VIDEO: 2016 Toyota Hilux teased in new commercial

The marketing storm for the all-new 2016 Toyota Hilux continues ahead of its launch in the second quarter of this year – the highly-awaited pick-up truck has been featured in a new ad, starring Malaysian professional MMA fighter, actor and model Peter Davis.

The 60-second spot sees Davis talking about power, comfort and style, and how it relates to himself and the Hilux. At the end, the video invites viewers to sign-up for the Hilux Beyond Excitement event, the Selangor leg of which is happening on May 6 to 8.

According to Toyota, attendees will be able to watch the Hilux “conquer various obstacles,” and 10 winners will also be able to ride with Davis during the event. Passes are only offered on a first-come, first-serve basis, however, so if you do want to participate, it would probably be best to sign up as soon as possible.

Of course, those who just want to see the Hilux inside and out can also catch the Toyota WOW Road Tour – it will make its final stop in Kelantan next weekend, on April 23 and 24. We’ve also captured a full gallery of the pick-up, which you can see here.

The new Hilux is open for booking, with prices starting at RM89,900 for the single cab 2.4 4×4 manual, followed by the double cab 2.4 4×2 manual at RM91,900. Moving up, the 2.4 Standard 4×4 manual will retail at RM99,900. Nearer the top of the range, the 2.4G 4×4 manual will cost RM109,900, while the 2.4G 4×4 auto will wear a sticker price of RM121,900. At the top sits the 2.8G 4×4 auto, priced at RM133,900.

The Hilux is all-new under the bonnet – you get a choice of either 150 PS/400 Nm 2.4 litre (343 Nm for manual models) or 177 PS/450 Nm 2.8 litre GD turbodiesel engines, mated to six-speed manual (with a rev-matching function for downshifts) and automatic transmissions.

Available kit includes automatic LED headlights, machine-finish 18-inch wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a 4.2-inch colour LCD multi-info display, a DVD infotainment system with a 6.1-inch touchscreen and Bluetooth connectivity, seven airbags and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC).

Register for the Hilux Beyond Excitement event.

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux at Toyota WOW Road Tour

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vardy on Apr 11, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Fell short of the Ranger still.

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:18 pm

My dog would not want to seen in this pickup….Ranger for me …now n forever.

• I agree, I like Toyota but I am disappointed in the “new” Hilux. Ranger is better looking with better looking interior.

• osman on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:00 pm

No rear Aircond vents, no big iPad style touch screen. Blood suckers!

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 11, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Touchscreens are disgusting. I’d much rather have buttons and knobs controlling the screen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • albag on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:22 pm

then you should go back to the 80’s era… you don’t deserve to fit into the current era now

• Shud just focus on its RV, by digging a hole big enuff to fit it and 4 pipu on board in nirvana. Then it can be the ultimate RV: Reburial Vessel.

• Road user on Apr 11, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Red colour reminds me of bomba hilux.

• kenneth Fook on Apr 11, 2016 at 7:22 pm

It all sounded so good up till the last part where a typical ah beng sales man sound came into the ad to do the closing. Ewwww.

• Jobless on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:15 am

Most of the drivers of tis cheap junk are LCLY ROAD BULLIES. Wait until they meet the FAMOUS LORRY-MAN in those ramming accidents

• Sam Loo on May 01, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Too expensive for a piece of pickup truck. 130+K for this spec? No rear aircond vent?