Hyundai Elantra reaches 10 million unit milestone

10527813_847775091907201_391069862483871979_n

Hyundai’s Elantra recently passed the 10 million unit milestone, one of only 10 nameplates in the car world to have done so. The Elantra, badged as Avante is some markets, was launched 24 years ago in 1990. To reach the 10m mark, Hyundai sold an average of 420,000 Elantras per year globally or approximately 1,100 units a day.

“Reaching this historic mark is a testament to Elantra’s staying power and the global appeal of a vehicle that delivers attractive design, functionality and class-leading performance,” said Tak Uk Im, Hyundai’s COO. “As a company it also shows our ability to quickly adapt to changing consumer preferences and continue to push the compact car segment with features once reserved for luxury vehicles,” he added.

The Elantra, now in its fifth-generation, has received a number of accolades its maker is proud of. They include topping the segment in the J.D. Power 2014 U.S. Initial Quality Study (IQS), the big 2012 North American Car of the Year gong, and 2012 COTY wins in South Africa and Canada.

The Elantra MD, launched here in 2012, has received its mid-life facelift. In fact, Inokom is already assembling the refreshed C-segment sedan at its Kulim plant for the Thai market, so a local launch should be just around the corner. The Malaysian-made Elantra is priced from 749,000 baht (RM76,014) to 1,198 million baht (RM121,582) in the Land of Smiles.

Malaysian-assembled Thai spec Hyundai Elantra Facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Low Budget on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:55 am

Wow! Millions sold worldwide despite some Malaysians negative comments on poor quality. HAbis-lah, the 2nd hand value in Boleh Land will not be cheap anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Kelakar Betul on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:52 am

the negative comments are all by the bored Toyota salesman. Their bread and butter Vios nobody touching because the Honda City is so much better value.

So Toyota and UMW in Malaysia already pening kepala.Their salesman are bored in the showroom. No sales. So what they do? All go online. All spread lies against Honda and Hyundai.

That is the Toyota salesman job now. They are known as ToyotaTrooper (Cyber)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • karam singh on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:36 pm

let the video do the talking … ;D
        rating – acceptable
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGWRf1OeYFc

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:58 pm

And? Can easily show a video of a Toyota Camry failing just as hard. What does that proof? Almost all cars fail at this test, no matter how safe they are. Only the D segment Suzuki and some Volvo did good enough at this test.

• karam singh on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Honda did good, Subaru did good,
            some Mazda did good,
            Mercedes did good, and many more ..

Toyota – nope.. little only pass
            Hyundai/Kia – only some pass, others are not that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Irwan on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Cant see any different
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9AnNSfVds9M&w=200

• gotodmc38 on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:53 pm

2014 Toyota Corolla – Small overlap front rating – M = Marginal or 2 stars out of 4?
            Here is IIHS’s rating (G)ood (A)cceptable (M)arginal (P)oor

• Irwan on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:07 pm

and more worst
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oH6pSnyQbMY&w=200

• Irwan on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:44 pm

wonder how if mr sam loo sitting inside this car…hmmm

• James on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:29 am

I just came back from Toyota showroom in Subang and in the toilet I saw Toyota salesman wearing a helmet. I was shocked. I looked closer, I saw it was really a panties over his head. He was wearing it like a helmet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Our resident Korean hater claims catastrophic resale values but I’m hoping it is actually true. Why not buy a second hand Korean. Must be the best damn value for the money.

But the truth is, Toyota is having problems shifting cars. Even the new Vios is under discount and taking trade-ins for junk cars, where Honda has no discount on its City and wont bother to accept the same car as trade-in.

