Volkswagen Group Malaysia introduces its first Volkswagen Technical Service Centre in the country

VW Technical Service Centre

Volkswagen Group Malaysia, through its authorised dealer Cergaz Autohaus, has launched the first Volkswagen Technical Service Centre in the country. The centre – which is located on Jalan Sungai Penchala in Taman Tun Dr Ismail in Kuala Lumpur – is capable of dealing with repairs and after-sales service for all non-commercial Volkswagen vehicles regardless of age or model.

Equipped with state-of-the-art diagnostics equipment and a team of trained mechanics operating under the expert guidance of Volkswagen-certified Master Engineers, the new Technical Service Centre will operate as a specialist care centre for repair and aftersales service of VW vehicles.

Featuring 10 work bays and additional space for 20 more vehicles, the new Volkswagen Technical Service Centre has an estimated service capacity of 7,000 vehicles a year. Staffed by a team of 17 full-time employees, the centre has a targeted turnaround time of 24 hours for the vast majority of vehicles that are set to come through its doors.

The Volkswagen Technical Service Centre also incorporates a 24/7 towing service to handle cases of vehicle breakdowns, and will also handle regular service appointments scheduled through Cergaz Autohaus.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• VeryWorry Owner on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:35 pm

5 years warranty is rubbish and the technical competency of most VW personnel are equally bad. I have a cracked engine with merely 73k km on the clock and it was replaced with stupid explanation given by the service advisor. VW is getting backfired with all the overpromise marketing gimmick. I wont recommend any VW to anybody as ownership experience is worst than my previous Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 15
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:56 pm

That’s your experience, good to share but not condemn. My experience with VW has been nothing but perfect. I had a door lock problem and they replaced it as part of the warranty despite my car being 6 years old.

Every cloud has a silver lining, not all things are bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 83
      • 6 years old, old tech maa.

Now VW use all so called latest tech.

not reliable… as if a latest rnd by Germany waiting to graduate university students.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • Tipu Tipu Warranty on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:06 am

Warranty tipu la. Its 2 years. 3 years insurance warranty.

And insurance warranty always turn down customer claim.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Now you see why people rather buy sushi cars or Perodua.

Reliability plays a big part in Malaysian drivers’ expectation from their car.

• Same LOrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:28 am

I can give special discounts to all VW owners on Sorella, Skiva, Bee Dees, Sloggi, Wacoal products.

Come to be brothers of PT

• VeryWorry Owner on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:47 pm

I have my right to condemn as the headache and trouble that i have to go through is just too bad to ignore. I have owned many marque and among them are Proton, Alfa and Honda. Non of my other car even the widely-bashed proton has ever had a crack engine! Heck, even the converted turboed proton never fail on me and my 14 years old Alfa (which is widely known for being unreliable) only give up after clocking more than 300k km have had enough of VW sore and I bet many owners share the same view on this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
        • DSG DSG DSG on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:32 am

Pls stock many DSG Borg Warner boxes in the Technical Centre. Maybe 100 a day.

• Balls on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Non DSG VW owner STFU! Talking about auto gearbox or manual dont count. Its like saying Nokia is the best phone in the whole wide world…. yeah… in 1990s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:21 am

I am a Passat Owner. I bought my car in March 2014. It is a 2014 model. From March 2014 until today my car has broken down 4 times. All 4 times were DSG related.

Before I bought my car, I asked the salesman and even the manager to assure me that all DSG matters are resolved. The swear upon whatever false Gods t that DSG was a thing of the past and only affected 2011 and earlier models.

So, already 4 times my DSG has broken down. Each time, SC took 2 months to fix it up. In total, I have not seen my car for 8 whole months. And it has only been 11 months I have owned this damn thing.

I have full of regrets. Suffered so much. I tremble in fear when my DSG becomes spoilt after the 2 year warranty is over. I know fleet cars in my office use VW and that their warranty is discretionery after the 2 years.

I am trying to sell off my Passat before the 2 years warranty is over but no used car dealer wants to take it in. The best I have got is RM$80k. But how to sell at that price when I have bought RM$170k? Rugi lah aku!
          I advice all buyers, stay away far away from the dry clutch. The sales people will swear to you (as they did to me) and assure you the world, but when it breaksdown, they don’t care for you. They will swear to you that the DSG is resolved.

