Hyundai i30 SR – 2.0 GDI variant debuts in Australia

hyundai i30 sr 02

Hyundai has introduced the i30 SR in Australia – the five-door hatch model is the first i30 in the world to be equipped with the 2.0 litre Nu GDI engine, as seen on the likes of the i40 Sedan and Tourer. Up to now, the largest displacment petrol engine equipping the second-gen i30 range globally has been the 1.8 litre Nu.

Output figures for the i30 SR are 173 hp and 209 Nm, a jump of 25 hp and 31 Nm over the 1.8 litre MPI unit. The SR is available with either six-speed manual or six-speed automatic transmission with sequential manual mode. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.7 seconds for the six-speed manual and 8.6 seconds for the six-speed auto.

Standard fitment includes 17-inch machined-face alloys wheels, a sports front grille with piano-black insert, HID xenon headlamps, LED rear combination lamps, a rear diffuser as well as unique SR badging. A panoramic glass sunroof is optional. Inside, kit includes leather/leatherette upholstery, powered driver’s seat, alloy pedals and an electrochromatic rear-view mirror.

The i30 SR also features a unique suspension tune, developed in Australia in close co-operation with Hyundai in Korea. Revisions include re-valved Sachs front/rear dampers and unique front springs that are four percent stiffer than the standard fit unit. The setup is tuned specifically for Australian conditions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawa on Aug 20, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Ini baru hot hatch world-class design with proper name…who wanna drive a car that sounds like seluar dalam???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 237 Thumb down 14
    • u mean the Sperma S ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
    • kjngok on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:38 pm

at the end of the day, RV is the king! no matter how good the car is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 47
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 162
        • viosno1 on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Vios is still no.1, why so jelly? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 43
          • Vader on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:44 am

Live in your own “vios” world to keep u feel happy.. why not? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 55
      • Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Actually, I encourage more sorhais to buy kimchis, coz it makes my business grow.

Sui Kwan euros devalue just as much, but hard to sell. Kimchis are the best to trade. Super Low trade in and reasonable selling price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:35 am

Those that still wants to lose an arm and 2 legs when they trade their cabbages in are obviously kimchi owners.

Love it when you guys buy in new and trade it in at 50% RV within a year. Just wonder what goes on in your minds when you buy them new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • I’d rather having this than the Suprima!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 11
  • gOOsh on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm

another Suprima S competitor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • this is the kind of car proton should come out with for international market.
    today just went and see the suprima.
    oh gosh!
    the interior so dated and not synchronous to each other.
    the door panel design is same like those 80s taxi door panel.
    the glovebox and the box at driver side almost like tercabut every time open it.

the power is there,with sacrifice of bad fuel comsumption.Damn loud engine noise even at speed of 30-40km/h.

handling is good,the only good thing.
    this is from consumer point of view.
    pathetic car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 8
  • preve hatchback on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Acceleration faster than supima s,nice na engine.
    Indeed the fuel consumption also better alot than the suprima turbo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 3
    • this is what we call advanced automotive technology.
      balance between power and fuel consumption, even i think co2 emission.
      power n torque is considered excellent if u compared with 2L from japanese car.think only ford focus 2L near that fiqure.

not as simple like adding a turbo to a technology wise handicapped engine and call it new engine.eventually have to tune down the power and torque, otherwise makan fuel like crazy.

people are using earthdream, skyactive,atkinson hybrid, TSI etc,what do we have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • atoyot on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Bolt-on turbo is different than real turbo CFE engine. If you want to buy all cars you mention go ahead. No one stops you.

This is GDI engine, this output is expected. If CFE is a 2.0l GDI, it can also produce similar output.

• notorp on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:03 am

Prove it! Tell Proton to use GDI engine!

