Perodua records highest ever sales in 2015 – 213,300

Aminar 2015 Review

Perodua has recorded its highest ever annual sales in 2015, with 213,300 units sold last year. This was announced by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh at the company’s annual performance review at Perodua Sentral this morning.

“Based on our estimation of the total industry volume (TIV) of 667,000 units in 2015, we believe that our market share is around 32%, and we would like to maintain that level this year with a sales target of 216,000” Aminar revealed. Having 32% of the market means P2 has comfortably maintained its market leading position, which it has held on to for 10 years now.

The result also means that Perodua has surpassed its 2015 target of 208,000 units, announced in January 2015 and maintained through the GST introduction period as well as the less than smooth economic climate. 208k is 6% more than the 195,600 units the company managed in 2014. P2’s previous sales record was 196,100, achieved in 2013.

No points for guessing that the main contributor for Perodua in 2015 was the Axia, which found 99,700 new homes in its first full year on sale, accounting for 46.7% of total sales. Aminar said that because of economic challenges, many consumers decided to “buy down” into compact, affordable and fuel efficient vehicles, the segment that Perodua serves.

Moving forward, Aminar says that this year will be a tough one for the auto industry, but Perodua estimates 2016 TIV to rise slightly to 670,000 from 667,000 in 2015 after taking into account new product launches. The company’s 2016 target of 216,000, if achieved, will be another all time high.

Outside of car sales, P2’s after-sales division has also broken records with 1.96 million intakes in 2015, up from 1.92 million in 2014. The jump is attributed to the upgrading of service facilities. As of December 2015, Perodua has 181 sales and 190 service centres nationwide.

Perodua-Sentral-PJ

Following the trend, the parts and accessories business has also recorded its highest ever revenue with RM248 million in 2015, a 2% increase. Last year, Perodua introduced the Gear Up range of add-on parts for the Axia and Myvi models. The targets for after-sales and parts/accessories this year is two million intakes and a 5% revenue growth to RM260.2 million, respectively.

Separately, Aminar also revealed that a second shift has been added to production at the new Perodua Global Manufacturing (PGM) factory, which produces the Axia at single shift of 100,000 maximum capacity. The company’s engine plant in Sendayan TechValley near Seremban will be operational in the second half of this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Open Letter to Perodua on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Great sales BUT what Malaysians want is lower prices.

Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow.

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.

Again I tell you, Please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have indeed done well in sales but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.
    Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.

So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your achievements, especially your 200k sales. Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.
    Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income.

Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
    • “Shut up and take my money”
      “Open letter to bla bla”

hahhah.. them Proton

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:53 am

GOod quality everyone buy. Junk quality promo this and that discount RM10k also no one bother.

• jinggo on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Well said bro… kipidap!
      Perodua, mana u punya enjin? Untung sudah manyak, kasi bikin enjin sendiri la.. kanena!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • What’s important is what you can sell and sell a lot and not what you can bikin or produce.

• Wahai Botak Aminar on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Syiok sendiri company. Never do research at all. Just bring Daihatsu cars and rebadge. Even bangla also can rebadge lah from the back of his house.

Don’t know what Perodua so bangga. 25 years also, has not come out with Malaysian made engine.

Perodua is just feeding UMW to get richer, which eventually feeds Japan. No technology transfer at all.

• Untung banyak mesti ada enjin sendiri? Mana lu belajar ni? Lu ingat semua orang mesti mau syok sendiri ka?

Macam nasi lemak antarabangsa? nasi lemak sudah laris, nak bukak kedai ada aircond, waiter pakai tie. Last-last rugi & tutup lingkup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Kipidad Dongibab on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:37 pm

Until today even ABS also tak ada. then many bodoh here say Syabas to Perodua.

Kena tipu pun tak sedar. ABS was in cars 20 years ago

• DonkeyKong on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:57 pm

People have to live within their means. Whining and bitching like this is the same as Vietnamese, Cambodians and Laotians whining about wanting cheaper cars although most of them can only afford motorbikes, their per-capita GDP are pretty crappy, and they have no local car industries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Kipas Kipas Kipas on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:40 pm

What is wrong dreaming Donkey and fighting for our rights? Or do we give all our money to your boss BN? Already our car prices highest in the world. Beat Singapore even

• Selena on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:18 pm

People have to live within their means and Proton has to exist within its capabilities without expecting handouts.

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2016 at 11:17 am

Be careful with your words. I’m warning you, I don’t tolerate racism against anyone, Vietnam, Cambodians, Laotians have their own rights and you don’t have to make assumptions on their behalf. Idiot donkey.

• Are Perodua going to have any new model of compact SUV? The SUV market is in fact growing well…n most people prefer compact SUV nowadays. If Perodua got any new affordable SUV, I will be interested.

• Sammy Loo on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:21 pm

you can get the dim sum car, Greatwall M4, also EEV and is budget SUV

• Bomoh on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Want to hit higher sales rate or market share in 2016? just pursue government to raise tax on other foreign car and P2 just come out few more SV,SE, Gear up or 7 up with different bodykit and that’s all.

Anyway how is the sales in other country beside Malaysia?

• hasbullah on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Well said! I wonder how many lives have been lost in a Perodua. The rakyat don’t buy Perodua because they want to, but because they have no other choice. No importance to safety, no innovation, no originality. Nothing to be proud of really.

• Cium Buntot on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Until today, their cars got no basic ABS. when you accident and die, you can still cium buntot Perodua.