• das auto on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:32 pm

I absolutely love this car. Unfortunately its above my budget for my second car. Still waiting for the 2nd hand prices to drop but RV seems to be on the high side.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:57 am

Isnin, 03/11/2014.
    547 days since PRU13. Still no reduction in car price.
    KR1M – Kencing Rakyat 1Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Kelakar Betul on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:56 am

Now, if you go to the Toyota showroom, you will see nobody attneding to you. The Toyota salesman, especially the guys, are in the toilet sniffing used panties because they are bored and got nothing to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Chris (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:03 am

Very interested in the top 10 list, can’t find much on the internet. Wikipedia only mentioned the Ford model t, Toyota Corolla, The beetle, and a Lada…

• Chris (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Following up on my own post after some digging, not sure if correct:
      1. Toyota Corolla – 40 million
      2. Ford F-Series 34 million
      3. VW Golf – 30 million
      4. VW Beetle – 21.5 million
      5. Lada Vaz 2101 – 19.3 million
      6. Opel Corsa – 18 million
      7. Ford Model T – 16.5 million
      7. Honda Civic – 16.5 million
      9. Lada Riva – 13.5 million
      10. Chevy Impala – 13 million
      11. Oldsmobil Cutlass – 11.9 million
      12. Mazda Familia – 10 million
      12. Hyundai Elantra – 10 million

??? Maybe some of the above isn’t accurate..

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 8:06 pm

That’s funny, cause the Lada Vaz 2101 and the Lada Riva are the same car, just different facelifts. They are all based on the Fiat 124, which also sold in huge numbers, and was also produced (in huge numbers) under other names. It’s probably the most successful car of all times.

• Open Letter to Toyota and Honda Salesman on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:18 am

This news is such bad news to all the Toyota and Honda salesman that come to this forum and bad mouth Korena cars. They feel so threatened because a huge market share has been eaten by Hyundai in Malaysia.

Hyundai has achieved in 10 years what Honda and Toyota took 50 years to achieve in Malaysia. So, the Toyota and Honda salesman go on panic mode and being so stupid they are, they come online and spread rumours about Korean cars.

If you rumours are true, Hyundai won’t be the 4th largest car seller in the entire world. Per annnum, they sell about 10 million cars. That alone speaks about its quality and prestige.

What is true is this
    1) Toyota and Honda RV stinks. Infact, it is worse than Hyundai. 2013 December Toyota Camry 2.5 is being sold for RM130,000. Not even 11 months, the car can lose a record of RM50,000. Toyota Camry 2.0 2013 model on the other hand is being sold for RM100,000. Even this model can lose RM40k to RM50k

Secondly, you see Hyundai Elantra everywhere. Do you even see the 2014 Altis anywhere? I drive the whole day in Klang Valley, maybe 1 unit of 2014 Altis I see the whole day.

Malaysian consumers have become wise. They are fed up of being treated like dirt by Honda and Toyota who compromise on their safety, namely omitting the VSC for higher margin and profit. They think why buy a Toyota Altis for RM139k (with VSC) when they can get a same C segment sedan, infact bigger, with VSC, for RM85k (Hyundai Elantra).

I pity the Honda and Toyota salesman. few years ago, they were so arrogant. So action. You can even walk in the showroom for 30 minutes also, they don’t layan. They don’t look at you. Infact, they go outside the showroom doors in groups to rokok and chill out laughing away in joy whilst the customer waits to be attended.

If they are not doing that, they are playing whatsapp with their friends.

Now, the Toyota and Honda Salesman see you, like dogs they will run after you, literally begging you to buy thier car.

How times ahve changed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
    • Doggie on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:13 am

Woof! Woof!

• Toyol UMW on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:22 am

People stay away from Toyol because Toyol only give 3 years warranty. Hyundai is much cheaper with 5 years warranty. 5 years peace of mind.

Have you owned a Toyol? Each time servis, the bill is no less than RM1000. Toyol UMW pandai recoup their cost.

My Honda, already 8 years I own, each time I send my car in, its about RM200 to RM300.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • RicoT on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Are you sure service bill is RM200 to RM300? Mineral oil used? Or you are just quoting the ‘Preventive Service’ charges, not include parts such as engine oil, filter, CVT oil, and drain plug?

• Jules on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Do u see any new plate elentra? Of coz u can see elentra on the road coz they are in the market for few years. Admittedly…. Not many new altis on the road. They should rethink their price or specs.

• RicoT on Nov 03, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Sad to say, the market for C-segment cars is selling quite slowly and they are also competing with other segments. I considered the C-segment as a “half-way, not up, not down” car.

