Five BMW number plate winning tenders left blank to avoid negative public perception, JPJ explains

jpj-number-plate-results-bmw

The JPJ says that the successful bidders of five exclusive Selangor BMW number plates were not named – and the amounts they paid for the plates not disclosed – to avoid negative public perception, according to a report by The Malaysian Insider.

Denying that they were issued for free, the department’s director-general, Datuk Ismail Ahmad, told the publication that the bids for BMW 1, BMW 2, BMW 7, BMW 9 and BMW 10 were all paid for, but the winners were not named, instead listed as Anggota Pentadbiran Kerajaan” (government administration personnel). The amounts paid for the plates were also not disclosed.

Ismail said the successful bidders were comprised of royalty, judges and cabinet ministers. “They made bids for the numbers and they got it. We withheld their names and the figures to avoid negative public perception,” he told TMI. He added that it was standard operating procedure to keep the names a secret and to never disclose the names of bidders who were members of the royalty.

“It is not about transparency. It is our SOP and we have no bad intention in keeping this information a secret. We want to avoid speculation and doubts. As long as one has the money and used the proper channel to get the numbers, they can have it, whoever they are,” he explained.

The BMW number plates went on public tender from August 14-28. Among the notable bidders were national shuttler Datuk Lee Chong Wei, who plonked down RM97,777 for the number plate BMW 6, and MyWatch chairman R. Sri Sanjeevan, who forked out nearly RM340,000 for two plates, BMW 8 and BMW 11.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments reveal widespread suspicion and criticism regarding the secrecy surrounding BMW number plate tenders. Many believe the blanked-out names and details are attempts to hide potential corruption or favoritism within JPJ, highlighting a lack of transparency and integrity in the process. Several commenters argue that revealing the winners' identities would foster accountability and trust, while others accuse officials of protecting their own interests and avoiding negative public perception. There is a consensus that such practices point to underlying corruption and a need for cleaner governance. Overall, the tone is skeptical and critical of the opaque system, with calls for transparency and fairness in the bidding process.

• nabei on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:08 pm

New selangor mb and exco lineup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
    • Pinky on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:16 pm

We all know who those people are.. And where their money came from.. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
      • Lok Chat on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:24 pm

NOW everyone knows LCW BIRTHDAY IN 2 WEEKS TIME

• JPJ Runner inside story on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:23 am

To avoid negative perception of JPJ ?

For those who know JPJ, they already have a horrendous dark tainted perception and image when it comes to number plate tender process.

Its about who you know in JPJ to get your preferred number plates. The higher the better.

” Of Mr Celebrity, you want No 1 ? , the highest tender we received was 150k, you just tender 155k, I will get it for you ” The poor guy who tendered 150k just got screwed

And in the computer system, the top dogs together with the JPJ Director can “block” off certain numbers from being offered to public for tender if he so decides too ( to do certain “person” or personalities favours ).

There is no transparency and professionalism in the whole JPJ tender process.

Its a DOG EAT DOG WORLD inside JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • kzm father on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:24 pm

My son kzm, who always comments here also wanted to to bid for this BMW numbers. But I told him not to because it is a waste of money.

Better to save the extra money and get more wives. It is more pleasure and fun every night!

• Durian Runtuh on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:44 pm

JPJ is one of the most corrupted bodies in Malaysia. Nearly every single enforcement officer takes money. Each day each can make easily RM1000. In a month, can get RM20,000. Even doctor and lawyer also lose. Why bother doing your MBBS and LLB?

Somemore income tax and epf free. Clean RM20,000 per month for a person with hardly SPM education.

The JPJ should clean up their dirty organisation instead of helping BMW do all this tender. You all are so dirty and filthy, instead of cleaning your filthy house, you got time to help BMW do this number tender.

Anyway, what is so special about BMW? Can Mercedes, Honda, Suzuki and Nissan also have special numbers? Why BMW given special privilege to have special numbers?

JPJ clean up your organisation. Your people on the streets are so so so so dirty. Everybody in Malaysia have been approached and stopped by a JPJ officer who has openly asked the driver money to settle the offence on the spot.

• BadBET on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:01 pm

I hope you are not serious about “BMW given special privilege to have special numbers” thingy.

