Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive CKD on oto.my – locally-assembled model under RM300k, down RM15k

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C_250_CKD_oto.my

The W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive CKD has appeared on our newly revamped car classifieds site, oto.my. The ad lists the soon-to-be-launched locally-assembled model at RM299,888, which is exactly RM15,000 less than the equivalent CBU model that was introduced last year. For comparison, the BMW 328i Luxury Line is priced at RM293,800.

As the spec sheet of the RM269,888 C 200 Avantgarde CKD model matches that of the CBU model (RM16,000 more) like-for-like, it’s safe to assume that the same will stand for the C 250 Exclusive CKD too. The only difference would be the place of assembly – Pekan, Malaysia instead of South Africa.

The Exclusive model packs in Merc’s traditional radiator grille (in place of the C 200 Avantgarde’s sports grille) with Airpanel active louvres, multi-spoke 17-inch alloys, exposed exhaust outlets, wood interior décor and a leather-covered dashboard. A sunroof, Air Balance, keyless entry and comfort suspension are also added on over the C 200 model.

So far, there’s no word yet on a locally assembled C 250 AMG Line, which was available for a short period of time as a CBU import. We’ll have to wait and see if the AMG Line will be introduced later, or even perhaps fitted to a C 300 model with 245 hp and 370 Nm of torque (vs 211 hp and 350 Nm on the C 250) instead. Now that one will have the power and looks to challenge the RM309,800 BMW 328i M Sport.

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 250 Exclusive

W205 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Burong on Apr 13, 2015 at 1:50 pm

300K I’ll get a new 5 series, mfg 2014. All tech still up to date.

So why is it still selling so much after all the subsidy has been abolished by Gov?

If Gov is making so much, why is the country deficit is keep increasing 3 fold compare to 2014? So where does the money goes? Improving public transport? Can public transport replace a normal mean of transport in Malaysia?

Or getting Piguet Audermas, Richard Mille and so on? It is just tip of the ice berg, although each watch cost a Camry or more.

Last 2 weeks, all goods are at least 20-30% higher. We are feeling the pinch and who can help us? Tun is standing up for whatever reason but he has all the brain and point rakyat has been questioning but dare now voice up due to afraid of the act. Fortunately, Tun is protected by his Tun, so safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • I agree with all of your statements but there are a few reasons as to why i would pay the same amount for this rather than a 5 series.
      1) Bmw reliability is not good, to say the least.
      2) Mercedes can hold its value significantly better, probably the best of all the german brands
      3) the rear legroom for the 5 series will definitely be bigger however in terms of the interior design, the mercedes is many miles ahead. If someone got into both these cars, chances are that people would assume the mercedes costs much more.
      That’s just my pov, but i agree on your point it should’ve cost much cheaper than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:50 pm

im sorry but don be a mercedes sam loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Samy, you got no RV la

• Folger Penipu on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:47 am

Although this is a good price at RM300k, MBM can reduce more. They are clearly making at least RM100,000 profit on this car alone. You see, top of the range C300 in the US is USD$34,000. That is RM100,000. It comes with a bigger and better engine. The C250 is much cheaper.

Adding to that, MBM will get the C250 cheaper directly from Germany from its Principal. If the C300 in the US can be sold for US$34,000 and yet MB USA can make a good margin and the US Government can still collect taxes and duties. That would mean they are getting the car far cheaper from their principal directly in Germany.

So, assuming MBM is getting the C250 cheaper directly from Germany, we can assume it will be US$25k.

Another reduction would be CKD. Since it is using Malaysian parts, and Barang Buatan Malaysia and all the CKD crap MITI tells us, we can safely say, the price will be reduced to US$20k or BELOW per car sold. That is about RM70k.

The above estimates are just modest assumptions. We all know MBM will get this car far far cheaper than the US$20k direct from Germany price.

BUT MBM sells for RM300k. Cost only about RM70k

Don’t talk about UK or Europe pricing. They GDP per capita is so high, they earn very high income in the UK and Europe. So, the car is priced accordingly to the proportion of income the British earn or Americans earn

So Folger, don’t bullshit lah. Malaysians will always be cheated. How much you guys want to untung MBM?

• Tupai Ingat Pandai on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:06 am

No Moron

The C300 uses the same engine as the C250 albeit with a different engine mapping software.
            Do you homework before you talk bullshit here.

A real dumb moron!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Now BMW Malaysia selling pre reg brand new BMW 520i with about 1000KM on it for RM260k, down from RM370k brand new.
      Comes with their 2 years warranty and 5 years BSRI

Why should I buy a small C segment Merc when I can get a brand new BMW 520i D segment for Rm260k?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:53 pm

You can take your joke on getting a 520i for RM260k elsewhere mate, its retailing way over RM300k for a car with such mileage

Anyhow the price matches its rivals although if MBM can price it to match the 328i Luxury Line then BMW will have serious competition in terms of price. But each of its brand has its own loyal followers so….

• Because I am interested in driving the car and not just sitting behind in the tauke seat?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:20 pm

With 175k you get more than what you pay for this if you buy Camry. You never go wrong with sushis. Latest Camry offers you conti quality with Malaysian price.

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Johnny on Apr 13, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Bulky old man style.. for the dato’.

C250 with a small interior room. Old man should aim higher such as e class..

5 years old c class is like cheap as rm120k.. affordable for more uncles..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:14 pm

probably have better quality than afrika made car

• cendol (Member) on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:22 pm

I would rather get Recon E-Class for RM280k.
    At least it is ONE class above C-Class CKD.
    And it is CBU with better specs.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 13, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Can afford this of course good!

If not, you can still opt for sushi car (especially Toyota), because you get
    1. Good build quality
    2. Good fuel efficiency
    3. Cheaper maintenance
    4. Comfort
    5. Quiet
    6. Good RV

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • glorifiedT on Apr 13, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Toyota is nowhere at luxury level.
      Lexus also same, sigh.

• sedih on Apr 13, 2015 at 4:44 pm

how much min mthly RM salary to afford a C250?

• Protonfanboi on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:24 pm

If you asking here, you can’t afford it..work harder or drive your Proton forever

• jacksonljs on Apr 13, 2015 at 6:40 pm

OTR = RM299,888 + RM8,610 (insurance premium inc. 6% GST, if no NCD, sum insured RM300,000) = RM308,498

Monthly installment (RM250k for 7 years, with interest rate 2.8% – just a rough figure) = RM3,560 per month

Following maximum 30 percent allocation for car installment (provided there’s no other commitment), minimum salary to afford this car is RM12,000 after deducting all statutory contribution such as EPF and also scheduled tax deduction @ PCB.