For spec & price-conscious consumers like me, some full spec B-segment cars offer similar or better equipment (i.e. cruise control, ESP, 6 airbags) than those offered in a basic spec C-segment cars and it is priced slightly lower, by RM10k? I would rather save the RM10k for one or two year’s worth of petrol. Insurance and maintenance wise, cheaper. Psychologically, I have the full spec car, rather than “something-is-missing-from-my-car-compared-to-others” car.

For consumers going for status after being quite successful in life and career, add a few ten of thousands and get a proper D-segment car to pamper and to congratulate oneself.

Family out-populated the number of seats available in a passenger car? Buy a MPV, or two.

• kzm fanboy on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:27 am

If Preve can sell 1 million units in 1 year, i’ll run wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam from Tg Malim to Shah Alam.

Wanna bet? Any takers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Gertg on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:30 am

How many did Proton sell? Proton is a “globally competitively”, right? The Rakyat put up high insane high taxes and keep supporting their power windows for 20+ years?

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:38 am

It is actually not a terrible car. As a daily driver, if you want something that works, feels OK inside, not too expensive to buy, then this is actually not too bad. It is like a Civic, relatively simple to live with. However it is such a pity in Malaysia SD has messed the specifications up big time, with only 2 airbags on most variants, and lots of aftermarket bits to cut costs, unlike the sister Kia Cerato which feels much nicer inside for the same money, and is safer too.
    Also, SD should seriously reconsider introducing the 2.0GDI instead of just the 1.6 and 1.8 engines, cause honestly the 1.6 and 1.8 engine is rather coarse compared to the nicer 2.0GDI found in the i40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Right.

Hyundai makes decent cars. The horrible part is that Sime Darby is under-specifying the cars here. Greed. Just like UMW.

• Sukasuka on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:38 am

After 24 years this model we can call it “Global model”,but someone call their “global model” before they sell the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Kelakar Betul on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:46 am

ha ha ha. That is funny. Syiok sendiri. Like they say Waja was the BMW of Asia. They also said Waja will wipe out BMW because the car was at par with a BMW 3 series.

Ha Ha Ha Ha

• tho brown on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:43 am

rubbish car, absolutely rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 41
    • Kelakar Betul on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:55 am

This is an example of a bored Toyota salesman in the showroom. So bored. Got no sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • So rubbish that 10 million was sold? Must be bomoh right? ;)

• Kelakar Betul on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:16 am

This one sure Toyota salesman

• Low Budget on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:28 am

Facts are facts! I own and drive P2 cars but I do admire Hyundai, I will support Hyundai over P1 or Toyota anytime.

• mr. Logic on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:00 pm

meanwhile in bolehland… suprima has only achieved 10000 units milestone…

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:55 pm

proton did not market it world wide, genius

proton can easily make it 15 million sales worldwide if they choose to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • yihang (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:11 pm

And the vw golf that everyone bashing about their dsg(or s tronic if apply in Audi car,which no one bash) gear box..sold over 30 million unit worldwide…

• Jules on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Duuh…. It’s bcoz most Golf sold in the world is sold without Dsg.

• Whatever can be said in bolehland. At the end of the day,
    global figures spells it all.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

resale values say it all too, what a lousy piece of junk these Korean cars are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • Matrix on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Hyundai must be cheat.
    I can’t see much hyundai here.

i saw many city around!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • roxas on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:41 pm

happy to be one of the 10th million ~ the koreans are doing great now

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

pity u to be honest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
      • APKing on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:16 pm

You forgot to take your medication

• dugongx on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Actually everyone here pity you as we all know you drive a 10 yr old rotten dugong but pretend you have maserati and vw golf gti. Sales are very bad for UMW nowadays bcos of the koreans so you have little commission and cannot upgrade to your dream car camry. Pity…

