Free 10,000 km service package for the Toyota Prius c

UMW Toyota Motor will be offering a free service package for the first 10,000 km (or six months of ownership) to customers who book the Toyota Prius c from August 6 to 17.

The Prius c is powered by Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive “full hybrid” system, which here consists of a 1.5-litre petrol engine and an electric motor. The former is the 1NZ-FXE engine related to the engine in the Vios. However, for this hybrid application, the VVT-i mill runs on an Atkinson cycle with a higher compression ratio (13.4:1) and unique valve open/close characteristics. It makes 73 PS and 111 Nm of torque.

The electric motor in question makes 61 PS and 169 Nm of torque, and the total system output is 101 PS. The motor is powered by a 144-volt nickel-metal hydride (Ni-MH) battery located under the rear seats (max output is 19.3 kW). In the European combined cycle, the Prius c manages an impressive 25.6 km/l.

View our launch report for full details and a big gallery. For more info on this promotion, one can call Toyota Free Phone at 1800-8-869682 (1-800-8-TOYOTA).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:02 pm

how about the early buyer.. no entitle for this service?

• theanswer on Aug 03, 2012 at 7:45 pm

6mths only? lol~

• Dennis LOH on Aug 03, 2012 at 7:45 pm

This is no big deal. The first 10,000km service cost is negligible. I know because I am a Prius owner. Borneo Motors / Singapore is offering HBEW / Hybrid Battery Extended Warranty programme as standard for every new Toyota or Lexus hybrid they sell. Under this scheme, the warranty now overs hybrid batteries for 10 years (coverage was previously 3 years / 100,000km) & no longer comes with a mileage constraint. Why can’t UMW Toyota do the same? There hundreds of thousands of Prius running about in this world. As far as I know there was only one reported Prius’s battery failure case in Australia & that was a taxi that has covered almost 500,000km.

• Bought already….. during my time booking take 2 month to arrive and got no promotion at all since it is a hot hatch. The SA only give me full tank petrol… but it was really nice car…..love every bits of it. Will be my RAYA car… he he

• blackbox on Aug 04, 2012 at 9:52 am

It is only a hatch, not hot hatch.

• Hot la…this is hot item… in japan sale rank no 1 and 2….

Can’t compare this to myvi… different class and technology ahead. When i drive in EV mode all people stare at me. Prove a hot hatch.

• goller on Aug 05, 2012 at 12:04 pm

hot hatch means with turbo, not hot item
          of course all people stared at you because it’s so slow

• Haiyaaaa on Jul 01, 2014 at 11:56 am

true that…

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 03, 2012 at 10:43 pm

OMG only 1 free service???!!! how stingy can you get UMW ?? At least be more sincere…others are offering 3 yrs of free service!!!!!

btw, the interior of this prius c feels lower quality than even a myvi!!!

• SHAMSUL YAHAYA on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:16 pm

Like I said before UMW Toyota “So Kedekut “

• i know you driving a myvi 1.0. so stop dreaming of your maserati..

• If really compare, actually prius c interior quite nice after drive for few rounds

• NISSpengAN on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:40 am

Fuck umw toyota,so stingy,there don’t even care about their royal customer,let us boikot it.

• haliaguy on Aug 04, 2012 at 6:37 am

If not mistaken, that covers 3 free services. 1k 5k 10k service as opposed to the previous,1k and 5k free service only. Not bad offer but better if there is a 5 year warranty on battery. Maybe in the pipeline

• helmi on Aug 04, 2012 at 7:36 am

People, what do you expect from UMW? Try to show their generosity but actually they are greedy as ever. Hypocrites!
    I agreed their interior is ugly and feel cheap. The engine performance and handling is at par as Myvi, is is true?

• Aiyo… Dont compare prius c with myvi la… Like heaven and hell, you try you will know what i means..

• have you tried both? the similarity between the two is both offer sampan handling

• My bro previous car was myvi and i drive prius c now. Prius c handling is very light and fun to drive.

• very light is ok but no fun at high speed = less fun

• percayalah on Aug 04, 2012 at 7:40 am

ONLY IN MALAYSIA YOU CAN SELL SMALL SHIT LIKE THIS AT 100K.

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 04, 2012 at 2:12 pm

only in malaysia you can get tax-free hybrid cars and still sell small hybrid shit like this at 100k.

• In malaysia all care overpriced. Have to live with this…..

In the us… this car is much more expensive than Altis (corolla). Due to taxes the price is 100k, but the one we got is full spec version. Without taxes it should be around 125k.

So those who bought this get a bargain. Yeah i dun want spend hard end money and give to our government so much.

Plus is very economical. I get around 700km full tank about RM60.

• no need to worry, alternative gov oledi propose cheaper car for malaysian, no more excise duty, just vote for them la.

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 04, 2012 at 9:44 am

Total service cost for 1k 5 k and 10k service cost only rm250 approx. But car value down becoz year end

• Kevin on Aug 04, 2012 at 9:55 am

Yeap ! How can UMW promote soooo.. Unsincre promotion, at list Honda was upgrade to 5 year unlimited mil warranty !

Even singapore Toyota was giving 5 year warranty, some more now some model was local produce, mean the cost is lower !