VGM has stinking service. If you know your DSG are ALL faulty, keep the boxes in store. Why hold a customers car for 2 months? What if i did not have a spare car?

VGM should give all of us owners 10 years warranty. You have sold us a lemon, own up to it. And you are still selling people lemons, be honest about the DSG problems they are going to face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • VW Silly Buyers on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:31 am

Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.

Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.

2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?

Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
          1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
          2) Quality of German Engineering.

But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.

Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
          • VeryWorry Owner on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:46 am

Based on your comment I guess either you have not driven a VW or just plain jealous of those driving a VW. Try to drive one, the driving experience and quality of the car is years ahead of proton (I own both Proton and VW) and it excels in all other area except its reliability. We purchase a VW due to its safety, technology advancement and previous stellar reliabiltiy track record. But VW of late has conned many buyer, myself included

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • Bob_B78 on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:15 pm

I’m a VW and yes the DSG failed me before.
            The truth is my car does not breakdown 24/7, nor it took months for repair (FYI, it took only 3 days to replace my mechatronics).
            When it is not breakingdown, it is really good to drive, something missing from most sushi/kimchi cars
            Another thing is i got hit from behind by proton. Guess what the repairs for my car and the proton. VW = about RM500(paint job only) / Proton = about RM3k due to broken radiator and cracked engine.
            Go figure….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • youw8m8 on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:22 pm

But than..

my car can go 200+ KM/H ..

Balik Johor 2 jam sahaja..

Tapi you naik Honda takes 3-4 Jam..

Kesian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Used Sales Tak Mahu on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:08 am

BeemerFreak scared his RV jatuk. Brader, RV already jatuh lah. Nobody want to buy 2nd hand DSG problems. Even used car dealers don’t want to take in anymore VW cars. Even they know about DSG

• turbobocor on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Cracked engine = turbo bocor!
      Can’t they give you a whole new engine?

• kzm (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 2:34 am

Should we ask them to close shop n sent them to thai instead?

• Tipu Tipu Warranty on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:04 am

Should send them to Thailand. Cause here they tipu banyak. Their warranty only 2 years. The remaining 3 years is insurance warranty.

And so many owners complain that after 2 years, the insurance decline their claim. It is discretionary and insurance suka hati can give or decline.

Some owners cry because they have to buy new DSG box about Rm40k

• To concluded, everyone has the right to choose your ride and no one force you to buy. I’ll just sell off the car and get another one then stay away from this brand ever. Just treat this as a lesson, if you like DSG then you better be worries and if you looking for reliabilities just stay away.

• I totally agree with u. My life is peaceful now with a Japanese make. Most horrible car ownership with VW GTI, too little too late, damage done, can’t forget nor forgive. Only cut loss.

• DSG problem is mainly on DSG dry clutch for 1.4 TSI models.

What problem does your Golf GTI have?

I only have problem with lousy service from Sg. Besi and Glenmarie SCs back in 2011 and 2012. I no longer go there. Other SCs are slightly better from my experience.

My 1.4 has no gearbox problem. Maybe it is bcoz of the way people drive the car. If you whack like no tomorrow, the dry clutch DSG will fail very very fast ( VW has stated that their dry clutch gear box is not suitable for Asian weather.

• Arell on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:31 am

If it is a toyota you can dont ever service the car and whack like no tomorrow and it still wont fail! Any good car you can whack like no tomorrow and it still wont fail.

• giovanie on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Volkswagen, DRB Hicom’s Towing Company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • theonewhoknows on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:17 pm

VGM handles its aftersale. DRB Hicom is just a contract assembler like Mercedes Benz Malaysia. Just saying.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Why not have a few of these around the country that just focus on complicated issues. Each of them has a long time VW mechanic from Germany who knows all the details and issues there can be. These SCs don’t do servicing at all, all they care about is cars with gearbox problems, engine problems, other things where the regular SC staff can’t find the issue. Mechanics from those are sent to these technical SCs to observe and learn, to find out about issues.

