UK gov’t to invest £500 million on ‘electric highways’

Proton EV Pall Mall UK

The British government has announced that off-road trials of “electric highways” technology is slated to begin on major roads in England later this year, Wired UK reports. The trials are the first of their kind and are touted as a potential game changer for drivers in the the country.

Transport minister Andrew Jones said that the government is committing £500 million (RM3 billion) over the next five years to keep Britain at the forefront of this technology.

The test-bed programme will explore how it can be possible to allow drivers of ultra-low emission vehicles to travel long distances without needing to stop and recharge the car’s battery. These “dynamic wireless transfer” technologies are set to revolutionise driving in the UK if it all goes to plan.

The trials – which are expected to last for approximately 18 months – will involve fitting vehicles with wireless technology and testing the equipment, which will be installed underneath the road to replicate motorway conditions.

Meanwhile, Highways England says it will also be installing plug-in charging points every 20 miles (32 km) along the country’s motorway network as part of expansion laid out by the UK government’s Road Investment Strategy.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Get that lowsy malaysian car off UK road please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • msia govt spend 500 million on br1m…

• Jimmy on Aug 12, 2015 at 5:42 pm

I agreed with Dr Mah’s opinion that giving BR1M is not an intelligent move. Where are the some 5000 brains?

I hope this 500million pound is not left with 100million pound for the actual project (20%).

80% becomes cakes.

• Malaysia Boleh on Aug 12, 2015 at 5:25 pm

mean while in malaysia ……extra more tax on hybrid green vehicle or normal vehicle …ultra expensive electrical vehicle not allow for normal citizen…petrol diesel naik barang naik … gst income tax…currency drop blah blah blah …corruption donation …country bankrupt end of the story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Imagine in Malaysia, we will have people and politicians and NGOs raising hell why should Gov invest RM500 million just for rich people to use their EV cars.

That shows the difference in thinking between the rakyat and Brits, and the kind of the Gov each deserve.

• Ketumbar on Aug 12, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Name ONE example where the govt led an innovative project that has successfully demonstrated long term value to push technology in Malaysia? You are exactly one of the reasons we get the govt we have.

• Cyberjaya. nuff said

• Ketumbar on Aug 16, 2015 at 7:30 am

You fell for it. What has cyberjaya created for Malaysia? Overpriced studio apartments? Call centers? Any technology the world hasn’t seen before? Kah kah

• DPCraft on Aug 12, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Saga Hybrid in the picture !!

• jacky on Aug 13, 2015 at 8:19 am

Of all the electric cars in the world, you must put Proton in the picture? Puhleeeesse……

• ExpertPaulTan on Aug 13, 2015 at 10:54 am

So PROUD to see my Proton SAGA in the picture!!! WELL DONE PAUL TEAM !! Cintai Negaraku Saga Manyak Best!

• Problems with malaysian citizen are just one.. NEGATIVE THINKING!! all are negative to them.. The government are negative, the nation are negative, the life are negative, and everything sorts of negative.. Dear malaysians.. Please learn from other countries that actually feels kinda proud or haply to see their ideas being promoted outside of the country.. Lets put politics aside and stop influencing ppl to the negative thoughts.. I really hate that.. Learn from our past ancestor and our parents way of living.. Look at the ppl and government.. Very chill.. But now, even the government has no wrong doing, some will still be hate it even it is proven not.. Millions of ringgit to brim is to help very2 poor ppl like u and ur siblings.. Or maybe ur relatives and cousins.. You dont know the meaning if poor life then dont questioning the government on the money where abouts.. Its all donated to poor malaysians.. Those who are rich please shut up, cuz u dont know the meaning of poor!! Govnmt knows Best..