Infiniti offers top engineering students F1 career opp

infiniti-engineering-academy

Looking at the paultan.org team around me, I would think that all engineering students harbour dreams of one day working with cars. Bringing news and reviews of cars to you is fine and good, but that doesn’t come anywhere close to working in Formula 1, the pinnacle of motorsports.

Lucky (or should we say deserving) university engineering students now have the chance to land the career opportunity of a lifetime. Now in its second year, the 2015 Infiniti Performance Engineering Academy offers the chance to work with four-time championship-winning F1 team Infiniti Red Bull Racing and for Infiniti itself.

“Last year’s pilot program uncovered three outstanding candidates. This year, we are taking it a step further by increasing the number of global places to five. In an industry that is notoriously difficult to get into, this is an unprecedented chance for talented young engineers,” said Francois Goupil De Bouille, vice president at Infiniti EMEA.

After identifying the best applications, a series of regional finals will recruit winners from Europe, Russia, China, Saudi Arabia and the USA, with each receiving a 12-month internship split between Infiniti’s European Technical Centre and Red Bull Racing, both in the UK. Complete with full salary, of course.

2013_MalaysianGP_RedBull01

The placement will see them working on key road car projects for Infiniti and for the race team in various areas of engineering. The five available roles will cover vehicle dynamics, vehicle design, aerodynamics and electronics, with those applying expected to have relevant academic backgrounds.

“We’re looking for engineers who are technically very strong, but they need to excel in other areas too,” explained Adrian Newey, chief technical officer of RBR and the most famous F1 car designer in the paddock. “Whether you’re designing and building road cars, or working in F1, the ability to think laterally, creatively and operate seamlessly within a team are crucial. It will be tough and they will be expected to work, but the rewards are high.”

Candidates will go through a three-stage process, starting by submitting their CVs and a video answering the question ‘Why do I deserve this opportunity?’ This will be followed by a Skype interview and then a profile analysis by senior management. Ten will then be selected in each market to attend the regional finals to complete a series of engineering and teamwork tasks, judged by an expert panel from Infiniti and RBR. One winner form each region will go on to secure the 12-month placement.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Forest on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Hope Malaysia will have one brilliant engineer to involve in F1 engineering.
    It will be better than wasting time in Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • alldisc on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Proton did the same thing. But their top engineering students who became their engineers/designers are truly lacking in passion.

They are creating cars based on syiok sendiri. The number of cars sold speaks about itself.

So, I doubt this program will work with infiniti

• neonceejay on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:48 am

I’m currently a polytechnic diploma student and i kind of feel awful when they have a absolute cool chance.
    Why do I feel awful? I’m an automotive engineering student, yet if you came to our polytechnic and have a visit, you will just sigh.

Can you believe that we do our engine practical still using a old crappy 4G15? Even though Government does supply brand new engine on stand for us, Campro, they are just for display as poly is short of budget!The coolest thing we have, which cannot be used in practical is the 6 spd manual prototype suprima and a RB26DETT engine. And maths…even lecturer can’t teach complicated stuff as, well, what you need to do is just get 4 flat pointer and make sure you contribute to upgrade polytechnic into university. No one cares about being passionate, being pro, being good.

even private academys have those GTR and ferrari for display saja.

I feel awful. I have the determination but the overall atmosphere just make me feel…duh.

you know, if you are trying too hard in a group of chillax, you will hate by them.

So, what should we malaysian do?

Automotive is something that needs passion. And so far i can’t smell any.
    And this chance, need someone who have enough knowledge, creative, passion, and overall, intelligence.

And i should admit that my maths is sucks. Duh!!!
    What should i do then?

I kind of jealous the old days when Wiras and putras, sagas, satrias winning rallies, and we have the real concept of MALAYSIA BOLEH.

• olio benzina on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:35 am

What should you do?

Practice and get tuition to improve math. Engineering requires good math skills not just for grades but for real problem solving.

Dont blame the atmosphere. Dont let others get you down. You have passion but if its in Neutral no use. Put it to Drive. Get things done on your own.

Gig in an F1 racing crew is not all that its cracked up to be. Most of the them are just doing wrenchwork as instructed by the leads or supervisors which most experienced bawah pokok mechanics can do albeit with cool tools in a nice clean setting. To be a lead you need engineering degree and people management experience.

Why are you still doing practical on an old engine at school?
      Its because the basics of an Otto cycle engine is still the same even in this day and age. Modern racing engines still have to suck, squeeze, bang then blow. The difference is in the number of cylinders, finessing the breathing while the major advances are in ECU mapping which requires familiarity with software modelling tools.

To be in on the cutting edge of racing you have to aim for a degree. Its more specialized these days and a good degree in aero, physics, chem will give a better chance of getting a foot in.

• neonceejay on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Well, thanks for your suggestions. 1stly, there’s no where to find tuition for diploma courses so what I can do is just revise myself.

It wasn’t about the engine, of course. The 4G15 engine is simple, perfect for students and beginner. I can sure that people who familiar with model kits or lego can simply dissemble and assemble it without any hassle.

But, the way we did it was, you open it, measure it, fix it back, job done. We can use metal hammer to knock out the piston, we don’t need to reapply gasket, gasket gum,or lube during the fitting of piston. We don’t need a proper measurement tools, Vernier caliper will do.

That’s kinda irony, since we are studying, using all the materials in every practical session will be wasted, but isn’t that was the way to learn.

I not sure, but I’m going save up for a Satria Gti and hopefully, that car will teach me a lot.

And for this performance academy…keep pray and work hard. By the time I get my degree will be a whopping 6 years later…haizzz…

• tokmoh. on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Consider further your degree in Germany, serious advice.

• superbird #43 on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:40 am

idk, but i guess that only the students with privileged background and records will be offered with this opportunities.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:15 am

Proton can’t even produce cars that match India and China makes.

The only thing Proton has edge over kimchi is its RV