All SCs are linked up together and to mechanics in Germany, so if someone encounters a problem they can’t identify they can see if someone else can or has experienced the problems.

What VW needs urgently is mechanics that really know these cars and can fix them swiftly. That know all the tricks that a VW mechanic working in Germany has learned (mechanics in Germany are trained in schools AND on the job, as apprentices to a certified master who has done the job for a long time. It takes several years). Otherwise I am afraid the brand is a lost cause.

Toyota has the advantage of being able to sell relatively antiquated cars, which are easier for their mechanics. If they were to introduce the models sold in Europe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • mechans on Apr 14, 2015 at 9:40 pm

The same reason on why T is popular in Indon, got there early, built many SC, grew popularity.

• Jimmy on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:05 pm

In fact, all types of vehicles sold in Malaysia should practise this way, communicate among their mechanics, and have expert centres or visiting expert mechanics.

• carCaarcAArrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:56 am

I think VW definitely knows what needs to be done, but they choose to ignore the problem or not deal with it effectively. Malaysia is a tiny tiny market for VW so they don’t give a sauerkraut ! In the short term they’ve chosen to ignore their Malaysian customers, in the long term, VW will slowly try to rebuild their image until the new generation of suckers oops I mean customers, have forgotten all about the previous incidents and start lining up to buy their ‘superior’ sauerkraut again.

• DSG DSG DSG on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:19 am

No need technical centre. Nearly all problems are DSG related. And VW Germany already said, DSG cannot be used in hot countries like Malaysia.

Simple as that. In the first place VW DSG should not be sold in Malaysia. Go ask any VW SC, its always DSG related.

Oh yes, VW fanboys will say DSG already sorted out. Trust me, even 2015 Passat also in SC now getting their DSG fixed

• Boria Mai on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:20 pm

which SC got issues with 2015 Passat? no action talk only bos. haha. so thats why VGM made their own technical SC so all related issues will be fixed directly..

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:54 pm

The reality is Volkswagen cannot keep up with the problems they are having. Tell me, what is going to happen in this TSC place? Many will end up flooding it, on the hope for better service. What does that mean? Same old waiting period.

Instead, why not have a TSC at every large 3S centre. FA Wagen, Cergaz, CNB, everyone open up a TSC. Bring in a couple of Germans and then you’d see some change. Funny that in Land Rover, one of the reasons why their turnaround is quite fast for aftersales and warranty claims are not big issues is because they have a Brit running the show. And when things do go wrong and you go after him, trust me, they make sure that they get it right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • Topek Batistuta on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:13 pm

the way you complained seems like you always be there.. hahaha. this is the new inovation from vgm so we’ll see it soon how far it will be neither good or bad.. do and try first for it’s result boss.. hehe

• Sam Looo on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Toyota are better than this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
    • You everytime Toyota! You must be a lazy person who doesn’t want be a successful life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Volskwagen is not a successful life..

buy Aston Martin bro…

VW is styled for the Grandpa. Where 1960s VW are very reliable. Only Our Grandpa still believe VW is a good car.

Plain and Dull Grandpa dashboard, suit them quite well. Consider Grandpa drive less than 1000km per year, new VW is good enough for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • different people have different point of view, I think passat and bettle style looks not bad wat~~~

• He also haven’t upgrade to Lexus…

• He is fake fella la if you can’t tell

• LOLOL on Apr 14, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Ahahaha….. technical this and that…. still cannot fix the Da Stupid Gearbox…. ahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • jambanquality on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Then go and drive your museum level Toyota bullock cart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Balls on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:21 am

Of course! Mind you, your worthless VW junk will eventually sit on top a Toyota truck. Then you will be indirectly riding the reliable bullock cart…. ahahahaha….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:13 pm

i think each volkswagen car should come with its personal tow truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • blaster88 on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Tsk Tsk Tsk….a grim reminder to all – its much easier to maintain a reputation than to rebuild one that is badly damaged…bad news travel faster and are usually more sticky. Consumers have elephant memories…its mind boggling how established companies like VW continue to screw up on basics and fundamentals…

UMW Toyota, are you listening? I believe you would be next…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • badmouthsamelorrrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:24 am

Not necessarily, sometimes the image would be damaged because of the bad attitude of the SA, which we can see here.

