Next Bike targets 300% sales growth for Ducati in Malaysia

Next Bike Sdn Bhd, the sole importer and distributor of Ducati motorcycles in Malaysia, is looking at a 300% sales growth this year following good response for their latest model, the Ducati Monster 795. The latest Monster, aimed at Asia, had its world debut in Malaysia last month. The RM59,900 naked bike is powered by a 803 cc L-twin 2-valve per cylinder Desmodromic air cooled engine, producing 87 hp and 78 Nm.

More than 200 units of the Monster have been sold just one month after its launch, a huge jump from the 50 Monsters Next Bike sold last year. In 2010, they shifted 120 units of Ducatis, bringing the total amount of Ducatis sold in Malaysia to over 1,000 units. This figure is expected to rise sharply with the relatively affordable Monster 795.

EICMA 2011 debutant Ducati 1199 Panigale is open for booking, coming soon

“We have planned out a variety of programmes to help boost the sale of Ducati bikes and within the next 12 months, more exciting Ducati models are expected to be introduced. One of the models is the 1199 Panigale that was recently launched in EICMA Italy and we have already started taking bookings,” revealed Naza Group Joint Executive Chairman, Datuk Wira Hj SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• junaidi on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:42 pm

HAHAHAH I was just gonna ask Paul on twitter if there’s gonna be any write up on Ducati’s new 795. Well, close enough.

• More and more people spending money on High End Bikes instead of cars now, saw those bikes everywhere now.

• perh!! Ducati 1199, please come with very good price…..

• mohsin on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm

The RM59,900 naked bike (Ducati Monster 795) is a great deal

• thinking to book or not the Ducati 795… hmmm~~~

• durararararara on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

awesome

• Phantom_Works on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:36 pm

the panigale will be assamble at thailand like the monster?

• estimosis on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:52 pm

What we need is reduction in taxes to make the superbikes more affordable…Kawasaki CKD of Versys and KTM on Duke reduce the price by almost 20%.

• Sarcastic Prick on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:32 am

The last thing we need is rempits getting access to superbikes.

• Which means evolution theory, aka sohai’s will die, will take place faster. :)

Just hope tat they dont drag innocent ppl with them.

• Mr. Biggy on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:54 pm

Gotta agree with Sarcastic, but there should be a good price point for 250cc bikes and below, should make it around RM15k, since such bike are good for commuting.

I hate the new generation of bikers, buying big bikes but riding with a smug face, short pants, cheap helmet and terrible attitude – they’re just rempits with bigger bikes. Riding a bike use to be the epitome of elegance and coolness and the embodiment of freedom. But now they’re more super-rempits tearing up the streets, with rude attitude towards other drivers and motorcyclist, revving their bike everytime they stop at the junction or the kopitiam. C’mon la, i don’t mean to brag but my HD can buy your bike twice.

I’m wanna preach more about being a real biker, but I’m sure I’ll get more thumbs down with this comment alone.

• ezwan on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Mr. Biggy,

since u own a HD,dont tell me HD owner dont even like revving when their at the kopitiam,junction,traffic light or while on convoy.most HD rider does that to compare superbikers.its even louder to compare the rest.and dont tell me if wanna go to kedai few blocks away,need to wear leathers pants kot.among big bikers(even HD owner also have certain bad attitude)so dont just simply wanna hentam rempits when their not even a rempit at all.i do hate all those rempits but not to xtend to kutuk everyone who rode a much smaller than ur HD.typical Boss attitude at work looking down others staff who earn much lesser.your lubang hidung to high level laa.dont self proclaim your a real biker.org gila pun tak mengaku gila.

• nighttrain on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:36 am

how am i suppossed to explain to my wife…

• not a car enthusiast on Nov 22, 2011 at 8:12 am

Just buy it. She’ll be mad. At the most, you’ll have to sleep on the sofa for a couple of nights. That’s a small price to pay to such a bike :-)

• ezwan on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:01 pm

just put some extra budget to buy what gurls/wifey loves most,jimmy choo shoe,diamonds or gold,etc.our bloody country full of corruption,whats make u think we cant do it on our own wife.theres always a price laa.

• Mpower on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:47 am

A ducati for 59k. The sexy red just seals your lip and you have nothing to say, lol!