Tata Nano improved for 2012 – more power and economy

The Tata Nano, famous as the world’s cheapest car, hasn’t been as hot-selling as Tata has hoped, although it has been hot enough to catch fire occasionally. Tata seeks to reverse this (sales, not fire risk) by improving the small car for 2012. More power, more economy, more features, but at the same price, is the formula used.

The 600 kg Nano’s 624 cc engine gets slight improvements – it now puts out 38 PS (was 35 PS) and 51 Nm of torque (was 48 Nm). Claimed best case fuel consumption is now 25.4 km/l from 23.6 km/l. The nano has a top speed of 105 km/h and the ability to climb 30% inclines.

There’s also a revised suspension set-up, including an anti-roll bar at the front, a “steering mechanism made even easier” plus a racier sounding exhaust note for “a more assertive road presence.” Booster-assisted brakes, already available in the CX and LX trim, have now been added to the Standard as well. There’s also the addition of bright new colours, including the likes of Neon Rush, Mojito Green and Papaya Orange.

The better news for Indians is that there will be no price increase. The Nano Standard is priced at Rs.1.40 lakhs (RM8,500), the Nano CX Rs.1.70 lakhs (RM10,300) and Rs.1.96 lakhs (RM11,870) for the top spec Nano LX, which includes kit like central locking, front power windows, body coloured bumpers, fog lamps, electronic trip meter and full wheel covers. Downpayment starts from a low Rs.15,000 (RM908) with financing tenure up to 60 months.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• LatukBandar on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:19 am

No SE badge? No fancy names? No price increment? Comes with improvement somemore!!!! Perodua needs to learn something here

• Pak Abu on Nov 23, 2011 at 11:36 am

Bila nak masuk market Malaysia. Mau beli satu buat gi opis dan masjid. Hope harga below 15k including tax. Bleh beli cash

• I wouldn’t mind buying one of those and drive it to office daily. Cuma tak macho jela, but meh..As long my pocket money is saved.

• Tata Nano 2012 > Savvy Tiara!

• PakAbu on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Mothers should use small cars like this to send/fetch their kids at school. Can park nearer to school. No overflow to main roads.

P.S. That papaya orange … looks… delicious!

:mrgreen:

• tokmoh on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:32 pm

They didn’t rectify prone to burning problem?

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Ugliest car in the world! LOL.

• treblecase on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Don’t forget that Honda too made a contender for one of the ugliest car in the world ever with the previous generation City.

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 23, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Previous generation Honda City is way much better looking than this silly cartoon car. You don’t have taste for car designs and you can’t even tell the difference between a good looking car and a piece of ugly looking junk car! I pity you, bro!

• treblecase on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Don’t have to pity me coz I am laughing at you! For being blind both in the eyes & mind. LOL!!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:19 am

I am also laughing at you for being immature in posting your silly comments. If you like the Tata Nano so much, please order it from India and bring it to Malaysia . Then you will be the first proud owner of this Tata tata No no car. LOL.

• I am currently in New Delhi on biz trip. I must admit this car is a rare sight in the city, but the real car is actually looks kinda cute and not ugliest as proclaimed.

• I am gonna go abit off topic here. But those has got to be one of the worst photo shopped pictures for a car brochure that i have seen in a while. Has anyone else spotted this?

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:26 pm

lagi lagi tambah spek! lagi lagi tak mahal!

• Well dome Tata. Caters to many. No shame driving one- for the price still gets you around, still better than kap cai. Truly, if they sell here then more could drive instead of risking their lives riding a bike (more jams too!).

The looks for this price is ok. Cute, unique. I think sure it looks better than viva (sorry, just my opinion)

• Apernie on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Dont really bother about the design but euww that is a bad photoshop work…

• DarkAvenger on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:36 pm

This car puts shame to overpriced crap Kei cars from Perodua….this is the Price the VIVA should be RM12K to RM20K range (given that VIVA has more safety features, aircond and bigger engine for different range). .

• biggie on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Even at the price consumers in India are not buying it. As far as I know the car will have to undergo some major work to be marketed outside India due to legislation and safety reasons.

• civicEK on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:52 pm

i dont mind driving this car daily to work, can save A LOT of MONEY~

• albag on Nov 23, 2011 at 3:35 pm

haha this makes the previous Tata Nano owners look like fools…

• cacamarba on Nov 23, 2011 at 4:38 pm

dis is Ford model T in year 2000..hahaha

• cacamarba on Nov 23, 2011 at 4:40 pm

dis is Ford model T for year 2000..hahaha

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 23, 2011 at 4:52 pm

To those who are bashing Perodua, would you really want to drive and own this piece of junk? Surely a used Kelisa has more appeal than this…joke of a car! Ta ta!

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 23, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Proton Juara looks much nicer than this ugly piece of junk. LOL.

• NeoBest! on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Top speed 105km/h ! Pasti tak ada samam !

• khang on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:14 pm

i love the price of this car, I don’t mind getting this car at RM10k for my normal office ride, cruising in KL.
    I don’t even mind it’s look!
    Be it ugly, be it beautiful, the question is … ..
    Can i get this car at below RM15k?

I seriously do not mind owning a TATA nano, I don’t even mind it’s second hand value! I don’t need that.

• This car is good. Don’t bother to buy yourself a coffin if there is a crash. This rolling metal coffin is ever ready for afterlife burials.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 24, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Precisely, even the script during the funeral already written on the car. Look at it and you have to say “Ta Ta” to the occupant :P

• Front view looks like a new character for the angry birds….

• Honda The Power Of Dreams on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:20 am

Nono tata!

• Serious Fast Donkey on Nov 26, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Do you remember how much P2 put the Kancil’s price? Go screw P2!

• mosin khan on Nov 27, 2011 at 2:03 am

hiiiiii, i want a hot nano for long drive nano 2012 and this car is very comfortable and suitable for me and i m waited this car lounching , so plese lounche is coming soon.