CAM Caravan launched in Malaysia, priced at RM207k

CAM Plutus Caravan 1

This one’s for those bitten by the travel bug but still prefer to stay on the roads. China Auto Manufacturers (CAM) has officially launched the CAM Caravan here in Malaysia with a price tag of RM206,890 on-the-road inclusive of registration and GST.

Billed as the first locally-built caravan in Malaysia, the CAM Caravan is based on the Plutus pick-up truck, a longtime workhorse that is marketed and sold by the Klang-based CAM, with 4×2 and 4×4 double cab versions available.

The caravan adopts the same 2.8 litre turbodiesel engine paired to a manual transmission. Safety features available on the mobile home include ABS with EBD, anti-glare rear view camera and rear reverse sensor.

CAM Plutus Caravan 3

However, the main draw of the Plutus Caravan is its motorhome portion that effectively occupies every inch of the pick-up’s flatbed space. This is to ensure that it can accommodate all the necessary fittings and equipment for mobile living.

Inside, you’ll find wood furniture that includes an overhead double bed and cabinet, plus a single folding sofa bed. Other ammenities include air-conditioning, a bathroom, kitchen and a portable toilet. To power the direct current (DC) electrical equipment, the caravan comes with an external power supply adapter, along with a ten-metre long wire for connection.

On the mention of power, a 100 Ah maintenance-free battery can last for 48 hours under normal usage after being charged for four to five hours. There is also a water and electricity indicator so owners to keep track of their current levels.

CAM Plutus Caravan 5

Each purchase of the caravan comes with a one year/30,000 km warranty with 24/7 breakdown service support. As an introductory limited time offer, customers who book the CAM Plutus Caravan between November 12 to November 15 will receive a RM5,000 voucher for bicycle equipment.

So, if you’re looking to do a bit of caravanning in Malaysia, the CAM Plutus Caravan certainly looks to be an interesting prospect. Let us know what you think of it in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kiedis on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:44 pm

An affordable home in the city at last! And you get a car too. Wonderful.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Try park in KLCC basement car park then you know how fun is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • cheehui on Nov 25, 2015 at 10:59 am

u must be an idiot .motorhomes/caravan dont dive into indoor parking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • tanboonkeat on Sep 15, 2018 at 12:06 am

don’t know if they can custom made the steering to middle.

• thepolygonal on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Yes.. this is it. Now everyone can shit in the car.. I mean truck… or 4×4… whatever…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Parking lot with utilities service available at which area?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • You get a house and a car, all for the price of RM200k

This is our gomen initiative to provide affordable housing and cheaper car. Janji di capati…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
  • xxxxxxx on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Sleep at the parking lot, Safe or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Problem with introducing this here is that there are no proper caravan camp grounds that you can drive you vehicle to. You will need electrical, water and waste disposal facilities installed in these campsites.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Johnny Boy on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Yes, I was thinking the same too. Where exactly can we go camping in this country? The damp forest?

• Shamshir Hassan on Oct 17, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Yes, I know I’m replying two years late, but still I feel like leaving a response regardless. Hope you gentlemen don’t mind _(:37

So anyway, rather than using RVs for camping in this country, think of it as a car with a small house strapped on it. Very useful for long-range travels when one can’t find a place to sleep in at the R&R.

• ionlaw on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:31 pm

With high rate of accident and fatality on Malaysian road…not really a good idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • 200k with one year, 30000km warranty…. errr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:03 pm

isnt this based on a 1990s ford pickup???? im pretty sure it is…
    useless here , thnx to a total lack of security , u camp it anywhere,sleep,wakeup , windows all smashed up , valuables gone n so on,u know the story…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:13 pm

paultan crews should do a video/detail review of this CAM caravan. Try bring it to beach as example and show it’s capabilities. I know it will be a really nice video

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • safety feature include… rear reverse sensor? like the beep beep sound one you find in all car? is this 1990s?

• Are UK and Australia in the 1990s? Their cars still come without reverse sensors.

• Overpriced. Why? A living cabin made with aluminium, steel, wood, fibre, and some wiring fitting, plus a cheap truck. You want to sell it for RM200k++ ? I think if minus the truck, the cabin only cost RM5000 the most to built. My dad built cabin for ships, don’t ask me how i know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • Kelvin on Mar 11, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Can I be your dad apprentice? Always wanted to build a ship by my own hand.

• Black Dog on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Australia and NZ are perfect places to caravan or camper van. Here, many had failed before this. This will be another casualty.

• leonardo on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Good for flood prone areas. Just move your ‘house’ when yor area starts to flood. And give free kayaks, instead of bikes.
    But on a serious note, the 1 year 30,000km warranty is unheard of now. The manufacturer have no confidence in their own product? Then they should offer a buy back guarentee instead.
    And the truck is a bit pricy in my opinion. And considering the resale value is almost nil after 5 years for China made vehicles, it will drive away potential buyers.
    But I applaud CAM to introduce such vehicles in Malysia, though they were not the first. Find out why the earlier company failed to sell their products.

• Malaysian make car company dunno anything about cars. Why is the gear knob mounted upside down??!! I am sure if Kamil Jamil fitted his own knob in his lotus it would end up in that orientation! LOL!

• cendol (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Perfect target for robbery.
    Now you can rob a house and car TOGETHER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • mohdjiman on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:46 pm

“anti-glare rear view mirror”
    Big cabin behind and still need to use rear view mirror? how???

