Mercedes-AMG 2.0L turbo engine “at its very limit” – next-gen mill to be developed with Formula 1 team

Mercedes-Benz A-Klasse (W 176) 2015Mercedes-Benz A-Class (W 176) 2015

Mercedes-AMG boss, Tobias Moers, has revealed to motoring.com.au that the current-generation M133 turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine found in the Mercedes-AMG A 45 has achieved its maximum power output and that there is no more room for improvement. “That’s it for this generation, we’ve squeezed everything we can and the turbocharging technology is at its very limit,” he told the Aussie automotive portal.

Its replacement is reportedly already under development with the Mercedes-AMG High Performance Powertrains department – yes, that very same body responsible for engineering and putting together the turbocharged hybrid 1.6 litre V6 engine found in the Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team‘s race machine.

One of the key reasons for the team’s involvement this time round is due to the amount of experience garnered by the Northamptonshire-based engineers in developing the ERS and KERS systems. It is understood that the next-generation turbocharged (and possibly downsized) four-cylinder engine will feature the above mentioned technologies in some form or another.

Mercedes-Benz A-Klasse (W 176) 2015Mercedes-Benz A-Class (W 176

With that said, Moers reiterated that there is very little chance the next-gen engines will feature electronically-driven turbochargers despite arch rival Audi’s consistent efforts in refining said technology. “There’s great limitations to the technology. Sure, we’ve experimented with it but it needs more power than a standard car’s 12V electrical system and would need to carry extra batteries,” commented Moers.

“We tried adding an electric fan to a regular turbo which gave us some advantages,” he added. However, Mercedes-AMG finds that said advantages were too marginal to justify the amount of engineering work required to fully realise the performance targets. As a reminder, the current mill featured in the facelifted A 45 pumps out a total of 381 hp at 6,000 rpm and 475 Nm of torque at 2,250 to 5,000 rpm.

GALLERY: Mercedes-AMG A 45 facelift

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz A 45 AMG on Vossen VFS2

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2015 at 1:39 pm

They are throwing away their precious time and money to engage the F1 team to develop the new turbo engine. Just come here to Malaysia and learn from workshops in Sunway. Many years ago even Wira GSR Satria VR4 can get 500hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • ultraiman on Sep 10, 2015 at 2:34 pm

different technology bro. must consider reliability also. try to do 10 laps at monza with wira GSR turbo at max RPM. can survive or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
      • Not Sam Loo on Sep 10, 2015 at 2:41 pm

The number of people who fall prey to trolls here everyday is to damn high!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2015 at 4:03 pm

What Monza? I bet those Wira Satria can even withstand 24 Hours of Nurburgring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Come malaysia for what? The engine also not you folks produce one… Who doesn’t know that having a bigger turbo produces more power. It’s the reliability and turbo lag. That VR4 that you’re talking about must have a really laggy low end.

• When you take 4g63 for boost turbocharged & bigger injectors, the engine going to produce much pollution gases. Here, with high hp & torque yet produce clean emissions.

• Turbocharging technology at its best

• mat koboi on Sep 10, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Setakat wira GSR turbo untuk racing bole la…pakai sebulan dah condem..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:23 pm

kinda lame considering how subaru and mitsubishi’s old engine produce more power

• So what? the Evo FQ400 produced 400hp from its 2.0 engine, and this was more than 6 years ago. mercedes is really trying hard to market their overpriced cars. mercs are for old people, i dont care if they put 1000000000000 horsepower in their cars.

• ZANIFF BIN ZAKARIA on Sep 11, 2015 at 1:32 pm

I think I kept hearing good news from Mercedes-AMG. Hope to see S65 (Sedan/Coupe) and SL65 in 4Matic form.

• eeeriz on Sep 13, 2015 at 8:24 am

For those 4G63 bashers out there, 4G63 2.0 turbo was one the most reliable engine during its heydeys. I had myself converted my normal Satria into a VR4 RS engine (12 years ago), and it can withstand high RPMs (7500rpm), high boosts (more than 1.5 bar), high speed (more than 200kmh) for so many years until I decided to sell it off.

Only the gearbox need changing once due to failure. Long live 4G63!