ETCM teases car with first-in-class Blind Spot Warning System – Nissan Teana facelift coming soon?

nissan-blis-01

Edaran Tan Chong Motor has put up a teaser for a new model via its Nissan Malaysia Facebook page. The key clues here are “Blind Spot Warning System” and “first-in-class” – the new car will have the safety feature pioneered by Volvo (BLIS) and will be the first car in its class to do so.

Working from there, we can write off the new Nissan Sylphy, which we previewed in Thailand last year. The Sylphy is a C-segment sedan, and that class already has the new Ford Focus, which offers BLIS in the Titanium + Sedan.

Moving up one class to the D-segment, no model offers blind spot warning, whether Japanese, Korean or Continental. The new Mazda 6 sports a similar system called Rear Vehicle Monitoring, but that sleek sedan will only have its official launch sometime in March. So if ETCM beats Mazda’s launch date, both clues can be ticked for a Nissan Teana facelift or updated 2013 Teana.

If it is indeed a refreshed Teana, click here for a look at the facelifted Teana we snapped in China. In that post, we detail the differences between the Chinese facelift and the Malaysian market Teana. There’s a new X-shape to the face thanks to a new lower front bumper, but a 2012 update of the JDM Teana carried the smooth V-shaped face we’re familiar with.

Time will tell if the Blind Spot Warning System equipped model is an updated Teana, and if yes, how will it look like?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hairy_nipples on Feb 20, 2013 at 1:39 pm

good feature to avoid zigzagging motorcyclist or people who cannot make up their mind on which lanes they rather want to be at. i suppose the feature is only made available only for the top range v6? i don’t understand, what is it so good about the camry despite being spartan and overpriced?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Welcome this small improvement in safety features from Nissan. Good move, but more is needed.

• AVH® on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:37 am

ETCM should stop giving crap like this and instead concentrate on bringing cars quickly to Malaysia. They ALWAYS bring in cars like 5 years later after the car has been launched globally. I remember the Cefiro for example, it was launched 5 years before it was launched in Malaysia, and ETCM tried to con people by renaming it the Teana. When Singapore had the brand new Cefiro, ETCM still continued selling the Cefiro for a whole 5 years and changing the variants ie introducing the Brougham etc just to show people they were launching “new” cars. Come on ETCM, buck up. Your whole range looks so outdated and old. Nissan overseas is so highly regarded, here its backward and depressing. Look at your X trail, so old also, yet you are pushing and pushing to clear stock. By now, you should already CKD the Murano to replace the ageing X-Trail. What a disgrace. This is propounded by the fact the the CEO disgraced himself in various forums by supporting the government’s move for high prices and no reduction in taxes. Everyone condemned him to the max until he kept quiet for months to come. Nissan in Malaysia is such a disgrace.

• NISSpengAN on Feb 20, 2013 at 1:40 pm

im still wait mazda 6 or honda accord launch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • I remember an idiotic comment saying Nissan car here in Malaysia is made of strong rigid steel and could justify with less airbags. So then the point to add all these features??? I am sure the rigid body harms no one in the car eventhough bang onto others in the blind spot if follows the logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • takhtu on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Agree with you. BLIS is good, but please, can we have more airbags. All auto-makers here are beating around the bush to avoid extra cost for the safetey of passengers. Don’t get me wrong, BLIS is good, but please, stop making fools of Malaysians and give us the standard 6-8 airbags. Or maybe our lives are cheaper than others? And the Government in the meantime is doing absolutely nothing to ask manufacturers to provide more safety! Aiiiiyaaaa!

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Some of the blame should be directed to the government.

if one air bag cost 500, then additional 4 will cost 2000, add 50% profit margin, = 3000, then add 100% tax = 6000. This is the cost to buyers, a cost that the car dealer is not likely to shoulder. If the government can reduce/exempt tax on Hybrids, why can’t they do the same for safety gear…

That said, its really really really poor showing to skimp on safety gear on a D segment car (I’m looking at you Honda, Toyota, Hyundai and Nissan), when even B segment cars can have the full complement of airbags.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Agreed, the safety standards in the States and Europe are at least 6 airbags + VSC. But with the recent ASEAN NCAP, I hope things would change.

• I agree with you in principle but I don’t think NCAP can take VSC (traction control) into account as those are more on the “avoidance” part rather than crash-survivability. Correct me if I am wrong.

• Jimmy on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:32 pm

So, please ya Mercedes/BMW, your customers are willing to pay RM10k per additional airbags as optional accessory.

• koozold on Feb 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Only KIA doing a good job.

• tokmoh on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:30 pm

“According to Nissan, the reason why this grade has only one airbag is due the chassis’ rigidity, which is enough to withstand front and side collision. The E is also meant to be the lowest grade, hence the omission of the front passenger airbag also means saving a few more Ringgit.”

http://paultan.org/2012/09/05/nissan-almera-previewed-a-short-drive-on-a-test-track/

hahahahaha

Now what’re they gonna say, they’re concerned about safety? Say what? While selling Almari with 1 airbag at the same time? harharhar

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Honestly, I think is more of a salesman tactic: man walks into showroom, shows him Almera, as he is about to gt the E, salesman tells him to be safer and get the V at 6k extra. And I think Toyota and Honda is also employying the same tactic, get the Hybrids to have 7 airbags and VSC.

