Qoros 3 Sedan is first Chinese car to get 5-star Euro NCAP rating; highest score achieved this year

Qoros-3-Sedan-Euro-NCAP

Yes, that’s right – not only is the Qoros 3 Sedan the safest Chinese car ever made, it’s also achieved the highest overall Euro NCAP score so far this year. The four-door C-segmenter scored a remarkable 95% for adult protection, 87% for child protection, 77% for pedestrians and 81% for safety systems, leading to a smashing (!) overall result of 88%.

The testers say the car’s safety cell “proved to be extremely robust in front-end, side impact and pole impact collisions.” Qoros attributes its first product’s (not bad for a first try, eh?) outstanding safety performance to its body and structure – they direct the impact forces along predefined load paths to be absorbed by large deformation zones.

There are front and side airbags, side head curtain airbags for the front and rear seats, three-point automatic seat belts on all seats and dual belt tensioners for the front passengers. The front seat headrests are designed to reduce the risk of whiplash injuries. Isofix anchorages with top tether hooks and a front passenger airbag disconnect switch are also present.

Safety systems such as ABS, ESP, EBA and Braking Control System are standard fitment, while seat belt reminders exist for all occupants. There’s also a driver-set speed limiting device to help motorists observe speed limits.

A new addition to this year’s Euro NCAP procedure evaluates the vehicle’s compatibility with a wide range of child seats, and the Qoros 3 Sedan proved to be compatible with all of the child seats picked by Euro NCAP. Its pedestrian protection score was attributed to meticulous Computer-Aided Engineering (CAE) work.

“The 2013 Euro NCAP protocol demands very accurate computer simulations when calculating the pedestrian protection performance. As industry standard pedestrian models were not sophisticated enough for this purpose, Qoros’ expert safety team developed its own models,” reveals vehicle safety and homologation chief engineer Andy Piper.

Learn more about the young Chinese carmaker here, or view the Qoros 3 Sedan’s full Euro NCAP results here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• maverick on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:10 am

wow..not bad for the China-Israel car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Many sourgrapes Malaysian bash Chinese car, Korean car etc without considering how fast they are catching up. Yes China is well known for copycat but compare to our Jaguh which already 20 plus year in the industry still only come out with below average product.
    When they produced a so-so product, we blind ourselves and praised highly as though we all will buy and proud to own and bash all Korean and China cars. Pathetic!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 16
    • MoFaz on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

no, only the japanese brand worshiper bash everybody else. People who have no problem with Proton could easily accept korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:04 pm

If I can put poison into milk powder, I can also send grade 1 vehicle for testing and produce in mass grade 3 vehicles to the market, claiming result from my test vehicle. This is just speculation.
      See real world result, then talk. It is too early.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
      • i chuckled when i read this. it’s good logic and unfortunately that’s china’s mode of operation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • Anti CO2 on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:31 pm

The FACT is they know how to build a machine now. And you know which market they are targeting now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Anti CO2 on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:33 pm

The FACT is they know how to build a EURO NCAP machine now. And you know which market they are targeting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • lotustuned on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:44 pm

hahaha..u think Encap run by bolehland officials ah??…but I like ur imagination, keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Agreed, due to perception issue, anything coming from China will suffer reputational issue. Let’s be fair and give them a chance to prove themselves.

But it really surpasses most ppl’s expectation to get 5-star on first attempt. Proton is going to be 30-years’ old, what is their EURO NCAP rating huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • tiadaid on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Suprima & Preve have 5-star ANCAP (that’s Australian, not Asian) rating which is equivalent to 5-star in the EuroNCAP system.

When will people learn that EuroNCAP rating will only be applied for cars that are SOLD IN EUROPE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
  • Wish this car is coming to Malaysia. Quite impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:19 pm

RM110K price? at least Proton got excuse to sell more Preve and Suprima….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • It wont, not in another half-decade at least. There is no Qoros CKD plant in any ASEAN member state yet. If it comes as a CBU import, it will cost a bomb.

