Victorinox Swiss Army I.N.O.X. launched in Malaysia

Victorinox Swiss Army INOX 1

The Victorinox Swiss Army I.N.O.X. watch was officially launched in Malaysia yesterday. The latest and most robust member of the VSA family was launched by Victorinox Swiss Army product director Francois Nunez and Kuang Ming Woon, GM of local distributor FJ Benjamin, at an event in KL.

“I.N.O.X. demonstrates a level of robustness never before achieved in watchmaking. Designed to withstand unusual stress, it has passed with flying colours a ruthless battery of 130 strength tests,” Nunez said.

Of the 130 tests, some really stand out. For instance, the I.N.O.X. is claimed to be able to withstand eight tonnes of hydraulic pressure, can resist being driven over by a 64-tonne military tank, temperatures ranging from -57 to 71 degrees Celsius (US Army standard for the manufacture of missiles), a fall of 10 metres on a smooth concrete surface (equivalent to three floors, 50 km/h), exposure to a flame at a distance of 5 mm for over a minute and an altitude of 21,300 metres (twice the height at which commercial airliners fly).

Owners are unlikely to encounter these extreme situations, but may be assured to hear that the I.N.O.X. emerged from two hours in a washing machine at 90 deg C and full spin cycle, alive.

Despite all this, it doesn’t look like a brick. The Swiss-made watch comes in a stainless steel 43 mm case (the name I.N.O.X. comes from the French word for stainless steel) housing a Swiss-made Ronda 715 quartz movement. The screw-on caseback is also in stainless steel. It’s water resistant to 200 metres.

Interesting to note that the indexes on the dial are stamped into the surface, and not stuck on, so that they won’t fall off in extreme conditions. Sapphire crystal with triple anti-reflection treatment means that the viewing surface is scratch-resistant and always legible.

Three colours – black, khaki green, navy blue – are available, each with a matching rubber strap. While the glass is anti-scratch, the polished hexagonal bezel isn’t. Should you want to keep that pristine as well, the I.N.O.X. comes with a “bumper” made of silicone and nylon. The removable protector gives the watch a completely different look and image, so it isn’t a stretch to say that the I.N.O.X. is two watches in one. Additionally, VSA says that the 130 tests were done without the bumper.

The Victorinox Swiss Army I.N.O.X. is now on sale at authorised dealers for RM1,699.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:29 am

Wow. Very classy watch. Looks like it can survive in situations where the owner can be killed. Possible usage as an identifier. Just engrave your name into the back and you don’t need to worry about people being unable to identify your mangled, decomposed corpse 2 weeks after death. Unless someone comes along and loots your corpse for valuables, of course, but who does such things?

I am still perplexed, though, about why watches sometimes make an appearance on an auto website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Black Dog on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:13 pm

you think pretty girls gotta do with cars too???

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:24 am

I think it isn’t proper to use showgirls to attract attention to cars, but that’s the world we’re living in. Most of them girls are part of a car unveil or part of an autoshow, anyway. Just something extra for the photographer to shoot.

• Nice car, nice safety feature too, and quality, what? Swiss made? even better

• still a watch though
    and
    serving the same purpose as my RM100 watch – telling the time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
    • Variety is the spice of live. Would you say the same thing for cars? Tepuk dada tanya selera, if you could only understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:11 pm

In our super-materialistic world, the watch you wear makes a statement and says something about your position in life. If you’re not wearing anything fancy, people look at your watch to see if you’re worth their attention or not.

This world is shallow. It is sad it is that way, but that’s why there are watches that are so extravagant. That’s why there are ultra-luxury cars like Bentley and Rolls-Royce. A Perodua Viva fulfills the same purpose as a Rolls-Royce, by the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Black Dog on Oct 15, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Watches are for older gen. So yesterday!

New ones like us use our hp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • Watch Collectors Sorhai on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Seriously for watch collectors and brand snob value, victorinox is at the bottom. Nobody will even bother to look.

My casio is much better and cheaper. Like another reader put it…handphone can tell better time and much accurate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • hasyim on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:47 am

coudn’t agree more

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:27 pm

got RV ah?

• Chris (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Not sure, but at least you can pass it down three generations and your grandson won’t complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Watch Collectors Sorhai on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Sorhai will buy patek watches and think their kids will appreciate. Most of the time the kid will says, Dude, i rather be dead than wearing so unfashionable watch to go clubbing.

Just like now, would you be seen wearing your grand dad old rolex ? The gen Y prefer new thing. Not some old stuff and some old cars they called classic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 6:25 pm

grandad old rolex not for wearing…for keeping in bank vault…valuable tau tak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • kl fella on Oct 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

if i have my grand dad’s old rolex i’d be one f**cking happy guy..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 2:46 pm

if my grandad could afford rolex i’d be so thankful right now…or be one of those guys that could afford a jaguar e-type or alfa romeo gtv back in the good old days…unfortunately he was a rubber tapper

• xiper (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:48 pm

if this watch put in a toyota then got RV lor, if put in a Kia then Sam Loo will chase u out with broomstick

• Not Semi-Value on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Only Toyota has RV!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Nn

• Watch Snob on Oct 16, 2014 at 8:51 am

Im surprised Victorinox Swiss Army even bother to bring the INOX here to compete with the current market of tough watches. The G-shock now days priced in between Myr300 to Myr6,1000 (that’s the atomic model frogman). And not to mention, Seiko SKX diver line which built to last like a tank. Yup, holding a SKX007 probably matter more than you buying 10 other watches in the same price league that you think matter in the watch horology. And then there’s another two variation from Japan – Orient and Citizen. This have not yet include Protrek.

Although the good thing about this INOX is, it does looks like Audemars Piguet Royal Offshore and Vacheron Constantin Overseas. Yup, i get it. The Casios and Seikos are boring in look. Unless you cater for GS. But then again, that already fall to price of a Rolex.

• Watchuseek_Bae on Apr 21, 2017 at 10:05 am

My first impression when I saw it was it reminds me of Hublot Classic Fusion sands the screws. Although I love Swiss products; I’m not big on Quartz, I rather settle with Seiko 5 than any Swatch. But Victorinox is packaging it to be a tough Swiss quartz watch with affordability. I can’t recall any quartz swiss watch as tough as this with this price (do share here, I would love to have a look at them).

To be honest, if we live in a logical world, we would all be owning a G-Shock. Cheap, tough, precise, charges using solar power, lasts forever, no battery change ever required. But we live in a world where watches still make the man. Just like clothes make the man.

We can argue about this all we want, but at the end of the day you’ll still look twice at the person’s watch if it was a Rolex than an ALBA.

• Swatguy on Oct 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

This watch definitely looks good on my wrist… The thing is that it is heavy…so for work and ops i prefer g shock and luminox anytime