But one thing caught my attention….Even the “latest Toyota Vios update has made dual airbags standard across all models, including the most affordable J model.” OK, thats a surprise for me, makes me anticipate the new Vios more.

• tokmoh on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:44 pm

LOLZ

Imagine if man walks the other way round. First, he go to Teana, salesman say “got BLIS, cuz we care about safety”.

Then walk to Almari, salesman say “1 airbag only needed, cuz its body very strong”.

Genius.

• Two airbag to comply with new regulation to have a minimum of 2 airbags.

• xenogearz™ on Feb 20, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Was hoping that the car to be launched is the new Nissan Note…oh well, need to wait another year I suppose

• CK Chai on Feb 20, 2013 at 2:39 pm

don’t ask me how I know.

It’s the BLACK EDITION NISSAN TEANA.

Same looks as current Teana with some updated equipment, will be sold alongside current Teana.

• CARtoon on Feb 20, 2013 at 2:42 pm

for a person working

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Well, there is a very very very high chance its the Teana. Here’s why;

1. Teana has been here since 2010. Generally a facelift would be done after 3 years.
    2. The image #3 that shows the BLIS button has a silhouette of the air cond vent on the driver’s side. Based on the existing Teana dash ( http://paultan.org/image/DSC_0934_770-500×334.jpg ) The shape of the vent matches. So this makes sense that its the Teana.

• David D on Feb 20, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Hey Sudonano bro, here’s a heads-up. I was at Grand Dorsett Subang, a.k.a the old Sheraton Subang, and yes, it is confirmed, the Teana will be launched there tomorrow. Saw them putting up all the stands at their main ballroom.

Why do I know? That’s because I’m currently on my job internship there. Cheers bro. ;)

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Hi David!

Looks like the beans have been spilled. If anyone scrolls this far then they will know that its coming! And if many see this, looks like Shereton will be packed.

But what I do wish is for Nissan to go to an all V6 lineup. Bring back the old VQ20DE from the Cefiro days, cause that is one fantastic engine. Although no CVTC it is smooth. At least ETCM is more generous than UMW with the Camry.

PS: Have fun at the launch! :D

• sudonano on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:35 am

And yes David, it is CONFIRMED! It is a new Teana! However, NIssan has put in their ad that its just an update, not a facelift. So looks like old look stays. And yes, now there is a black interior option.

But the cake goes to Mazda! Few pages after the Nissan ad in today’s Star, they are promoting the new 6 and they put it in large alphabets: DO NOT MAKE ANY DECISION UNTIL YOU TEST DRIVE THE MAZDA 6!

That. is. awesome.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

SURPRISE, Nissan Almera now with BLIS….. hahaha, but the possibility is tiny, but it would be great if the Almera comes with BLIS.

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Nissan Almari with BLIS? No way. They skimp and give 1 airbag for the base spec, I doubt blis will make it got that model.

• AVH® on Feb 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Top spec got 2 airbags, so if happens, most likely top spec. But I already said it would be impossible.

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:27 pm

Confirm no way. Unless ETCM suddenlyfelt their Almari sales not good enough. Heard that 15k bookings so far. Not bad.

• Roger Tan on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Would’ve been nice if is it the Note – something tells me I’m way off here

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 20, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Don’t think so. The Note is too expensive and TC does not have enough room to slot in the Note between the Almera, X-gear, Latio Sport and Grand Livina

• seancorr on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Meh…so what, the BLIS already offered by a cheaper and more advanced C segment Ford Focus. In addition that…is that all from ETCM? How about more airbags or frontal radar collision system like the Focus and maintain the price instead of hiking it?

Now all that is left is for Honda to launch the Accord with MORE features at an acceptable price range. Mazda 6 is the car to beat right now!

• Jimmy on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Yes, deal of the year 2013 is Mazda6. Superupdatefaceliftrenewed, whatsoever you like to call, Teana surely cannot beat Mazda6, chassis is not there, safety equipments kedekut. Ngak sai lou.
      Come on lah, 6 airbags please, plus collision prevention system on top of this BLIS.

• einstein on Feb 20, 2013 at 6:12 pm

a mandatory driving assist technology for malaysian female and feminine-style driver coz the phrase “driving and blind” is deem illegal.

• barack osama on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Guys…it a new Nissan Note for sure !
    Pls Google and you’ll be surprise!

• sudonano on Feb 20, 2013 at 10:36 pm

I tell you why it cannot be the Nissan Note.

You go and see the pic with the BLIS button, see the design of the air vent next to the steering. In the note, its a circular design, like the Saga LMST and BLM. Teana is the only one with brushed silver garnish around it. And the thing is not rectangular, the bottom is angled. Dead giveaway.

• hopeless…

• klguy on Feb 20, 2013 at 11:05 pm

teana not same class as Volvo S40 meh? S40 gt BLIS already mah.

• sudonano on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:41 am

S40 is B segment. Teana is D segment, so should be in the S80. And yes the S80 has BLIS as standard.

• matjoe on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Focus Titanium + got BLIS. cheaper summore