Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo teased by Honda Malaysia

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 10.49.01 AM

Honda Malaysia has launched a new Ride The Dream teaser website for the new Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo, which gives us a glimpse at what the upcoming C-segment sedan will offer in terms of specifications.

The first slide teases the Civic 1.5 Turbo’s LED headlamps and daytime running lights. These headlamps are one spec up compared to the halogen projector headlamps that might be offered on non-turbo variants of the car in Malaysia.

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 10.49.17 AM

Next up is of course the engine – a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT gearbox that produces 173 hp and 220 Nm of torque. The C-segment is filled with downsized turbocharged engines, but they are all European cars (Jetta, 408, Focus). This will be the first Japanese C-segment sedan to come with such a powertrain.

We recently ran a video from the Thai market comparing the 1.5 Turbo variant against a Civic with a normally aspirated 141 hp, 174 Nm 1.8 litre engine – watch it here.

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 10.49.46 AM

The rest of the specs featured include an eight-way adjustable power seat, six airbags, VSA electronic stability control, an electric parking brake, auto brake hold, and an Walk Away Auto Lock feature that automatically locks your car when you walk away from it.

Last but not least, there’s also a remote engine start feature which should be useful when you want to start the engine and air conditioning to cool down the car before you reach it.

Registration for interest is open, so visit the Ride The Dream microsite and click the red “I Share The Same Dream” button to sign up.

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Turbo RS in Thailand

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 EL in Thailand
GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic 1.8 E in Thailand
GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic with Modulo accessories in Thailand
GALLERY: Australian-spec Honda Civic

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mr w205 on May 01, 2016 at 11:36 am

No need to tease. Everyone already knows the car… just launch it honda malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 11
    • Operation Manager on May 01, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Everyone even know the least powerfull engine compared: Honda 1.5T 220Nm (1)Jetta 1.4TSI 240Nm, (2)Focus 1.5Ecoboost 240Nm, (3)Mazda3 2.0 210Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
      • Albert Peria on May 01, 2016 at 6:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 162
        • Muniandy Periasamy on May 01, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Where is Najib’s Promise to reduce car prices? Is Rm150k very affordbale to people? Maybe to someone who has sapu RM2.6 billion, RM150k is small money. To most of us, RM150k is life time of savings.

Honda is owned by DRB aka crony GLC. It is up to the Government to reduce the price of this car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
          • Toyota can really drop their underwear this time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
          • Welcome back! And oh yeah. Forrester from RM211k to Rm 145k. 31% price down. Mana excuse RBA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
          • Sam L0r on May 02, 2016 at 10:25 am

Mass turbo breakdown and recall awaiting. NA still most reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
          • Hyundai 1.6 - 204 hp on May 02, 2016 at 12:53 pm

Not impressed with honda anymore. Even hyundai can do 204 hp and 265nm torque from a 1.6 in the Elantra. The Japanese no more special. The vtec is no more special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
        • Turbocor on May 01, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Welcome civic turbocor!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Operation Manager on May 01, 2016 at 8:30 pm

Rm130k in Msia, Rm68k in AUS. Msia Mazda 3 from rm106k, Jetta rm90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • milk the poorfag on May 03, 2016 at 11:57 am

Please gahmen reduce car price for Honda Civic become RM70k and i don’t mind raised roadtax to RM3/cc and impose additional petrol tax at RM2/L!!

• Yea u realize the Jetta is actually a promo price to sell old stock rite from last year???

• Just saying on May 02, 2016 at 2:02 am

Do you know that Sarawak is having election? Maybe this is the reason why it is rm1.70

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
          • bukan bangla on May 02, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Haha ha .. you don’t need to say do you know..

Everyone knew it before you ask..

• john is otak batu on May 01, 2016 at 8:40 pm

Jetta 1.4??!!! Pls stop helping VW on lying to consumers..sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
        • justsomepissedoffdude on May 02, 2016 at 2:29 am

So you don’t even know the engine offered for the jetta in malaysia yet you want to come and argue here? SMH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • john is otak batu on May 03, 2016 at 11:17 am

Yea, but I know 2 years old/30,000km TSI pistons cracked

• Did you know mitsubishi also lied? All car manufacturers lied la bro dont be so dumb wtf… do not reproduce please…

• Powerful Car on May 02, 2016 at 9:00 am

Jetta is 1.4, 160hp 240nm.. At high speed of 256km/h also very stable no problem..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
          • Is more stable if it wears 17″ or 18″ ll

• Bob_B78 on May 03, 2016 at 10:58 am

Stock can’t reach that speed and because the weight of the car, high speed is definitely stable.

• Ong Chee Boon on May 02, 2016 at 10:13 am

Seriously John, please do some research before even starting any argument here. You are making yourself an embarrassment in PaulTan.org

Jetta’s engine is 1.4 TSI. Same as my golf 1.4 TSI. Can’t even do a simple google check eh?

Btw what VW has lied is about diesel emission test results. Irrelevant to this TSI thing.

