Ford Malaysia notches up 650 units in sales in March

Ford Ranger 3.2 Wildtrak  004

Ford Malaysia has announced its retail sales figures in the country for the month of March 2016, which grew 24% from the previous month to 650 units. In February, the company managed to shift 524 units.

The sales performance was largely contributed to by the Ranger. While 432 units of the pick-up truck were sold in February, the month of March saw a 19% increase to 513 units. Even discounting the Ranger, Ford’s sales of the rest of the line-up rose from 92 units in February to 137.

Ford Focus 1.5L EcoBoost quick drive 3

“As the most capable, most powerful and smartest truck in the market today, the Ranger stays true to our Built Ford Tough heritage, and we’re pleased that demand continues to grow across both Peninsula and East Malaysia,” said David Westerman, managing director, Malaysia and Asia Pacific Emerging Markets, Ford Motor Company.

As for the remaining units sold in March, they are represented by the other models in the line-up, including the recently-introduced Focus facelift with its 1.5 litre EcoBoost engine. We already had a go in the C-segment model, where we praised the car’s revised dynamics and easy-to-use assisted parking features.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Oh My Hilux…LOL…now I want to see how UMW doing..

• john yang bangang on Apr 11, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Good sales. Can compete with iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Ford has Ranger to rely on, P1 only has passenger cars.
      Nak compare pun at least Granny Smith Apple to Fuji Apple, ko pulak nak compare apple to durian, buat pe?

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 11, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Short lived happiness because they have all new models. Wait a couple of months and check back again on their sales figures then we talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Prosss on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:44 pm

seancorr = lack of brain dont know market but still wanna comment.

what you mean by happiness? 650 is low for them, they sold 1800 last march. hahaha.

shut up man

• policeman on Apr 11, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Selling 600 units is considered a big deal? Close the damn dealership! Disgraceful. Perodua sells 15K in a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Don’t buy Ford. I regret buying ford focus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Eternalgl0ry on Apr 11, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Ford ranger is tough however the spare parts for the vehicle is also tough to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • The Ranger is leading now in Thailand i see more service centers

• ColaBear on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:20 pm

How is the Focus sales figure?

• Yup, 650 cut price fords from 2015.

• waters on Apr 12, 2016 at 9:55 am

Are these all 2016 made cars?

• Jobless on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:09 am

Me thought the monthly sales figure by individial models claassified info in Malaysia? (Threat to national security?? Only the idt at Mycc knws)