Naza targeting two new car brands, one bike franchise

Naza targeting two new car brands, one bike franchiseThe Naza Group of Companies is looking to add two automobile brands and one motorcycle franchise to its already big brand portfolio, says Bernama.

Naza Group Joint Group Executive Chairman Datuk SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin told the national news agency that the three companies are from Europe and China, but declined to name them.

“One franchise is in a very preliminary stage of discussion but the other two are firm. We will make an announcement at the right time,” he added.

Naza is the importer, distributor and assembler of Peugeot and Kia marques in Malaysia. The Group’s brand portfolio also includes Ferrari, Maserati, Chevrolet, Ducati, Harley Davidson, Vespa and Aprilia, among other marques. Want to try guess the identity of the new brands?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• venven81 on May 25, 2012 at 10:46 am

i sure hope they will take over Audi from EM!

• Please don’t, even now KIA still lack of the new Kia Rio, Picanto, Ceed, Soul and Carnival.

• BeemerFreak on May 25, 2012 at 11:03 am

Naza always does marques that are not that popular and make them popular….. Maybe a return of Opel to malaysia?

• wuttaheck on May 25, 2012 at 4:04 pm

angkat citroen, kasi bungkus itu brooklands!!

• rareCAR on May 25, 2012 at 5:41 pm

take in lancia and dodge….

• alldisc on May 26, 2012 at 10:12 am

or Seat and Dacia, perhaps?

naahhh.. Naza is well known not knowing to care for its customers from the day of Kias to Peugoets.

Kia was once best selling non-national make especially in the MPV segment but ppl fear of buying their products now because of poor after sales service.

Peugoet is selling like hot cakes – but the same fate will occur if steps not taken by now to address that poor service level.

since taking over Chevrolet franchise over from DRB some 2 years back, they failed to make Chevy a desirable car.

so where are they now? with the coming new NAP in 2015 which will put a halt in used imported cars, Naza will really struggle and this is why they proactively looking to bring in unknown models to Malaysia.

good luck to them but i believe they earn more in the construction field than automotive.

• carconut on May 26, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Hmmm…. wonder whether you are speaking from experience or hearsay. I have owned a number of Kia’s and recently got a K5. Also own a 308T. Owned other marques before. Happy to say that the new Naza management are more in tune with customer service that Naza of old. Service center for Kia is brilliant for my first 2 service.
            In so far as the Pug, other than the appointment and booking for service (pending the setting up of more centers), I havent had a problem with the service centers.

• V12kompressor on May 25, 2012 at 11:09 am

Fiat perhaps?

They are thriving after they collaborate with Chrysler.

• langit hitam on May 25, 2012 at 8:28 pm

I second you Bro.

1st their will bring a FIAT, then Alfa Romeo into their stable.

Then, Naza is quite complete with italian brand
      But, if their bring Lancia also no hal punya

• Sean ZX-10 on May 25, 2012 at 11:10 am

ni la keje orang malaysia..Only knows how to make money FAST like Ferrari..Salesman je..beli jual..mcm zaman parameswara.hahah…xde cita2 ke nak buat kete sendiri ke assemblers utk jadi hub jual ke negara lain mcm automotive industry kat Thailand? Assemble peugeot tu pon just tukar batch …kete datang CBU unit..ape kejadah menatang lain xde tukar..tapi claim CKD dpt murah tax. hahhahah….baik kata emblem specialist dari assemblers.

• Kau pun orang malaysia jgk kan? Tp macam tak pandai ape2 pun..tau komen je, tak puas hati buat la something keyboard hero..hehe :p

• sean zx-10 on May 25, 2012 at 1:44 pm

Sbb aku org malaysia lah aku tak rela diri aku kurang bijak seperti kau.dari kau nak attack komen aku.why not u check whether my claim is true or not…thben u can stop being stupid

• keyboard hero… hahaha… thats a good one. Thats all this bugger is good at, almost not worth to reply (or even to unlike) his comment. keyboard hero… hahahahaha.

• langit hitam on May 25, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Bro.The winner is us, rakyat marhaen with middle income.
          Before Naza “CKD” their Pug or Kia or any others marques, we quite hard to own this marques.
          But, by using the “CKD” wording in their portfolio, we can have Pug 308 under Rm120k(even slightly higher due to Malaysian Gomen control the selling price and others thing).
          Pug 206 under Rm80k, and others.

• kendall on May 25, 2012 at 1:00 pm

u pandai wak kete ke?xpandai,xyah nak komen.baek balik umoh jual nasi lemak je lah.

• TROLL on May 26, 2012 at 12:35 am

*kerja

• kelvin on May 25, 2012 at 11:11 am

Naza the AP king.

• I hope they take over Alfa Romeo & Fiat from Sime Darby Auto Connections!!!

• kington on May 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Yes, Sime Darby’s pricing for its after sales service is pretty high.

• wishful on May 25, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Naza,…since u already have Kia…why dont u take its parent too (ie Hyundai)…then we can see attractive pricing for hyundai wt great specs too!

• dozy888 on May 25, 2012 at 11:12 am

Holden and Lobo, or maybe Foton ?

• Shahrul on May 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

Not bad if its Holden :)

• Shahrul on May 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

But they said Europe right? Not Australia

• wishful on May 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Holden are rebadged of GM other brand…some are rebadged chevy (holden cruze/captiva) some are even re badged Opel/Vauxhall (GM brand in europe)

• please take up the french or italian cars like citroen, renault, fiat, alfa romeo. These manufacturers have nice cars, but because of the limited service center and parts, we dont see them on the roads

• chuakz on May 25, 2012 at 2:32 pm

citroen, renault have local distributors….alfa romeo as well….there were rumours that SDAI was gonna sell the franchise of Alfa to Naza…but most likely it’ll be Fiat….who have no representatives in Malaysia since 2/3 years ago?

• yes i know, but the local distributors are not well known. And i think they only have like 1 center in PJ am i right? along federal highway. Renault i only know 1 in PJ near seksyen 12

• Naza can traget whatever brands…… but win some after sales service awards to gain consumers confidence please. TQ.

• Black Dog on May 25, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Agreed. Improve customer service and the sales will fly without even needing to add more brands which they can’t handle.

Naza service sucks!

• TROLL on May 26, 2012 at 12:39 am

*target

• monopoly on May 25, 2012 at 11:25 am

MITI should not allow these monopolistic practices. One guy one brand is the best policy. Otherwise consumers will lose out once these dealers gang up and raise prices

• BadBET on May 25, 2012 at 1:00 pm

i once read that SM Faisal go to Brabus and secure a deal to be the exclusive distributor in Malaysia, all done while he is still studying. If you can do it, than just go and deal with any company you wish to do business with.

• drMpower on May 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm

i think the brabus is done when his late father still around and of course with great backer and good governance plus great government behind him, brabus more than happy to sign the papers.

as for the next coming european brand, why no skoda? and i am following the call for alfa romeo. please, beautiful car

• Skypirate on May 25, 2012 at 5:59 pm

There’s skoda, but under bermaz. However bermaz seems to be only interested in selling Mazda and rather let skoda rot in the closet.

• TROLL on May 26, 2012 at 12:40 am

*not

• labix7 on May 25, 2012 at 3:50 pm

doesn’t matter with monopoly …. as long as naza can make the car brand famous & get better sale volume, its consider very good for the car principle.

• Darren on May 25, 2012 at 11:26 am

Would love to see Vauxhall or Seat. These would give us more choices in the affordable range as well as their sports range:D

• wishful on May 25, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Yes, SEAT pls….its the cheaper version of the VW (VW Sharan = Seat Alhambra…wt significant $$$ savings but the same thing) while audi is the expensive version of VW

• chuakz on May 25, 2012 at 11:26 am

I have heard that they were gonna take over the Fiat franchise here….I’ve even heard that they were gonna take over Alfa Romeo from SDAI…..Imagine…Fiat and Alfa beside Ferrari and Maserati…a whole big family

• silver on May 25, 2012 at 11:28 am

probably vauxhall/opel .

• Kiasu No Kiasi on May 25, 2012 at 11:29 am

Wow seem like lot’s of kaki bodek (boot licker) Naza salesman here.

• Josh Ling on May 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

Dacia and Geely! lol……….

• Kuang on May 25, 2012 at 11:37 am

1. BYD Electrics Hybrid Car.
    2. Dodge

• zainal abidin on May 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

Naza should introduce a CBU or CKD entry level sports/fairing 250cc bike,since Modenas is only interested in the underbone market.