Maybe Sales from UMW is too! Until no need do extra haha……

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:27 am

offering long warranty shows how desperate companies to sell their products.

one example in malaysia is VW with their 5 yrs unlimited mileage (actually it is 2+3 years (the 3 yrs covers mainly on drivetrain and powertrain only not on things like absorbers – wait 1-2 yrs from now as many VW owners enter their 3rd year ownership).

then hyundai and honda follow suit with their 5 yrs @ 300,000km or similar warranties.

in UK, Toyota GB has already started giving 5 yrs warranty to new car buyers (Toyota is not that popular in UK compare to Ford, VW and Vauxhall)

the best must go to to Kia though, with its 7 years warranty coverage. google.

• Jimmy on Aug 04, 2012 at 10:30 pm

When you see car number plates with white and yellow numbers, you straightaway know that the branch manager(s) makan suap. In Malaysia, we know which car brand that is.
    He gets under-table from supplier who supply cheap material for the number plate.
    For our information, Proton car number plates are still white after 2 to 3 years, good.

• What is the big deal of 10k free service? It is a norm for every car manufacturers or dealers offer such package or even better.

• Dr Mamak on Aug 05, 2012 at 6:52 am

C is cut corners, i want a proper Prius V

• This is a really super dupper ugly car! Better catch hybrid from Honda! Most a new Toyota Gen was inproper design eg: new Camry!! more expensive indeed! I go for Honda

• blackbox on Aug 05, 2012 at 3:25 pm

If Japanese car go for Mazda better. Both T&H are the same, boring.

• apexg2 on Aug 06, 2012 at 8:03 am

Just a stupid, boring car…hard to see on the road…100k for myvi shape car??haha…sure myvi owners really like this car..myvi c..haha

• alex chan on Aug 06, 2012 at 8:14 am

this hot hatch TOYOTA simply awesome..toyota is really known around the world as the best car of the world…i proud driving vios..its a toyota OK..everything else is a cow cart

• again hot hatch? come on, prius c has no turbocharger/supercharger, how come it’s a hot hatch.

hot hacthes here like pug 308, golf TSI, polo TSI and upcoming proton p322a (preve hatch)

• alex chan on Aug 06, 2012 at 4:12 pm

preve hatch?..yaaa..same like turtle hatchling..haha…please no proton here..we discuss only car ..and no cow cart(proton) here please..

• yeah tell that to civic, elantra, forte too coz they also can sprint less than 10 secs

preve hatch can do less than that, why? please read more, since you only live with your ancient cow cart (toyota) lol

• Wisdom on Aug 07, 2012 at 11:32 am

Nice troll..

• Joe Radzif on Aug 06, 2012 at 9:01 am

the orange car seem like juicy orange…

argh…
    Puasa, puasa, puasa..

• farghmee on Aug 06, 2012 at 9:24 am

may i know the total service cost of a typical hybrid?

1. internal combustion engine
    2. motor

• For prius c, the service was quite similar toyota vios, the electric motor is almost maintanence free. You can service it like normal toyota car.

One drawback me for not chosing honda insight is the expensive service maintanence. I found the insight maintanence cost very expensive (on honda website), some interval can reach more than RM1000k. No point saving fuel but compromise on higher maintanence fees. No win win situation.

• bimmer on Aug 06, 2012 at 8:25 pm

joke of the year = prius c is a hot hatch

• Alex Chan on Aug 06, 2012 at 11:10 pm

well not everyone can afford this hot hatch..especially prestiges toyota brand name..work harder bimmer (boy)

• bimmer on Aug 07, 2012 at 5:24 am

toyota nowadays overpriced, nothing is really interesting with ancient 4 speeder, highest spec camry only 2 airbags, why no 4 airbags or 6 airbags?

• yeah, prius c is hot hatch = fake.

definition hot hatch http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hot_hatch

warm hatch= s hot hatches gained more power and performance during the 1990s and 2000s, the term warm hatch started to be used to denote a junior version of a hot hatchback. Warm hatches still offer improved performance whilst retaining the practicality of the standard derivatives and attracting lower insurance premiums.[27] Warm hatches can be expected to have more muted styling features than their hot hatch cousins, they will often lack items such as front splitters and racing style bucket seats.

Whilst having improved performance, warm hatches are less powerful than the hot hatch version of the car, typically more than 100 bhp (75 kW), but less than 150 bhp (112 kW) such as the Mini Cooper, Suzuki Swift Sport,[28] Peugeot 207 GT[29] and Toyota Yaris SR.[30]

so, prius c aint fall neither hot hatch nor warm hatch category.

:)

• Joe Radzif on Aug 07, 2012 at 8:23 am

Suam-suam kuku hatch it might be…

• Just bought this car….everyday will give u smile on your face.

Save money (fuel and tax), save earth (CO2) and reliability (toyota full cbu). What more u can ask???

• alex chan on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:36 am

yup..prestiges hot hatch like dis..every girl want us to be their boyfriend..and make other jealous

• bimmer on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:25 pm

jealous? puhleeeeaaaseeeee this ugly car won’t attract chicks , they run from it

• bimmer on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:28 pm

i can ask for more space, because it’s not enough for 5 adults and bigger boot because it’s tiny and not suitable for balik kampung event. plus it’s crappy underpowered engine

• Mak jermah on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Mak ade honda civic fd2,dan myvi se.skg myvi se tu tolak utk prius.kene la banding yg sama type dan fungsi.kalau ko banding dengan sedan ngan prius c,bangang nmpaknye.kalau banding dengan kereta yg power,lagila bangang.srope korang banding dengan ferari ke,lambo ke.dh nama prius c,untuk jimat mnyak,ko compare dengan insight aku trima la gak.tp insight pon bkan full hibrid.puihh