Suzuki Swift Sport: initial details of local car emerge

suzuki swift sport 2013 website

UPDATE: Sorry folks, definitely jumped the gun a little bit. Should have guessed that a half-complete site would also mean half-complete info – earlier prices turned out to be of the old car’s instead, which had creeped up since point of launch. Egg on our face for attempting to be too clever, article revised as such. Tune in for the official reveal later this week. Promise it’ll all be dead-on centre then…

Ah, nothing like being rewarded by a bit of poking about. No, we’re not talking about body bits, but rather the new Suzuki Swift Sport, which we saw in spyshots back in March. The car is due to be officially launched later in the week. Not to ruin the fun too much, but we’ve managed to already get details for the ZC32S, which made its debut in Frankfurt back in 2011.

Details about the car are already on the Suzuki Malaysia website, though not visible on the main page – nothing a bit of URL guesswork couldn’t unveil. The pages still look a little incomplete (that’s the old car right on top there; new one in smaller pix), but importantly the material available is of the new car.

As expected, both six-speed manual and seven-step CVT models are available for the car. The new Swift Sport rolls in slightly longer than the old car, at 3,890 mm to the outgoing’s 3,765 mm; the wheelbase has also been increased by 50 mm to 2,430 mm. Width increase is marginal, by five millimetres to 1,695 mm, and there’s no change to the overall height of 1,510 mm.

The 1.6 litre M16A engine has now been massaged, coaxed for better figures. The twin-cam naturally-aspirated unit lists 134 hp at 6,900 rpm and 160 Nm at 4,400 rpm, up from the 125 hp and 148 Nm seen previously. Performance figures include a 195 km/h top speed for the manual (185 km/h, CVT), and the 0-100 km/h run is accomplished in 8.7 seconds.

Standard kit includes bi-xenon headlamps with black surrounds, new seat fabric with a Sport logo and a leather-wrapped steering wheel. The Swift Sport also features an uprated suspension with Monroe shocks, and rides on 16-inch alloys and 195/50 profile rubbers. The Malaysian-spec Suzuki Swift Sport is likely to wear the same wide-spaced five twin-spoke alloys as seen on the evaluators.

The website material lists ESP, ABS and six airbags for the car, even though seven airbags (including driver’s knee) is the usual global pitch – guess we’ll find out soon enough.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 5:57 pm

It’s finally here after years of waiting! Hope I got the money to get the MT variant though.

• nyipl on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Wah it’s so cheap and fast! I want to buy it to fetch my children to and fro school

• Forget about the sexy slow Rio, this thing is hot!

• keyal on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:45 am

Faster myvi at 100k, still you get cramped cabin and boot with cheap looking interior.
      One word : overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • RM 96k!!!……Okay still bit pricey but it’s cheaper than I thought! expected to be priced above the six-digit mark… They still bring in Manual, Great Job Suzuki Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Syazwan on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:00 pm

http://www.suzuki.net.my/models/Swiftsport_specs.aspx

I thought on first spyshot the cvt equipped with paddle shift right??

• 0-100 at 8.7 sec, faster than my civic and peugeot 308 turbo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • butter on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:20 pm

….but need to rev the engine kaw kaw and it’ll give bad sound, not to mention give stress to engine while turbocharged engine doesn’t have have to rev much since it has powerful torque at much lower rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:00 pm

But the turbo itself giving stress all the time. If you get power at lower rpm, your engine will have trouble giving out power at high rpm, like ford ecoboost. Ford Mondeo vs Mazda 6 compared, Ford has more power in city drive but when they manage to rev it up higher, the power output is dropping, Mazda 6’s is completely different, the more you rev it, the faster it go.

• konigsegg on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Push the pedal hard like kancil. Will power drives the car, not the engine, LOL

*sarcasm*

• these are high revving NA engines designed for that purpose, u can see power band peaks at 7000rpm n redline at 7200….u obviously havnt driven the current swift sport or typeR before…its music to our ears…u want low rev? go buy a diesel….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • fedegr on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:59 am

But still lose at top speed, give chance first then those cars can smoke it later lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • not everything is about top speed…its about driveability, power delivery, handling etc.
            swift sport characteristics focuses on handling and pick up, thus the fun factor. its not as good as the mini but almost as fun and at less than half the price, its highly rated as overall rating also looks at affordability too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • ioput on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Certainly it’s not comparable to C segment cars which is much more comfortable and bigger boot. SSS is not family oriented car, unless you have other bigger car in stable

• leenale on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:32 pm

This cute supermini not for top speed but its fun to drive in sharp corner like genting speedway and put up plugs from iridium bosch. Sure mencicit!

