Vehicle sales rise in July 2015, but still lower than 2014

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 004

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released the overall vehicle production and sales data for the month of July 2015. A total of 58,646 units were sold last month (passenger and commercial vehicles combined), which is 2.1% or 1,209 units higher than in June this year.

Unfortunately, that’s not the whole story. While it’s a positive move month-on-month, the total sales figure for July 2015 is 2.7% or 1,623 units less than what the industry achieved in the same month last year.

MAA sales data July 2015

Year-to-date numbers look just as gloomy. A total of 380,830 vehicles have been sold between January and July 2015, compared to 393,425 units in the same period last year. That’s a 3.2% or 12,595 unit drop, year-on-year.

Last month, the MAA had revised downwards its TIV forecast for 2015, from the original 680,000 to 670,000 units. Still, 670k is 0.5% higher than the 2014 TIV of 666,465. Whether this can be achieved, remains to be seen.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Tomay on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Just wanted to thank the team for releasing the monthly figures again. Thank you guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:10 am

Proton sales will keep increasing this year and more to come in 2016.

• MAA Lies Lies Lies on Aug 20, 2015 at 9:20 am

If many Gomen agencies can lie lately, I am not surprised MAA is told to lie about their figures. Sales are so bad now. New and used car dealers virtually beg you at rock bottom prices. People are so scared. Economy so bad, currency collapsing and lies lies lies in the Government. Who dare to buy a new house or car now?

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

I hope MAA stop lying to the public like how MAI lies to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Ya ya. If its good news, its all a lie. If its bad news, you take it at face value and hentam Gov. You win liao lor!

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 20, 2015 at 2:51 pm

MAA who lying or u r the one who lying the readers? Sometimes I really don’t understand what do kiasu really want. Their hatred towards govt agencies and Proton are becoming worst n worst..

• SAM VHL Loo on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Where got ‘rock bottom’ price, long time i already know that so-called ‘Attractive Downpayment Rebate’ or ‘Attractive Upfront Payment’ is actually a gimmick to lure potential buyers to buy their jamban junk cars (that rebate offered, even if available is always less than my monthly salary). Buying new cars form a jamban car distributor nowadays is, one time good deal, but three times bad luck/move (1st, paying very expensive price, 2nd new cars with junk car quality and 3rd, very high risk of crashing due to no stability control equipped, to make matter worse, their previous generation model got equipped with stability control)

• 26bilionMan on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:41 pm

thx najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Teksi Kangkung on Aug 19, 2015 at 8:56 pm

everything so expensive these days…

No one would even think of buying a car now, much less a new car….plus malaysian cars are super expensive…

• GetLost on Aug 19, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Please get lost Perodua n Proton. Malaysians need better cars! Not some carbage made from Milotin. We only will gud cars if you go die urself! Thanks in advance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35