• blaster88 on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:57 am

In VW’s case, its a combination of defective parts, poor aftersales support, unfriendly warranty claim process and sheer ignorance/arrogance on VGM’s part….I have written to them may times and as usual no reply. Sold my Mark 6 after 30KM…cannot tahan man..

• Balls on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:26 am

Toyota issue is not unreliability or faulty cars. Just price and equipment levels. That is easier to solve than the DSG as that leaves owners stuck on the side of the road. AS soon as Toyota up the equipment levels and match the price, am sure alot of ppl will flock in and buy. Afterall, the Toyota reliability is always there. Just like the VW unreliability is. Lol

• blaster88 on Apr 15, 2015 at 11:12 am

I agree which actually makes Toyota’s case the more silly and mind boggling. Unlike VW, UMW can easily solve their issues but out of sheer arrogance or ignorance, refuses to do so…

• Badguy on Apr 14, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Not the best way…
    gearbox still the headlines issue here…
    I rather VW consider to replace all the DSG with something else tht are more reliable?
    Say…. all change to wet clutch type?
    Reputation is crucial for repeating business

• Donatello on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:17 pm

so can u show up where is the DSG issues lately? because u said that issues is still the headlines. what i know no more DSG issues at SC

• TheDean on Apr 15, 2015 at 7:17 am

Back in the USA express service took no longer than 45-mins. VW here takes 24 hours on average. They’ve been reliable cars for me, but the experience servicing them have been pretty bad.

• Protagonist on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:55 am

Bought my second VW in 3 years. So far never had any issues with it. Have owned Honda and Toyota before, and their performance, driveability and safety comes no where near. Been in 2 accidents But family was kept safe, makes me shudder to think of I had been in my Honda. But hope their SC will buckle up and the warranty beef up to 5 years full warranty if they want to address public confidence in their brand name.

• A lot of improvements implemented by VW for after sales support. They seems very serious to be a big player which is good. My next car will be VW.

• Sii Pai Gong on Apr 15, 2015 at 12:58 pm

VW Service in Kuching worst then shit !! Every few months have to go and repair ABS sensors. After repair done many times have to go back for return jobs. Also just imagine, my friend’s car, they can fix the lower arms upside down . Cannot imagine that they don’t bother to check after repair job done.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:06 pm

well , from experience , they are better than wat rubbish they used to be 2 yrs ago…..i havent had a bad luck where i needed to replace big ticket items , but somehow , and 1st impressions really count in business , the staff and technicians dont exactly look like the brightest bunch ..
    but stil , normal service jus takes too long , why the heck do i have to wait 3-4hrs for a freaking oil change??”

and everytime go there , i can guarentee u theres always one or two customers having a LOUD argument but spare parts taking long and ‘how many times i claiom this part ” and so on…the whole place is jus has that negative vibe to it….im refering to the one in sungai besi btw…i just hope they get better , i do agree that if they bring of of those german technicians n supervise the whole operation and immediatly fire anyone not doing a proper job…..

• inuyasha on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:28 pm

I cant understand why people keep on saying VW is the same with Proton. Those silly people thought having the words VW means the people’s car, it has the same status like Proton.

Over there, many ordinary people bought VW because they know it’s good. And you know how this ordinary people think of our proton? Piece of junk!

Even in our own country, Proton is not the people’s car.

It’s the same if u go to dubai and see lots of luxury cars as their “people’s car”. Can you say Proton is the same standard.

What a silly and narrow minded thinking.

• youw8m8 on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:15 pm

They are jealous of VW cause they cant afford it . nough said

• diablom on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:40 pm

wth? so, other service centres are not doing their job?
    no wonder my car was badly treated by ‘ordinary’ service center.
    !@##$

• VW owner on Apr 15, 2015 at 1:47 pm

I owned a vw beetle 1.2 so far everything is ok after one year maybe I am lucky so far, but I do think some ppl here went overboard with their negative comments. I got a puncture tire last week called their 24 hrs assistant for help everything was dealt with smoothly and I am thankful for that.