• I like this on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:55 pm

“It is not about transparency”

He should have follow that with…”Which we have none. And we operate our organization like the mafia, all in utmost secrecy. Because you know, when the tax payer pay for our operation or the operation of the people that bids for the number plates, it’s best that they do not know where their money is going.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Why are BMW 3,4 & 6 named (royalty and famous person)? The others are not named because of SOP? Then why don’t JPJ keep nos 1-20 a secret too? Another govt official contradicting his own self..!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 4
  • powershot (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:25 pm

that makes it even worse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:26 pm

hidden becos in real life they not supposed to be able to afford these plates

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 4
  • dodgeviper88 on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Haha better not complain too much. I got a feeling next time they wouldn’t even publish the tender results at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Anti-Corruption on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Hiding their names already gives negative perception, with government personnel able to bid up exclusive plate numbers wondering how much do these government personnel earns. Revealing their names should lead to anti-corruption investigation. JPJ is clearly corrupted in this case.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
  • Hidden because there are something wrong…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
  • Legend (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:44 pm

why don’t they put “UBAH GAYA HIDUP” plate back to their Rebadged Perdana?
    and trying to bid BMW for their new BMW.
    Even already show Royalty’s name that who successful bid the plate
    Why have to hide particular of them?
    Why have to afraid of negative Public Perception?
    Gonna spot all this plate and find out who are they!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:51 pm

come on guys, be sensible, some people may not want to reveal too much on their spending

if they have the money to spend this type of money, surely they would have the money to keep the sellers (JPJ) mouth shut

we should respect their privacy and rights, after all none of you could afford to buy these plates in the first place, why does it bother you people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 82
    • brown kid on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:42 pm

because everybody that can buy or rich/successful in life will be assume corrupted. Well all the ppl in here think so~

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:02 am

exactly

haters gonna hate

just like how everyone hates me here for spilling out cold hard truth

• Sudeshram on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Even IC numbers shouldn’t be disclosed or at least last 4 digits crossed out XXXX or ****

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • common sensor on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:01 pm

BULLSHIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • WRONG SOP BY JPJ on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:11 pm

I don’t understand by JPJ must release the tender results with the person’s full name & Malaysian IC or their passport numbers, details, is this a marriage notice for everyone to see and verify !!

If this is their SOP, its just plain dumb and stupid, by right the SOP should be not to release the results to the public and those who tendered will be notified by mail or what ever means by JPJ directly. (Its written in their JPJ tender FORM, results will be notified via mail and by in no way does it state the results will also be published to the public for their viewing pleasure and JPJ will also release your full name and your identity card/passport number to the public as well.

This will then create a proper tender process, where the winners are notified directly and should not be public knowledge.

It just creates unwanted attention, especially for those who paid a lot of money. It should be P&C for all allegeable tenders done….between the customer and JPJ, that’s what people call professionalism !!

Its really bad how JPJ treats its customers, where and when JPJ decides to release their customers details for this kind of transactions & they can say its standard SOP !!

The standard tender process practice in developing countries is always between the organizer and the customer directly and never made public unless it involves a legal suit where public knowledge results is required to be release.

Even banks don’t release information of their customers whom participated in house auctions or tenders of buildings to the public, why is JPJ so special !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:36 pm

They do this to show transparency in their department so that people cannot question who the bidded numbers were won by.

However they are not thorough in their SOP or just not serious when they do not reveal the other numbers and just brush it off as these VIPs do not want to be named.

• Besi Buruk on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:56 pm

What the Government departments do, the rakyat wants to know especially if it involves money. If JPJ cannot generate enough income, the deficit will come from the rakyats’ coffer.

As for bank auction, the public does not want to know how much and who won the tender. Is is only for the particular loan defaulter to know whether the bank has auction and obtain a fair or best price for the property. It is the loan defaulter’s money and not the rakyat money!

• Besi Buruk on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:05 pm

When companies invite the public to participate in their contest and if they don’t announce the winners’ list, the first prize goes to me in private!

• protonsucks on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:25 pm

no transparency at all!! public comment so what ??? if they have done nothing wrong, then no need to hide secretive bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Donate those money to charity please!
    Not spend on buying meaningless car number plates.
    Totally cannot understand their mindset.

• Besi Buruk on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:27 pm

In life, everyone (except you) make a choice to suit them. You just don’t take everything that is thrown at you. E.g. You select the colour of your shirt and you don’t just buy any colour of the same shirt! After all what is a shirt? You just want to cover your body! Hope you understand human beings have taste and wants. Even animals will not eat just any food you feed them to fill their stomach!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Besi Buruk on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:07 pm

How about a slice of salmon to feed the goat!