• Datuk on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:22 am

Qoros design quite interesting, the front look like impreza version 10 and the rear look like VW passat, can our new perdana be design like this? i know when talk about chinese car, people will bash and labeled as a junk but, the design is quite nice, proton should start compare their design with chinese car nowadays i think. Anyway it is good for chinese car can get good result for crash test, people should change their perception about chinese car i guess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Yes it does looks European design just like VW. nothing fake or pretentious. not even trying to scream how European looks it is. something Proton can learn one or two from Qoros: stop pretending self-absorp yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • gulator on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:15 pm

who is screaming? only proton bashers do it as they are butthurt, lol. btw preve is italdesign design. it does not only look european, it IS european, most, if not all.

• Wow… very impressive for such a young company raising from the country that is famous for their cheap knock-off products with ridiculous name… proton just get kicked in the nuts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • embert on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:38 am

Even 5 star preve people still call tin milo. Malaysia doesn’t need this kind of mentality.

• Meti Culous on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:26 am

well done! chinese cars aren’t all that bad after all. it’s a stigma that will take time to change…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • So when can we see such headline made for our beloved Preve, Suprima S or any of those locally made future models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Qoros was founded in 2007. Such a short period they already could achieved that. Compared to some companies which was found way back in 1983, still struggling to get worthy international recognition. Something is terribly wrong somewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • As long as that mamak kutu still in proton, don’t think proton can compete globally or fix the blardy power window

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • that should apply to all other car brand la..not only proton since the period 1980-2007 there r a lot car company founded…

• dairy on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:19 pm

you should tell that too to companies that are way older than proton

many : kia hyundai, toyota even benz and merc

why? because they took very long time to be what they are now, lol

• efrny on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:35 am

You haven’ read? Preve got 5 star ancap.

• ANCAP is BS compared to Euro ENCAP.

• efdec on Sep 28, 2013 at 4:33 pm

tell it to aussie, not Malaysians, btw it is Australian NCAP, not Asean NCAP, got it?

• HonestguyOne on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:35 am

Pls bring it to our kampung!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:17 pm

normally China cars here are very cheap…let’s see how MITI categorise this Qoros…same as VW price?? Hahahaha

• suprima s still looks better than this s**t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 40
    • blublibla on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:09 pm

the qoros looks too plain IMHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • If qoros looks plain, suprima must look like it’s from the 80s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
        • unsmart on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:22 pm

you know what? people will say this is fake VW. honestly it’s too boxy and yes it does come from 80’s. suprimais much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • hadi75 on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:51 am

Firstime already got 5star euroncap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Yes unlike some cheap sedan scored 1-Star, kelam kabut go back to re-test get 3-Star…mau tipu orang kampung kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • ngoytan on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:25 pm

later it’s sold cheaper what? that what people want. cheap and better safety.

• The Qoros 3 will probably not sell well in China. Like us Malaysians, the Chinese don’t support their national carmakers. Only the poorer Chinese buy cheap Chinese cars because they are forced to. The richer Chinese almost always buy European and American/Korean products.

The Qoros 3 is fully designed for overseas markets like Europe and the U.S.

Most new CDM (Chinese Domestic Market) cars still don’t even have airbags and ABS btw.

• Even china car also can get 5 star. What P1 achieved is nothing special. Or maybe it is since no 1 expected them to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • mythbuster on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:02 pm

wish that our Preve has similar nice design and specs as Qoros 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Mat Jenin said: keep on dreaming mimpi indah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Our Prevé is around RM72k, the Qoros 3 is about RM90k+. Specs wise, the Qoros has a slightly better 1.6 turbo engine, interior kit and overall interior design. Both Prevé and Qoros 3 are C-segment, but the Qoros is halfway between luxury and budget, the Prevé is fully in the budget end. However, I’m willing to bet that the Prevé has better reliability and QC than the Qoros, but only time will tell.

