Dongfeng-Honda Ciimo – an 8th-gen Civic for China

Dongfeng-Honda has introduced the Ciimo sedan specifically for the Chinese market – if the shape in the photos look familiar, it is; the Ciimo is pretty much the eight-generation Civic, repackaged for China.

The car – which made its debut in Beijing – is available in only one engine variant form, this being the 1.8 litre i-VTEC, mated to either a five-speed manual or five-speed auto transmission. Kit includes ABS with EBD and active headrests.

Pricing for the Ciimo begins from 111,800 Yuan, and word is that the Ciimo name won’t just be worn on this one, but rather on a series of models as it becomes a sub-brand. Reports indicate that a SUV based on the CR-V is next on the cards.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Karl von Jitry on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Merely 111,800.00 CNY=54,026.58 MYR or about Proton Saga BLM 1.6SE????????????????????

• WUA770 on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Its Currency maa… if not will be same…

• Varia on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:30 pm

how can it be same.
        rm1 = 2 rmb .
        you buy iphone at rm2199 and 4500+ rmb
        so why we buy civic at 100k+ RM and china ppl buy at 100k+ RMB

• Proton on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:12 pm

We should do the same coz this would jump start the proton machinery for sales and service!!! Not just the top management all the time!!

• Vader on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:38 pm

this is a good move since the 8th generation civic still look great..
      but the new 9th generation civic look outdated and seem like few generation behind!!!

• oh no not again.

different country different tax structure. Different law. So many things are different.

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:10 pm

so what…? in USA is only RM48k.
      if people keep comparing like this, without even looking at bigger picture, nobody will ever satisfied. car prices is very much lower in India than Malaysia too, civic is just RM75k there, but petrol price almost RM5 perlitre, in china more than RM3 perlitre.
      some of my colleague here from India, they said eventhough the car is cheap compared to some developed countries, their purchasing power is not that high thus not many people could actually afford to buy cars.
      it’s easy to compare china and India, they both have 1billion people but china had about 13mil cars sold while india had less than 2mil last year. now take a look at passenger cars to population ratio: Malaysia = 313/1000, China = 34/1000, India = 12/1000. what does it tell you?

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:35 pm

That is because we already pay the fuel subsidies in advanced when we purchase the car.

USA RM 48K (Fuel RM 5/ltr) Malaysia RM 118K (Fuel RM 1.9/ltr) China RM 54K (Fuel RM 3/ltr) so we pay 70K more compare to US with fuel price difference of RM 3/ltr we can get 23,333 ltr of fuel (assume we used 2400 ltr a year, mean we are paying 10 year fuel subsidies in advance), which most of us sell our can withing 5-7 years, so who is paying more ?

Compare to China we are paying extra RM 64K (with fuel price difference of RM 1) we are paying 64,000 ltr of fuel which enough for 26 years of fuel.

China & India have more efficient public transport than us.

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

china & india has better public transport???? wow.. maybe you live in different planet…
          my point is, don’t just look at car and fuel price, understand? take a look on some other factors such as income tax, healthcare, education, and subsidies. you’re dreaming if you think you can go to hospital and pay just USD1 in USA. it simply just doesn’t exist there. if your taxable income in Malaysia is RM35k, you pay 7% tax. but if your income is USD35k in US, you pay 25% tax. you like it?, then try for yourself.

• This not honda the logo not honda..this dongfeng honda…state owned half-chinese…the car built by half-chinese company of cource cheaper..wat u guy fail to see is that how china protect their auto industry…malaysia oso has this kind of company naza-kia…if u cant accept naza forte as kia forte..how can u guy approve this dongfeng honda ciimo as honda civic?….what bout hyundai-simedarby…will u approve if? Or u guy accept that china assembler is high quality than malaysia?…the only limitation bet china n malaysia assembler is purely tax regardless local or foreign

• lol..india got more efficient public transport?
          u go there and ride the train la…
          or can i say ride ‘the roof’ of the train…aiyoyoyo

• Vader on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:58 pm

it seem u r good to giving figure but dunno how to calculate..

Civic at US is RM48k and bolehland RM118k, the different is RM70k.
        Let say this car drive for 10 years:
        RM70000 / 10 years / 12 months = RM583
        It mean we had pre-pay the petrol price with RM583 per month and last for 10 years!

So, did this figure tell u something?

• armandd on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Now who says car prices in Malaysia are expensive? Hehe..

• Ken. T on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:43 pm

Hey! At least we’re luckier than our neighbours down south.

