VIDEO: Proton P3-21A slalom demo at Proton Power of 1

Proton demonstrated the P3-21A’s ride and handling abilities against a Proton Persona in a car park slalom demo at the Proton Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil earlier today.

You may not hear or feel it in the video, but there was plenty of tyre screeching drama as the cars were actually going quite fast, something that an audience would only be able to perceive at the event proper.

The P3-21A was probably having a better time tackling the course than the Persona, since it has an electronic stability control system which will be able to help keep the car’s traction in check.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mohamad Al Azzeh on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:57 am

Not only the new Proton P3-21A ride and handling abilities are better because of ESP..I felt it had bigger tires than the Persona.Persona 15inch while the new car is 16inch(my guess) which giver betters grip.Also from the way the new Proton turns,it seems it is a lot heavier in weight and the chassis is very different than the Persona…

Well, I hated the disguise very much of the new car…They should reveal it like now…Enough mystery…The audience wants to see it fully.

It seems really it is a global car.I hope their oversees sales department are doing their work promoting it already to the distributors and seeking export opportunities..Global models are not global by design..Global by care given into pushing it into the market and servicing it and mainlining it’s image.

• nabill on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

the persona leans flatter mind u !
    p3-21a looks like it leans abit more….with that tall body….

• lan87 on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:54 pm

lol… do demo properly lar proton… persona driver driving that way on purpose… he’s going slower but he’s turning in less… purposely going wide…
    the p321a driver is driving more aggressively (the way u should for a slalom demo) and not like that persona driver…
    do a proper demo lar proton… i know that the p321a handling is better but do a proper demo to show it…

• driver on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:14 pm

without ESP, it’s difficult to not going wide as you may lose the traction of rear tyre.. perhaps Paul’s team could try it once it’s launched.

• Apernie on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:54 am

Agreed…isn’t it in a slalom course a car usually plunges from a straight line to show how stable it can handle with the inertia etc. Probably limited space and all they have to go merry go round but still improper to show EBD and ESC at work i think.
      That Persona does not do any justice, leisurely putting around LOL…

• ahaks on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:10 pm

why tire got sound? try to put in ps3 and see if still got sound?

turn a bit like this also such a big noise? means the tire cannot take the handling.

must upgrade tire first for those new car owner!!!

• toroto on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:53 pm

How come the the tyre screeching noise is more n louder on the P3-21A than the Persona? From what I observe in the video, the body roll and the centre of gravity is too high for this new model despite the rim size are already considered too small in proportion to the car body. It seems Persona handles better n more balance.

• Alvin on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I’m not sure what Proton is trying to show. If you put a Satria Neo on the same track it is able to take those bends on the skittles as well. Seriously, nothing to shout about. Please try and do a better demo.

• wong ah yat on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Hi, I can drive better than that in a pick up truck… eat my smoke

• Tony Choo on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:15 am

The Proton P3-21A’s wheels screeched compared to the Persona which did not screeched, I prefer the one that don’t screeched which give better road holding.

• Myvi SE Bumpy on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:15 am

How far proton going to improve, still it uses timing belt, oni mods the campro to cfe. The interior wise, still cannibalized ugly exora steering wheel, better to use the SAGA sw. Even the Inspira had been transformed into cheepo plastics, looks very POTONG. Come on la Proton People. The front bumper of Gen2/Persona still not fitted well to the front lamp till now. It is not that I’m not supporting local product, but U have jeopardized people confident on your own product. One day I will opt for Neo. Malaysia Boleh.

• yippi33 on Mar 16, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Funny la some guys measuring the cars stability by tyre screech sound??hahahaha..what a joker..

the driver in p321a seems having a lot more fun than the persona..he even playing cucuk angin with the persona..that is ESC in action bro..superb