GALLERY: 2015 Hyundai Elantra FL Limited Edition

hyundai-elantra-limited-edition 7

Hang on, what’s this? About three months after the Hyundai Elantra MD facelift was launched in Malaysia, a limited edition version of the marque’s CKD C-segment challenger has materialised at its Glenmarie showroom. So, what’s different this time round? For starters, the car looks to have received a fair bit of exterior add-ons that might help boost its showroom appeal – completely subjective, of course.

In front, there’s a racier front bumper – it even gets a bright red bar in the middle of the assembly for that added visual boost. A closer look will reveal the car’s reflector headlamps and lack of fog lights, confirming that the 2015 Hyundai Elantra FL Limited Edition is based on the rejuvenated entry-level 1.6 Elegance variant. In profile, the car retains the 16-inch wheels and chrome door handles seen on the donor variant.

hyundai-elantra-limited-edition 13

Obviously, one will be able to notice the rather showy ‘Limited Edition’ graphics etched onto the side of the car along with the more aggressive side skirts – once again decked out with red accents. At the rear, a sportier bumper gets featured with a diffuser-like element that houses twin, chrome-tipped exhaust outlets and more red highlights. The regular car, for reference, hides its exhaust outlets.

Step inside and changes will be limited to the inclusion of a new touchscreen head unit that replaces the standard radio in the entry-level 1.6 Elegance – said head unit appears to differ from the one found on the higher-specced 1.6 Executive, Premium and 1.8 Premium. Features include USB and Bluetooth connectivity as well as a reverse camera, although the latter has yet to be fitted to this unit.

Everything else on the inside remains as it is with two-tone fabric seats, manual air-conditioning, two airbags, a tilt-only steering wheel and an auto-down driver’s side window. The same story goes for the bits under the skin – the 2015 Hyundai Elantra FL Limited Edition soldiers on with the same 1.6 litre Gamma four-cylinder engine (130 PS/157 Nm) that’s mated to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Prices for the Elantra FL Limited Edition have yet to be revealed, as well as the number of units available – seeing as how its name suggests a limited run. Prices for the regular Elantra range kicks off at RM86,328 for the 1.6 Elegance, RM97,220 for the 1.6 Executive and RM101,954 for the 1.6 Premium. The 1.8 Premium is priced at RM116,555 – all prices include on-the-road costs with GST sans insurance.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:38 pm

As I said many times, my son saga can sell more expensive than this junk after one year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 50
    • rider on Jun 23, 2015 at 7:00 pm

But toyota doesn`t have RV!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo can only afford proton on Jun 23, 2015 at 8:44 pm

What is that so proud of your son saga ? Sombong punya sales man .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

As usual, Proton salesman talkok using my name.

If I have any Proton junk, I will give out for free.

Junk definition: Give out free also no one bother.

• asisaid on Jun 23, 2015 at 9:14 pm

I not sure which saga u buy, but i assume u buying the new FLX
      saga buy 40K, after a year 30K remains
      korean car buy 90k, after a year 75k remains
      saga price drop 25%
      korean ass price drop 16.67%
      saga Rev and the CVT sound like elephant inside the car
      saga jerk like hell even with CVT, ghost sound when in R gear
      saga tin milo during closing door and raining
      viva beside u play radio, u can hear it clearly in ur saga own cabin.
      saga is the CVT yang paling makan minyak the most (1 full tank can run 380KM if u r damn damn lucky)
      saga quality sucks (rattling noise from everywhere)
      saga go up hill no power, down hill no break

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:46 pm

LOL.

Sorry but it just looks ghastly. Nope nope nope nope nope. Barcode, yeah…. Like as though you buy this in the supermarket.

Come on Hyundai, be like Kia, real decent spec products at really reasonable prices. Not under spec over priced things…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Add-A-Comment on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:48 am

Agree on your KIA comment. But I really puzzled why Hyundai is doing this…Hyundai-KIA are the same company…

• Low Budget on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:42 am

Sime Darby should reduce the price by at least RM15K, the reason being they have defaced the car from pretty to ugly.

