Kia pro_cee’d GT and cee’d GT – more details

Click to enlarge.

More news about Kia’s pro_cee’d GT – the car surfaced last week, a sketch offering the first glimpse of the performance three-door. Now, the first technical details have come about, as well as another sketch.

When it makes its market debut in mid-2013, the pro_ceed GT will be joined by the five-door cee’d GT. Both models will roll off the line at Kia’s manufacturing facility in Zilina, Slovakia.

The company’s first two GT models will be powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI engine equipped with a twin-scroll turbocharger and strengthened internal components. Rated power output is 204 hp at 6,000 rpm, up 51% over the non-turbo engine, with torque up by 61% to 265 Nm at 1,750-4,500 rpm.

Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.9 seconds for the six-speed manual variant. Revisions to the suspension include stiffer coil springs, and common to both 4.3 metre-long GTs are unique 18-inch alloy wheels with 225/40 series tyres.

Both cars will incorporate unique features befitting their GT suffix, with new grille and lamp clusters, deeper bumpers, red brake calipers and special paint finishes being items of note.

The GT models will also wear jewelry-like, four-point LED daytime running lights, as suggested by the first public sketch of the pro_ceed GT. Meanwhile, the interior will feature Recaro sports seats, alloy pedals and bespoke surface materials. More on it as it gets closer to production, undoubtedly.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Speechless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • namelesss on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Why la speechless???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 7:06 pm

I am speechless, coz I can easily get this car at 40% RV after 6 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
      • Sam Loo-ser on Dec 04, 2012 at 9:01 pm

WTF?! The car is not even made in metal yet and you are talking about RV edi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Yea, probably when PKR wins and reduce car tax by then. Oppsss, your T&H also will be at 40% RV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • why these dickheads never stop talking about RV whenever new (korean) cars are introduced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • They (especially T&H uncle supporters) butthurt because korean cars cause T&H’s RV to drop since more and more ppl opt for new Korean car rather than 2nd hand T&H. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • dream on on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:32 pm

golf gti smoked this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • John lennon on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:41 pm

golf gti is seriously fugly lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • smokeD? with a ‘d’? really? someone has done that? provide some critical comments will ya?

i.e. instead of putting the 1.6 twin scroll mill, they should put the 2.0 turbo (274hp@6000rpm/269lb-ft@1750rpm) engine from KIA Optima SX 2011.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • golf gti is a refined hot hatch which can double up as a practical family hatch. If u want to compare this to a VW, compare it to the Scirocco ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Drive Your Way on Dec 05, 2012 at 1:50 am

It seems when it comes to car, some ‘non-smokers’ suddenly become ‘smokers’, while ‘smokers’ becomes ‘even more smokers’… It sounds like a car is meant to smoke other, and it’s doomed when it fails to smoke… lol…

Some observations so far:-
      A car is way too sissy when it cannot smoke other.
      A car is a piece of twisted metal when its value evaporated overnight.
      A car is way too ‘cheap’ when it’s owned by too many people with ‘cheap’ taste.

Pardon me for my sick joke… lol…

• Kalun on Dec 04, 2012 at 3:39 pm

For Euro Market ONLY!

Don’t expect this to sell in any Asian Countries.
    Kia Pro Ceed and Ceed model is only for Euro Market. They don’t sell this is Korea nor its Asian counterpart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • This car not worthy to sell in Malaysia. Malaysian buy Golf GTI only. Only ‘poor European’ will like this car. Malaysian all rich one.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • sepul on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:52 pm

yeah.. too bad for us

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 12:27 am

Too bad for me, coz I would have made more money when this car is traded in and sold out

• sam loo junior on Dec 04, 2012 at 4:44 pm

GT or not GT… it doesn’t matter, expect to lose 50% of car value after 1 year kimchi… lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • Hadi75 on Dec 04, 2012 at 5:42 pm

RV….RV…RV…Always RV… Buy house or land la if always about RV……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Sam, can u ask ur friend, in this few years, samsung got better value or nokia? Ur coment in paultan really make u look childish and stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Nokia is not japanese toyota and honda.. that’s why no rv. european product memang known for low rv.

• sam loo junior on Dec 05, 2012 at 8:31 am

hahahhaa, LL, how smart you are, comparing automative industry to mobile phone, hahahhaha, you are so naive and uneducated, can’t blame you though… hahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:55 pm

LL is veli panai

• looks better than the boring golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Alpha on Dec 04, 2012 at 8:37 pm

Nothing impressive with the performance..

• So-hai Sam loo on Dec 04, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Uncle sam loo still living in the past. He still think his camry still got alot of ppl want. Try go use car and see what they offer you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2012 at 11:56 pm

I make a good living trading pre-owned kimchis.

Would encourage more sorhais to buy them new

• Enthu on Dec 05, 2012 at 10:29 pm

always the same with the koreans…gotta look good but the drive…meh~