Honda Accord Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid in Japan

am_ac1306001H

The Honda Accord Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid have been released in Japan. The Accord Hybrid can return a quoted fuel economy of 30 km per litre, courtesy of the Sport Hybrid i-MMD (intelligent Multi-Mode Drive) powertrain, which features Earth Dreams tech.

The Sport Hybrid i-MMD system involves a 137 hp 2.0 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder Atkinson-cycle engine, an electric CVT enclosing  two motors (a 166 hp one for traction and a 141 hp one for generation), and a lithium-ion battery.

Drive switches automatically between electricity only, internal combustion engine only or a combination of both, depending on driving style. Braking is regenerative, too.

am_ac1306027H

The Accord Plug-in Hybrid is based on the Accord Hybrid, but delivers a quoted 70.4 km per litre thanks to a system that makes the car run on EV mode more of the time.

It can be charged from a household wall socket, and will be available for lease to corporations and government agencies. Fully charged, the Plug-in Hybrid can travel up to 37.6 km on electric power alone.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• wow, a great achievement! The FC is even comparable to small bike’s FC! Kudos to Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Wisdom on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Finally Honda Hybrid with atkinson cycle engine and 2 electric motor + ecvt. Those praises toyota for having full hybrid, Honda is also going full hybrid, with a better hybrid system layout imho..

With tax exemption, this car should be priced slightly lower than normal Accord, at least, as per Civic vs Civic Hybrid pricing.

• Rinnegan on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:14 am

“It can be charged from a household wall socket, and will be available for lease to corporations and government agencies.” I guess the current G might be taking this kind of accord, especially since they decided to retire their perdanas.

• driver on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:47 pm

the rims have to go. ugly.

• BMW Fanboi on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:00 pm

New trend la, all hybrid from different brand also use this rims, including BMW too,but actually it’s ugly.

• driver on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Thanks for seconding.

I don’t use brand as proxy to determine something is good/bad, ugly or not.. I just go with what I think is right. After all, it’s an opinion.

• The Accord is one of the few Honda cars that is still actually competitive. Still looks decent(but more luxurious than sporty of the last) and has a powertrain that goes with it. I like how the plug-in hybrid has that so-90s Radio Antenna on the side front-bumper (which I believe is helpful for parking, can’t bloody judge how long car hood is today)

But the main thing here is that both hybrid has a 2.0l engine, so it is still technically applicable for the Government tax ‘discount’, which I still hear no news of its extension beyond this year.

• Jimmy on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Accord please Advance your noise, Vibrationa and Harseness. It is the worse than Teana and Camry.

• It took me awhile to decipher what are u actually saying. The NVH in the latest Accord is actually better then the last. NVH is something Honda is desperately improving in their recent lineup after the whole 2012 Civic Fiasco, but than again NVH has always been the downside of Hondas, thaat much I agree. Now the new Honda Accords gets the Earth Dream direct injection engine. Mated with a 5-speeder(in ASEAN). Not a six, but better than a four or a CVT(personal opinions on the CVT), and even with a CVT in the States, the 2.4 sprints to 100 in just under 7 sec, faster than a GT86. The only cars thet surpass it is the Mazda 6. So how is a Teana and Camry better? but if you say better comfort, that much I may agree with you. And an American review shows the Honda the better of the three in terms of handling (The Altima in place of the Teana)even with the Honda having ‘older’ MacPherson struts.

• Hi Jonathan, any chance Malaysia will get the Accord Hybrid?

• So now the million dollar question is : “Will this 2.0L Accord hybrid be launched in M’sia by end of this year to take advantage of the exemption on excise duty ?” Please advise accordingly, TQ.

• blurboy on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Okay… this technology coming soon to Proton when they build badge engineered Accord for Malaysian Government la…

• carlies on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Can anyone please advise me the Accord which Proton going to produce is this model or the current model? HAHA

• driver on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:54 pm

err.. nobody (i.e. public) knows that. I think that’s obvious.

• Enthu on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Better late than never huh Honda?

• seancorr on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Now only launched in Japan so I doubt it will make it to our shores in time before the exemption expires and there is talk that the government is not going to renew it?

• ayamxxx on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Honda will run this car in japan at least 1-2 years for testing and running for problem free before export it to other country

• Impressive FC, great looks and technology! I’m sorry keep bashing Honda in previous post. I am a hipster you know, because praise a Japanese car is too mainstream.

• I have been looking forward either toyota or honda would bring in accord or camry hybrid into Malaysia .. hybrid available are mostly mid sized sedan … need a bigger sedan … comfy for long distant travel …

• Carl Wong on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:29 pm

Please come next year as the most efficient car to beat Prius and the first Plug In Hybrid in our market :)!!!

• gOOsh on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:59 am

model ni ke PROTON nak rebadge?

• jeffrey on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:16 am

2.0ivtec hybrid..wowthis is tempting. If the price is right in msia i will trade in my 07 civic for this but please Honda improve the NVH. Another thought, will Proton rebadged this as the new perdana? if yes the hard luck i will not buy