Honda Malaysia introduces new genuine engine oils

Honda Malaysia has introduced its new range of genuine engine oils. The oils, which come in new packaging, are approved by Honda Research and Development, and meet the American Petroleum Institute’s (API) latest specification standards.

The oils provide protection and enhance engine smoothness, resulting in better fuel efficiency without compromising on performance, Honda says. The current and upgraded genuine engine oils are shown below (SN is API’s latest engine oil standard):

honda-malaysia-new-range-of-genuine-engine-oils-table

The oils are suitable for all Hondas, but SN 0W-30 is recommended for the Civic Type R and Accord V6.

Also announced is the implementation of a bulk system for the SN 0W-20 engine oil, which will be expanded to authorised Honda dealers nationwide. Instead of being sold by the can, the oil is dispensed from a tank and sold by actual usage. Besides reducing wastage and container disposal, this also ensures volume accuracy.

Honda Malaysia is also aiming to increase the number of authorised dealers to 90 by next year, with dealers in every major town nationwide.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• lolipop on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:09 pm

from my experince all this is a marketing gimmick.. honda service center rip off.. especially for honda insight service interval & jack up price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
    • IrizX on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:09 pm

What marketing gimmick? Please read up more. Honda has been advocating thinner oils OW20 in recent years and it has proven to give good protection with better fuel economy.

All SC regardless of brand is a rip off, it’s how the business is done. If you don’t like, can go service workshop bawah pokok. Don’t cry if something breaks and your warranty void.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 39
      • lolipop on Nov 27, 2014 at 5:35 pm

don’t pretend like a genius go use the so called “Genuine” engine oil and feel the different on ur fuel consumption.. i bet u never cheapskate..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • Maserati(Official) on Nov 28, 2014 at 10:11 am

Only Petronas makes the best oils in the world. Better than Shell and Mobil 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
        • Lewis on Nov 30, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Petronas better than shell n mobil1? Hahaha…. Based on what ground? petronas selain daripada Pandai main harga, apa dia orang tahu buat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

If not because of warranty, I would have bought my own engine oil instead of relying on their mineral oil…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • I fully agree with you. The only downside to my insight ownership has been the 5k service intervals which in today’s commuting is next to nothing. Later versions and newer Hondas have migrated to 10k service intervals. Hence at the 5k service intervals the cost amounts to more than my other other rides that are a W124 and also a 850T5. Other than this it’s a great city car for 600km range in the city and features some so called premium makes here in Bolehland don’t offer. 5 yrs in and not a squeak or rattle and everything still works like clockwork, Cbu Japan trumps ckd Melaka anytime!

• Kotembad on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Here are the official prices before any discounts:
    SN 10W-30 Mineral (4L) –> RM 91.76
    SN 5W-30 Semi synthetic (4L) –> RM 127.06
    SN 0W-20 Fully synthetic (4L) –> RM 150.59
    SN 0W-30 Fully synthetic (4L) –> 232.94
    For 1 liter prices, just divide by 4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Sir if i using SN 0W-20 when i need to service ? 5k or 10k milage ? help pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Nicholas on Nov 14, 2015 at 9:31 am

Honda service does give 15% discount for all the Honda genuine parts so the actual price paid is lesser

• Quazacolt on Nov 27, 2014 at 3:53 pm

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsSearch

under which OEM are these new lineup oils being licensed under?

• Tekeo1070 on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:01 pm

it must be Idemitsu..

• Quazacolt on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:30 pm

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsResultsDetail?accountId=-1&companyId=10082&resultsUrl=%2FDirectory%2FEolcsResults%3FaccountId%3D-1%26companyName%3Didemitsu

so honda cheating people? GENUINE?!

• squall_shinoda on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:03 pm

FYI, it is a current practice for all carmakers to outsource their engine oil rather than making their own, because they are not oil companies anyway. All they do is to provide supply contracts to oil companies and the oil companies formulate the OEM oils based on the properties of the engines. Proton and Perodua also do the same (the OEM oils for both carmakers are supplied by Petronas).

• Quazacolt on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:20 am

FYI, to legally use API’s certification logo, even if your engine oil contents are the same you will still have to re-test and re-certify your product with API.

Notice that the link i provided is from Idemitsu, and they have various brands INCLUDING Honda.

The Honda oils are however, NOT API SN.

PS: most of proton SC EO are direct Petronas Syntium WITHOUT being relabeled and they are API certified: https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsResultsDetail?accountId=-1&companyId=10222&resultsUrl=%2FDirectory%2FEolcsResults%3FaccountId%3D-1%26companyName%3Dpetronas

point being, SC’s here can be VERY unethical and it sure as hell doesn’t help when a site like this isn’t providing all the information we need. hence my initial post seeking clarification. :)

• MyviKiller on Nov 27, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Only fully uses Idemitsu, the rest is JX Nippon.

