VW America CEO Michael Horn leaves the company

Michael-Horn-VW

Volkswagen Group of America has announced the departure of Michael Horn, the company’s president and CEO. Through mutual agreement with Volkswagen AG, Horn will be leaving to pursue other opportunities effective immediately.

Hinrich J. Woebcken, who was recently announced as the new head of the North American region and chairman of Volkswagen Group of America, will assume the role of interim president and CEO.

“I want personally to say ‘thank you’ to Michael Horn for the great work he has done for the brand and with the dealers in the United States,” said Herbert Diess, CEO of the VW brand. “During his time in the US, Michael Horn built up a strong relationship with our national dealer body and showed exemplary leadership during difficult times for the brand,” he added.

Horn, 54, assumed the role as president and CEO in January 2014 and has over 25 years of experience with the VW Group. Before this, he served as VW’s global head of after sales. Horn joined the German carmaker in 1990 and has held many roles of increasing responsibility over his tenure, including head of VW sales North West Europe, head of sales and marketing luxury class vehicles, and head of sales for Europe.

He will be remembered for being in the eye of the VW Dieselgate storm, which blew up last September. “We’ve totally screwed up,” he admitted at the launch of the 2016 Volkswagen Passat after the emissions cheating scandal came to a head.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gaviny on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:57 am

VW would like to present Mr.horn with a usd2 million severance package for his previous contributions

• james on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:52 pm

VGM is so done. Without extended warranty, pretty sure NO existing owner will ever visit their showroom again. LOL

• What About Malaysia? on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:58 am

At least you got honour Mr CEO. In Malaysia, because of weak consumer laws, many owners cannot do anyhting about their lemon they bought. Until 2016 also, so many VW are facing DSG problems. And these DSG problems have been going on now for 7 years.

I hope VGM gives 10 year warranty to existing VW owners as well as give them guaranteed value for their cars after their loan finishes cause the RV of VW cars are now down the drain. Even used car salesman don’t want to touch VW cars in Malaysia

• 10 or 100 years warranty means nothing if you have to bring your car to the workshop every other week.

• Are u vw owner on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:39 am

If u dont own vw, why bother? Just stick to your saga like Sam Loo son lah.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:05 am

Head of global after sales before this ? So is this the same fella who allows all the disgraceful warranty claims issues happening around the globe including Malaysia previously ? Anyway, hope the new CEO of US will have more integrity and dignity to not repeat the same mistakes again.

• Don’t you see this guy is “surrendering” with both his hands up.