A 1.8L civic costs S$140,900. The COE(paper just to own that car) for a category B(Cars above 1.6L) car is now S$91,000. So to own a 1.8 Honda Civic in Singapore costs the owner, S$231,900. That is RM 568,505.75, while ours cost RM119,995.30.

While this Dongfeng-Honda civic is is like 2.2x cheaper than our local civic.
      Ours is cheaper than SG Civic by 4.7x ! Those guys driving a civic in SG can buy a new Mercedes E 300(Rm 455,888) + Honda City(RM90,494) with RM22,123 to spare here in MY.

Suddenly I like staying in Malaysia…

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Good ! Singapore GDP per Capital is USD 49,270 compare to ours at USD 9,699.

That 5.X our income, pay me Singapore salary then i don’t mind paying Singapore Car price, please provide me Singapore efficient public transport too.

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm

ohh??.. suddenly come GDP PPP factor… maybe your info is old ones. according to CIA factbook, SG GDP is US59.9K, malaysia = US15.6K. that’s less than 4x.
          so by your logic, it’s ok for SG to have 5x our car price because they have 4-5x our GDP, right? why you didn’t compare Malaysia and China GDP PPP? China have GDP US8.4K.. so ours is almost 2x than china. would you agree that it should be ok for us to have more expensive car price here because our GDP is higher? and also because we only pay about 60% of fuel price here compared to china…
          if you earn SG4k and you buy a car, is like committing suicide.. fuel tax, parking, roadtax, insurance are all more expensive than what you pay in Malaysia. previously, you would have to pay for your car radio tax also… it was abolished only recently.
          if you earn RM4k, i know some friend who could buy RM100k cars… no prob.

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:45 pm

“So to own a 1.8 Honda Civic in Singapore costs the owner, S$231,900”

obviously u know nuts bout SG. Hey, come up from the well now…

• Vader on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Come on, why u not mentioned their average monthly salary compare to us???

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 8:23 pm

by that, why not you check our average income compared to china too?

• razin on Apr 30, 2012 at 8:44 pm

come on. if u guys are so fascinated abt other countries i.e. USA, India, China, Singapore etc, please do us a favour. pack ur bags and move there. dont bother to live in this ‘corrupted’ country.

• robocop on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:10 pm

111,800 yuan = RM53776.59 :P

sila BERSIH 4.0

• WUA770 on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

can proton merge to Honda and produce like this HONDA?

• ss427 on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Hmm… they used the oddball looking US market 2 spoke steering wheel in this rebadged FD1… Its not wrong but the 2 spoke wheel does look weird

Specs seems lower than the FD1 we have here. There is no turn indicators in the wing mirrors, there’s no audio controls on the steering wheel spokes, the door handles are color coded rather than semi chromed.

But the most impt thing is tha the Chinese can still enjoy the awesome REAL Civic rather than the Gen9 POS that Honda wanted the rest of the world to have… :(

They can’t have the K20Z 2L FD2 though… but the FD1 is powerful enough and less nose heavy… it does makes a better handling car as compared to the FD2

• PINKY on Apr 30, 2012 at 1:46 pm

even proton have much more better steering than this..

• like the old days proton….rebadge…

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:03 pm

though the fuel is more dearer in China , but the the price of this car really beats the trade off .

China’s policy is getting more relavant to their citizen . Not like here in Malaysia .

Full of suckers who only know to suck citizens’ money . Wake up Malaysia . Your preve is more expensive than civic in China . What a big joke .

If not next election you will bungkus like nasi lemak .

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:38 pm

if you think staying in china is better than malaysia, why don’t you go back to china? maybe you expect that because you think you have the same salary / purchasing power as what you have in Malaysia. purchasing power parity percapita (PPP):
      Malaysia = 15,600
      China = 8,400
      India = 3,700

• Accord on May 01, 2012 at 10:12 am

Dont be stupid..
      Fresh grad salary there earn the same figure like in Malaysia..
      Lets say 2.5k RMB vs RM 2.5k.. The car price almost same figure but the petrol price there is sky rocket… I am glad to live here in Malaysia rather than China which hv a bad air quality..

• Why wont Proton do the same and keep the price down??? 54,026.58 MYR for Local rebadge Honda Civic!!! We are jealous!!!

• ong chin aun on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

There should be an option of either Manual or auto transmision. It should also be affordable to Malaysian. Ya, don`t compare country to country , but must be value for money. Do give a though why prices of car in M`sia expensive ?

