Volkswagen Polo R WRC Street by Wimmer – 420 hp

Volkswagen Polo R WRC Street Wimmer Rennsporttechnik-6

Wimmer Rennsporttechnik is introducing a limited-run Volkswagen Polo R WRC Street – the most powerful production Volkswagen Polo ever. It sports the Golf GTI’s 2.0 litre TSI engine and when first revealed in 2012, the Street was limited to just 2,500 units.

As a reference, in its “standard” tune, the engine produces 220 hp. As for the Polo R WRC Street by Wimmer, the engine has been customised to churn out 420 hp and a total of 480 Nm of torque (349 Nm in standard from). The engine is mated to a DSG transmission, which sends power to the front wheels.

The mods include an upgraded turbocharger, a modified high-pressure pump, custom stainless steel sports exhaust system, a custom intercooler and remapping of the ECU. No time was given for the upgraded Polo R WRC Street, but it should be a fair bit faster than the standard hatchback, which goes from 0-100 km/h in 6.4 seconds.

Applying the stage IV upgrade kit, which costs 10,200 euros (RM45,025) and the Polo R WRC Street will unleash its new potential, hitting a new top speed of 280 km/h. Put in additional cash and Wimmer will throw in a set of 17-inch OZ wheels, a KW coilover suspension and a K&N air filter.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Same L0rr on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:59 am

420HP? Still bad RV in Malaysia..

• Heaven on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:52 pm

Go hide behind your nippon masters’ skirt, you little ‘Running Dog’. Your ancestors must be turning in their graves for your betrayal

• Retro on Apr 19, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Why bother hanging around this car enthusiast site if all you care about is RV. U might as well hang around some kiasu car salesmen clubs

• Driver on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:33 am

420 hp 480 nm torque fwd ? How to handle oh

• Lembu Jinni on Apr 19, 2016 at 11:44 am

Does the upgrade kit includes Electronic Limited Slip Differential? Otherwise you will just waste the front tires with lots of white smoke!

• Nice,tmr send my Polo 1.6 to him.

• Josh Ling on Apr 19, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Does every unit come with that distracting and meaningless livery? if yes, then sorry, not my type of car.