Mitsubishi ASX adds 5 years free service, first 1k units

Mitsubishi ASX 4WD CKD- 48

Those in the market for a compact SUV may now have one more reason to sway their preferences towards the Mitsubishi ASX, as Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has announced it will be offering a five-year/100,000 km free maintenance package for the popular mini-Outlander.

This joins the five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty that already comes with the ASX, and is said to be a first for the segment. Applicable for all 2015 stock, both 2WD and 4WD models are eligible, but you’d better hurry – the promotion is only valid for the first 1,000 customers.

The locally-assembled Mitsubishi ASX was launched last year – powered by a 150 PS/197 Nm 2.0 litre MIVEC four-cylinder engine, it is mated to an INVECS-III CVT with six virtual ratios. Prices start at RM117,334 for the two-wheel drive variant, rising up to RM131,828 for all-wheel drive, both prices being on-the-road inclusive of insurance and 6% GST.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I dont think this offer will steal alot of customers from hrv. But it is good to have than no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:31 pm

If I were still young, the first word from my mouth will be
      a Malay word starting with ‘b’.
      6 or 7 airbags, ok?
      5-year free service worth 400 x 2 x 5 = 4k, big amount ya?
      Can buy 20 airbags to be fitted aftermarket ya?
      If it is so difficult to increase airbag count, then discount 8k per unit.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:38 pm

No RV la. Summore is so small. Our Innova different, despite being so ugly, but you’re sitting inside. Our interior is nice and spacious. It can take you from A to B with just a little bit longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
    • biath on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Ladder frame chassis is culprit for so so ride and handling. Prefer exora anytime 4 airbags plus ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • triplew on Apr 20, 2015 at 9:40 pm

ASX chassis is from lancer not triton, aduih

• Ladde Frame Chasis.

BMW i3 the EV car uses this type of chasis.

More Durable, More peace of mind.

• Clearly you dun know difference of handling betwwen a Bimmer and trucker Innova

• totti on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:26 pm

This car is outdated. Even with 10 years maintenance free also can not sell.

Honda HRV will beat him all round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Honda HR-V 1.8?

Lousy CVT Gearbox + non 4WD capibility + low 185mm ground clearance.

it’s for Pussy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:34 pm

As I said, discount 8k per unit may have a chance. 108 888, similar to HRV, with additional knee airbag + 2.0L – brand image(the RV).

• cendol (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Normally desperate companies will do these kind of desperate measures.

Do you see Toyota give any hoot to customer’s safety?

They are able to do that because they can

• samloobadmouth on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:03 pm

But they did give discounts. Plus continous badmouthing campaign by SA here

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:29 pm

They have to do this because there is a super competitive rival in the market now and for around the same price it has a lot of kit so….good luck Mitsubishi Malaysia…

• HRV will soon flooding the highway. No more exclusivity, like Myvi. Do whh not steer clear with ASX.

• Free for all on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Why not just make the free service standard for all models? Customers will have to go back to the service centers for five years. During that time, MMM can profit from customers changing other non-covered items.

• Oh gosh on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Got my ASX 2 years ago @ 140K
    W/o free servis sumore

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 6:29 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 21, 2015 at 6:47 am

5 years free service, is it only free labour charges or including the spareparts ah ? I gonna to get this for my secret mistress

• Sammy on Apr 22, 2015 at 12:11 pm

I don’t understand… facing stiff competition in HRV, they are running this 5 year free stuff but limited to 1000 unit only?
    Why? Scared they will out sell the HRV?
    Run a promo to improve sales, but at the same time restrict it. Looks like they already have no faith it will cross the 1000 sales mark.

• MYVI OWNER on Apr 22, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Did any of your family member had myvi?
    Myvi may save you one day.

• Looking for small SUV on Apr 22, 2015 at 8:39 pm

RM131,828 for all-wheel drive….wow.

• triple h (Member) on Apr 23, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Nowadays so many pariah sports cars on the road like sotong prebe sup rima wajawa inspirated wira clop lancer aswara mitsubasi iris ijora saga rim seport 16 satayria sona race rally recycled they shoksndiri want2be friend with lancer ori but unfortunately they r not our mitsu’s family. Boooooo

• sammy on Apr 25, 2015 at 8:40 am

Sell any cheaper and they might just consider let proton have this model rebadge