Mazda CX-3 on sale in Japan – 1.5 SkyActiv-D diesel

P1J09590s

Sales of the Mazda CX-3 B-segment crossover has commenced in its home nation of Japan. The fifth model in the company’s range to feature the entire arsenal of SkyActiv technology will be available exclusively with a diesel engine. Yes, you read that right.

The Japan-spec Mazda CX-3 will be powered solely by a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine producing a total of 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 2,500 rpm. In its cleanest state of tune, the Japanese Mazda CX-3 achieves a fuel economy figure of 25 km/l under the domestic JC08 test.

On this particular mill, Mazda has developed what it calls a Natural Sound Smoother system, which works to reduce the typical clatter associated with diesel engines. The Mazda CX-3 is the first production car to vehicle such an option and a Japan-only option it remains.

A total of three trim lines are made available to Japanese customers and all three can be ordered with either a front- or all-wheel drive configuration. Additionally, each variant can be had with a choice of either Mazda’s SkyActiv-Drive automatic or Skyactiv-MT manual transmission. All in all, a total of 12 combinations are available to potential Japanese clients.

P1J09568s

Looks wise, you already know what to expect. The Mazda CX-3 sports the latest interpretation of the firm’s ‘Kodo – Soul of Motion‘ design language. Among the eight available colours is a newly-developed hue called Ceramic Metallic, which changes its appearances depending on the amount of light available.

Inside, and depending on the trim one opts for, the seats feature a black and white combination accent to go along with the various red highlights scattered along the door armrests, knee pads and seat piping. Elsewhere, the latest version of the MZD Connect infotainment system provides Internet-based radio services and navigation as well as a host of information including average fuel consumption.

As for safety kit, the Japan-spec CX-3 comes equipped with a host of i-ActivSense features. Notable safety systems found under this umbrella include Mazda’s Radar Cruise Control system, Forward Obstruction Warning, Adaptive Front-lighting System and many more. The inclusion of Mazda’s lightweight SkyActiv-Body in the CX-3’s construction further reinforces its emphasis on safety.

On sale at all Mazda, Autozam and Mazda Anfini dealerships nationwide, pricing for the Mazda CX-3 begins at 2,376,000 yen (RM72,055) for the base XD trim with front-wheel drive and tops out at 3,024,000 yen (RM91,706.30) for the flagship XD Touring L Package with all-wheel drive.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Blood Sucking Petronas! on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Malaysia will never introduce this. 25KM per litre would mean 400KM will be only 16 litres (RM27 for full tank).

Malaysian Government want you to use more fuel. More profit for Petronas and even if you don’t fill Petronas, more profit for other oil companies which mean more income tax for Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 43
    • jinggo on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:02 pm

simpan sikit bangang kamu tu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • NAP Sucks on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:14 am

Japan & Malaysia no more car import duty, right?

Let’s see how much MITI approve Bermaz’s extra margins on that RM72K-91K price.

Don’t tell us it cost extra RM20K to ship it from Japan. Pakai kapal lanun kah.

• reach malaysia some spec sure got robbed by pirates…this and tht missing…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • car-fans on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Worst lagi – Price High SkyActive !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • MAI - Where is Clean Diesel? on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:07 pm

When is our BODOH Government going to introduce clean Diesel? 2020 is long way more to intro Euro 4. By then it will be Euro 8 diesel.

MAI keep on telling us that Government is moving to EEV vehicles. This diesel 1.5 is so EEV la MAI!

Oh in 2020, MAI will come out again and say it is delayed 4 more years to 2024.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
      • kzm (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:47 pm

lol…now oil company can sell higher quality diesel if they want..u dont read news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Bajet pandai tapi bodoh on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Lol that’ same with asking why no VSC in Saga. Of course no VSC coz it’s old car, will be replaced by Iriz sedan or new saga.

Now who is bodoh here?

• MAI, apa sudah jadi? on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Madani maximum tok kok. He told everybody we are moving to EEV. Honda Malaysia invested hundreds of millions to CKD the Civic and Jazz Hybrid. Then suddenly Government pull the plug on Hybrid cars. Hybrid cars are dead now in Malaysia.

So, those who listened to Madani and MAI now suffer.

MAI should stop wasting tax payers money. MAI spends hundreds of thousands to run seminars that are all wrong and give out wrong information.