I’m sure many of us bikers are waiting for it.

• MycarMylife on May 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

WTF??
    Jack of all cars and Master of none except TAMAK ,Let others do it la

• The logical brands would be Fiat, to compete for the small car category and Seat, to compete for the sports saloon and hatchbacks category. That’s my 2 cents on the 2 logical choices of car brands to go for.

• kerelbort on May 25, 2012 at 11:51 am

from china , BYD’s EV … europe i donno.. bike i donno

• Citroen and Jaguar?

• Carnatic on May 25, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Citroen is already sold here by Brooklands Motors,and Jaguar is already sold by Sisma Auto.dun think it will be either one of these brands

• chuakz on May 25, 2012 at 2:27 pm

um…citroen and jaguar have their local distributors already

• alldisc on May 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

no way, that jaguar dealer has been around almost 2 decades… they must have built a good relationship with jaguar uk (or Tata of India, perhaps)

• Mazda Fan on May 25, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Fiat Fiat Fiat Fiat !!!!! or Seat Seat Seat Seat!!!!pls bring in either one of these

• g4eights on May 25, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Hope is Fiat!

• hang Tuah on May 25, 2012 at 12:23 pm

bike: Moto Guzzi

• wolfsburg on May 25, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Hope to see Opel and JAC… Hope BYD won’t come…

• Gavin on May 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

AP king is AP king

• Better NAZA become official distributor with manafacturer backing hence get franchise-AP which free than open-AP RM10k a piece(for gray importer n limited oso)

• hope is Brillance Auto but their Jinbei division already tied up with Berjaya.

• 1. Dodge
    2. Holden

• blackbox on May 25, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Fiat please.

Bring in the Engine of the year 2011, FIAT 875CC TWINAIR.
    With such small capacity engine, the import duty should be much lower and make it the most affordable European car in Malaysia.
    The Twinair performance and FC should be on par with some entry level hybrid without the high price and worried of replacing the battery in future.

• langit hitam on May 25, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Bro. Its MultiAir not twin air. A system which using hydraulic to control its valve. No more cam use for intake.Let se in near future with their MultiAir II which come with intake and exhaust.
      A good patented technology.

• blackbox on May 26, 2012 at 10:00 am

Is Twinair not Multiair lah. They use Multiair technology the engine is Twinair lah.

http://www.ukipme.com/engineoftheyear/winners_11/winner.html

• Pervert on May 25, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Fiat will be good. CKD fiat 500 like how they make peugeot popular from the bad era of MBF.

• Major T-roll on May 25, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Skoda maybe. Berjaya is making it a sitting duck.

• It’s landed in Malaysia for quite sometimes. U can find in Berjaya Plaza opposite to Times Square.

• Skypirate on May 25, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Dream would be vauxhall/opel, but fiat is more likely.

• prashnan on May 25, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Dear All,

Dont worry, nothing is italy…brand they gonna bring, except ferrari and maserati…well they already have one…………the said brands was……citroen and ssangyong….because……brookland motors….doing no good business or no good terms with PSA france…due to over price…compare to peugeot…here, so’ they marketing head choose naza to handle the asia pacific market…..like how they success the peugeot brand…..and ssangyong is belongs to korea…now belongs to TATA india…..so’ indians wants this brand to be more stronger in sea…before it lands to india…..and rest of market….like how Naza success in KIA………so’ better understand the cosmic info’s then brand…war….

• Love to hear if it’s Citroen! they have great models with great design lately but due to current poor marketing n after sales by brooklands many people get rid of this brand. Cant wait to see many DS3 in Malaysia…

• blackbox on May 25, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Brookland might not selling the Citroen very well but the price they selling the 200hp DS4 is very attractive. You can’t get an Euro car with 200hp at RM155k.
      Ssangyong is either India or Korean, not what mentioned.

• alldisc on May 26, 2012 at 10:24 am

what do you mean success in kia?

i dont see malaysians rushing to buy Forte and Sportage like they used to buy Spectra, Citra and Naza Ria some 8 years back. In fact they almost lost Kia dealership some 2-3 yrs back

they are just lucky to manage strengtening the ties with Kia Motors Corp

• Fahmys on May 26, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Tot it was annouced that forte was selling better than others in its class?

