Toyota Previa 2.4 GL price revised to RM258k OTR

toyota-previa-klims 074

UMW Toyota has revised the price of the Toyota Previa 2.4 GL in Malaysia. The estimated price of RM270k that was revealed at KLIMS13 has now been reduced to RM258k OTR including insurance, as indicated in a price list released on January 8, 2014.

The previously listed 2-DIN CD/MP3 head unit with six speakers has also been replaced by a 2-DIN DVD player with a seven-inch touch-screen with navigation and reverse camera.

Other than that, the specs and equipment look the same as what was released previously. Its 2.4 litre 2AZ-FE four-cylinder motor from the previous-gen Camry produces 170 PS and 224 Nm of torque, sending it to the front wheels via a four-speed Super ECT automatic gearbox. Wheels are 215/55 R17 alloys.

Creature comforts include dual power sliding doors, keyless entry and start, combination leather seats in a 2-2-3 layout (captain second row seating), and self-levelling HID headlamps with adaptive front lighting (directional headlamps). There are only two airbags.

The Previa is essentially the same model as the Japanese market Toyota Estima MPVs that the grey importers are bringing in in droves. While you can only get insurance warranty with a grey import Estima at most, UMW Toyota offers a three-year or 100,000 km manufacturer warranty. However, it looks like you’ll be trading a massive amount of specs for the privilege of driving it new with warranty.

toyota-previa-jan-2014-pricelist

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• spongewai on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Gong Hei Fa Choi to everyone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • Petrolhead on Feb 02, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Pity those who bought this car at RM270k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • pontiac on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:16 pm

do u know, they cant even sell one of this before. thats y they reduce the price. and dont forget, this is BN manifesto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 37
  • Anderson on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:50 pm

“With only 2 airbags”
    bravo, UMW

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 02, 2014 at 3:14 pm

With no traction control, and with a 4-speed gearbox. That spec list looks as if it’s meant to compete with the Naza Ria.. A Mazda8 has far, far better value and design than this junk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 2
    • Ronnie Tan on Feb 03, 2014 at 1:13 am

Not only 2 air bags but with lousy outdated Camry engine as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • hoong on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:15 pm

2 airbags, 4ect, and an outdated engine…. It’s almost like saying “Oh I’m sorry I shouldn’t have sold this loaf of expired bread for 20 bucks, so now here u are, 18 bucks take it or leave it”. UMW, seriously?

• BrazbuZ on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Paul, i think they upgrade the ICE too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Even with the price reduction, plsss Oddesey for me plsss….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Estima doesnt compete with odyssey but honda elysion instead…odyssey competes with toyota ipsum or better still a hearse bcoz of its low roof (the previous gen)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
      • Wrong. Elysion competes against Alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • AutoFrenz on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:22 am

You are wrong booboo…it should be grand elysion…this one competes with alphard but it’s still small…and not many on the roads…the taillights r so 80s…elysion is better looking n more sleek than its big brother tq…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • the gomen be like… price of cars had been reduced… kenapa tak puji kerajaan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 16
  • lemer on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Oh my god, are Malaysians really that stupid? car as expensive like this equipped with only 2 airbags and no traction control and no stability control?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 1
  • Expensive. Better opt for an Odyssey, or a grey import. 4-speed gearbox, 2 airbags and fabric seats at 258k?! That’s absurd.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
    • RedCRZ on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Sounds like my dad’s innova spec. But atleast innova is a better buy, less than half the price of this obsurdly priced tauhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
      • dino years on Feb 02, 2014 at 11:05 pm

When i went to the showrooms to replace my innova (booked mine on the second day that toyota launched it in malaysia), i almost vomitted at the innova, after all these years, it still soldiers on with the same engine and GB, just those meaningless facelift facelift. and the price increase. heck, i might as well stick to my old one, i thought.

But now I see previa/estima mad pricing and specs and I say,

Better buy 2 innovas, give one to charity/old folks home. More value for money, more easy on my conscience, and less ghosts laughing at me every night i sleep.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
  • syntium5000 on Feb 02, 2014 at 1:58 pm

haiyaaaa….2 airbag only maa..manyak kelekut ini UMW toyota…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • Najib Razak on Feb 02, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Janji Ditepati !! More to come !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
    • Archangel on Feb 02, 2014 at 7:39 pm

UMW Toyota reduce price because less or maybe no sales at all for this model. Still, this model is overpriced with that shitty specs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • NightHunter on Feb 02, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Ain’t nobody got time fo this shit…

Too late to the party Toyota!! this shit is old and outdated dy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano on Feb 02, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Fabric seats, no ESP, no side airbags, and one thirsty engine?

Seriously Toyota. At 260k, you can get the Odyssey from Honda Malaysia. The top of the range EXV Odyssey with Earth Dreams 2.4 iVTEC, BLIS, Smart Park Assist, LED Active Bending lights, leather, ESP, 6 airbags, and more for 248000. Rather get that and use the 10k of a nice holiday to Singapore or Thailand. Or Australia.

Insane la UMW.

Or if you don’t want Japanese, get the SMAX 2.0Ecoboost that will make you feel like you’re in a hatch and not an MPV. Or the VW Sharan 2.0TSI DSG6.