• nabill (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 7:12 pm

most probably its under Amoil who packages for so many other oem

• derek on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:31 am

https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsResultsDetail?accountId=-1&companyId=10164&resultsUrl=%2FDirectory%2FEolcsResults%3FaccountId%3D-1

SN 0W-20 cant find in IDEmitsu

• Car-Fans on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Get ready for Harga lebih tinggi liao …

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 27, 2014 at 4:47 pm

i like how they stress ‘genuine’ as if what they have been dishing out previously are not…

• I wonder will our engine oils price go down amid lower crude oil prices..hmm wishful thinking

• Sparcov on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Is true, if not because of SC, we have bought other engine oil but maintain service at SC. Previously SC use other brand, now they come out their own brand “sticker” they will force the customer to use it with marked up price.

Still is formulated by other oil company

Perodua oil is formulated by Petronas for instance.

Anyone know Toyota oil formulated by which company?

• alldisc on Nov 28, 2014 at 5:27 pm

in my knowledge, toyota has its own formula so it does its own blending. like additive, cleaning agent and so on and so forth.

but base oil supplier can be from any company. like Mobil. or Petronas, from Malaysia.

• kaspa on Nov 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Im your knowledge? Then yr knowledge is rather limited. Toyota oil for malaysian market blended at s15 shah alam under UMW Pennzoil. Yes, its a pennzoil oil for toyota in malaysia.

• Pariah on Nov 27, 2014 at 6:43 pm

0w-20??
    Ultra thin for better feel??
    Safe or not when things get hot??

• Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Haha..

Honda BS Malaysia coming up with BS again?

No wonder they got time to do all these BS.. Because they don’t give a freak about the car produced by them that will be used by us customers.

No matter what BS oil u use Honda BS Malaysia, BQ and QC are very important.

Pls Honda BS Malaysia, improve on that.

BTW, thx for being the next Proton for having numerous problems with the power windows and also numerous rattling sounds coming out from the car everyday.

Hidup HONDA BS Malaysia! HIDUP HIDUP!

• intermilan on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Bosan la pakai engine oil nipis2 ni..

Long live fully sync 50 weight oil!

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:28 pm

What does a person who has been using the fully synthetic 5W-40 use now? Must they be forced to use the rather thin 0W-30 full synthetic? My understanding is low viscocity oil makes the engine run smoother (thus better fuel efficiency), but doesn’t offer as much protection as a higher viscocity oil. Anybody can confirm?

• Quazacolt on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:25 am

false. modern engine oil today can provide similar very similar protection than thick viscosity engine oil.

not to mention, older thick viscosity engine oil would become even thinner than modern thin viscosity engine oil due to the lack of VII (viscosity index improvers).

long story short, stick with your car manufacturer’s recommendation/viscosity range recommendation, and use API certified engine oils which can be publicly queried from API directly.

• ss427 on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:00 am

Ahh… you guys finally have easy access to 0W-20 full syn oil from Honda.

In SG, although most if not all passenger cars are running on syn oil, retail availability of 20wt oil remains far and few in between.

Only Idemetsu offers 0W-20 oil on retail shelves here.

For us, if we want top quality syn oil at lower prices, we have to buy from 3rd party importers. They import the oil from USA directly, passing through all official channels from the local distributors.

this is one location. http://mxtradings.com/

• ss427 on Nov 28, 2014 at 9:05 am

Guys, please use 0W-20 sync oil for max efficiency and protection.

The old myth that thicker engine oils provide better protection doesn’t hold water anymore. If the manufacturer recommends 0W-20 (or 5W-20), use the engine oil.

Today’s engines are built with such exact micron sized tolerance that’s unthinkable some 10-15 yrs ago.

Using thicker than recommended oil will actually increase friction inside the engine and cause sluggishness without providing any protection.

Of cos, don’t go ard putting 0W-20 oil in Proton, Avanza, Innova etc engines la.. those engines are too crude to accept such high tech oil. hehehe.. They may cause oil leak since their seals are not built to such exacting standards.

• Fyi.
      Toyota Camry, Perodua Axia, Toyota AVanza Dual VVT-i, just to name a few.
      all these uses 0W-20.

Toyota, more advanced than you think.

• Fafau80 on Nov 28, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Hey, Honda diehard fans change to Toyota lah =)

• no money on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Is this a bit late for post this news??

SN 0W-20 is suitable for low and mid RPM to reach max fuel efficient .Means at high RPM ( after 4000RPM) will lose some protection .This will cause damage the main bearing .Dont put this if u want driven like F1.

• racer on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:44 pm

sorry to tell, but only trust Liqui Moly or Royal Purple….