• Allah.. TOYOTA, NISSAN, Perodua never break down before kah? Car do break down punya, cuma see u lucky ke tidak aje
    For your information, DSG is just a higher spec than the current AUTO mode.
    If you own a VW, you will see the different on performance between DSG and also no DSG..
    Well, you can say anything u SUKA but my VW Golf GTI with DSG too.. had never give me any breakdown what..
    Stop badmouthing on DSG issue again la..

• lol u damn stupid man, ur own golf GTI is using a totally different DSG gearbox than those normal VW cars like golf tsi, polo tsi, passat etc, let me tell u in case u duno but its a shame dat a golf gti owner like u duno dis

a golf GTI uses a 6 speed WET CLUTCH DSG, while those golf tsi, polo tsi etc all uses a 7 speed DRY CLUTCH DSG, that is why ur golf gti doesnt break down, cos it uses a more reliable n better 6 speed WET CLUTCH DSG instead of the problematic 7 speed dry clutch DSG

so ur car dont hav problems doesnt mean other ppl who owns golf tsi, polo tsi, passat etc all dont hav problems

n golf gti is one of the few VW cars that uses the WET CLUTCH DSG, the other being scirocco 2.0 n golf R, so u never c those cars having DSG issues cos it wont happen to these cars

its really shocking to c a VW golf gti owner not knowing the different DSGs used in normal and gti golf cars, hav u been reading news for the past few years?? or u r stuck in some cave during these few years??

• Joe Hung on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:46 pm

good job VWGM.
    totally satisfied with my golf gti I bought recently.
    now with the upgraded sc lagi best
    Thumbs UP!!!

• VWowner on Apr 15, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Guys…everytime there is a post on VW some of you will jump into the fact of blah blah blah. This problem lah..that problem lah!
    Evevry car has advantages and disadvantages. I dont think the real higher end VW owners have even time to sit down and comment and bad mouth about the car the way it is in the comments. When you own a car which has a monthly premium of 2.5k / 3K..you are either professional busy with life and work…or else your car is paid by your parents…
    The amount of same comments everytime..just shows the comments are from the same people..who can’t own a premium car price like this..if all day they are online and looking for bad mouthing the VW guys. If you really have money…go buy whatever car that suits you. No need to bad mouth for other’s choice. Very sad outlook on life guys….enjoy what you have..and aim to have what you don’t have. ;)

• carCaarcAArrr on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:42 pm

First of all everyone here has been commenting about the maintenance and quality issues surrounding VW in Malaysia, not its price. Do you understand the difference ?

Just out of curiosity, what is your definition of ‘premium’ ? VW is a conti sure, but its not ‘premium’. But in terms of loan yes its premium, not mention your VW will give you so many problems that you will end up with a premium headache. Lol

• VW is not premium, VW Group has Audi to cater for the premium market. VW product cater for the semi premium …ie btw its Audi (premium) and Skoda/SEAT (non-premium).

• Yooida on Apr 15, 2015 at 6:20 pm

What happening?

• both my vw need to change its clutch pack & mechatronic unit at 55k & 65k respectively. took 2-3 days for the sc to complete this. other than that, no issues so far for the past 4 years.

just for comparison my previous hyundai & nissan was bullet proof during ownership while i need to leave my previous honda for 4-5 days to replace it steering rack under warranty.

btw, the replacement for clutch & mecha by vw was foc under warranty. so far the ownership experience are comparable to my prev kimchi & sushi. but i do note that the kimchi are soo reliable, no wonder they have no qualms offering 7 years warranty in developed countries.

• Govindasamy krishnamoorthy paliapan on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:34 am

i am sending my sri ro co there. i need to check the technical coz car very bumpy and my gf kusbhoowahiti always complain. scared she run away and i am stuck with my car only.

• VW POLO 2012 on Apr 17, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Well, as long as they are doing something I’m satisfy. They should have launch more this kind of 24/7 SC…

• Wow, didnt knw that VW have so many different type of cars… and I find that myself is really in love with the VW bettle ~~~