LIVE GALLERY: Production BMW i3 electric car unveiled in Beijing, London and New York

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BMW unveiled the production version of the BMW i3 electric car at three simultaneous events in Beijing, London and New York. We are reporting live from the Beijing event.

We will be back with full details on the car soon, in the meanwhile you can read all about the technical aspects of the car in our previous story: BMW i3 EV – first production car details revealed.

For now, here’s a live gallery from Beijing and we hope you enjoyed the Youtube Live video stream that we embedded in the previous post as well. UPDATE: New York and London gallery added.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rinnegan on Jul 29, 2013 at 9:23 pm

This might be off topic but, I wonder what happen to that Proton Emas. It did looks promising isn’t it?

• frenzyaustin on Jul 29, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Great interior and performance, but bad exterior. Especially the kidney grill that has no function.

• And suddenly all the low self esteem Malaysian will praise this made in germany car like the carmaker is their master..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • yawnbig on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:11 pm

150k? no, thanks. better buy much cheaper 11km/l FC car

• dugong on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Is that you in the back seat paul? Looks pretty cramped in the rear seats. But you are 180cm tall right?

• seancorr on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I see someone very familiar in the pictures hehe, how’s the i3 Paul? Dashboard design is in a different direction as expected from a new breed of cars.

Exterior design does take some time to get used to though

• sudonano on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:18 pm

From what I see with Paul in the driver’s seat, the rear seats really looked cramped. Then again, Paul is pretty tall, so I think for us Malaysians it might be OK. But I’d really wonder how tall people can ever fit in it, with such compact dimensions in the back.

• kadajawi on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:24 am

Doesn’t look so compact to me. Paul is sitting very far behind, perhaps to take photos. Doesn’t look like a good driving position to me. And the person behind still has space. His knees aren’t touching anything, so that is fine. Sometimes I think Asians just want obscene amounts of legroom. What is the problem, as long as the knees aren’t touching anything?

• Paul Tan on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:03 am

That’s actually my normal seating position. The my wrists touch the top of the steering wheel which is optimal. The car is not very long inside but it’s comfortably wide. People of average height won’t feel it’s tight inside but may feel claustrophobic a bit sitting at the rear because your head is right next to the pillar and the seats in front are tall as well.

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:01 pm

And also to mention that the batteries is under the seat due to the fact this car is RWD (like most BMWs) so maybe headroom is a bit tight for tall peoples.

• droll on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:53 am

a. buy petrol powered hybrid for RM100k
    b. buy this car for RM150k

that’s 50k difference in price. 50k = 26,315Litres of fuel @ RM1.9 per litre.

has anyone actually done this calculation?

• kadajawi on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:20 am

Sadly the interior is nowhere near as nice as that of the concept. I loved the flow of the lines there, here it is too angular, and then the use of wood (beach I suppose) in the concept… Finally the perhaps not practical enough air vents. Oh wait, it seems wood is an option. That helps a lot, but still the shape isn’t quite as nice. Another problem I see is with the glossy monitors that have no shading at all. Good luck driving around during daytime, seeing nothing but reflections instead of the vehicle speed.

I guess you can get used to the exterior, the interior is pretty nice (and that’s what the owner is looking at most of the time anyway). The rest of car also seems nice and makes some sense (well… if it is tax free in Malaysia).

• Wow this car has a big Snout….oink oink….

• Interior is gorgeous. It looks like a concept car that made it into production (which is a good thing) :)

• neemfa on Jul 30, 2013 at 7:31 am

Sorry BMW, you are a few years behind. We already have it here –> Myvi with BMW grille..

hehehhahahhohohoho

Really, it looks like one..

• penner on Jul 30, 2013 at 12:48 pm

BMW pun kecik haram jadah beli mahal ratus ribu

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:03 pm

I have doubt this is gonna be cheap. Just like all BMWs, it’s gonna be expensive, isn’t it? Also, what on earth is the small girl (budak kecik) was doing in that debut?

• lektrik on Oct 16, 2013 at 7:00 pm

No wonder la Elon Musk giggled when they were asked about the i3. It look hideous compared to Tesla Model S