Mercedes-Benz is the official car provider for LIMA’15

Mercedes E300 Hybrid 1

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has been appointed the official transport provider for the Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace Exhibition 2015 (LIMA’15). The annual event will take place in Langkawi from March 17-21.

MBM’s fleet for LIMA 2015 will be 450 strong, with models ranging from the E250 Avantgarde to the latest E300 Hybrid ferrying guests and delegates. This year’s LIMA show is expected to feature over 500 exhibitors and have an estimated attendance of 168,500 visitors over five days.

“We are proud to be selected for this prestigious internationally acclaimed exhibition. Mercedes-Benz represents the best-of-the-best in technologically innovation and safety. This is what we have in common with LIMA as they showcase the best in maritime and aerospace technology,” said MBM president and CEO Roland Folger.

Launched last month, the Mercedes-Benz E300 BlueTEC Hybrid is the first diesel hybrid to be commercially available in Malaysia. Thanks to excise duty exemptions for CKD hybrids, the RM348,888 W212 variant undercuts the previously baseline E200 but is kitted out like an RM493,888 E400.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TT@TT on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:19 pm

not annual…
    should be BIANNUAL (odd years)

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Langkawi are stupid to use Benz, Proton Iriz is far ten times better then uncle Merc !!!!

Proton should stop sell Proton at Langkawi and let the Langkawi people suffer lousy foreign car !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
      • Three Pedals on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:39 pm

I’d give u a thumbs up for the amount of sarcasm in your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:45 pm

The logic here always simple:

Can afford Mercs? Of course best!
          Can’t afford Mercs? Get a Toyota then!
          Can’t afford Toyota? Get a Perodua then!
          Can’t afford Perodua? Get a second hand car then!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Carnut on Feb 09, 2015 at 7:10 pm

Don’t be naive.

Not everyone wants to drive expensive cars even if they can afford them.

And not everyone who drive expensive cars can afford them.

Don’t judge a person by what they drive.

• trollmaster3000 on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:58 pm

why use iriz when you can use an accordana..?

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:29 pm

For your info kid, accordana “only for ministers” and not for public in current time.

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:27 pm

waiting for the ‘lightly used’ LIMA vehicles to be on sale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Three Pedals on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Especially if they have like LIMA XXX plate numbers on them, just like cars been used during OIC conference few years ago.

• Low Budget on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:54 pm

No chance for you lah, most likely these cars already ‘pre-booked’ by those that have the connections.

• Nenek Kau on Feb 09, 2015 at 6:00 pm

This car status will become pre-owned or used?

• And Mercedes will include all these into their sales figure and tell us they have a 30% grow in sales.

• ProtonGSC on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Even Langkawi don’t need Proton.

Tun DrM don’t support it own production ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Did I just read E350 Avantgarde?

As far as I know there is only the E200, 250, 400 and 300 BlueTEC HYBRID in Malaysia…. Unless…

• kenix tim mun chong on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Protong, mana lu? apsal x menang this bidding? despite claim ur car is the best.. tunK le, xkan putih2 mata tgk protong diasingkan.. sedangkan langkawiK & LIMAK adalah projek during time awak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Mustanger on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Good!!! more pre owned unit coming..

Hopefully they selling cheaper 40-50K after event.

• AMG E300 on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:09 am

MB malaysia also help MB to clear this outdated E class too!
      Anyway, lets wait for cheaper pre owned unit :)
      it should be cheaper 40-80K

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 09, 2015 at 9:22 pm

the government knows swag like me…

• Carl Wong on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:15 pm

We are going there to promote the AIRWHEEL, an electric unicycle, a new age, futuristic and cool kind of personal ride :]…..!!!!!!

• BLT_CLUB on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Where are all the Proton fan boys? Oh yeah crying in the corner. National event, German car. If the Government doesn’t even support the so called pride of Malaysia, why should the rakyat? In the end, Malaysia doesn’t need a national car. I OK paying high car prices, but not for the sake of someone’s inflated ego…

• Strange. There is a long waiting list for the e300 hybrid including those that booked way before the launch. MBM said no car, wait for a few months. Now this….. Can you trust anyone anymore?

• LangkawiFan on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:52 am

Imported-la…since Langkawi is duty-free, why use more expensive CKDs?

• mugiwara on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:38 am

Post pasal merc utk LIMA pun korang nk kaitkan dgn proton… apsal xsebut perodua toyota nissan skali ? narrow minded people… r u even Malaysian ?

• Allen lexus salesman mutiara on Feb 11, 2015 at 10:19 pm

This is so stupid. Using low class merc as official car. Shame on you. Should have used Camry 2.0gX. Much more prestigious than kwai tai merc.