Ohhh it’s a Proton, lots of excuses, young player needs time blah blah blah

• you talk like you are a perfect human, please see yourself through the mirror, you have so many defects

• DepressedMalaysian on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

I felt really ashamed by our proton’s achievement. Btw, that Hyudai was a nice car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
  • casio-edifice on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Beautiful styling n quick car, 0-100kmh time under 8 sec. Also direct injection engine got more torque n consume less fuel.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 170 Thumb down 169
    • Nothing to shout about, it’s GDI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • So what is Proton waiting for? Still take 50 years to design GDI engine kah?

• another comment from perfect human (syok sendiri), lol

• ............. on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:07 pm

imperfect does not mean you can continue being SUX

• egnree on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:07 am

SUX? proton is catching up fast with downsizing and turbocharged engine while jap still with 4 gears and archaic engine

LOL

• Just A Nobody on Aug 20, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Nice, gotta love that striking design by Hyundai as always. I wonder if this will make it here though. Anyone?

• huaaa on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:09 pm

ah ha…this is how hatchback should be. I wonder what proton designer use as reference to design the car. suprima’s underwear??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 6
  • quacker on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Seems like everyone is comparing with suprima, it shows that suprima is on par with others competitors in its class. Bravo proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
    • Everyone comparing this with Suprima just because Suprima is a new car and just recently launched, not because Suprima is on par with others lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 2
  • Visitor on Aug 20, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Design wise, this car definitely trumps Suprima S. Proton should aim a design and performance that fits global appeal, not just reaching out to domestic and regional markets only. Why the upper level management at Proton approved Preve/Suprima’s (rather awkward IMO) design when other carmakers are getting more creatively aggressive in the design department?

• Hot Hatch on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Hothatch seems growing popular nowadays… But it seems Proton produce one for the sake of doing it, that’s all. Ada cantik tarak cantik pun ada orang beli jugak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • gavin on Aug 20, 2013 at 9:01 pm

sime darby is good, not a crony or tongkat company, should support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Proton bashers only know to bash all, as long as it’s proton, lol

• This specific Hyundai model and the i40 saloon have been designed in Germany for Western Europe, it’s nothing like the Elantra or the Hyundais sold in Malaysia and China or even South Korea itself.

It’s not fair to compare the Suprima with the i30 SR. But it’s fair if you compare it with the new Cerato hatch, Focus hatch or Mazda 3 hatch which are designed for the Asian markets. Even Toyota, Honda and Nissan struggle to sell their C-segment hatchback and saloon cars in mainland Europe (specifically Germany), what makes you think Proton stands a chance ?

Anyway, just wait until Proton finalises their new 1.8, 2.0 and 2.2 Petronas engines which they bought in late 2012. These will probably be Euro VI compliant too, and turbocharged.

People seriously need to stop bashing. If you want to bash, bash constructively. Most people here bash like a bunch of kids. Oh, Proton is tin milo. Oh, Proton is this. Oh, Proton is that. Look at yourself in the mirror first, are YOU perfect or not ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
    • quacker on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Well said bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • I think it’s basher style, everything is bad even if it’s good, say the bad first and don’t give any credit if there is any good.

• jeremy on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:49 am

Kesian, good comment like this getting thumbs down..

• Vader on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:55 am

Not bashing, just talking to a fact.
      This Suprima S is a potong global car, agree?
      So, why not compare to the competitor in Europe?
      However, agree your statement that “what makes you think Proton stands a chance” which mean potong is still far to sell car in global.
      Potong marketing and engineering need alignment here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Just keep on waiting and dreaming lah

Wanna fair comparison? Look at Proton global export such a joke

Wait, look at Langkawi Labuan where is Proton sales? Biggest joke ever

• frggle on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:31 pm

If proton makes it one day I’m not surprised if you keep your mouth silent. Many people congrats but bashers like you

• Terry on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:01 pm

When is that one day? ‘IF’ ? If I not wrong, Proton and Kia also start their business in the Same Era……. and you still saying ‘IF’

• byybe on Aug 24, 2013 at 10:09 am

please go google, kia and hyundai have established loooonnggg before proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • namanama on Aug 21, 2013 at 9:39 am

thumbs up!

