Malaysia Today. All car reviews, the comment below would be rants about how most can’t afford it.

• Kwame on Oct 22, 2011 at 6:01 pm

honda salesman in mid valley said only 100 units will be sold as market testing. all manual, no auto. price approx rm130k. auto only next year. good luck.