Police issued 491,479 red light fines in KL last year

PJ-Traffic-Jam_PTBM

The Kuala Lumpur traffic police has issued nearly half a million summonses to road users for running the red light last year, according to a Bernama report.

City traffic police chief ACP Mohd Nadzri Hussain said that 491,479 fines were levied in 2015 – out of those, 78% were caught committing the offence by the Red Light Surveillance Camera System (RLSC) that is installed at 17 hotspots in the city. The rest were detected directly by traffic police officers while on duty.

“Summonses for the same violation from January to March this year increased by 29% when 142,039 summonses were recorded, compared to 110,021 during the same period last year,” he said, adding that there were 51 accidents attributed to running the red light last year. Between January and March 2016, the offence caused 11 accidents and one fatality.

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt

A total of 240 traffic police officers are said to be on traffic control duty in the federal capital each day, with the focus being on peak hours from 6:00 am to 10:00 am and from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm. “We are also monitoring accident-prone spots and will recommend to Bukit Aman to install more RLSC cameras there,” Nadzri said.

This statement was echoed by Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS) director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon, who said that the proposal to increase the number of cameras was the best initiative to improve discipline among road users and to encourage them to obey the red light.

According to Wong, studies by MIROS in several countries have shown that using technologies such as countdown timers have reduced traffic offences by between 40% and 90%, as they keep drivers calm while waiting for their turn to cross a junction.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Narmia on Apr 12, 2016 at 9:59 am

Red light cameras increase the incidence of rear-end collisions at intersections. However overall deaths at intersections decline due to decrease in incidence of t-bone and other oblique angled collisions.

• Did get to mention 490,000 of the summons are issued to motorcyclists.

• Shoei on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:44 am

kitorang Mat Rempit X payah ikut lampu laa

• Same L00 on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Money Money Money… When the official Perdanaccord speed on the road, u think government so care about following traffic law?

• If they include motorbikes it’ll be closer to 4.91 million summons

• DonkeyKong on Apr 12, 2016 at 10:19 am

We should seriously consider implementing a drastic solution – retractable bollards that rise up from the road as the light turns red, which will result in massive vehicular damage for red-light beaters along with injuries that will change their bad habits for life

• stasta on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:04 am

first one to kena will be vvip with police escort.followed by ambulance.

• hahaha on Apr 12, 2016 at 10:32 am

but next to no one paid the fines…

• So how many of these red light fines are for motorcyclist? Or the Red Light Surveillance Camera System (RLSC) unable to detect motorcyclist?
    Same goes for other traffic camera like AES/AWAS, are they (motorcyclist) truly above the law?

• IRECORDVIDEO on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:19 am

If only police accepts video evidence of people beating red light, they’ll have a field day collecting massive fine from the motorist

I caught at least a handful on my 20minute commute to office everyday.

Red light surveillance camera does not work for motorcyclists as the sensor area does not cover the entire lane, the motorcyclists know where the sensor ends and they often make full use of the loop hole (IE on old klang road’s AES redlight camera)

• nabill (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Pffft, that number i can get it my taman alone… Those on motobikes really don’t stop, i MEAN REALLY REALLY DONT STOP, as if they imagine a machine gun on the traffic lights ready to fire if anyone stops at a red traffic light..

• What about wrong saman on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:39 pm

I got a saman for speeding at a time when I was sleeping, in a place I did not go. How can I complain this? Many years ago, I was issued a motorcycle saman for my car, complaint many times but no action until I give up and just paid the fee of $50. I’m crossing my fingers I need to pay again.

• gundam mama on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:57 pm

hahahahahah, issues so many saman….but how many actually paid the saman?? Polis care to comment???

If cannot collect the compound, why bother to issue saman in the 1st place? Wasting paper izit?

• hoooooo on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:59 pm

wahhh bravo
    but wanna ask how many theft n robber are catch ? zero bcoz mostly is shoot death

• Mr.Why on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:58 am

Why must klang valley motorist abuse the traffic?