Superstorm Sandy: 15k new cars heading to the scrap

Superstorm Sandy has wreaked havoc in more ways than one in the U.S. New Yorkers were left without power and the subway, and carmakers have been left with damaged new cars that are no longer fit for sale. Automotive News says that Toyota, Chrysler Group, Nissan, Honda and their dealers plan to scrap more than 15,000 damaged cars.

Nissan alone estimates more than 6,000 Nissan and Infiniti vehicles are “un-saleable” because of the storm, Travis Parman, a company spokesman, said.

Some 4,000 Toyota and Lexus vehicles were at the company’s port facility in Newark when the storm hit. “We have about 1,300 that we are taking a second look at (that may be salvaged), a little bit under 3,000 will likely be scrapped,” said Jana Hartline, a spokeswoman for Toyota’s U.S. unit in California.

Honda and Acura dealers expect to have to scrap about 3,440 vehicles, said Chris Martin, the non-Coldplay spokesman for Honda. Scrappage decisions will be determined by dealers and their insurers, he said.

That’s just the new cars. Including those of individual owners, as many as 200,000 light vehicles may have to be replaced, said Larry Dixon, senior analyst for the National Automobile Dealers Association. “Total vehicles affected may be about one-third of what we saw with Hurricane Katrina, and that was about 600k. We don’t see replacement demand starting to accelerate until we’re into December.”

Sandy, the biggest Atlantic storm in American history, swept New Jersey, New York and neighbouring regions with winds that were over 160 km/h, leading to at least 100 deaths and countless damaged homes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Black Dog on Nov 08, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Warning: don’t ever name your daughters Sandy!

The cars might not be saleable in US but they can be sent to India or Timbuktu. Definitely better than a bullock cart!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • i feel sad how much loses to economy,if contribute to poverty country, i’m pretty sure no more hunger people in a year or more..

• blackened on Nov 08, 2012 at 2:00 pm

sent to Malaysia as recon cars…. lot of buyers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • start-a-fight on Nov 08, 2012 at 2:09 pm

haha… non-coldplay spokesperson.. naise one there!

• Send them to malaysia! Am sure we can fix them and still sell at higest price. Malaysia BOLEH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Stranger on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:01 pm

X habis habis nk kutuk malaysia, uneducated betul.. 3 things ppl should follow, dont condemn, dont complain, dont criticize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
  • Please send to me. I only need one Lexus.

• ae101 on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:56 pm

i thought all manufacturers have buy insurance for their properties? if not sure profit lost kaw kaw.

• Yuzdi8 on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Cannot send to Malaysia. Be cleverlah. It’s LEFT HAND DRIVE!

• ang mo kiok on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:56 pm

left hand drive convert to right still economical to me than buy new one..eehehe

• risktaker on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:18 am

U think LHD convert to RHD just shift the steering position? A lot or parts need to consider including wiring harness, brake pipe, etc.

• emission from cars invented by human is being released and results in global warming…and Sandy is a product of global warming coming to take revenge on the cars..(in this case..),and humans too.. what goes around really comes around…

• ang mo kiok on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:58 pm

then use nuclear power to curb all emission..arr cannot arr..can la..

• For all u know those cars that can’t be sold are left there for sandy to eat up. So that companies could benefit from claims

• DArkerMarker on Nov 08, 2012 at 9:44 pm

I want muscle car. Even it is right hand drive, I wanna convert the car to a bed….

• Morphasella on Nov 09, 2012 at 8:39 am

seriously?!?!?!
    i want it!!! i just want the body tho~~

• weewee on Nov 09, 2012 at 12:54 pm

i want it. i want to drive its iellegally

• Personal cars soaked in flood waters, esp. the engine, can it be dried, cleaned and reused? Any experience on this? Tempat I biasa hujan dan banjir!

• brons.. malaysia already full with tsunami cars lar..

• Pontiac on Nov 10, 2012 at 10:13 am

Great news for LYNAS!!!