• not trendy at all, people want silent power at low rpm, not old style rev it hard noisy ah beng car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • so prancing horse and raging bull is old skool and not trendy and ah beng car? well every car is different, and you are not the target market obviously….

• rcciL on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:19 pm

That target market for lambo and ferrari are for few rich people, if they want silence they have other cars.

This SSS has personality conflict. Not so fast like Polo GTI but not slow. At 100k do you think the buyers have other cars to drive to have more comfortable ride? Why they don’t make it suitable for more chunk of people. Make the boot bigger, turbo engine while it’s not necessarily a sedan. A very good hatchback design can make a boot bigger than it seems to be.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:50 am

This sporty car is meant for rev it hard, drive it hard. If want a low rpm silent car, please go to toyota showroom and ask for camry, this is not a car for you

• dbter on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Noise can make you tired faster, thus it’s not really suitable for long journey.

• Until when Japs want to sell outdated car like this? European already goes for turbo engine, Jap is still far behind.

Even Proton can do better. Haha!

• I want more cabin space with ample boots and relaxing drive. This is more towards people who create noise and nuisance on roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Chris on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:18 am

Then why did you even bother to make a post about it? To share a fair opinion? Or to create noise and nuisance in the blog?

• bestest on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:59 pm

I can’t hear any sound here or i miss the play/speaker button?

• Yawnnn... on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:44 am

You spelled MYVi and Wajalution Wrong…

• grends on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Their time has passed. But still we have this similar type of car produced and marketed here in 21st century. We are moving backward.

• JeremyNg on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Finally its here !!! excited …….. but abit sad that it 2k expensive while UK the new car price is cheaper den older model ~ not sure why

Gonna figure out where to get money

• 0-100 at 8.7, faster than my civic and peugeot 308 turbo…

• _xXx_ on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:13 pm

RM6888 is just upgrading cost, not the Recaro seat cost as they don’t give you back you stock seats if you buy the Recaro version…

• It’s CKD or CBU?

• Wayne on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Ron 97 or 95?

• So can it use ron 95?

• Can use ron 95 but u cannot get the optimum performance. Not sure about the long term effect though..

• JeremyNg on Jun 04, 2013 at 9:52 pm

According to those reviewer from UK , Euro & Aus. the new model can use Ron95 and it still will produce peak power !! u can go google and search it =)

• anti-vios on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:48 pm

it seem that i need to let go my myvi

• the old swift sport can use ron 98 or ron 95…95 shouldnt be a problem with this car…

• Radzli on Jun 04, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Omg… Its finally here!
    Im waiting for my facelifted manual crz now. Should i cancel my booking n get this instead? Which 1 is s better entry level performance car?

Wonder how it runs with ron 95 though…

• Alpha on Jun 04, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Entry level performance car?? CR-Z is NOT a performance car, bro. Even if you’re taking the manual.
      Entry level should be something like the Polo GTi.
      Or I’d say this Swift Sport is good enough to be considered an entry-level performance car. Fun, agile and powerful enough. Great power to weight ratio too.

Someone once told me CR-Z is a good performance car coz just by installing a supercharger you can get around 50 more ponies.All I got to say was, “Any cars you plunk in a forced induction unit like a turbocharger or supercharger can easily get around 50 ponies, bro…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • The CRZ is less of a performance car but more of a little stress-relieving fun car. Even the better performance the manual gives it’ s far from being ‘performance’. But manual gearbox and nifty handling chassis, the difference the CRZ to the Polo GTI is a bit like what the 86 is to the Magane Renault sport or Focus ST; numbers doesn’t matter much, but it makes every KM/H counts.

Great job he got the manual, the auto is another hairdresser car to me, same goes for the countless 86 Auto I’ve seen

• Radzli on Jun 04, 2013 at 8:11 pm

I never really drove an SSS before… So i couldnt really differentiate between these 2.
          On paper i couldnt see much difference in terms of performance wise….
          Crz is my initial pick coz its quite fun to drive, nice 6 speed stick shifter, low rpm torque, x really need a 4-5 seater, fuel efficiency (dont know how it stack Up against sss…), and the looks!

This new sss made me wanna rethink. Which 1 offers more value (other than the buying price)?

• ermmm, CRZ is more of a 2+2, the back space is for kids. If you really need a 4-5 seater should have gone for a sedan car, the SSS if I’am not mistaken has only 2-doors. Performance wise, definitely the SSS is better, from the ground-up it’s a more driver focused car not unlike the Civic Type-R. But that usually means it’s not really a good everyday car. As far as fuel efficiency goes, I have little doubt the CRZ is better than the SSS, but as a Hybrid, it’s has among the worst fuel consumption.