• sudonano on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:23 pm

I actually thought Qoros was Korean at first. Wow. Well done. Hats off then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • RVP20 on Sep 27, 2013 at 12:51 pm

China….where everything is made there, even your ‘worship’ iphone n ipad

• 5 star and highest score in this year! for those who keep complaining Proton compare to Qoros … go tell the same to Toyota or Korean or Euro cars la… they were born years before proton… but why their cars were beaten by this Qoros first car in this year le… i wonder why Proton didnt send Suprima or Preve to test… instead of Ancap… at list 5 star car safety listing got our Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • EmpatRoda on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

No doubt Qoros is China owned, but the team working on it are multi nationals. They employed some to the good if not the best in this industries. Their target is worldwide sales. If they employ staff by Merits, they will suceed.

• that bcoz they still not sell there…if happen that proton preve/ss sent for test..people will said that p1 prepare that car for test or p1 pay euroncap people to give good result or there is corrupt people in euroncap

• yoolang on Sep 27, 2013 at 1:24 pm

i never trust chinese for car. after regret

last time got buy supplier lab equipments to a china also regret

quality make is most worst compare to local

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Pat San on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Firstly, I am a Malaysian and I resided in China for xx years and I can tell you all out there please stop all the “syok sendiri” syndrome. China is way ahead in almost all aspect as compared to us Malaysian. The Star once reported that we are about 15 ~ 20 years behind China.

When I got back for holidays, back in the late 90’s and early 2000, I can find plenty of DVD players by local companies which is made in China selling for RM 80 ~ RM120 and I can tell you one thing for sure I cannot find such cheap DVD players in China. After some probing I then only found out that these products do not even have the CCC approvals just like our local SIRIM.

There you have the verdict now. It is because some local companies want it cheap so we get products that are not up to mark. Please do not go around telling people China made no good, it is because we want cheap products. Today China has learnt a lesson, they no longer allow such nonsense anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:30 am

“Malaysia is 15-20 years behind China”

I call that nonsense… Just look at per capita income for comparison.

• Chris on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:56 pm

I bet most Chinese can write better English than you.

• albag on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Keyword: China

• Qoros will dominate the world in very short time, nightmare to other manufacturer. Not surprised at all bcoz this is the product of two brightest brain power of the world.

• if you look at their company profile and key person on their website, you can see that more than 50% aren’t Chinese, I mean this company is 50:50 chery auto & israel corp. their design and engineering head people are all non Asian.

Even tho this company is new, they’re coming from Chery and who knows where this israel corp people are coming from.

compared with proton, it is mostly bumi employed in the top management.

anyway good effort from a new company and their first model.

• Yes, that’s true. The people who made this Qoros 3 are mainly Westerners and ex-Saab, VW, BMW etc. engineers hired by the Chinese.

The true Chinese rakyat still cannot make their own world class car yet. Even Proton can’t. Hell, even Hyundai-Kia can’t. Proton had some ex-BMW Epple guy, Hyundai-Kia has Peter, the list goes on.

• “I never knew what NCAP was. Its great that Qoros has it. Safety is important, Bro! Previously I’ve always looked at the design of the car. Qoros taught me more than that. If you know about cars, you’ll agree with me. Syabas Qoros!”

• enkei on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I don’t think the design is good enough. Furthermore it’s too close to VW design, which is not beautiful.

• najib on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Good job, this is amazing for a young company. The speed that china cars evolve are very very fast. Unlike the proton…sigh….

• james on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Fiat, BMW, Merc, Ford etc took time way longer than Proton

• armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:32 am

Qoros is a multinational company, Proton is not. Why young Malaysians are so unpatriotic these days? With this attitude we will progress very slowly, if we progress at all.

