How now, brown cow – shunned TEKS1M faring poorly

innova-teks1m-03

Things are not going well for Teksi 1Malaysia (TEKS1M) – the cab service, meant to be the turning point in the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD)’s bid to revamp the taxi system, is suffering from a lack of business, with very little take-up from the public.

The Star reports that hundreds of TEKS1M cabs operating in the Klang Valley are losing out on business, not just to transportation network companies such as Uber and GrabCar, but also to their budget counterparts.

Higher fares – brought about by an increase sanctioned by SPAD for the class – are the primary reason why the service, which was launched in March 2013 and is made up exclusively of a fleet of brown Proton Exora and Toyota Innova vehicles, is being shunned by consumers; it’s considerably cheaper to take red-and-white budget taxis, significantly so over longer distances.

According to the report, the flagfall rate for a TEKS1M cab is RM4, with the tariff being 30 sen for every 200 metres travelled, while the flagfall rate for a budget taxi is RM3 and the tariff, 25 sen for the same distance. Budget taxi services also run the Exora, negating any size advantage and higher level of comfort in TEKS1M’s rides.

The higher fare has resulted in many TEKS1M drivers losing out, and many have resorted to queuing up at hot-spots to obtain passengers. Some brown cab drivers, as the publication found out when it checked on the service, are even refusing to utilise the meter, charging fixed rates. Drivers claimed they were not making money.

One driver who was interviewed said that when TEKS1M was first introduced, many cabbies thought it was the best news for the industry and its workforce. “In April, when the government introduced the new rates, I thought this was just too good to be true. After a while, I realised people were rejecting TEKS1M because we are more expensive,” he said.

“I thought the increased fare was going to boost my business, but little did I realise I would be heading for bankruptcy,” the driver told the publication.

DSC_0136b

Another driver said that TEKS1M operators are stuck and unable to move ahead. “Imagine having to charge customers a higher rate so that they can enjoy a better ride. But customers are rejecting us simply because we are more expensive. This is what happens when the powers that be make decisions without thinking things through,” he lamented.

Aimed at setting new baselines on vehicle standards, driver quality and operating principles, the new class of taxis were meant to improve the quality of taxi services in the country.

Launched on March 24, 2013 by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, the idea was to eventually migrate all city taxis nationwide into TEKS1M – SPAD’s plan was to have only such taxis on the streets by 2019. Initially, the class only utilised NGV Exoras, but this year added the Innova into the cab fleet.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 02, 2015 at 8:55 am

Look at the faces of those ministers and you know it wont work.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:02 am

This is typical Malaysia. They got the contract because of cronyism. Dig deeper and you will see, they are incometent and owned by the relative of the Minister or SPAD.

this is how Malaysia works. When you get incompetent contractors who got the contract because of the company is owned by the Minister’s kakak ipar, mak saudara, abang ipar, abang kepada kakak ipar…..then you have problems.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
    • fast5 on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:04 am

Won’t work nevermind, ask AP system owners for “donation” will they share a piece of cake to others? Orang kampung and less education will understand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:25 am

No need to look at the face, the way they sounded already retarded. Protek ok? Plotex la! Potek the taxis. Protex the taxi ok!

• Ffifi on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:15 am

Anything got to do with 1 malaysia brand are doom because they are run by people with power not with brains. Thsnk you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • Jonny on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:22 am

After all the debacle, they still haven’t learned? Everything named 1M (one M’sia) also die. It’s just such bad branding. Kedai 1M, car plate 1M4U and most infamously 1MDB. People are just sick of the 1M name.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
  • Long time already predicted this will not work. The rakyat would rather take Uber over these taxis . Seen their protest ?. Bunch of gangsters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysiabagusss on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:34 am

Dato Liow Tiong Lai, please improve the transportation issues..if not just step down and let others take up the challenge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • Dylen on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:58 am

Although i also agree LTL doesn’t perform well, but something you should know that SPAD is work and report to Prime Minister Office, nothing to do with Minister of Transport, that why TEKSI now become TEKSI 1 Malaysia (TEKSIM), hope you know who actually create teksi problem now

• Danny on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:34 am

the Malaysian market is very price-sensitive. that’s why Proton’s not doing so well, and that’s why TEKS1M is failing. if there’s a cheaper alternative, then that’s what people are going to go with.

• Anonymous on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:32 am

True. Given a choice people will always opt for the cheaper alternative especially if the perks of the more expensive option are too small. Its just human nature especially when everyone needs to ‘berjimat’.

The powers that be should rethink this. If the idea that this programme would eventually migrate all city taxis to TEKS1M, then it must come up with a more comprehensive solution. Put a shorter deadline to migrate all taxis to TEKS1M (should have been 2 years 2013-2019… 6 years is too long)… after 2 years, create specified areas where old taxis cannot enter usch as the city centre… create app for booking and tracking TEKS1M via GPS would mean convenience & safety… advance online or ePayment for TEKS1M, etc. Think beyond just comfort & the journey because true convenience covers much more.

• Once you take account who stole all the rakyats money!

• tokmoh. on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:40 am

The market has spoken. Hey taxi drivers, eat your master’s words: tak suka, keluar!

They’re better off becoming RapidKL bus driver. They’re in demand, so better off that way than bullying people with stupid fares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Hunter on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:43 am

I think Teks1m is a good inniative by the gov..i would prefer this cab over the merah putih anytime..but the economy now steadily slowing down..down..tergolek..everything is expensive…30sen for every 200m is expensive..but kesian to all Teks1m businessman..its not tht malaysia takmau u..we all just tidak mampu berrbelanja lebih..semua kena jimat..oh malaysiaku..apa dah jadi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Matchy on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:43 am

I guess their original intention was to entice the taxi drivers to switch to TEKSI1M since it offer higher rate. I guess that didn’t work out…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:55 am

Your clients can’t afford it.