• sam loo's gynecologist on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 143
    • gOOsh on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:38 pm

no doubt this car is a good car at angles…
      and PROTON, please take this matter seriously…

• ONLY GREAT DESIGN on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:01 pm

No matter sedan or hatchback, Korean car are superb nice!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • xavier lert on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:20 pm

waiting for the price announcement..where lovers turn to villain.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Rubbish Hyundais. Still drive like rubbish on the highway.
    Dont know why so many of you are fooled by the looks. Go test drive an Elantra on the highway lah. Sucks to the max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 23
    • noob_pinion on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 117
      • ............. on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:04 pm

ya ya ya Hyundai kia also rubbish…. Proton the best!!!!! so when release the protection on it?

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:36 pm

P1 and P2 have much better RV that kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:40 am

Kimchi buyers are 100% impulsive.

They will learn the cost of this lesson when they trade in in 1 year later.

I will need to increase the no. of Hilux proportionally with the no. of sorhai new kimchi buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • John Tan on Aug 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm

0-100km/h of 7.7 seconds in a N/a engine. Very impressive by how far the Korean has gone.

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:41 am

Whats the point of such acceleration when you need to call the tow truck operator after that 7.7seconds?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
  • Stupid and mindless malaysians strike again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 87
  • SpaceWagon on Aug 21, 2013 at 12:22 am

If Proton or Perodua doesn’t exist in Malaysia… Hyundai and Kia will be Proton and Perodua…

• jeremy on Aug 21, 2013 at 4:44 am

Without proton and perodua, everybody would be driving Mercedes and BMW..truestory

• lozer on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:33 pm

after months they sell it back due to high maintenance cost, lol

• Chris on Aug 21, 2013 at 11:34 am

Ever since I start drooling over cars:

Late 90’s – early 2000’s = Japanese high powered machines;
    Late 2000’s – early 2010’s = European high tech hot hatches;
    Late 2010’s – early 2020’s = Koreans dominating??? I wouldn’t be so surprised if that happens…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 70
    • Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2013 at 7:45 am

Korean Cars are definitely dominating the low RV market tarde in nowadays, ahead of sui kwan euros

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
  • syafiq on Aug 21, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Bila PROTON keluar model baru suprima S org ckp ciplak muka preve tp kalau KIA keluar i30 xde pon org ckp ciplak muka KIA elentra. Kalau rasa kereta ni bagus then beli jela mungkin harga pun lebih kurang elentra RM115k atau mungkin lagi mahal sebab enjin 2.0(Elentra 1.8). Saya teringin nak pakai Suprima S 1.6T dgn harga RM79k dah cukup memadai.

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Dear Mr. Syafiq, sorry to correct you that those i30 and elantra belongs to Hyundai and not Kia… TQ

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2013 at 6:13 pm

By the way, in terms of pricing for the “P – car” at AUS with the price tag of AUS$15,999.00 but at here, the price tag at RM59,990.00.

If you do a bit of calculation, with the current exchange rate of 2.97 (MYR-AUS), the local “P – car” buyer actually paying RM12.5k more than the AUS buyer.

Question here, where is the local buyer privilege as to enjoy cheaper local made car? The fact stated in the following link.

http://www.protonpreve.com.au/
      http://proton-edar.com.my/Experience/Models/Preve/PricingSpecs.aspx

** Correct me if I’m wrong.

• lozer on Aug 21, 2013 at 7:34 pm

excise duty proton also pay, you only know now?

• Anonymous on Aug 21, 2013 at 8:06 pm

I already know long time ago, just helping those who dont know about the price on the local made car, hoping more people realize this issue

• i wanted to buy used i30, can anybody advise it is reasonable to buy this car around 2010.. why they so less in malaysia?.. what are the cause if i buy this car? how bout 2L engine.. it is tough enough for this car… thanks….