Toyota FCV-R – bringing hydrogen a step closer to reality

Toyota’s third concept for Tokyo will be the FCV-R (Fuel Cell Vehicle – Reality & Revolution), which it says is a practical, family-sized vehicle fuelled by hydrogen. The 4.7 metre-long sedan features seating for four and impressive luggage space, made possible by housing the fuel-cell beneath the specially-designed bodyshell.

Minimal details about it, but Toyota says the fuel cell stack, which includes a 70 MPa high-pressure hydrogen tank, is capable of giving the FCV-R a cruising range of approximately 692 km, measured under a Japanese JC08 test cycle. The company adds it expects to commercially launch a fuel cell vehicle by 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Fuel Cell is still the ultimate solution to replace soon to deplete fossil fuel.

I still prefer Honda FCX Clarity, this FCV-R remind me of the Predator.

• rush hour on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:18 pm

FCV-R?

FC stands for what, Funny-looking Car?

• Masked Ryder on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Liverpool FC, Chelsea FC, Arsenal FC….

FC = Fuel Cell, lah what else.

• vyseus on Nov 15, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Wohooo!!! nice develpement. At least we can expect it to be working correctly. Hydrogen FTW!

For traveling, definitely need this.

• well, don’t be too happy, because fuel cell ain’t cheap, 2nd is not really fully recyclable, 3rd is losses efficiency rapidly like batteries. 10,000 psi tank, is a pressure vessel, with malaysia driving standard, everyone is carrying a bomb LOL ….

well, don’t drive near me as i will be driving old bio-diesel engine …

• I was wondering what is holding back hydrogen fueled car for so long. Zero emission and economically runned. Mazda even have their RX8 running on hydrogen. Is that true some mentioned about hydrogen fueled car can explode easily?

• C~two on Nov 15, 2011 at 7:21 pm

still so long, honda fcx clarity is so long in front

• car gets into an accident. there goes a hydrogen boom obliterating everything on its path. lol.

ok enough with the jokes but i’m sure the car’s price is prohibitive for the mass.

• Nowadays without hybrid the latest car like Kia Forte or Fiesta also less fuel consumption no need hybrid. Boring lorh always talk about hybrid cars.

• BMW experimented with Hydrogen fuel in early 2000’s & even produced a 7 series in 2006 that runs on hydrogen (in an internal combustion engine).

Electric cars are not as green as everyone thinks. Marketing Dept sells the zero emission “green” bandwagon but fail to mention that manufacturing & disposal of batteries are so highly toxic that any so called gains in zero emissions are negated by the toxic manufacturing & disposal of batteries.

• jalan54 on Nov 15, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Hydrogen is the way to go,

• policeman on Nov 15, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Looks like a Honda Civic.

• Honda Power on Nov 15, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Honda FCX Clarity is the first hydogen fuel cell car in the world. It was launched in 2007. But it’s not for sale.

• Carl Wong on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Only selected people in California get to lease the FCX with 300 US dollars a month for 3 years.

• middels8088 on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm

FYI, To get hydrogen, you need to crack it from H20.. Which needs energy (more energy used to crack it compared the energy you get from combining hydrogen and oxygen) Meaning you still need other sources of energy to split the atoms… Showing that hydrogen is also a non zero emission energy source.. (Unless you use renewable energy to get the power to crack the hydrogen and oxygen apart)

• Abg O on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Renewable technology for cracking the hydrogen??? Nuclear power…? Bakun? Hehehehee…

• Abg O on Nov 15, 2011 at 11:24 pm

When hydrogen met oxygen, they will produce energy + Small ‘pop’ sound, (science form 3). When 10000psi hydrogen met oxygen around us… ‘Big pop’ la kot.. Hehehe (nuclear science)

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 16, 2011 at 6:08 am

confirms you failed SRP/PMR science…..but we already knew THAT! :P

• If 10000psi hydrogen mix with oxygen in a perfect mix.. then will ‘Big pop’. If is pure hydrogen, at most it’ll only burn (at the part where hydrogen meet oxygen). It’ll probably be like the Hindenburg Airship.. it didn’t explode.. it just got burned down..

FYI, your fuel will burn as well.. and produce nasty gasses while it burns..

• Carl Wong on Nov 16, 2011 at 10:24 am

Even though the chance is very low, some normal petroleum cars do start burning if there is a problem. I don’t understand why people forget that all our cars are carrying flamable liquid all the while, hello??!!!