Hyundai Sonata Sport adds on bodykit, quad exhaust

The Hyundai Sonata YF is a sporty looking contender in the D-segment, and Hyundai Sime-Darby is now throwing out the Sport card to further raise appeal in that respect. The Sonata Sport is available as a 2.0L or 2.4L, and is now available for booking.

The Sonata Sport comes with a bodykit which consists of a front lip, side skirts and a rear bumper extension. The latter incorporates four exhaust tips, two on each side. All else are identical to the top spec 2.0 Executive Plus and 2.4 Executive Sonatas, which mean that they come with an Audio Visual Navigator that has GPS, DVD, reverse camera and Bluetooth functions.

The 2.0L Sport is priced at RM151,388, while the 2.4L Sport will set you back RM169,388, both OTR with insurance. HSDM is offering a special interest rate of 1.88% until September 30 for all Sonata variants. Spec sheets with full equipment list are in the gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• confused on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:32 am

Still looks kinda the same as standard..

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Yup. And no paddle shifter for 2.0L. Sucks! I’ll stick to my kapcai.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:50 pm

erm dont see any justification..
      still slap on 3rd party / ala brothers gadget and bodykit..

what they need is bit of refinement; on the engine and transmission and ride…

:)

• Still looks better than Toyota and Honda

• your nick and your comment complement each other.

• The Hyundai’s appeal has always been to offer more equipment and then still undercut the pricing of the bare-specced Japanese brands.

The previous generation NF was priced at RM120K and it’s successor the YF is now well over RM150K! Has it’s minor success gone to its head?

• Actually simple and nice = ‘ perfect ‘ so i think the new Korean cars design r overhead i mean they looks very sporty and good but less stylist or class! if i want the Sedan or 4 door Coupe i’ll save a little bit money to get the New VW CC,Audi A4 2013 or new BMW 3 ! and i hope the 4 exhausts r real !

• Same? I thought they fixed all these from Brothers Accessories?

• Motorer on Aug 06, 2012 at 11:40 am

4 exhaust arr? All are functional or just one? Why are they going the Toyota way? Keep slapping useless accesories which just adds weight to the car.

• BMWMERCAREOVERRATED on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:35 am

Did they buy the aerokit from Camry?

• Wait till you see new Mazda6 Takeri. I’m expecting rather similar pricing to this Korean sedan. Subaru and Mazda one of the best ride and handling car from Japan.

• chocolate)head on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:45 am

couldn’t agree more, my Mazda2 sedan can handle better than Fiesta!!

• theanswer on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:50 am

nope..mazda price gonna be the same as other jap brand.

• Desmond on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Everyone knows that. Except the pricing. The current 2 is already high.

• civicking on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Really? I thought the best japanese handler is honda civic. If really mazda is a good handler, why the sales number cannot even beat european volkswagen? It is honda civic and not subaru or mazda, look at the sales volume and you will know. iVTEC is piece of technology that non other japanese marque can match

• Hadi1975 on Aug 03, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Sales volume of honda civic is high but that does not mean it is the best handler in the market…..one more thing, iVTEC is not the ultimate engine tech from japan….there are others….

• go read european/uk based review…..the only Japs car which they mentioned with the same breath with Ford Focus/Fiesta/Mondeo re-knowned handling is the Mazda 3/6 ….but they did highlight only mazda’s 2.2 diesel torque can maximise/match its handling potential while its petro(which we have) are for them underpowered & a gas guzzler…go check any uk sites..whatcar/autocar…etc..etc

• bladr on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:50 am

i-vtec = sissy engine

• Wallstreet on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Are you ok? If sales volume indicates good handling then Myvi must be the best handling car..

• 1Malaysia on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:53 pm

yes cannot agree more…
      frankly the YF ride still not much different then its predecessor the NF or grand predecessor the EF..
      the YF body still floats around..
      Mazda 6 and Camry does have better ride…
      and while the Accord has the better engine..

not get why they want put 4 exhaust or if they put 8 also still no refinement on output; only minimize the output power…
      hurm…

is this just another profit making?
      fast cash profit…

• accord have a better engined??? have to tested the Mondeo 2.o ecoboost or even the passat 1.8 TSI….btw, all those can be “tapau” by the mondeo handling wise, only the 6 can match mondeo’s handling but its NA engine is way underpowered compared to mondeo’s ecoboost

• 1Malaysia on Aug 06, 2012 at 10:07 am

Just comparing asian with asian.
          Yes i know the performance of Ford and VW engine as i own a an A4 quattro with comes with DSG..

• orange on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Mazda 6 just a copy cat of this..

• nabill on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:55 am

that grill is getting uglier….the rest is fine….

• 1Malaysia on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:55 pm

i think not only the grill is uglier..
      but the whole car..

they wanna do something like Merc CLS or VW CC but the design seems to be lacking of something “macam tak habis”..

1 time u view it maybe looks ok..
      but the more u see the car u notice and see the design requires some work to be done…

• solehin on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:03 pm

car with just 2 airbags…what a shame….

• ss427 on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Hmm… very nice dual exhaust add on to the Sonata :)

One thing though I will need to know how the exhaust pipes are being split underneath. It will be best if the split occurs after the cat converter and the dual exhaust will have their individual mufflers on each side.

Else if the split is after the stock muffler, back pressure will be lost and the car will loose low rpm torque o/p. Remember, AT needs lots of low-mid torque to work well.