MAI, you should be promoting cleaner diesel for Malaysians. I used Ford Focus 2.0 petrol before. When I changed to Ford Focus Diesel, my bills became half.

So, if Malaysians were spending say 10 billion on fuel, now, they can spend 5 billion on fuel.

MAI, please do something useful. Push for things that will save Malaysians money rather than tok kok all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:45 pm

overprice even in its own country…RM90k for 1.5L? B segment summore? suppose below RM40k in japan..maybe wrong price gregory…coz Mazda CX5 in US oni $21k~RM77k CBU full spec 2.0L Skyactiv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
      • W204 C63 AMG on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:38 am

Open your eyes and read. It starts at around rm 70k in Japan too, and the price us price you quote is not accurate too,it starts from that price, most likely a tin kosong, a fully loaded one is more than USD 30k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Fuu, so syok so cheap, fck the Govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Lpost on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:28 pm

If launch here tis diesel model will capture large hrv share market.. Not only gomen but fck DAP also!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Afraid on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:01 am

When launched here expect to pay a hefty sum. Probably priced at RM128,888. At that price only a small minority will buy this mini SUV and the rest goes for CX-5 instead and make a small dent in HRV sales.

• iqbal1987 on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:53 pm

memang x ada arm rest ke? ini kereta mmg untuk sport la mcm tu. family better beli hrv. huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Cantona on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:51 pm

This SUV is based on the Mazda 2 so not surprising that it has no arm rest as its interior is really cramped.
      Just to see how small its interior lets compare a Jazz with Mazda 2 and see.

Jazz vs Mazda 2 (dimension in inches)

Front legroom: 41.4 vs 41.9
      Rear legroom : 39.3 vs 34.4
      Front shoulder room: 54.8 vs 53.2
      Rear shoulder room : 52.6 vs 50.1
      Front headroom: 39.5 vs 38.7
      Rear headroom : 37.5 vs 37.2
      Total passenger volume (cubic feet): 96.7 vs 87.0
      Boot space (cubic feet): 16.6 vs 9.9

Just comparing between the Jazz and Mazda 2 you can see the difference in interior dimensions so the CX-3 dimensions will only be slightly larger than the Mazda 2 its based on.

Conclusion: If you want space and practicality go for Honda while wanna drive and handle but cramped better go for Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • sAMLLOO on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Want big, buy Toyota Hiace.

• Cortana on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:03 pm

If you want lifestyle go with Mazda. If you want a lifeless shopping cart go with Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Cortana on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:06 pm

If you want lifestyle, go with Mazda. If you want lifeless shopping cart, go with Honda.

• Cortanut on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:44 am

Try sitting at the back of a Mazda 2 or CX-5 and you would want to get out within 15 minutes. This CX-3 gonna be same as a Mazda 2. Yeah a lifestyle of an uncomfortable ride for rear passengers with short legroom, short seats and straight uncomfortable backrest. Better not have children and remain single if not your wife and child gonna complain about the uncomfortable rear seats until you change to a shopping cart and suffer low RV at the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
          • Cortana on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Your argument is flawed.

1) If you are driving a CX-3, you would want to sit in front. Not in the back. And how many times do you carry passengers? Lots? Then why buy a small car in the first place?

2) If you want to start a family, why are you even considering a B-segment SUV? Besides, is this the lifestyle that the CX-3 is aimed at? No. And there are millions of people that don’t fit in with your argument.

3) If you are getting married and plan to start a family, most people sell their car for a bigger one. Or buy a big one in the first place. In your case and based on your logic, maybe buy yourself a minivan from the moment you first get your licence. That way you’re stuck with a big car for life and for your future family.

4) The CX-3 is based on stretched underpinnings of the Mazda2. It is not the same size.

Horses for Courses.

• cendol (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Come to Malaysia all specs lost in the sea while travelling to Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Farhan on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Come Malaysia becomes 2 airbags and no more.

1.5 non diesel (same engine as Mazda 2) starting : RM118k

Top up to 138k for the top specs

• zamer on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:14 pm

from the pic, can see that the rear has very tight knee space.
    practical for daily use i guess, not for long distance.

for 120-140k price range, accord or cx-5 quite a safe choice it seems.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 01, 2015 at 5:17 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV