2014 Equus Bass 770 – supercharged 6.2L V8 homage

equus bass 770 01

Here’s something that should stir your soul – I know it does mine. Just looking at it evokes memorable moments in a 1967 Charger and a couple of ’68-’69 Mustangs (one a 4.9 litre Windsor V8 example, the other a 7.0 litre Cobra Jet, the same mill as in the Shelby GT-500). This one is thoroughly modern though, and it’s called the 2014 Equus Bass 770.

The Bass 770 is American boutique manufacturer Equus Automotive’s homage to the pony and muscle cars of that era – you’ll see familiar cues and elements in its lines. There’s no whimsy design language being expressed here, just a lot of meat and grunt, and one look at that wedged nose easily tells you that.

It’s powered by a supercharged 6.2 litre V8 with 640 hp at 6,500 rpm and 820 Nm at 3,800 rpm, with performance specs being a claimed 321 km/h top speed and a 0-60 mph (or 96.5 km/h, if you prefer) time of 3.4 seconds. And, you can only have it in six-speed manual transmission form.

equus bass 770 05

Not just a beast with no finesse or tech, the Seven Seventy. The 1,650 kg vehicle features a full aluminium bespoke frame and body, the latter lined with carbon-fibre inners, with a black leather-wrapped interior.

You even get a number of mod cons, though don’t be expecting Lexus or Infiniti levels of kit – standard equipment includes a GPS navi system and a CD/DVD player with USB connection, a tyre pressure monitor and cruise control.

Brembo carbon ceramic brakes, with six-piston front and four-piston rear calipers, are to be found, and the Bass 770 rides on 19-inch wheels, wrapped with 255/40 front and 285/40 rear Michelin Pilot Sport donuts.

Driver-assist aids include traction control and variable-ratio power steering as well as Magnetic Selective Ride Control and Performance Traction Management, and the Boss 770 is equipped with dual front and side-impact airbags.

Ten exterior shades are available for this modern muscle car, which isn’t going to be a cheap proposition, as you’d expect. A fully-equipped 2014 Equus Bass 770 goes for US$250,000, with enhancements taking it up to the US$290k mark, and we haven’t gotten to going bespoke yet. This and a ’67 Dodge Charger 426 Hemi 7.0 litre V8 in the garage would be thrillsville though, so hell, yeah, I like. A lot.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dun medan on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:25 pm

what.a.beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • HonestguyOne on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 107
      • fuckcrz on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Of course, you’ve choosen CRZ, don’t an owner of crz will appreciate a beauty like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • flat_tire on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:03 pm

you obviously don’t have enough testosterone to ever drive this beast.. please grow some chest hair.. for starters..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
      • Shame on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:52 am

Your CRV just look like Shampoo girl’s car…those with orange hair and weirdies dress…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • BMW BEST on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:21 am

Oh,so you owned a CRZ?That’s cute!

• Kevin C on Oct 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm

I would drive this car and not have any kids than to even look at a CRZ

• Joe Radzif on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Some old design car need new technology inside…
    wondering old Wira – revolutionized with new tech and rebirth and roll out from Proton Factory (just an example…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol on Sep 26, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Reminds me of the Bullitt chase scene, which was performed by the the King of Cool himself, Steve McQueen. Classic look with a an updated interior for more modern times.

• It really look shitty. Why the hell people claim it is a beauty when it’s just a dated ugly metal. Even Tata car look prettier.

Ok, perhaps, it is for those red neck who knows nuts about the world thinking this is the best of the best car in the world with a gas guzzling motor. Typical jagauh kampung. Similiar to our protoon supporter here. Asia BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 75
    • muscularman on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Muscle cars are not for sissy Vios enthusiast like you. Why bother in the first place?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Pinky on Sep 26, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Its funny how low some proton basher would go. Even in a post about a custom muscle car thats not even available outside of US you can make the connection back to proton. Just go back to appreciating your pink myvi already.

• Veneno on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:09 pm

so, your Vios is the prettiest car in the world..?? hahaha..

• Eddie on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:01 pm

My mate’s HSV GTS 6.2L does 16L/100km…

“perhaps, it is for those red neck who knows nuts about the world thinking this is the best of the best car in the world with a gas guzzling motor”

U MIRIN cause you never driven anything above 4.0L?

