W176 Mercedes-Benz A-Class facelift – full details!

Mercedes-Benz A-Klasse (W 176) 2015Mercedes-Benz A-Class (W 176) 2015

As promised, the W176 Mercedes-Benz A-Class facelift has been unveiled at the on-going Goodwood Festival of Speed. It’s quite a thorough refresh, as you can see, livening up Mercedes’ entry-level model quite a fair bit since its first debut in 2012.

The visual makeover is spread across a few exterior packages. A new Style line takes over from the existing Urban pack (the Malaysian-market A 200 is equipped as such), featuring a very well-rounded look both front and rear. It now has a single-bar Star grille with diamond studs that was previously exclusive to the AMG Line, along with red or green interior highlights.

Next up is the AMG Line equipment pack (fitted to our pre-facelift A 250 Sport). This formula is similar to before, but with a reshaped front bumper and exhausts finishers that are now fully integrated into the rear bumper. Bigger wheels, black wing mirrors and red character exterior lines and interior highlights are present too, just like before.

All new is a Motorsport Edition pack, that adds “petrol green” (Petronas green, of course, celebrating their successful partnership in Formula 1) embellishments both inside and out. The bright hue is added to the front and rear bumper, rear wing (included in the pack), AMG wheels and wing mirrors.

The black leather/Dinamica micro-fibre interior gets dressed up in the same theme too, with green contrast stitching and decorative strips on the seats and safety belts. The Motorsport Edition pack is available for all engine variants from the A 200 and A 200 d upwards.

Regardless of exterior packs, the facelifted A-Class can be had with optional LED High Performance headlights, while the rear light clusters have new internal graphics. An upgraded Collision Prevention Assist Plus (autonomous partial braking) and Attention Assist (extended speed range of 60-200 km/h) active safety systems come standard as well.

A subtly revamped interior is included too. The new-style steering wheel designs are perhaps the biggest change, along with re-profiled instrument cluster layouts, centre console buttons and a 12-colour LED ambient lighting pack. Seat cushion depth adjustment (up to 60 mm fore and aft) is added as standard too.

On the multimedia front, a larger screen (8.0-inch, 1.0-inch bigger than before) is offered as an option, and the system now supports comprehensive smartphone integration – the first Mercedes-Benz to do so. Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink will be available from early 2016 onwards.

Seventeen mechanical options are available, which you can see in detail below. Models concerning us see little change, but the A 250 Sport now gets a small power bump from 211 hp to 218 hp. It’s worth noting that in Europe, the A 250 and A 250 Sport can be had with a six-speed manual transmission (previously DCT only), but that option is unlikely to be offered in Malaysia.

Paired with a new “Launch Assist” function for the 7G-DCT dual-clutch transmission, the A 250 Sport gets to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds, down from 6.6 seconds for the outgoing car. The A 200, even with unchanged power outputs, reaches the century mark 0.2 seconds quicker, at 8.1 seconds. A new “ECO display” is introduced too, which now assists the driver in maintaining an eco-friendly driving style.

Also available in the A-Class for the first time is Dynamic Select – standard on upper-range variants, as well as models fitted with 7G-DCT, AMG Line or a lowered suspension. Dynamic Select varies the engine, transmission, steering and air-con to suit the driving conditions. Four modes are available: Comfort, Sport, Eco and Individual.

Offered as an optional extra is adaptive damping, which pairs with the Dynamic Select system to swap between Comfort mode with comfortable damping characteristics and Sport mode for a sporty and stiffer damper setup.

We’re definitely looking forward to this one, especially with the adaptive damping option. What about you?

Mercedes-Benz A 220 d Style

Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport AMG Line

Mercedes-Benz A 250 Motorsport Edition

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• the green car have rims that looks like from vw golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • karam singh on Jun 28, 2015 at 3:07 am

yeah it also have 4 wheels,seats,headlight like other car did. dont be so typical please.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 27, 2015 at 3:50 pm

still comes with crazy hard suspension as standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Reading Comprehension on Jun 27, 2015 at 5:54 pm

You didn’t read the article hor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • karam singh on Jun 28, 2015 at 3:05 am

then.. this car not for u, just go buy Camry/Teana for comfort yeah,
      please Merc maintain the suspension, its very fun to drive.
      its not that hard, u old people feel it hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 28, 2015 at 7:20 pm

lol pls la…u obviously never driven this car before….fun to drive? benzes have never been fun to drive except for the AMG’s….

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:45 am

I own the current A250, and I cna confirmed that, it is Damn Fun To Drive…

So, Semi, talk only when u can afford one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • I love this car, just waiting it to arrive at our shore…

• neemfa on Jun 27, 2015 at 4:18 pm

That’s not Petronas Green. Not even close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • Amriji on Jun 27, 2015 at 5:07 pm

@neemfa, it’s the silver color car with Petronas Green accents here and there. Not the one in Frog Green color with interior green LEDs…

• lagibest on Jun 27, 2015 at 8:01 pm

What car is that?

• karam singh on Jun 28, 2015 at 8:17 pm

the A45 AMG Petronas edition not included in the gallery above.
        go google it, its a beauty silver coloured A45 with light green(petronas) lines inside out.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 27, 2015 at 4:47 pm

How come every time a car facelifts, price increases by RM20-30k but specs more or less the same,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • R u sure on Jun 27, 2015 at 6:16 pm

I didn’t realise MBM Malaysia has already revealed the facelift price, otherwise how would you know?

• cendol (Member) on Jun 28, 2015 at 9:26 am

you want to bet the price will be increase by 20-30k??

• R u sure on Jun 28, 2015 at 2:03 pm

20-30k extra for the same specs yeah??

• Lolllz on Sep 06, 2015 at 11:04 am

Lol youre just assuming dude. Put your bad assumptions aside and let’s talk fact here bro. Shall we just wait til MBM reveal the price? :)

• GT3 (Member) on Jun 28, 2015 at 1:02 am

Never gave that much f**k on this Mercedes hatch before, not until I saw a proper stick shift and three (sporty aluminium/stainless steel) pedals there. Now I was like “HOLYY SHHHTTT…”, just because Mercedes never had manual transmission in their current model lineup.
    Now give me the Petronas Motorsport Edition with manual tranny.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 28, 2015 at 1:50 am

Now the A250 is proper quick for the price it asks…much better than the recently launched LCI 120i M-Sport slow poke.

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:47 am

The front censor on the black plastic bumper “grill” is kinda…..ahemmmm…