Jetta TSI is one of the best selling model by VW across countries due to its space and versatility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
          • samtowtruck on May 02, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Buy Jetta I will gip free 3 years free towing service. T&C applied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • 7km/l on May 02, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Jetta 1400cc but drinks fuel like lembu minum air

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Bob_B78 on May 03, 2016 at 11:02 am

samtowtruck, tow truck is free if your car is still under warranty.

7km/l, if heavy foot your car all the time, of course will drink fuel like lembu. This applies to all type of cars.

• one front bulb passat c.c. if blew or malfunction cost you RM1.3k right.. just one bulb. somebody..?

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on May 01, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Why do you people only ever talk about power but not weight?!

• Bob_B78 on May 01, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Power figures does not tell everything. Off the line about 7 seconds is no slouch. Probably the fastest among all mentioned above

• strange on May 01, 2016 at 10:56 pm

u said power, but u are listing torque instead? Honda 1.5T 173 horsepower vs Jetta 1.4 TSI 158 horsepower, Focus 1.5 Ecoboost 178 horsepower, Mazda3 2.0 162 horsepower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Anyone drives turbo car will know it needs both HP and NM to measure against its weight to determine the performance la.

• Levin on May 06, 2016 at 4:41 pm

So you can read the brochure? Good job! You deserve a pat on your back. However, this will be “news” for you, sir. Check out this real world dyno test on the 2016 Civic 1.5 Turbo tested and verified by Hondata tuning company: https://youtu.be/-t30I6DBdiU
        News for you, the Civic 1.5T pumps out 177HP (at the wheels/WHP) with a whooping 190lb-ft or about 257Nm.
        Looks like everyone knows now…

• Raja Bocor on May 01, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Better than CFE turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 01, 2016 at 4:50 pm

I am a nightmarer, with the nightmare that rebadging the OLD Accord comes with heavy criticism from Paul Tan followers that can’t be missed.

• Viosfan on May 02, 2016 at 4:27 am

Junk engine. 1nzfe is much better. Can do 350Nm

• myvipower on May 02, 2016 at 9:11 pm

My car can always fly to overtake Jetta Civic Focus Gti

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 129
        • john is otak batu on May 01, 2016 at 9:04 pm

“Talk-cock” lah… $140k of what?
          Air liur! Balik tunggang ko punya kacai ler!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Ahahaha! Looks like dear Albert Yong has to retreat his Samy dupe and bring back RBA john to pitifully create hate against me. Anyways welcome RBA! We missed u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • justsomepissedoffdude on May 02, 2016 at 2:31 am

Here ladies and gentlemen is the definition of “lips glued so hard to an ass that you can’t see anything else but the ass”…
          Malaysian car prices cheapest in the world.. top cake man.. bravo

• John2 on May 02, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Wow…140K is cheap.. No wonder i can afford 2 landcruiser worth rm680.. U only can afford 140K? Haha.. Seems like 9 years loan and 10%dp..

• Mercfan on May 01, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Baik beli used c200 kompressor can do 270Nm

• Muniandy Periasamy on May 01, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Rm150k for a small C class sedan? Don’t talk about the 1.5 Turbo engine. RM150k to most Malaysians is ridiculous. In US, 1.5 Turbo Civic is US$24k. Without calculating to ringgit, US$24k is considered small money. Even the kuli who sapu leaves on the roadside earns US$24k per annum. that is how small US$24k is in US.

In Malaysia RM150k is huge money. Amongst the car buyers, only say 10% of car buyers can afford RM150k. So, why is this car so expensive? Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%??

Before the lection, Najib promised to reduce car prices by 30% if Malaysians voted for BN. Najib went on record to say he was 100% sure to reduce car prices and he said BN always kept their word. He said BN never cheated people at all.

3 years have passed and we see car prices going higher and higher. Nearly all car brands raised their prices more than RM5000. Already car prices are such a big burden to all of us, somemore car prices have gone higher.

Government lies to us saying it is up to the brands to lower car prices. But the truth is, nearly every car company in Malaysia is owned by the Malaysian Government. BMW by Sime Darby GLC, Honda by DRB GLC, Hyundai by Sime Darby GLC, Toyota by UMW GLC etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 16
      • Forrester Rm211k to Rm145k. 31% price down. cukur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
        • Aiyoh John on May 03, 2016 at 9:33 am

Aiyoh John… 215 is for XT lar…Diff specs. You are comparing apple dengan orange.

• No one said that Najibs promise must be the same exact car. A Forrester is a Forrester, and not comparing it with XV.

So its still apple to apple (just Granny Smith to Fuji).

• John is otak batu on May 02, 2016 at 1:09 pm

I will not buy any new car since 45% of the price is actually going to the government. If civic is 140k, trust me 60k will go to Najib.

And he still wants us to pay toll, high petrol price and GST. Fuc*Ed left and right, top and bottom. Dem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • digidigi on May 01, 2016 at 11:42 am

pretty well spec, no autonomous braking is expected
    so 130k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • 155k also affordable. But you must work hard like me. I can buy 155k anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 61
        • People who cannot afford RM155k are just pure lazy in life. Come on, payments only RM1800 a month. You mean you cannot afford RM1800 per month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 81
        • John2 on May 02, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Again.. 155K? Haha..i can buy 20 155K car cash easily..