Happy Chinese New Year btw!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 1
    • I thought they clearly stated there COMBI LEATHER for seats in the spec sheet?or is that the grey imports version?

• Wow..really sucks specs! I wanna see got which SORHAI will buy this car with this price~~is that u?! Hehe…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • ‘The Previa is essentially the same car as the Japanese market Toyota Estima MPVs that the grey importers are bringing in in droves. While you can only get insurance warranty with a grey import Estima at most, UMW Toyota offers a 3 year or 100,000km manufacturer warranty.’

errr…I don’t know, I’ve seen many grey imports bringing in Estimas with 6-airbags and more JDM goodies…the dash colour is also blue the last time I checked not 90s Greenish yellow and also leather seats. Anyways, I am struggling to see this as a viable alternative to Honda Malaysia’s Odyssey…thet gives way more, for less…..and it’s still new even in the Japanese market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Gong xi fa cai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • kepop on Feb 02, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Preve with 6 airbags…previa with 2 airbags…watdafak…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 2
    • SmartConsumer on Feb 02, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Best comment ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Preve owner on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:56 pm

i m driving the first batch preve. although the car has 4 airbags but they have been off few weeks ago.
      sent to proton twice but the airbags always off again 2 weeks after the repair.
      it seems now i m still driving my old wira with no airbags at all

• motorhead on Feb 02, 2014 at 3:51 pm

She is so stable.. no need ESP.. why not you try first??? test drive.. thx for the price reduce… but no thx.. should sell it 270K.. let more ppl 270K poorer.. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • phuwekkk on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:48 am

Are you Sam Loo apprentice sir? by the way, where the hell he is? He should backup his toyota right now. Sam Loo menjelmalah dikau..

• vp1200 on Feb 02, 2014 at 4:10 pm

I notice you guys post prices for Peninsular Malaysia only. Please do not forget that East Malaysians make a significant portion of purchases in the country, especially in the 4X4 and SUV segments.

I speak up not only as an enthusiast and consumer but also as a former member of the motoring columnist/journalist community.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • nabill on Feb 02, 2014 at 4:15 pm

obviously the 4 speed auto is the “highlight” feature….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • still overpriced, still vulgar, still ridiculously under equipped. im surprised it even comes with a cd player with a green screen, i mean WOW, what an improvement over the cassette player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Enter your name...edmont on Feb 02, 2014 at 5:45 pm

lol well done UMW.. you are really a disgrace to Toyota worldwide.. pity us.. a laughing stock around the world. rakyat never gets the good stuff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Archangel on Feb 02, 2014 at 7:35 pm

No improvement on specs? Sorry UMW Toyota, Malaysian people are not buying the trick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • LogicMind on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Someone will ALWAYS buy it. Look at the CRV vs CX-5, there’s still people buying the 2.0 CRV…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • hondaman on Feb 03, 2014 at 4:37 pm

If you can’t afford one, don’t condem others. I am one of the G4 CRV owner, it might be under specced in msia but it is the best in class in term of space & practicality for a family SUV with 3 school going kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • iluvloyola on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:25 pm

They should have increased the price to 300k. This is a toyota! Why sell so cheap!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Heskey on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Kanji ditepati!

• toyoda on Feb 02, 2014 at 8:53 pm

The article forgot to mention that it comes with power windows too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Kangkung on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Don’t Forget Power steering and Remote control alarm, Aloy sport rim and free tinting. Worth every penny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Syameer on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:31 pm

I am completely speechless.

• izzul on Feb 02, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Rubbish mpv

• Lol umw thought malaysian is stupid?lets still not buy this van from umw until they reduce more the price but increase the spec. Odyssey better.mazda 8 also better.heck even serena better lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Or the 5008 from Peugeot. You might wanna hold back for the facelift at the moment though.

• toyol on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:41 pm

or wish 2009..6 air bag..7 speed valvematic

• Thompson on Feb 02, 2014 at 10:08 pm

2 airbags for luxury MPV… am I kidding myself??

• roxas on Feb 02, 2014 at 10:24 pm

whatever, doesnt make a difference. still trying to rob ppl’s wallet.

• AlbertLee on Feb 02, 2014 at 10:35 pm

The people who orders this car are feeding the Gomen at least a 100k in taxes before driving it off from the showroom.
    If the 100 k is put to good use,it will bless your kindheartedness.But if it is used to order some unwanted equipment worth millions of ringgit by recalcitrant gomen servants,what a waste of your hard earned money.
    And who owns UMW?You know the answer.Do you still want to buy this tax laden car to show off?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • kamarul on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Bro,
      Do you know that this model cost @ CIF Port Klang /Landed Price is only 100K (UMW is one of AP holder). Then UMW mark up to RM 270 with MITI approval. PPL have to pay double on Sales Tax, double on Import Duty and double on Insurance, double on Road Tax and of course double on Bank Loans. THere is no excise duty incurred, why!It is a protection tools for all AP holders and those who import cars without AP, then it will be imposed. Rakyat kena tipu dengan AP, cronies, MITI and of course BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Gooner on Feb 02, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Still not worth it

• what?? lousy specs and still so expensive?? waste of money. Go buy odyssey or smax so much better.

