SPIED: New W246 Mercedes B-Class spotted in PJ

The new Mercedes-Benz B-Class has been spotted right in front of our office in Petaling Jaya, and it could mean that the launch of the second-generation W246 is just around the corner. The new B’s same-same rear design means that this truck won’t attract too much attention, but those distinctive body lines give the game away.

The new B-Class was unveiled at the 2011 Frankfurt Auto Show. Stuttgart says that its latest “Compact Sports Tourer” is “substantially more agile and efficient, but as comfortable and spacious as ever.” It’s bigger, too. At 4,359 mm long and 1,786 mm wide, the W246 is 89 mm longer and 9 mm wider than the orginal B-Class that debut in 2005. The new car sits 46 mm lower than before, though.

For those at the back, a lowering of the vehicle’s floor produces segment-leading rear legroom (976 mm) that even surpasses that of the E and S-Class! And despite the lower roofline, headroom has been further improved over the old car.

The Easy-Vario-Plus system includes fore/aft adjustment of the rear seats by up to 140 mm (increasing boot volume from 488 to 666 litres) and a front passenger seat which backrest can be folded forward onto the seat cushion.

The badges on the car read B200, so we can expect a 1.6-litre turbocharged engine with 156 hp and 250 Nm of torque. The motor could be paired to a 7G-DCT dual clutch transmission, which is available in Europe. We’ve written a fair bit about the new B-Class already, so click here to read the full story and view the official gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hanifhamzah on Jul 09, 2012 at 1:20 pm

niceeeee……..

• What’s d launch date??? Wonder the price…

• SA told me launching this month, with estimated price ~ RM222k for the B200.

• Looks like… Jaya One?

• Mario Gomez on Jul 09, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Facelift or all new model?
    The rear lights is almost same like the previous model.

• I would prefer the latest A-Class over the B-Class. Interesting choice of engine and transmission, any clue whether the car is CKD in Pekan?

• looks the same only…. boring..

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2012 at 5:59 pm

A-class looks much better and is at the price range of Camry 2.5V. (Oh they put 2.7V to mimic/give impression of V6 engine in the unwary). BTW, this B-class is definitely a better choice over Jap D segment cars as the difference is only that small RM40OOO. Brand, ESP and 6 airbags already worth more than that.

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Please allow sunroof as optional accessory.

• seancorr on Jul 09, 2012 at 7:03 pm

RM222k for launch? Wonder what kind of trim n spec this B200 will come with…comfort access, adaptive lights and GPS navigation better be standard on the list!

How about the B180? Any indication of selling it just below RM200k?

While the A class does look better than this the A class is targeted at a different market as it is a hatch and this is a sports tourer…combo of MPV and hatch.

• Of cos the legroom surpass the E and S class. It’s because the rear seat thigh support is too damn short. Shorter than W245’s seat. Rear seats are too upright making you feel like sitting in a plastic bench. Rear passenger sits low(high window sill) and view mostly blocked by the two big front seats making u feel like sitting in a cave. W245 rear seats more high up feel like youre in a mpv or suv. Overall the most disappointed area is the 2nd half of the car. Rear seats too upright, not enough thigh support, front seats blocking view and no spare tyres. Now on RFTyre. exterior nothing catch my attention. W245 looks better. But interior I must admit it does look better than W245. Well that’s my experience on W246 and all based on my personal point of view. Njoy!

• droll on Jul 10, 2012 at 4:19 am

i never can figure out why they call this a sports tourer. sporty meh??? and a tourer?? weird label.

in the prev gen only the b200 deserves that badge. A class tak tau bila sampai. but i suspect it will be priced above the B class. if near or below B class, with the revolutionary new looks, it will be a good volume seller (in merc terms la).

• Unforgiven on Jul 10, 2012 at 9:30 am

If we really remove the advantage group (Naza) and protected group (P1,P2), are we able to see this car selling at the current c segment price? Approx rm120k? Is it possible?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18