Ultimately the car suits the buyer lifestyle, if you plan on hitting the tracks or the back-roads the SSS is a better choice. Spend more time in the city but still want to have fun from time-to-time+get, can’ t go much wrong with the CRZ at that price.

• _xXx_ on Jun 05, 2013 at 8:58 am

I think the back seats are for shopping bags, pets etc. Definitely not for human.

• vechczech on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Very funny to install bolt-on-turbo on CRZ. Turbo konon, if pecah sendiri mau ingat la. It has no factory warranty like CFE

• Polo gti indeed low entry performance car. But buy 1 month stuck 2 months inside service center, shiok meh ? And dont forget, the crazy torque steer from polo gti. Proper 6 speed manual always is the king.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 04, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Neither CR-Z and SSS is performance car. CR-Z is more cheaper on fuel, although it’s kinda slow, but you still can’t manage to use all the 120hp in city drive. What CR-Z offer is a very pure Honda FWD. It handles corner very well and quite fun to drive. Maybe it can compare to VW Sciricco in terms of performance. SSS is also a very fun car which offer comfortable rear seat, but it’s not as refined as a CR-Z, it’s noisy on the highway and consume more fuel than a CR-Z. If you always carry people, SSS is your choice. If you like something unique, then CR-Z. And one more thing, CR-Z interior is better than SSS, it feels very futuristic compared to civilized SSS. Since both are Japanese, or JDM, aftermarket upgrade is wide and SSS wins hands down if you tends to some modification to the engine as CR-Z is quite impossible to modified by 3rd party as it is a hybrid.

• umbro on Jun 05, 2013 at 3:49 am

CR-Z performance is nowhere near Scirocco performance. Don’t just overate you favourite car, shame.

Don’t compare shitty CRZ with Scirocco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:57 am

Shitty? Do you know how good the car perform in corner? You just hate it because it is a Honda, that’s it. Nowhere near? Scirocco 1.4 TSI, 120HP and 200NM torque, CR-Z 2013, 130HP and 190NM or torque. CR-Z is widely praised for brilliant chassis and very good handling, it can surpass car with higher power in corner. Scirocco is praised for, fun to drive and looks sporty only. I believe CR-Z can do faster lap than Scirocco.

• The thing that surprise me is that he is comparing a CRZ and a Scirocco, a car that is almost RM60k more(a lot to those looking for a CRZ) and dosen’t come with a manual. Both car suits the needs of different people. But as far CR-Z faster than a Scirocco, I kinda a doubt it, maybe Ebisu or Nikko Irohazaka.

• _xXx_ on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Sirocco 1.4 xbleh main laa…gearbox pecah nanti

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:05 pm

AVH: For me, both Scirocco and CR-Z is really similar. Like a 911 turbo s and a GT-R, only price and luxurious different. In terms of performance, they both about the same.

• engner on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:02 pm

CRZ is only sporty car, it has no soul like Scirocco. Handling wise performance car like Scirocco can smoke CRZ anytime anyday especially on winding Malaysian roads

• PauKaya on Jun 04, 2013 at 11:06 pm

if this car had a toyota or honda badge it would have sold much more

• 6-MT RM99,888 OTR….good value if compared to current model….i hope pricing on SMA website is correct!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Stanley on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:02 am

Now this is more like it compare to the previous version. 0-100km/h is decent and 6 speed manual.

• Anthony, u say official reveal later this week – meaning launch is this week? will be able to see it in metal in showrooms this weekend?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • mr_em on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:05 am

Launching simultaneuosly for Malaysia and Indonesia market… another 24 hours to go… :)

• looking at the specs in SMA website, looks like we are not getting VSA, dual xenon and push start…..as usual coz the current SSS also dun hv aa opposed to photo in the website..

• SamaLOO on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:04 pm

In other words : Rip Off Price!!!!!!

• yes, but among all the other ripoffs offerred by other brands, u can say this is one of the best deal…LoL

• CRZ performance & handling not bad but the realibility need to be consider. CRZ 7speed CVT gearbox = 2003~2008 H.city gearbox not suite for rough user.
    For realibility i will always choose SSS.

• Chris on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:30 am

I went and asked about the CRZ just a few days ago, I was told by the sales person that the battery would last 7-8 years and replacement cost RM8k++. Not sure how true is that, but sure seems like something to keep in mind.

• the power output is base on japan 98 ron?