With that sort of rates, I rather take UBER Black, with their fleet of D class sedans, many from limo companies so their legality is not questioned. And the UBER system is much easier to do my claims…. everything is itemized.

• Chong Yew on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:00 am

Unless you need the space, it’s just a Point A to Point B ride. There’s no added prestige value to riding a gold Exora or a red Saga taxi; the only difference would be the upkeep of the vehicle — factors that would be out of the cab hailer’s control anyway.

Uber’s cheaper and cars are definitely better maintained as they are personal rides.

Get RM20 of your Uber ride with this promocode: ffb8msfrue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • camtakpro on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:34 am

Think about it, what kind of space that Exora/Innova give?

Single wouldn’t need it – small taxi good enough.
      Couple wouldn’t need it – small taxi good enough.
      Small family wouldn’t need it – small taxi good enough.
      Big family wouldn’t need it – bus/lrt good enough.
      Furniture/electrical – lorry is better.

What kind of prestige value?
      Exora – noisy! nah!
      Innova – bumpy! nah!

Unless those car are like AMG45, Cayenne, Panamera – now these are value. But then the fair would be high, so high until nobody wants. Those that able to afford, probably owns those cars already.

So the only possible customers are those that want to travel to airport with lots of luggage bags. Good luck finding.

• Spammer!

• people dont have money to pay expensive taxi fares..we are not high income country yet..

• Myteksi user on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:59 am

MyTeksi app user usually indicate in the note; “No Teks1m please”; when requesting for teksi from the app.

• C.P. MOHAN on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:05 am

It is fast and unaffordable ask a certain Minister.

• peter on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Question: Why can’t the gold taxi driver sign-up with Uber? Then instead of being idle, they now have a legitimate source of income.

• shawal on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:28 pm

at the bottom of the article theres an adsense advert for uber….lol

‘earn money at your own schedule’

• Jobless on Oct 02, 2015 at 6:56 pm

I really laugh at the 1M4U plate..stupidity at its best…china towkay hate tis number means “everyday oso die”..even malays and indians oso dunt want

• orion on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:28 pm

I use only myteksi now, and can’t request teks1m in it. No wonder they don’t get business

• Embaressed by proton on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Anything that has “1M” will definitely fail before it could even begin………It is like a deadly curse
    Why? Cronies, Politics, Brainless/stupid management, tak-apa attitude, you-help-me, It-help-you attitude, just to name a few…

The biggest failure?? 1MDB

• melvin on Oct 03, 2015 at 10:51 am

change to Merc, bmw or audi…charge very cheap fare or rate per km, and please no cronies

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:07 am

This outcome is expected.

TEKS1M charge ridiculously high rates while ignoring to improve important aspects of a taxi: Service quality.

What we want actually:
    1) Affordable (but not overly cheap) rates at times like this (thanks to our PM)
    2) Good service quality (polite drivers, no smoking inside the vehicle, functional air-cond,
    3) Safety (No harassment, or any criminal behavior from the drivers)

Sadly, Teks1m and our SPAD approved taxi never once fulfil any of one above.

Been taken UBER and taxi from Terminal Bersepadu Selatan to Sunway Pyramid. Same distance.

UBER = RM 22.02, car is a decent B segment sedan. Air con is freaking cold and the car smells good.

Taxi = RM 31.50, car is a super old proton saga. Wobbling all the way. Air con not functioning well.

What do you think?

• P. Mohan on Oct 03, 2015 at 11:32 am

Good that taxi drivers finally get a taste of their own medicine.

Please remain idle more often if not permanently and don’t endanger other road users be it drivers, cyclists, pedestrians etc.

With their arrogant and reckless attitude, our only hope is that they go out of business asap and become bus drivers or whatever.

Our bus lanes are so under-utilised anyway so why not make full use of them?

• Taxi driver on Oct 03, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Hai all
    Are you use taxi every day for travel
    Do you know that all taxi driver must pay gst to goverment
    For me toyota innova is the best for taxi use lest problem & good for ngv use
    Uber & grabcar like kereta sapu at village area but if anything happen insurance not cover up pax so u mati katak loh
    Price is ok because rate to airport rm120.00 from kl town area
    If you 4 pax use erl so fare is rm35/pax so 4 pax …..
    You whan chep price use bus bro the best transport for travel
    Dont talk Benz or other car just think you cant paid or not the service……

• Taxi passenger on Oct 03, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Hai taxi driver
      No i do not every day
      Tell me who dont need to pay gst?
      For me normal malaysia taxi is a hit or miss
      There are good taxi drivers but they are an anomalie
      If you see those taxi lining up in queue without a counter to purchase ticket.. sure not gonna meter and open a cut throat price.
      You raise a good point about insurance..
      But majority of taxi drivers act like they own the road.. drive slowly.. and most power of all they are not sked!
      uber in malaysia so far only got kes the driver sexually harass the client via sms.. in general they will treat the client good/they sked coz they are able to leave a review..
      has an uber driver ever asked for extra rm5 for the journey back? LOL
      can you say the same about normal unworking metered taxi drivers?
      nowadays i never take taxi anymore..

• the archbishop of banterbury on Oct 03, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Brown…. like turd.