• Jilbaber (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Son, how do you know those people don’t do charity…some people don’t want to reveal how much they donates and usually donate anonymously (I believe it is a common practice among muslim’s)…just because they can afford it don’t mean they don’t have sense of generosity meh..they also have sense of taste and desire like you too kiddo, the different is, yours is just a dream and they lived it

• Bacapik on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:32 pm

They lived their dreams! Now you enlighten us here sir how much does an anggota pentadbiran kerajaan made per year? How much does a cabinet minister made that they can afford such numbers? Care to explain this to us?

• hidden due to low comment rating??

• MeToo on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Berani kerana benar.

If you did nothing wrong, no need to hide.

• neomedia on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I think the moderator shud blur the ic number.. at least paultan.org can’t be held under PDPA (correct me if i’m wrong).. just my 2 cents…

• samua boleh on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:27 pm

nilah ia malasia

• 1Malaysia on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:28 pm

” Due to the buzz around his purchase, Sanjeevan said he would now give up BMW8 plate for RM500,000 and donate RM100,000 to charities ”

What? ? 500K?
    It’s this one of his plan to get famous and resell at that price? !

• ben yap on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Lee Chong Wei already has a BMW X6 which his number plate is AJA 6.

YM Tengku Ahmad Shah is also royal blood right? how come his name is not being kept a secret?

I believe there is some sort of fishy thing happening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • neckotynne on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:14 pm

That’s what the people argued and asked… Is there any transparencies or they just hide the names because of they had been asked to from above parties… To hide from SPRM maybe because “they” don’t declare their wealth…? It’s possible right…? Hehehehehe…!

• neckotynne on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:16 pm

or maybe from the LHDN…??? ;B

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:35 pm

OOhhh…..I see….Then why “YOU” release WWW 1 belong to Sultan Johor? DON’T act DUMB!!! to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Kelvin on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:52 pm

2 words.

Yeah, right.

• old dog on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:05 pm

W. T. F

• at least put how much the number cost la. Dun tell me bmw 1 cost rm2 only and its a fair bid

• Sam's Best Friend on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:36 pm

is it not better for those who love to bid on number plates to make it known to the world how expensive and great thier number plate is.

It is like buying a customized Rolls royce and the price is unknown. Rich people likes to flaunt their wealth.

Where or how they make their wealth,,, thats a totally different question. And if you dont want to flaunt your wealth. then dont need to bid for expensive number. oxymomo

• Semi-value ² on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Sooner or later we will see those plate on the road and we will know who they are, SOP MY ARSE, I give you that.

• JPJ Director on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:20 pm

When you see those plate on the road, that is not my problem. MY ARSE will be poke if I tell you so!

• Enthu on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Cibai JPJ. Talking stupid shit to the public again. You pea brains officers, may you rot in hell.

• choha on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:47 pm

not trying to be cynical but this number tender thing only proved that how shallow-minded some famous and well-heeled individuals in this country are….those money could be put into much meaningful use.

• TheDean on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Things such as this should exclude royalties and the government. They really shouldn’t buy plates even if they have the means, because in managing and serving the country, it would appear in bad taste to the common public. It is like a developer itself buying many prime units of its own development when it is in high demand. Such buyer-types should be banned from sale. Just doesn’t look (or feel) right to me.

• Anakjambi on Oct 08, 2014 at 7:54 am

Sorry to deviate from the main topic.
    News said a total of 60 bidders bidded for BMW8055. What is so special with this number???

• Mengarut on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:44 am

left blank to avoid negative perception?
    are they idiot or what?
    hiding things from people usually shows something fishy and they talk on avoiding negative perception?
    bulls**t!!
    where’s the transparency?

• leonardo on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:57 pm

S.O.P. means Scam Offering Process?

• therakyat on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:41 pm

perhaps to avoid negative perception from rakyat to gomen people. so must keep the secret of that people..others, let it go la..no 1 & 7 is the same person, also for 9 & 10..so lucky that gomen person because they live in malaysia.

• left blank to avoid negative perception? owh this maybe owned by BN guy, after up oil price 20sen..this could be negative for their image.. if the person were from opposition, confirm the name will be display..lol