Renault Twingo R.S. – sporting up the facelifted tyke

The second-generation Renault Twingo had a souped-up Renaultsport edition, so it’s no surprise that the facelifted Twingo, which made its debut in Frankfurt last year, is to get a similar job.

Called the Twingo R.S., the car retains the same 133 hp as before from a normally-aspirated 1.6 16V R.S. engine, with 160 Nm of torque on call. It’ll come as standard with a Sport chassis, but there’s an optional Cup chassis, which lowers the ride height by 4 mm. Other kit includes large 280 mm-diameter front and 240 mm-diameter rear brake discs, with the R.S. Monitor on-board telemetry system available as an option.

Exterior design cues include a dynamic grille design with four lights and a front bumper incorporating an F1-style blade – this detail, which now runs across the Renault Sport range, recalls Renault’s success in F1. At the back, there’s a tailgate-mounted lip spoiler, a special bumper incorporating a diffuser and aerodynamic extensions on the rear wheel arches.

A Design Pack is also available, and this one includes grey/dark gunmetal grey door mirror housings, F1 blade and R.S. lip spoiler, plus chrome details for the fog light surrounds. The hallmark Sirius Yellow finish will be available as an option from the end of May, and the car can also be specified with new 16-inch ‘Emotion’ alloy wheels, complete with ‘R.S.’-badged centre caps.

Inside, there’s the trademark Renault Sport yellow stitching on the steering wheel, seats and dashboard cowl, while the dashboard, radio console, rev-counter housing and lateral air vents all come with gloss black inserts. For further contrast, the top of the steering wheel, seat backs and cushions, rev-counter surround and manual climate control controls are picked out in white.

The Twingo R.S. goes on sale from the middle of next month in Europe, and will be marketed in 20 countries. There’s also a Gordini R.S. version to pick from, if the R.S. sounds a bit too flashy.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• confused on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:14 am

It’s weird but damn I love it! =D

• wondering if this is Proton, people will say “Damn fugly~! i’m not gonna buy it~! really hate the design~!”

• confused on Feb 15, 2012 at 7:47 pm

Topic about Renault and still bring up Proton for nothing.

Stupid bastard.

p/s: admin plz approve this comment as other forumer can learn.

• went Proton came as topic why can bring BMW, Audi, blablabla?

U r the one stupid bastard.. lalala~~~

u mad?
          u jelly???
          *with troll face* lalala~~

• u mad? u jelly??
          *with troll face*
          =_____________________________=

• Mini Nissan Juke?

• 188oko on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:32 am

Finally Nissan Juke has a brother!

• wheeler on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:33 am

I see a nissan juke under the skin..

• alldisc on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:34 am

as always from renault – F.u.N.K.y!!

• Nissan on Feb 15, 2012 at 10:46 am

Nice interior design! Nice color combination. Alternative for those who can afford a Magane RS, but don’t think this one will come cheap either.

• Lean Pei Erh on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:34 am

better than abarth 500

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

You mean Abarth 500 Esseesse 1.4L Turbo 135hp normal with 180hp selectable Sportmode upgradable to 230hp on request. Well thats 2009 model. Forget the Twin air Turbo which is only 160hp.

Dunno if Abarth introduced newer model this year. Fiat 500 already introduced the mini wagon.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 15, 2012 at 8:10 pm

ini cakap x guna otak

• Lagi power, lagi best!

• azman on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:45 am

all this nifty cars, all so distance from our shores, you are so bad Paul Tan, making us itch for no reasons

• Whynot on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:46 am

Should had done the exterior design better in a sporty way and aerodynamic way. Not so sure this will last to complete with outer Japanese or Korean design. Or maybe it is meant to a limited stocks only. I personally hope that they will design something of what more futuristic looking one for the smarter and younger generation of peoples around.

• clutch basah on Feb 15, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Look like a siamese twins, weird.

• bobdbilder on Feb 15, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Excellent. Good to see someone still thinks that a fun car is worth selling.

• albag on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:13 pm

it’s a Juke wannabe from the front… fugly ride… but the wheels are perfect!

• Ash Menon on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:16 pm

The first thing I thought of when I saw that front fascia was “perkhidmatan buang tahi lalat”.

• driver on Feb 16, 2012 at 3:42 pm

was thinking of “jerawat”.. LOL
      I prefer a cleaner design though..

• limaunipis on Feb 15, 2012 at 1:39 pm

the unconventional look takes a bit of adjusting to appreciate…..same goes for people in general!

• lenchi on Feb 15, 2012 at 4:29 pm

If this car is Proton…mcm2 la kena kutuk :D…..heheh…..weird but mcm OK la :D…who dare to fire the designer :P….

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Feb 15, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Well this might be the Myvi Killer but with the price tag it’s gonna carry..?? Anyway this already kills it’s disguised step brother…. the Savvy….

• driver on Feb 16, 2012 at 3:45 pm

I think local market prefer a car with more doors.. that’s why the myvi still holds even of it’s overpriced

• awg1031 on Feb 15, 2012 at 5:54 pm

ugly head..

• mamamia on Feb 15, 2012 at 6:57 pm

so ugly meh…

• nighttrain on Feb 15, 2012 at 6:59 pm

ugly but fairly powerful hot hatch, will not make it as a babe magnet, unlike the sweet megane.. so sweet..

• shawal on Feb 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Just imagine if you bump into something, how much will it cost to change those headlamps

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm

The pre-facelift Twingo was so much better. :( Too bad.