Just drive what you like and stop talkin shit about other cars that you hate.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:36 am

He has no idea. He needs to broaden his horizon so he knows what this is all about.

my old 1997 Camaro Z28 does 9-10km/L highway, which is better than what a normal stock 1.5L Wira Auto would muster. Thats nearly 4 times the CC, 2 x the no of cys, and almost 1/2 tonne heavier. Getting same fuel numbers. So who is the fuel guzzler here.

It “idles” at 1500rpm at highway speeds on 6th.

• Hadi75 on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:39 pm

This is muscle car not sissy car….

• namanama on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Kids nowdays.Facepalm~

• EDDIE on Sep 26, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Ho Lee Sheet….ME LOVE!!!

• Opss Noname on Sep 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Interesting!!Muscle outside in.

• shut up and take my money.

• This car for sissy, straight line only. Escudo better, two engines in one car..pike’s hill climb champion. Enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Chris on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:31 pm

I know you can’t afford it, don’t sour grape.

I’ll grow chest hair by the meters if I drive one of this. The hospitals will take my blood and give it to people who need testosterone therapy.

• khairulx19a on Sep 26, 2013 at 6:49 pm

retro awesome

• flat_tire on Sep 26, 2013 at 8:00 pm

this is a proper man’s car.. nuff said..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Hyundai Equus will be biggest insult to the name.

• Hadi75 on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Love the v8 sound…..

• albag on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm

*apply to Americans only

• benzs on Sep 26, 2013 at 10:50 pm

This is real man car! Muscle car is a dream for everyone since too many Hollywood movie using it as their main vehicle in movie shooting.

• aprilcoco on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Hmmm, Hyundai already owns the Equus trademark. I smell a lawsuit coming up

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 26, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Anthony, first thing that popped into mind is the Vapid Dominator in GTA V (Mustang clone) lol For about the same or less, you can have an awesome custom resto-mod on an authentic 67 (or whatever your preference) chassis with legacy VIN. Why would I go with an unproven brand on an unproven chassis stacked up with off the shelf aftermarket parts which would go on a real Mustang chassis just as easily. At the end of the day this is just a kit car, a proper resto-mod will retain its value or even appreciate. They should’ve copied ICON’s model (resto-mod FJ chassis trucks, serialized production).

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:25 am

Not everyone has the patience to live with a classic no matter how modernized.

In life there will always be people with money that would like to shortcut things. There are always going to be people that just want something different.

I think you are looking at this at the wrong end, this isn’t about THE classic car. This is a modern limited run car built to look like a classic.

A definition of a Kit car is one that you can build yourself if you so choose to. Not likely with this one. It would be almost the same to say the Hennessey Venom is a kit car.

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:55 pm

I think you’re misunderstanding the core concept of full restoration vs resto modding. You’d be surprised how little of the original car (save for major body panels) are left stock in a restomod car. Its possible to kit out a restomod to have all the stuff the Equus has for same or less money and you’ll still have the provenance cachet.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:54 am

AK, it does look very generic, yes. :) As to the point about going with the legacy VIN path, there’s no denying that the real thing is inherently more rewarding and of course fundamentally correct, but this really isn’t about accuracy – I’d like a 426 Hemi Charger or a R-Code Cleveland in a ’71 Boss Mustang, stock, but this one looks like a barrel of fun nonetheless, and with the necessary mod cons for day-to-day use.

The airbags and electronics are a plus too, though with the propensity for stupid speeds and a tree-wrapping perspective, it probably wouldn’t matter in the end; as someone once pointed out to Reeves Callaway, “at that speed, it don’t matter if you got airbags or not.” :)

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Hmmm R-Code Boss 351 engine in a 71 Boss. Sir, you have fine taste!

• Diablo on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:46 am

That’s an LS9 engine. Same lump that’s in the current Vette ZR1

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:27 am

Indeed it is, Diablo. I’d take this over the ‘Vette though. :)

• Meti Culous on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:29 am

just looking at it makes my heart beat faster than the redline on an F1 tachometer…

• toretto gonna likes this!

• Meti Culous on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

gosh i think i just wet my pants!

somebody should pay homage to the ’73 celica…

• Eugene on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

When MODERN meets CLASSIC comprising of both Beauty and the Beast..Love at First Sight

• Mike Benardo on Jan 17, 2014 at 11:00 am

Looks like it is an unbelievable blast to drive and own! Sure wish I could have one! The idiots who are bashing it and say that a jap car is better are just jealous because they can’t afford one, and probably couldn’t handle it anyway.

• Jason Kelly on Jun 28, 2023 at 11:42 pm

Looks like Mustang and Charger had a baby. It looks ok however would rather have an original 69 Toronado or Riveria