Hey its not fair!… Why you guys have intergrated LCD screen with GPS while Sillypore Sonata doesn’t? :( We have factory fitted bluetooth and reverse camera (display inside rear view mirror), but don’t have GPS nor that nice LCD screen…. sighh….

• Jonathan Lee on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:33 pm

The quad pipes are probably fake. Current local 2.0 and 2.4 models only have single pipes, hidden under the bumper.

• DewaSemut on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:27 pm

The kit somehow makes the car looks “heavy”… heheh :) quad exhaust is nice

• Maserati on Aug 03, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Engine and handling still crap

• Why... on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:21 pm

I rather have six airbags than those bodykits the sonata is not performance oriented car and they shouldn’t try to be one….stick to being a pseudo luxury is better for sonata

• Bell&Ross on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:23 pm

only a malaysian could do this

• jolly_idiot on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Looks cheap. But hope the dual exhaust is a real thing not like previous dummy type.
    That’s really look awful if it’s fake.
    Anyhow, will still not buy this car.

• shawal on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:21 pm

sime darby is learning a thing or two from local auto industry…

but c’mon, seriously… a 170k car only comes with two airbags

• vincent on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:25 pm

IMHO, Topping up the number of airbags will be more practical.

• Mohd Rahman on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:31 pm

I see more Sonata’s on the road than Accords or Camry lately. Aren’t people buying Toyota and Honda anymore?

Or have people finally realised Toyota taking out the ESP from their new Camry is a slap to Malaysian public intelligence?

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:58 pm

Already see lot of Camry on the road, where do you lived ? kampong kodok in Gua Tempurung !

• yup, i also noticed more & more passats on the road…..the few new camry that i saw is mainly the 2.5 model, hopefully msian are more savvy nowadays and reject high price low safety equiped cars and teach T not take msian life cheaply….if in europe, wthout esp will means no max 5 stars rating euroncap

• Nania on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Y dont they call it as sonata sportivo or sonata limited? Sounds better.

• gtmaniac on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Should come in manual tramsmission too.. what’s the point of sport here, then.

• zaff1984 on Aug 03, 2012 at 3:40 pm

i think quad exhaust is too much. unless its V8 or V10..
    2 exhaust is sufficient.

• Jonathan Lee on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:36 pm

The bodykit is hideous. Why are local manufacturers and distributors obsessed with slapping cheap bodykits onto every car they bring in? If it’s not sporty, it doesn’t deserve a bodykit. Besides, they usually look horrible.

• David D on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:52 pm

The bodykit, let’s be honest, is horrendously ugly. The push-button, automatic lights, as well as the ASD dampers are definitely welcome, but not the damn bodykit. Might as well add 4 more airbags and the electro-chromic mirror!!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Aug 03, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Suprise 2 bad comment about korean car from David De Boy2, there already give 2 extra fake exhaust tip what. LOL

• David D on Aug 03, 2012 at 5:44 pm

It’s just the fact. Everything but the bodykit is welcome. Im sure the rest would also condemn about the lack of 4 airbags, as even myself, it’s annoying that Sime Darby is riding on the Hyundai’s brand name here to make extra blood-sucking profits.

Got a problem with my comments? Well, think you really should have a lolly before you talk childish crap in front of me.

• Wait for Mazda6 2.0 SkyActiv G dude. I’ve check the latest Mazda CX5 pricing 1,952,381.00 JPY=78,065.85 MYR BUT retailed at RM159,000+-.

If they can priced the new Takeri design sedan around RM140-150k, better bet for the SkyActiv technology; fuel saving and decent R&H. For those after estate, Mazda6 Sportwagon look good too.

After test drove the latest Camry 2.5, I dare to say that the Uncle car behave better than the predecessor THOUGH missing ESP/VSA made the car not worth our hard-earned money for RM180,000.

Better get Passat 1.8 even in CKD form is tempting RM170,888. Peugeot 508 Standard at RM155,000 also good provided we’re OK with Nasim’s aftersale.

If Camry 2.0 come with 6AT and VSA priced competitively at RM130,000 5 years warranty- best for T&H worshippers Malaysians.

• quad exhaust looks kind of ‘ricer’ for this car.. twin exhaust is ok but 4 is kind of too much~ n i hope theyre all functioning exhaust rather than just bodykit.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 03, 2012 at 8:14 pm

even it has 6,8, 10 exhaust pipes, its still handles like a boat….

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 03, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Quad exhaust adds 100hp at least…

• Hey Danny, did the small n fog lites changed to white light as opposed the previous was yellow light?

• Small price to pay for the extra kits….. But the quad exhaust is a bit…. Like you all said, it’s not a V8-v12….. Change the rims and let the exhaust stay original Plz…

• Azydy on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:27 pm

i like kia 5 ..but hyundai sonata my second choice..

• no choice if you cannot afford it, don’t have to tell everyone which one you like better

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:08 am

has anyone else noticed that the car is missing 2 chrome strips on its right doors?

• I saw this type of Sonata Sport being parked at a Hyundai showroom a few weeks ago. And there are a few of them parked there.

• tiger760li on Aug 05, 2012 at 7:23 pm

with this price(revised) im expecting TURBO CHARGE ENGINE like Ford or VW offering and not DOHC CVVT (GUARANTEED UNDER POWER FOR 2.4 VERSION)even

• But I thought it has 500 horsepower…

• A bit too Pricey for a Korean.

• uh quad pipe…. looks like a bi-turbo engine but sadly not….

• Hybrid on Sep 11, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Any sign of the hybrid coming to MY?