• prashnan on May 25, 2012 at 4:05 pm

One more thing, seat is belongs to VW…so dont even dream about to have one here….cos….its only for europe market…….fully controlled by spanish government…like proton…..

• The Enthusiast on May 25, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Fiat, and a luxury marquee, Aston Martin. Must have Aston Martin. Bike? Maybe KTM. Can’t think of any brand names from China.

• The Enthusiast on May 25, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Ok if it is from China, SAIC is a good choice. They’re the new owners of MG Motors. Looks decent, a bit European.

• Wazzup on May 25, 2012 at 5:12 pm

as a consumer, i am not worry about what NAZA going to bring in…. if the price is right, and the car is good. I probably buy it. If not, I just stay away from them…

The people worry the most are those who in the car industry and those who gonna to compete on what NAZA might offer in the future.

Bring in whatever you want to bring NAZA, and preferably something in sub 100k category. The more the merrier!

If your service center sucks, as some might say so before, we can always sent the cars to someone who can…..

• We want OPEL! Astra OPC… Woooooooo!

• Mr Naza on May 25, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Hahaha… u guys are funny… want this and that from Naza. What Datuk SM Faisal really wants from you guys is PROFIT… that’s all. As long as the car can be sold, no matter how ugly or beautiful the design is. I don’t think even he himself ever driven or just tumpang the infamous Naza Sutera. Hahaha…. anyway… u guys are still funny. I loike.

• Bring back Jeep please! Thailand & Indonesia has it.

• consumer on May 25, 2012 at 7:08 pm

AP family business!!!
    Malaysians we should wake up!!!

• mangkok^ayon on May 25, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Citroen please!

• Airheads on May 25, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Koenigsegg

• Riyad on May 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

Yes, it’s confirmed that Brooklands has been notified that their contract would not be renewed when it expires this year…hooray…serves them right….citroen big bosses in Paris finally realized they had been taken for a ride by the botak con men !

• 123GO on May 26, 2012 at 1:00 am

ASTON MARTIN !!

• Hp Tan on May 26, 2012 at 1:34 am

Fisker and Pagani hehe:D

• helmi on May 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm

I hope Toyota. Take over from UMW. UMW has become greedy and greedy each year. Sell Toyota expensive like hell even the design is ugly and the engine is obsolete. At least they will sell least expensive. Don’t worry about NAZA lousy service centre or after sales service. Because Toyota is reliable as long as you change periodic engine oil on time even with ordinary workshop.

• whutevar on May 29, 2012 at 10:09 am

hoping for cheaper gt86 izzit…
      me too.. knock off 80k n i will confirm book…

• Dr Mamak on May 26, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Whatever. i still won’t buy from AP King.

• SEAT is impossible,because it’s under Volkswagen group. U should ask VGM for this.

• This is already a monopoly and becoming a biger monopoly…they bring outdated models eg Peugeot 206 bestari etc and sell it to the unsuspecting Malaysian buyers who yearning to drive anything but the naional cars, and than charge high services and parts, and later when sales drop, they abandon or stopped the model, and the poor customer stucked with a car with poor resale value

• Estimosis on May 27, 2012 at 9:11 am

Don’t care about the cars. For the bike, either CFMotor or Benelli.

• whutevar on May 29, 2012 at 10:07 am

I know the CHINA brand is FAW but for the EUROPE brand im hoping for vauxhall or opel..
    Totally no clue on bikes….

• I’m hoping they will take over Citroen activities in M’sia….bcoz…economic of scales…common parts between Peu & Cit, more sales & svs centres & lastly maybe there is potential of Cit CKD model produced over here (murah sikit ma…) & exported to our regional market…

• prashnan on May 29, 2012 at 1:46 pm

well bro….Citroen DS4 is a Gay car in france….so’…if u intrested have one….pls be my guest…..anyway…the price…as stated…nah….actually…to freak the gays…in malaysia…..

• jaafar on Jun 26, 2012 at 4:39 pm

I hope it is Opel as they are producing good quality cars the past few years in Europe eg the Astra & Corsa.
    I dont mind Seat ( cousin to VW) but sales would struggle as Malaysians prefer well known brands. ( eg Skoda RS is cousin to Golf GTI but sales are not encouraging.
    Well, the more the merrier!