• Holofanboi on Jun 24, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Im embarassed just looking at it. The worse part is that this tactic bloody works… Remember the Suzuki Swift with decals last year? I actually saw 3 of it with different plates in putrajaya

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:49 pm

OMG, what have this car done to deserve all this crap pasted onto its body?? I wouldn’t wanna drive this on the road as people might think I’m doing some Hyundai promo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • LoL
    Welcome to the 90s….
    Side decals reminiscent of the orange slants on the PROTON Knight!
    Hello Sime Darby… wake up!

• Ah Beng Kia on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Aiyah, close shop la. Stupid korean piece of shit. Brand new BMW and Mercedes sells more than this stupid waste of metal. Kimchi owners stay up late at night masturbating then crying themselves to sleep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • JB_KIA on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:02 pm

never learnt…

• Don’t understand why those car dealers in Malaysia always like to offer ‘aggressive looking’ rather than real improvement.

• MrPoppyplants on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:23 pm

YUCKS

• Seann on Jun 23, 2015 at 6:46 pm

As of 2015, the low spec CKD Mazda3 GL Sedan is better than the high spec Premium model, on both pricing and car wise.

• Limited edition definition here –
    We still have some stock left at gudang that need clearance before the actual All New version. Hope some sticker will trick certain buyers.

• tak laku lettewww..

• Jobless car saleman on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Malaysian buyers continue to be ripped off by so called performance looking packages..in oter countries the suspension etc is tuned and changed too.here only the stupid bodykit

• albag on Jun 23, 2015 at 10:53 pm

overly done decals… good luck Sime for selling is kinda so-called Limited Edition

• mazda3 on Jun 23, 2015 at 11:51 pm

The 1.8 Premium is priced at RM116,555.. wahhh.. so expensive.. better buy mazda3 ckd got 2.0cc mehh just from RM107K.. skyactive mehhh.. save fuel.. more power. 0-100kmj below 9sec.

• albertbag on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:32 am

those have got to be the ugliest vinyls i have ever seen… ‘LIMITED EDITION’ written in italic courier fonts with supermarket barcodes? I’ll laugh at anyone who dares drive this thing on the road…

• azrai on Jun 24, 2015 at 7:54 am

I konw who’s the owner of this car. He is Kim Ah Beng.

• HAHAHAHA..SUPER DOOPER UGLYYY!!!!!

• Low Budget on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:44 am

Only the Mat Rempits love this design, but they can’t afford this kind of price.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:53 am

Najib will consider this Limited edition for his PM car.

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 24, 2015 at 8:54 am

The worst thing is…those ppl that buy this kind of stickers power performance car really think that they are fast and can outrun a Ferrari….come on, additional sticker doesn’t give you additional horsepower. It probably will slowdown your car, cause stickers do add weight to your car my friend…

• BigBalls on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:38 am

Why do I buy a car with a god awful vinyl on it, Hyundai should pay me to drive the car instead for marketing their car on the road and for causing me embarrassment

-BigBalls-

• ben yap on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:45 am

poor sales for elantra is it? FL than Limited FL.

Next round Super Limited FL-FL

• wow another car with side skirt n call it limited/special edition….

r we fan of sideskirt?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:02 am

Frankly speaking, I see more Elantras on the road compared to Iriz.
    Means Elantra is doing something correct.
    But the decals are definitely a no-no.
    First, it will fade off after few years, the colour of paint will be different afterwards, and when you peel off the decal, you peel off the paint along with it

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 24, 2015 at 11:01 am

Limited edition = nobody buying the car. Just leave it alone please. The stickers are in bad taste. Like buying a shirt and leaving the pricetag hanging out from the collar.

• Still jobless on Jun 24, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Every ah bengs dream car they tink tis is prestige car can attract ah moy …most pobably ready to cash advance frum their aleady max out credit cards….issu cheque oso maybe bounce…lcly few month on the rod than when realized underpowrr etc want to trade in lose big money no resale valur like our super toyoda selmen mr samloo ori sez..than his gf sure will dump him for anoter ah beng driving a vios or poton burung (swift is a type of bird)

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 24, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Please head to SD showroom and book one immediately.

Need y’all sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime the kimchi used car market.