Also, Owing a vehicle is not easy. Beside High insurance for compehensive, and for old cars loading . You also get fine from :
    1, POLICE
    2, JPJ
    3, LOCAL COUNCIL

• MNazri.tan on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Malaysia…big boss earning Rm 15k a month
    can afford A Range Rover brand new for RM 560k

In Italy …one big boss earn Euro 15k a month
    Cant afford A Ferrari for Euro 500k…instead barely able to buy Audi A5…

in malaysia…earning 1,500 a month can afford 2k plus ipad…biasa la
    Cleaner in Europe…earning Euro 400 a month cant afford Euro 400 ipad…

not all the same here and there….

No doubt Malaysia car is expensive…dont enjoy it…

• Paul Tan on Apr 30, 2012 at 2:59 pm

There’s no way RM15k can afford a RM560k car… tax already makan 2.5k, balance about 12.5k, then 500k loan is 9.6k a month for 5 years, balance only 2.9k, for fuel, insurance and road tax… everyday makan maggi meh? :P

• bonbon on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:10 pm

baca paultan.org pun dah kenyang

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:57 pm

well… that’s 5 years loan. maybe he can afford if he get 9 years loan. and in malaysia, we already know that people like to buy things eventhough they can’t afford. biar papa asalkan bergaya!

• odi862 on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Maybe with some “undeclared” income, the big boss could afford it. :)

• Cowboy on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Hi Paul,

Company car mah, petrol & maintenance inclusive mah….

• miaomiao on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:54 pm

cash business type of boss… don declare all the cash income. sure can afford range rover, i know alot of cash business bosses do that.

• /ngeTaRD on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm

well…you can say the guy estimation does reflect our quality of education especially our maths
        and for a person in Malaysia who earn RM 15k per month means that is the figure they “declared” to income tax.

• hayden on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:38 pm

lol RM15k can afford a range rover? hahahah how I wish I could do so.. but currently only driving an 8th gen civic fd2.. can’t afford to makan maggi everyday! :P

• Wallstreet on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:40 pm

You think 15K in Malaysia can do so many things?

• ferrari where need 500k euro?

100k euro already enough to get a ferrarri.

• Vincent on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:19 pm

You talk till cow come home, car will still expensive in Malaysia.

To get a fair car price, you only have few option, all are Hybird that below 2000 cc.

• sunda megah on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:28 pm

maybe mainland sino will gets Dongda Climo TypeR dragon edition later as well lol

• Polo Saga on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:29 pm

our money just goto government’s pocket

• albag on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:30 pm

if proton rebadge this … or any maker rebadge this and sell it below RM70k, i will still buy it for sure… i swear!!!

• mike ute on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:34 pm

why funny name Ciimo how to pronounce?
    should just call it Dongfeng Climax…

• wendy on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:50 pm

China – the land of rebadging, but if proton rebadge, sure this forum will be filled by the proton basher.

• Mainland Chinese buy car with cash, seldom take loan. Can you match them?
    Perhaps the land is rather too big for bank to trace defaulters.

Wise suggestion, dont buy at all, if you still have one driving, or go on be a kuli for every 5 years to 9 years. Depend on what you desire. You have no choice from what I see.

15K drive a Range Rover? In your dream? Or the boss took bribes?

• Car purchases in malaysia is so easier than other country… with zero downpayment we’re able to grab our dream to own a new car.. stupid economic!

• Proton rebadge Lancer…. from about rm120k….. now you can enjoy inspira for about rm78k that about rm40k save in money he he……

Now you want civic rebranded by proton…..hu hu…..inspira ok what?

• Unforgiven on May 01, 2012 at 11:05 am

I wonder do they have the same safety star like Honda? Or it’s similar like the Inspira, without proper rating so far.

• On top of car selling price, they have car-plat “registration / tendering fees”…that was about RMB 40k in Shanghai in Nov 2010. And as far as I know, this amount is not loan-able…which means, they have to pay more hard-cold cash than we do in M’sia when buying a car

Let’s look at the TOTAL COST of car ownership, instead of only car price…otherwise it will be never-ending, narrow view rebate

• I earn RM5000 a month. I’m so happy to drive a Persona. Some of the people commenting here cannot afford to even buy a bicycle but they talk as if they are going to buy the car tomorrow.

• Why nobody mention the rear light is rounded instead of diamond shaped?
    Because old mould can reused, it’s another way of “recycling”
    As new civic is out, 8th civic mould can sell at low price to other joint -venture company to keep producing, why not? win-win situation

• Javier on Oct 29, 2012 at 11:20 pm

william,your 1st assumption is ceocrrt .left with 1 or more 3d did not come out in the past 3 draw got highest chance normally winning number will be such combination .though it may not be consistent .if you looking to filter..this is one way