• najib wife love diamond n hermes on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Shame on you proton, takes you 30 years to build a 5 stars car, and not euro ncap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • kak pidah on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Proton only employ uitm reject. Thats why you get proton saga BLM (Bangla Look Machine), proton Pervert, Proton sawi tak best, Proton Supreme Pampers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:46 am

Proton employ uitm rejects, really? Mind share your source?

• ghosy on Sep 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm

BLM is way better than Fiesta sedan and Mazda2 sedan, it’s more proportionate rear design.

• Getting 5 stars in ANCAP is the same as getting 5 stars in EuroNCAP, just some small differences. Exora had 4-star EuroNCAP in 2009 btw.

• armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:34 am

Shame on you for not knowing Qoros is a part Israeli, mutinational company, yet you blindly praise them.

• Anti Proton on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Love this car! Seriously looks very nice. Will buy it if this car is same category as elantra and cerato. definately in my shopping list.

• WOW!!!Cant believe this is China made car. Worship~!!! love it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • almost 2 billion people only now came up with this car?

4000 years of history only now have qoros?

sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 29
    • kadajawa on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Do you proud with some dude 30 years old still wear diaper, hisap botol susu, always stay under her mom ketiak protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • tongK on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:08 am

China and other countries auto industry also have sort of protection.

Since local car companies also have to pay hefty tax it doesn’t give much advantage for them.

• Chinaman on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Better than those people who rebadge Jap cars, don’t have their own writing, don’t have their own maths,can’t even mine tin, can’t even tap rubber and then call themselves the princes of the land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • az buster on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

after all the years study and taking ptptn (and not pay back).. only to find that your brian is empty. Hopeless!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • china? on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:24 pm

i second that bro! well said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • samlok on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Hows the driving feel?

• Korok on Sep 27, 2013 at 4:55 pm

This brand already won accolade even before starting sale. Now p1 should change their rhetoric of “they (korean) have been making cars long before us”

• who’s rhetoric is that? proton bashers just bash blindly. again, other automakers were established loooong ago. why they didn’t won accolade even before starting sale?

• armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:37 am

Toyota and Daihatsu have been making cars long long time ago, yet why Vios and Viva don’t get 5-star euro NCAP? Heck, even the 2012 Honda Accord didn’t manage to get 5-star ANCAP? (Preve and Suprima did get it BTW).

• JustWannaSay on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Keep saying P1 n P2 are shit…lame..jaguh kampung…Create your own new Car Manufacturing company like the China do….they dont just “cakap kosong” they make it real(Qoros,Youngman,Cherry,BAIC,GWM etc) even they had to copycat from others..like TopGear say someday china will rule just like the japanese..Meanwhile here in Malaysia , “We” are still stuck with P1 n P2 N Cakap kosong..need some dare to make the change. . .=)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:30 pm

ya la china car.. but who r d designers? the team leader n all? haiyaaa.. not chinese laaa.. majority mat salleh maaa.. that is y la car so good.. same as proton.. put mat salleh.. sure great one.. same as kia, put mat salleh juga maaa…

• EmpatRoda on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:16 pm

If we put Ahmad, Muthu, Ah Chong and Jaboh together we can do much better then matt salleh! No need matt salleh. Does not matter if it is white cat or black cat, if it catches the rat it is a productive cat.Protong also got high profile Lotus engineer ma…but but still…..:)

• protonsai on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Proton designers only know how to design proton pampers for adult.

What you expect when the proton staffs always mc, minum teh more than work, emergency leave more than work, only know how to fly business class, have plenty of pointless meeting but majority are going there for tea snacks or hotel food.

What you expext from bunch of designer who design thundercat logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:56 pm

We also got mat salleh la, that ex-BMW quality guy.

Power of kroni songlap> mat salleh’s intelligence. Even got bmw guy also preve engine can still bocor hahahahaha.