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:33 pm

can see ur wife bathing in the cabin while u driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • unknown on Nov 12, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Hey, you know how warm MYS weather. Can this crap provide 24/7 air conditioning without toxicating the occupants? I bet not… let’s be real Chinamen… don’t sell something impractical to your customer. Give mere 30k km warranty is equivalent to no warranty at all… so pathetic..

• Aero (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Nice to finally see a CKD caravan in Malaysia. For whatever reasons, Malaysians don’t like caravanning. As far as I know, caravanning is a rich man’s past time, and is quite popular in the U.K., U.S., Australia and some European countries.

But on the bright side, I think this CAM Caravan could catch on with local rental companies. It’s perfect for tourists and for those who are not convinced on spending over RM200k on an unknown Chinese car, but just want a caravan for a weekend or two.

Besides, even if it breaks down, why worry when you have a some food and shelter to wait it out ? lol jk jk

• jamal on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Congratulations. Another segment for automobile.

Why China truck?
    Why not Isuzu, Ford, Mitsubishi etc. This china truck do not have a long lifespan.

Price is exorbitant. Silly price.

• My pet peeve with this car is simple:

HOW THE HECK IS THAT WEEDY 100hp/230Nm ENGINE SUPPOSED TO PULL THIS CARAVAN!?

Fine the idea is fantastic, and everything is great, EXCEPT FOR THAT ENGINE.

The pickup by itself is RM62k, and this CARAVAN is RM207k! At least put some effort into the engine, because as of right now, that thing isn’t going to be moving at highway speeds, not a chance. 0,0

• pxp154 on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:24 pm

campervan safety better than toyota/p2… wahahah

• Pricey indeed. Wonder if you can buy a minibus and customize it yourself at that price.

• Rich bastard on Nov 12, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Er, where can I put my 70 inch LCD TV ah???

• Tanny Lee on Nov 14, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Really wish to own one unit

• neetta on Nov 14, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Malaysia is a country for holiday makers. It’s a compact fun place. This item is just perfect for a place like peninsular Malaysia where you can drive north to south in ten hours. And 5 hours across.

• Adventurer on Dec 05, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Malaysia do not have public facilities to dispose camper van toilet waste like in European countries. In western countries are many disposal points and parking facilities every few km as well as at tourist spots and attractions.

With parking a major problem, dont waste your money to own CAM Caravans in Malaysia. You have to end up with dirty and uncomfortable public toilets and showers.

• 7yearsfd1 on Nov 15, 2015 at 1:45 am

Basically they just make the back “housing” and slapped it on an extremely cheap 4×4. And ask 200k for it. Well they everyone can dream right?

Absurd.

• zuljb on Feb 28, 2016 at 12:05 pm

finally…why so negative about it?
    i would love to own one

• 200K, I would rather use a new mini bus to convert it to a motorhome.

• ..this is way overpriced..you could buy large school bus for up to 50K RM and convert to fantastic motorhome, with more comfort than this, and less money invested (idea is that you do conversion yourself)..i did this before in europe, before i came to Malaysia..im sad to say, but this country has no facilities for such ‘sport’..I was playing with idea to convert one large school bus in to home and live in it here, but it has been proven to be a very bad idea..

• hi, do you still have your ‘bus’motorhome? Can you give me some guidance on how do you renew your roadtax every year or half year?
      Do you need to go to puspakom every 6 months for inspection?
      I plan to do the same too…turning a bus into a motorhome. Really appreciate some guides… thank you.

• Any 120k and below caravan, may include second hand.Yes bank loan needed.

• Can i have a number that i can call and ask about the caravan?.. really interested.

• nadhia on Jan 11, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Hai IKKY…you can call me for more details about this caravan +60113 967 5905

• Can i have a number that i can ask about the caravan…

• Ohd Ghazali Oman on Apr 23, 2017 at 1:28 am

It may or may not sell. Still very new to Malaysians. Some years ago the Aussies tried to introduce their version of motorhome but to no avail. For a start there are no motorhome parks where you can get all the facilities suitable for motor homes. Facilities like waste disposal, water supply, electrical supply especially to charge batteries. Once away fom home there will be huge problems especially to get connected to electricity supply. One cannot just walk into omeone’s house and ask whether we can tap their electriity. That is unthinkable. The manufacturer should use solar panels to tap electricity from the sun. Our country is sunny 12/7 and that is one of the safest and fastest ways to get electricity supply. Like me I can’t stand the heat. As such I would want the aircon to be on most of the time. Gve more thoughts to this idea.
    Thank you.

• HI,
    I’m a bit over this. In 1993 i had converted my van. Since we have our own van club. We used to go every where in the week ends and holidays. Though is difficult to know what is suitable, to use when we were out..I had to redo the whole build a few times, to suit my need in the out doors. Spend a lot of money doing the conversion. Internally.. Alternator, 2 extra big batteries, cooling for the engine, twin blower with extra large air-cond compressor, 240v ac supply, insulation, panels and internal wiring. The external chairs and tables does not cost much. Do not dive into something you are not familiar with. It costs way more then what you think. It all ended when, with 2 of our van had a fatal accident. Some time after that i striped it down and converted it to a moving sound stage. Real studio equipment hiding in plain site..the only give away is the 3kw generator..hidden but still noticed. Crazy.. after almost 30 years i bought it. It is still sitting in my porch.

• Alex Tan on Sep 23, 2019 at 6:13 pm

App 4ward the internal layout

• Fabian Damian on Nov 07, 2019 at 10:49 pm

Is this still in production and does Sendok Group have a division selling pre-owned?