India’s Premier Rio CRDI is a diesel-powered Kembara!

Miss the Perodua Kembara? Some might, but we reckon most don’t. Here’s something you might not know – the Kembara a.k.a. Daihatsu Terios is still on sale in India today, where it’s known as the Premier Rio. Billed as “India’s first compact SUV”, the Rio is available as a 1.2 petrol (77 PS/104 Nm) or a 1.5 turbodiesel with 65 PS and 152 Nm.

India’s car buyers have embraced diesel big time, but the Rio diesel hasn’t been selling well. That’s because the current oil burner doesn’t meet the country’s Bharat Stage IV emissions standards (we’ll just have to wait till 2014) that most big cities already use – it’s just BSIII compliant. But reports mention that from next year, the Rio will be adopting a BSIV compliant diesel engine to be more competitive.

This diesel engine is question is said to be the 1.3-litre Multijet sourced from Fiat. Indians are very familar with this license built engine, as it also powers top selling cars like the Maruti Swift and Tata Indica Vista, among other models. The proven engine puts out 75 PS and 190 Nm at 2,000 rpm, which should be very useful in small cars.

Perhaps if we had such an engine with the Kembara, we would have missed it more!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• car driver on Nov 23, 2011 at 7:10 am

naah. introduction of such great engine would only adds to the extra cost of diesel as extra refinery is needed. this would put more burden on the government’s subsidy for the people and make diesel cost RM10/litre.

this will trickle down to the average consumer even if they’re not using the extra refined diesel in transportation costs. you don’t wanna be paying RM25 per kilo for your processed chicken now do you? and RM50 for 2 kilo pack of milo.

nope, we don’t need such an engine. the regular petrol variant is already verry good. just leave us with cheap diesel so we could continue paying RM10 for a kilo of chicken. and RM30 for a pack of 2kg milo.

prffftttt

• Brian Jong on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:34 pm

really? i dont think that regular petrol is enough. Now you see, diesel is far more relevant then petrol because its save money and fuel up every 500miles rather then petrol need to go for fuel up every 300miles or 200miles. Of course nowadays diesel are more cleaner then petrol (ignore lorry diesel, its only EURO2 emission) and less CO2 emission. You make have right point but now, you know economy today…people rather spend on diesel rather then petrol, cheap, clean, even faster then petrol and its run turbocharge which required more air to force the engine to have more power, so its eco. And think about people who dig the petroleum…if we keep using petrol, its easily finish and not eco except our carmaker introduced such high tech system to make car become eco….

• BSIII = Bu**S**t.. lol

• been to India once only, and based on my observation there, they do need a small car with diesel engine because 1- the road is too small and narrow 2- petrol is expensive.

• taboogen on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:19 am

Id rather drove a bus rather than this.. when u drove on a round about there is a big chance your car will tip over…. aduhainyer pun

• mohsin on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:32 am

Agreed!

• jay8393 on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:58 am

Perhaps the Kembara would’ve sold better with a diesel engine in Malaysia?

• much better than Kembara!

• littlefire on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:04 am

Even India also using Bharat Stage IV ( Almost same as EURO 4) diesel, and enjoying a lot of the modern diesel engines benefits… What the hell we are?!?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:25 am

Agreed. If only the Kembara had the diesel. Infact all small city cars and SUVs should be equipped with diesel engines for its usable torque range for daily usage.

• Cucukman on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:46 am

In India they use “Premier”…. in Malaysia they use “Perutdua”…

both start with P… so, not much to test for the emblem..

• PakAbu on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:47 am

1.3-litre Multijet!

Is this the engine that got Suzuki into hot soup (or is it hot oil?) with VW?

Seems to be a wonderful small engine. Any chance of “Lagi Jimat, Lagi Best”?

:mrgreen:

• nissan fans on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

turbo diesel with 65hp ????????????
    better stick with current engine …. or chge to k3vet

• yuhuu on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:54 am

modernized kembara.. lol..

• momocultus on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:54 am

even after reading this i don’t miss the Kembara presence :P

• Hadi75 on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:17 am

Euro4 diesel in india….we in malaysia still use euro2….2014 others will be using euro6…we just started using euro4….bengong
    Even indian kembara using euro3….next year euro4 compliant….

• gtmaniac on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:31 am

It has been on sale in India 2 years ago, if i’m not mistaken. The pic above might be a facelift version.

• Hey, we don’t miss the crappy Juara, Savvy too! Dump it all to India there!

At least Protongkat can recoup the failed investment cost lah!

Diesel Juara and Savvy…too late lah Protongkat! Keep on dreaming with Euro2M!

• pelams on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:44 am

malaysia’s petrol kembara is a one damn fuel-guzzler

• because they only know to press the pedal harder with their right leg over this underpower fulltime 4wd box to gain more pick-up speed

• HirumaKecil on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Ohh.. Miss the kembara.. Such a good car…

• nebula87 on Nov 23, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Why India keep selling outdated car models…no eye see ar….=.=

• Halem on Nov 23, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Kembara is a good nimble little 4X4 suitable for construction site & telco, to be used as a fleet car where narrowed & offroad, just like the good old Suzuki Jimny SJ410.

Perodua screw up when they try to bring in Nautica as CBU & priced it close to 100K, why can’t they just unscrewed the door & bring in like how CBU Forte turn into National car by removing the door & seat when shipped in, then i believe Nautica would have been sold at more attractive price like 70-80K.

Nowaday, unless u can compromise with a pick up truck or China Tiggo, seem to be no choice for 4 X 4 SUV below 100K, out of reach by many, even Korean made are at arround 130K.

• amuaiz on Nov 23, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Kembara with 1.3 petrol already rumbling like lorry. can’t imagine with a diesel