Oops, but then again, BMW is famous for always Banyak Masuk Workshop memang Banyak Makan Wang. So we get mat salleh who taught proton to ‘improve’ their ‘quality’, and charge cutthroat after sales service service hahahaha

• ioput on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:51 pm

old story already, sudah basi. if you buy other cars also have problem here and there. do you know anything about warranty?

• kalau dah tak mampu nak pakai proton tu, pakai viva je la. takpun pakai je kapchai.

• China only know copycat, not like our proton, perodua. we create our own design and models! proton inspira best car in the world! perodua viva and mvywi best design and buget car in the world too !! WE MALAYSIAN NO NEED COPY OTHER BRANDS CAR!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • ondie on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:56 pm

That’s called rebadging, it’s business you know. Unlike designing it too similar to other car’s design, people want it from a fresh idea even it’s some European or Asian flair.

• Zhang on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:12 am

People, Ganges River n Yellow River sprung 2 of the Oldest Asian civilization. Both have been occupied n bullied by the West for almost a Century. Now it’s time they wake up as both have the cash and market. Know how to build cars – can buy lah ! Minimum production no. for a car
    Factory to survice -350k units , no problem lah , domestic market can
    absorb anytime ! Excess can export to the world at minimum price , cheaper than others. So Malaysia, Asian Waves is building up to sweep
    the world lah…….hope we can ride on this waves…Boleh ?

• efrny on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:30 am

I doubt the prod car safety quality is same with the test unit. They may send us lower grade, that’s very bad.

• First, well done to China and Qoros for finally making a 5-star safety rated car.

Second, no, the Chinese haven’t ‘arrived’ yet, no matter what people or the media says. The Qoros 3 is a good Chinese car, but it’s just ONE good Chinese car. That’s not enough to say the Chinese have reached the Korean level or even our Malaysian level. For a country of 1.3 billion, they have so far only made one RM90+k C-segment sedan 5-star rated, that’s not enough. The Chinese will need several hundred 5-star safety rated cars to graduate to the next level.

As for us Malaysia, we haven’t ‘arrived’ either, but Proton is a lot closer than any other Chinese car company. They managed to make two 5-star safety rated cars in the last two years, for a small country of 30 million, it’s a relatively good achievement. If Proton can transform at lest 3/4 of its range to 5-star safety rated cars, then and only then will Malaysia ‘arrive’, so to speak. Perodua too, but they are lagging far behind Proton in the safety aspect. Naza doesn’t even count, they still haven’t even learnt how to make their own bumper let alone platform and engine.

I am not trying to bash the Qoros 3 here, don’t get me wrong, I’m just making realistic sense out of it. Most of us do not realize it yet, but the 2030s and 2040s will be completely dominated by Chinese cars, which are designed by Europeans but priced at Asian levels. Time is not only running our for budget brands like Proton, but for Hyundai, Kia and even the big Japanese players as well.

• armandd on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:43 am

Well said. Many young Malaysians these days don’t love their country anymore. Like what you said, “For a country of 1.3 billion, they have so far only made one RM90+k C-segment sedan 5-star rated, that’s not enough.” I couldn’t agree more. Many don’t realise this fact.

• benzs on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:31 am

China car is no way. Even with infinite star rating, airbags, and etc still No. China products is not a ver6y good perception at all. Everyone know China products. Once they sell u the first time, it looks promising. Once ordered many they will reduce cost on the materials n parts they use. So, if this car is selling good, next step they will do is sacrifice safety features especially door n impact metal. Once it hit something hard we are going to be kick by the car anyway.

• I jut laughed reading bias comments. If it’s Proton you only say bad things but if it’s not you only say good things. Where is this coming from? Is it gen-Y?

It seems lacking of mature thinking, with the information are everywhere, still some people don’t have right justification.

• Carl Wong on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:29 am

Yes the test cars they provided might achieve this rating. But how about the real production models?? that is my question…….

• Taming on Sep 30, 2013 at 3:24 pm

1.3billion rakyat compare 1 brand malulah