• I own Hyundai Elantra, To be frank, a Hyundai is not the car for old fashioned minded people who still live in the past and could not accept that korean had made a vast improvements.
    – 6 speed in house transmission is smooth on the run
    – interior is huge, seats are comfy too with soft touch materials around the cabin.
    – good fuel ecomony on the highway. Uses only half a tank on a 300km drive to Johor(fills tank at RM 80)
    – for the price, it is well equiped with active safety features such as stability and traction control.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:34 pm

when it was first introduced in msian market , the looks was so exciting , so fluid and pretty , but im of the opinion that the design has not aged well , if u look at the cerato , that design wil age well in 5 – 10yrs time…
    u have the renault fluence , ford focus , the 408 (ignoring the civic and the altis bcos , u know , get a life!)
    competition for me seems to be better ….the elentra always sold on looks and equipment…

• French Slut on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

If compare 407 vs 408, 407 is much sexier even though it’s old. The 408 look wierd in outlook especially the rear.

Now, with 408 recently clearing stock at rm98k (I must says, it’s pretty value for money for 1.6 turbo), it is a good buy if you don’t mind the outlook or the resale value.

Somehow the new facelifted 408 which is coming soon will indeed look much better interior and exterior and if you don’t mind holding on a few months and have a budget of rm128k.

So, If you can’t wait, go grab the 408 at rm98k. Nothing beats a forced fed engine in term of driveability.

• roxas on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:47 am

elantra still looking good everytime i see one. cerato looks good bcoz of its led lights.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:53 pm

what a non story, so what you can sell 10 million of junks? perodua can easily do that too and perodua is a much better car than any cars the Korean can produce!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:35 pm

congrats hyundai. not the best car but things have come a long way since then. meanwhile the beloved proton is still…urgh

• saw many elantra overseas as TAXI/CAB. no wonder sales figure so good.

• Keris Jawa on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:32 am

For years Hyundai and Kia built their brands around the idea that their cars got better mileage than their competitors, a claim they promoted in ads that denigrated less efficient rivals.

But in 2012, Hyundai and Kia, which are both owned by the Hyundai Motor Group, acknowledged that they had overstated the fuel economy of vehicles sold in the United States over the previous two years. The admission came after an E.P.A. investigation into consumer complaints that their cars were underperforming the official mileage estimates on the window stickers of new cars. Although few drivers achieve the mileage claimed on the stickers, the government requires automakers to conduct standardized tests to calculate the figures so that buyers can more easily compare the fuel efficiency of different models.

At the time, both Hyundai and Kia apologized for what they called “procedural errors” in testing that resulted in incorrect mileage stickers on some of their most popular models, including the Hyundai Elantra and Kia Rio. On Monday, the companies continued to say that the misstatement of fuel mileage was inadvertent and that they did not intentionally mislead customers.

• All lies.
    They claimed that they sold that amount of cars only, the real fact is unknown.

Cheat customers on sales reports, fuel emission, EPA, safety ratings, how much they want?

After worldwide found out they cheat and bribed during ASEAN Games in Incheon, they still have the face to CON PEOPLE.

Koreans always tried their best to brainwash the world and conquer the world. Go back and sleep la.

• OwnElantra on Nov 12, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Owned for 1 & half year. So far happy with performance. Highway can consume at 14-15cent/KM (Petrol price RM2.30). Heavy traffic (town driving) around 20-21cents. Low in-cabin noise, good handling, light steering drive, big space. Overall, satisfy with it.
    Foresee RV in Malaysia remain poor in Kimchin car. But so what!! After 10years (I’m confident this car will continue running good condition), all brands RV make no big delta. So, who care the RV??!!
    China/Australia used them for Taxi? That’s good news. Thing logically, they use vehicle to earn their $$. If the car no good, why they bought it? Buy some problematic car (always down to repair) and high petrol consumption…. please larr….be mature.
    Last, 10M is good milestone. If a car not good in conditions, after sale for a while, -ve feedback start to come-in and ppl will stop buying, like Proton Putra/Juara/Tiara.

• Johny on Dec 23, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Had a chance to test drive this car both 1.6 & 1.8 cc.

They are actually pretty comfortable car for city and highway drive.

• My 1.5 yr elantra 1.8 already warranty air-con compressor & air con pipe burst. Now airbag light on, waiting warranty but after 60k milage is extended warranty under insurance company. Wa Lah A