Japanese cars dominate Indonesian auto market

make car 630

More news from our neighbours – sales of Japanese brands have dominated Indonesia’s automotive market this year, Indonesia’s Antara news agency reported.

Based on Indonesian Automotive Industry Association (Gaikindo) data, Toyota takes the top spot with sales of 370,987 units, followed by Daihatsu (150,183), Mitsubishi (138,778), Suzuki (117,927), Honda (63,203), Nissan (61,549), Isuzu (31,069) and Mazda (11,021).

“Total car sales in the domestic market reached almost one million units from January to November 2012,” said Gaikindo second chairman Jhonny Darmawan. He added that the export market was also Japanese-dominated. “Sales have been predicted to reach one million units and are expected to double in the next five years.”

According to Jhonny, some of the Japanese brands that led in both domestic and export markets were Daihatsu, Toyota and Suzuki. “Those companies have exported their products to countries in Asia, Africa and South America, and have also planned to increase their exports next year.

“Due to the growth of the domestic market, the export of Japanese products has continued to rise over the years. It shows that the quality of locally assembled products here is trusted by the importing countries,” he explained.

Total car exports reached 232,385 units from January to October this year, up 43.3% from the 162,214 units sold during the same period last year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Aliffrl on Dec 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm

huhuhu. what happen in malaysia automotive industry?? are we going backward right now??
    Our neighbours is doing very good right now…
    All the best Malaysia.. for a brighter malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • vincent on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Indonesians just want anything cheap. Forget about safety of the cars, just give them anything cheap will do. Life is cheap there, so does Malaysians, that is why we are getting rubbish spec Innovas.
    But then people are getting richer, they will expect more safety in the car, like you see more Malaysians are buying non-Jap cars these days. Let’s us stop tolerating this kind of substandard safety cars in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
    • iskhalifah on Dec 27, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Been in northern Jakarta early this month. Yup, Proton is struggling in Indonesia. I saw more Ferraris on the road compared to Exora/Saga/Persona. And its weird to see that Nissan Juke is so popular over there. Who says working class Indonesians buy cheapo cars & having cheap life?

Their bread & butter taxi is the dugong Vios (which Malaysians seem so proud of owning) instead of our aging Iswaras. Lower middle class people there can afford to buy Innova, Rush, Freed. While the upper middle class ones drive Camrys, Accords, CRVs etc. Difficult to find Korean, French or American brand over there. The Japs totally controlled the market, except for the luxury segment.

• unforgiven on Dec 29, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Jakarta and Bangkok definitely better than us in terms of cars.

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Wow!! Toyota again. Few days ago other automotive website report TOYOTA gonna regain world no.1 again. Well this shows no matter how hated this brand is……. There must be some “quality” in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Abdullah on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Hello Dr M
    Are you reading this article
    Where is your Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Azlanoh on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Very weird. Indon don’t have such thing as NAP yet still attract more car factories and create even more jobs to their rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • polo saga on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:25 pm

how about Malaysia market? oops. we have Proton & Perodua! WTF!!

• kelvin on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Our best selling is Perodua and Proton is price similar to Toyata at our neighbours. No need to compare la.

Najib:”Apa?!!! Protong compare Toyoda. Compare la apple degan apple.”

• hippo on Dec 27, 2012 at 4:50 pm

Seems like Malaysia auto market is pale compare to our neighbor. No wonder even Indo maids also don’t want to come over here. We are doom….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • We still win country like Congo, Sudan, Nigeria, Somalia, Ghana, Bangladesh, Myammar, Cambodia, Laos etc.

Be proud of your country please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysia Boleh on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:40 am

Luckily u never say Vietnam, coz they gonna overtake us soon…
        50 years ago we were the best in the region, better than China, Taiwan, Singapore, North Korea, South Korea and etc… Look at where we are now ?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Don’t look down at Laos, their car market is small but the price is open market just like Australia, Brunei, and other developed countries!

We are way behind Laos in term of open market policy for car!

• We still better than country like Congo, Sudan, Nigeria, Somalia, Ghana, Bangladesh, Myammar, Cambodia, Laos etc.

Be proud of your country please.

• Sam Loo on Dec 27, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Wow, good to know that kimchis are endangered species in Indo land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Expatriate VN on Dec 27, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Good news for Indon and Thai peoples with affordable cars manufacture locally.

Also good news for cronies and AP Kings in Bolehland, still can continue to suck consumers!

• kelvin on Dec 27, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Have you seen the AP prince driving Ferrari like no people business.

• Fahmi on Dec 27, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Toyota ASEAN managers are blinded by their own overconfidence and elected to remove vital safety features in exchange for “creature comforts”… And yet people still bought Toyota…. Not all Toyota cars are crap, Toyota ASEAN cars are….

• I thought Potong everytime boldly announced new model eg Waja, Wira, Preve as the global car, why Indonesia in South East Asia oso cannot sell why why why even with hundreds of millions R&D given free by BN

• Japanese? Come on why don’t you buy car from your saudara across the strait.

• David D on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:08 am

It is definitely good to know about the strong sales Indonesia is experiencing, and it goes to show that you don’t need a national car at times to build up an economic powerhouse. All it takes is affirmative action, strong bases, and a desire to improve people’s standards of living through their salaries.

However, on a serious note, it is important for the makers in Indonesia to better advocate safety features on future cars. One particular sinner here, I have to say is Toyota. I mean, why not at least include an airbag for all cars sold there? As more cars go onto Indonesian roads, the accident possibility rates increase, and potential death rates will increase as well. With that, if Honda, Nissan, and the likes can at least advocate installing airbags in some of their basic models, why can’t Toyota? It’s ridiculous to see such a situation.

And to Sam Loo whos hatred for Korean cars come out just because of his experience, let me ask you this:- Are you aware that Israel, Egypt, Morocco, and some other countries, in such countries, Toyota’s market share is damned small until they are virtually non-existent? Food for your thought before you wanna condemn brands because of your own problems. Oh, and looking at recent IIHS crash tests for the Camry and Prius V, the small overlap crash tests, I will certainly think twice before buying one of them, as the structure collapsed so much, even the 10 airbags ain’t gonna save you.

• oblong on Dec 28, 2012 at 9:59 am

“and it goes to show that you don’t need a national car at times to build up an economic powerhouse” – Here in Malaysia we’re proud to raise our ‘own’ children instead of raising ‘other people’ children even-though our ‘own’ is a spoil kid hehehehe!

• Expatriate VN on Dec 28, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Low class mentality! You are not raise your “own” children, but feeding cronies and AP King so that they can continue with super luxury lifestyle, come with 4 wives and line their bungalow’s garage with Porsche, Ferrari, BMW, Mercedes, RR, etc. These cronies even not touch jaguh kampung with 10 feet pole!

Only idiot like keep on to be blind supporter, used that unsafe crappy car at inflated price!

• Nenek Jack on Dec 28, 2012 at 8:16 am

Don’t blame people for buying Quality products eg. Honda, Toyota etc

If not then entire ASEAN car markets controlled by Proton by now lah…..

• Artsource on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Indonesia will never buy malaysian car…because they hate malaysian car…same as korea and japan…..even a football match will be a reason not to buy proton…wrong market.