• old dog on Feb 02, 2014 at 11:52 pm

UMW survive in 2 models only…

1) Hilux
    2) Vios

Camry is taken down, Altis is taken down, Prius is taken down..that is why they want to launch this Estima….however..consumer dont want to be conned anymore with such low spec car…

UMC share….sell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Boycott pls on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:26 am

Seriously guys,it’s time to boycott umw products. Stop these ridiculous price and specs given. They really think Malaysians are stupid. Stop letting them think so please. When the buying stops, the cheating will too.
      If u still can’t accept the full specs kimchi, at least go honda/focus/Mazda/Peugeot. If others japan/continental models can offer better value,I don’t see why blood sucking umw cannot.
      Wise up and please spread the news to all. Together we can make it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • The New Honda Odyssey is still a better choice where it is priced about RM230k but pack with all the features.

• jeff fan on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:33 am

I’m a Honda salesman. Snyder buy this previa. It’s too expensive with cheapskate specs for 3rd world countries. Buy Honda Odyssey, It’s premium, rm 228k I can give u discount!!! Don’t let Toyota cheat u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
  • Tiadaid on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:15 am

UMW Toyota employees get 9-10 months bonuses because of Malaysian stupidity – vote with your money, stop buying Toyota! When the buying stops, the shitty car specs can too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • UmwSalasMan on Feb 03, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I am umw sakes man for 3 years, I am getting shit 0.5 month bonus, u want to employ me?

• Good rv ma on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:20 am

Still waiting for Sam/hilux/Maserati to come in and say:
    good rv mah!
    “U don’t need any stinking airbags and lousy kimchi specs. Rv is the king!
    Don’t u know with umw car so good quality that with minimal rv, u can still survive a 100kmh head to head crash??? Come come, trade in ur rotten cabbage and buy a sushi. I will be earning to the max.”
    So where r they now? Digged a hole and hide again?

• taiko on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:54 am

no surprise.this is a boleh land.PI estima is much better than this 258k stuff.don’t know what to says,there is still some potential buyer in this boleh land.CHEERS.

• Guilt79 on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:56 am

Where is Sam Loo? Need his expertise on this. LOL

• even with all the negative comments here..they will be many ppl out there still buyin it…for example..samloo..LUL

• phuwekkk on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:53 am

heck even toilet bowl stamp with toyotaya brand will be the first choice of Sam Loo.. good RV meh..hahaha.

• Hadi75 on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:02 pm

If that’s the best spec UMW can give……better buy grey import one…service n spareparts no problem already….most workshops can do…..

• KalauAkuKaya on Feb 03, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Toyota doesn’t care about the vehicle features. Some of Malaysian will buy the car because they want something different than their neighbor.

• UMW HAS SENT US A MESSAGE, THAT THEY CAN CHARGE WHATEVER THEY WANT AND NO ONE CAN STOP THEM..BUT WE WILL SEND THEM A MESSAGE; WE WILL TELL EVERYONE THAT WE KNOW,YOUR BROTHERS, YOUR SISTERS,YOUR UNKERS!! WE SHOW THE UMW PIPO THAT THEY CANNOT CHARGE WHATEVER THEY WANT!!THEY CANNOT SELL EXPENSIVE CRAP WITHOUT ESP,TC, 6 AIRBAGS AND STRIP ALL THOSE SAFETY FEATURES AND COOL GADGETS !! THIS IS OUR MONEY AND WE WILL NOT BUY PREVIAAAA!!!

(avatar mode on, kikiki)

• nabill on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Maybe we should prosecute the ppl who actually buy this…. If u see it on da road…. Seriously we should make our own road block…. N put the driver/owner on a stage for public humiliation…

• if it comes with a much cheaper price then it will be different story tho

• sktan on Feb 04, 2014 at 3:15 am

TO toyota.

pls keep skin

• Vtec R Yakuza on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:41 pm

So shame on u Toyota.. Still using an old engine and gearbox..

• Only the model looks interesting. Others are rubbish

• Ugly car on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:23 am

Seriously the lady look extremely beautiful when standing beside this MPV!

• Rich LIm on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Ha…Malaysia people buy Brand not Buy Car cos most of them are brainless.

• arcana on Feb 06, 2014 at 11:03 pm

apart from those missing this that u guys mentioned, anyone realised how do u fold the side mirror in this car?
    i can see a power adjustable mirror and there’s no button to fold it?
    RM260K i still need to use my hand ah?

• Wikipedia said: 4 speed and 6 speed (for 3.5). How can grey importers keep on saying theirs are 7 speed?

• 7 seater seeker on Jul 29, 2014 at 11:12 am

The new Honda Odyssey is a better choice at a better price, there is really no sane reason to buy this previa for this kind of low specs at this exorbitant price. Don’t be tempted at first sight.

• 7 seater seeker on Jul 29, 2014 at 12:43 pm

The new honda odyssey is a better choice. This previa with this kind of specs at this exorbitant price is really unreasonable. Check out odyssey and sharan first before making any decision.