• ofcource la, majority people in this country has income lower than 2000 , minus house rent, grocery, child expenses. saga or axia is they only reasonable choice. people who has lower income buy secondhand proton or produa. they dont have choices ,this is market monopoly as govemon won’t allow foren car sell car at cheaper price . even you ask they to work harder there always people who have low income to balance our economy.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:40 pm

This is how you plan your model line up. Focus on a particular segment. Proton, all segments also want to enter, in the end all not competitive. They should slowly phase out old models and stop launching other segments and focus solely on Iriz’s strong platform and launch an attack with the B segments; Myvi hatchback, Iriz MPV to rival the Alza or Suzuki Ertiga, and a sedan to rival the City or the Vios. Instead of developing own engine, they can purchase engines from any of the Japanese car maker’s engines, from Suzuki or Mazda for instance. That will put up a good fight for Perodua and other car player in the Asean region. Congrats and well played Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • pak atan on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:25 am

Wiwiwiw..
      Very short sighted man. No vision in mind. Seeing things in short terms.
      P1 vision is more then what you said.
      Its a economic driven manufacturer. Making jobs to alot of malaysian.

• Top salesman on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:42 pm

* in a heavily protected market…i tink any sohai tai lan ngongs can be ceo of tis company and achieve top sales..just look at his smile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • salim on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Proton salesman butthurt.
      Cannot get sales so only know how to back stab competitor. Typical Msian hatred culture
      Sour grape go back & try harder selling a dead donkey. .

• No Laws Malaysia on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:46 pm

In overseas, Governments make it compulsory by law to have VSC. In Malaysia, Perodua is indirectly owned fully by Government through UMW and PNB, EPF, Khazanah.

Government want to make maximum untung. Don’t care about people’s lives. Accident also become cacat also, Government don’t care, janji Perodua and UMW can make big profit for kerajaan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • I guess the price is so damn ‘cheap’ that everyone can bought it in cash. Malaysian people so damn rich right proton? Cause nowadays, loan approval quite very low according to you. I wonder how perodua sales was very good last year.. Hmmmm.. I guess you need to sit down, and learn something from perodua. You guys are local brands right? So, no need to be shame if you are too shame to ask other global brand some advice.

• Good move on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Remove Suzuki, less one competitor off the market.

• pak atan on Jan 20, 2016 at 7:28 am

Zack..
      Go and study banking a litle bit. Dont just simply barking like no balls.

• 1JutaAxiaSedan on Jan 19, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah congrats to Perodua!

Rakyat will always support those help in saving money fuel efficient and problem-free cars in tough time recession years.

As for your new upcoming Perodua Axia Sedan, best of luck to you finally rakyat have the next best choice beside the infamous Saga.

Feel free to rent or buy any empty car factory to meet the anticipated huge gigantic demand for the new Axia Sedan soon.

Looking forward to your next fastest selling car in Malaysia car history, the 1 million Axia Sedan cars! Love :: Love :: muahhhsss ::

#1JutaAxiaSedan

#Kipidap Perodua

#Dudebest Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • jinggo on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Haha… syok sendiri lettew! Bro, enjin perodua mana.. tak mau la beli toyota/daihatsu punya enjin.. tak reti nak bikin enjin kah? Malu siot!

• hmmm, kalau begitu, lu punya proton patut lagi malu rebadge Mitsubishi Lancer dan Honda Accord. Bukan setakat engine, seluruh kereta kena copy-paste!

• ABS VSC tak ada on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Orang bodoh sahaja happy djual kereta tak ada ABS dan VSC.

Tak ada ABS macam tak ada safety belt.

• Ollie on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Double the number of cars as Proton. Please respond Proton supporters. What excuse now?

Loan problem? Perodua got loan problem. Perception? Perodua also local manufactured. Hire lots of locals, provide lots of jobs. Price? Around same price, Proton price too high its not Perodua fault. Alza, Myvi SE Premium is more expensive than many Proton models.

So which one, tell us oh wise Proton-ers

• nabill (Member) on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:19 pm

this says alot about the msia consumers really…what a freakin sad situation…

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Did u all notice the shrinking blue line on the graph behind Perodua’s CEO?

I can’t help myself but smiling so happily when I saw that blue, constantly shrinking line on the graph. Such a rewarding sight to see bad business who exploit customers, make lousy products suffer badly.

• Just another NEP product (with protection market) telling the world how successful the company had done. Tak Malu. Haha.

• symusty on Jan 19, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Out of the two national carmakers, when it comes to recent quality standards Perodua is falling behind. Yeah its the cheaper option but at what cost? They sold almost 100k Axia, but how safe is it exactly? How many of those will suffer?

• ABS VSC tak ada on Jan 19, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Axia does not even have ABS. Not having ABS is like selling a car with no safety belts

• Good job Perodua. At least you are not a failure like Abang Proton.

• 213k sohais in Malaysia, too many already. No wonder Malaysia cannot be develop

• Not sure if Malaysia can develop or not but confirm Proton is losing money with 3-suku engineer and 1/2 pail full marketing staff.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Proton is synonymous to the NAP. Say what you want, it doesn’t matter if Proton comes out with a quad turbo V12 with 1000bhp, as long as people hate on the NAP, people with hate on Proton.

• jinggo on Jan 19, 2016 at 4:30 pm

Jangan berani mengaku pembuat kereta jikalau enjin belum mampu dicipta! Jilaka!

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 19, 2016 at 5:00 pm

Jangan berani menabur janji manis jikalau enjin sendiri belum tentu berkualiti, tidak cepat rosak, kos baiki murah, alat ganti murah, hos turbo tidak cepat bocor dan jimat minyak.

• Macam la ko tiap-tiap tahun berazam nak jadi insan berguna tu tercapai.

• Jobless on Jan 19, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Proton cannot even get their ads correct, notice the sohai broken engliah words like ” drive it to believe it…feel it blabla”…malu betul