Ferrari 458 Speciale gets totalled in Kuching, Sarawak

ferrari-458-speciale-accident-kuching-3

We’ve gone over this a million times now. Should the need for speed arise, a circuit is always there for you to scratch that itch. Never, ever attempt to drive above and beyond your limits just because the road happens to be clearer that day and/or no one is around – there are still plenty of obstacles to wrap your car around.

This man learned the hard way. Earlier this morning, a Ferrari 458 Speciale, said to be one of the most expensive cars in the state, met its untimely end when said owner totalled the car into a drainage railing along Jalan Tabuan Court in Kuching. It is believed that the accident occurred between 10 to 11 am.

Traffic, in true Malaysian fashion, slowed to a standstill as onlookers clambered to photograph the mangled Italian stallion – which is now believed to have been owned by the son of a prominent property tycoon in Sarawak, Malaysia. Thankfully, the driver escaped without any injuries – except for maybe a bruised ego.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:02 pm

escaped death, bravo bravo! very safe car. built tough like a hammer.

• Eventhough someone got a LOT of money to buy a Ferrari, nobody can buy back a life that been lost. NOBODY. Another lucky speed demon. Drive safe fella whatever car you have.

• KontiKinte on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:04 pm

R.I.P

No problem just buy another one. Our market need ppl like this

• Norman Goh on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Should be Jalan Song, not Jalan Tabuan Court. The accident occurred near Tabuan Court residential area.

• carCaarcAArrr on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:17 pm

This is what happens when you put an advanced ape in a metal box that can go very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Thankfully? The driver escaped without injuries?

Mr. Gregory Sze. You should have been thankful that no pedestrians or other motorists got killed or injured considering that’s a residential area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • panjang on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Insurance payout dept surely garuk kepala right now…..
    That is…if the car is road legal if u know what i mean.

• topkek on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Tak ape, it’s just a Speciale. It’s cheap like Myvi what, can just replace it easily.

• “dont worry, daddy will buy you a new one”

• RicoT on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:47 pm

In China, the driver or their father will be investigated for graft, but thankfully, this is Malaysia, the heads of the rich won’t fall and roll. I wonder who was that driver? Took down the car plate so soon.

• gurlgurl on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Why am I not surprised that such a powerful fast car got totalled?

The driver, prolly a young man, must had been feeling that his head was above the clouds. If not, then how could the car be totalled like how it did?

He prolly drove like he owned the road or as though his vehicle was the only one on the road.

I hope he know he is LUCKY that there was no casualty!

• Greenfuel on Jun 25, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Passed the area just now, the crash site is not far from a traffic light, can imagine how fast he accelerate. And the road surface is bad for high speed drive. Patched on several spot

• I dont like your first sentence. There is NO race track in Sarawak.
    a circuit was and still is never there for us.

• Head Hunter on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Well, the father reported the accident. They have an Aventador and a Range Rover Sport Autobiography as well as an F12 so this one is small change lah.

• Yusrina on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:52 pm

One can buy a supercar,
    But one cannot afford to ‘buy’ masterclass driving skills, or just plain common sense.

No matter, there is more where the money comes from.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:37 pm

this is why i sent my son to learn racing with narain karthikeyan

• “one of the most expensive cars in the state”? I would say in malaysia!

• Roy of the rovers on Jun 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Kopi-o lesen….haha! I saw this car driven by a mere boy with his mini-skirted “blonde” skinny girlfriend in tow at Central Park just a day before. Pergi makan nasi-ayam pok….huhu…

My daughter said…driving a Ferarri to eat chicken rice meh…wah…really Ah Beng lah!!! Way to Beng…stylo leh….sui pun!!!

• Cars in kuching only go 90kph max due to the shorter roads and slow cars. Normal cruising speed is about 40-70kph only, im planning to move there and will be bringing my tuned mazda 3 mps with me, i donno how im gonna survive :(

• Worry not my friend. You can bring your tuned mazda to fry some ahbengs at sejingkat on Friday night.

• No worry, he still have lamborghini, aston matin and maserati at home

• PeterJeanGilbaliga on Jun 27, 2015 at 8:55 am

Should love ur life just like love ur car.how many lucky time we have,so love ur life 4 the future.