• Nissan on May 01, 2016 at 3:16 pm

City also got rear aircond vent but this Civic big brother don’t have? Apa logic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • Tarabacapunya org on May 01, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Dia tulis situ more revelation to come. Aiya. Tara baca ka?

• idealtech on May 01, 2016 at 7:46 pm

You papa your mama your uncle your neighbour cars didnt even have rear aircond, weirdly they lived longer than most youngsters. Not to mention smarter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • P2macai on May 01, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Memang tak logik

• camtakpro on May 02, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Asian logic.

• HondaLover on May 03, 2016 at 9:43 am

This civic have rear aircond vent for malaysia market.

Please wait the details brouchure from HondaMalaysia

• Ahmad on May 01, 2016 at 11:45 am

How about d price….mampu tgk….wait 4 d 2nd and

• live within your means. If you can afford kancil, just buy kancil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
      • Same 'Hailux' Loo on May 02, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Well said. Be like Same Loo, buy Saga for his son although himself is ‘long service’ UMW Toyota salesman (if he say he got Camry, that car is actually FOC from his ‘beloved’ company for their long serving staff, try buying Camry from own money, that one is different story).

• Rohan on May 01, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Aiyaaaaa electronic parking brake……how to drift?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
  • digidigi on May 01, 2016 at 12:24 pm

seems like no rear aircon vent for thai spec turbo, now 35c everyday, big let down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Zeubayr on May 01, 2016 at 12:53 pm

So sad……no Honda Sensing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Xiang on May 01, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Its just below 130k, they priced it just below accord

• policeman on May 01, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Buyers, please call me when you’re by the roadside due to CVT failure. I’ll come over and take a selfie with you and your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • john is otak batu on May 01, 2016 at 8:46 pm

Oh yeah, we will call u!. Pls don’t keep quiet & give us ur actual phone numnber!

• policeman on May 01, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Question…

If you switch off the air conditioning when you exit your vehicle, would it automatically turn on when you remote start the engine?

• So where r the bashers that said Gov wun allow HM to bring in Civic turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • Levin on May 10, 2016 at 3:14 pm

This one?
      http://paultan.org/2016/01/05/honda-rd-chief-defines-future-powertrain-direction-turbo-engines-not-likely-for-majority-of-sea-markets/

• walk away auto lock this feature last year already have it in mazda 2 la, it’s not fresh anymore, even mazda it self also dint promote this point to sale their car lol

• Mazda force you to pay 5k more to get the LED headlights and DRL.

• before mazda2 lunching, every1 bising said no DRL, bla bla and some stupid ppl also aid rather to pay more to get the DRL , ok so mazda decide to release DRL , and still got stupid jump out and said mazda force them to pay extra 5k for DRL ? what a joke, are this malaysian attitude?

• Industry-insider on May 01, 2016 at 2:10 pm

no honda sensing. all gimmick features.
    but many honda rice boys gonna buy

• Will only consider buying if Honda sensing is included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Nice car. Enthusiastic malaysian surely squeeze more out of it factory output. Been a while since paul tan write anything…

• ColaBear on May 01, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Hope the price will below Focus EcoBoost

• Sam Loo on May 01, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Just a piece of shit, just like a toyota, price not suit with spec. Not even a luxury car, ah beng god car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Eddin on May 01, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Mehhh. The interior looks outdated already. smh Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr (Member) on May 01, 2016 at 4:40 pm

I’ll be surprised if they can sell it at 130k considering the Thai version costs 131k after conversion and usually for our price we will have to top up 10k on top of their price. HM will have to do some magic to get a good price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Mimau on May 01, 2016 at 4:55 pm

i hope Msians don’t treat these engines like 4G63T lol

• craig27 on May 01, 2016 at 4:58 pm

That engine bay is a mess -.-‘

• crash on May 01, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Doesn’t matter if the engine is powerful and get good fuel economy. Come on, nobody looks at the engine bay everyday don’t you ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • cover on May 02, 2016 at 11:26 am

agreed, why not cover it up with proper cover?

• Fadilah on May 01, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Selling at RM80k in 90% of the countries worldwide. But thanks to Ah Pek M Proton, Malaysians can buy this beauty at only RM268,888. Cheap cheap only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • tok adi on May 01, 2016 at 5:22 pm

i have sense that someone will upload their proud video series of, civic 1.5 turbo tapau nissan gtr, civic 1.5T rembat la ferrari, new civic turbo smoke lambo kaw2 bla,bla, bla…

• camtakpro on May 03, 2016 at 7:18 am

Then after that probably will have loads of people complaining CVT overheat. lol.

• This is the bare minimum specifications that all cars sold in Malaysia should be. Nothing to shout about. While in other countries, people showcase about newer active safety feature, we are stuck with airbag count and LED DRL as an outstanding features. Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • In MY we still have pipu talk about how much coffin we can get out of our car as compared to better safety features.
      So cant fault makers to gip what the consumer wants, a better valued coffin for whole famili

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • I think it’s sad that having 6 airbags is something to shout about in Malaysia. In developed countries, it’s EXPECTED.

• nabill (Member) on May 02, 2016 at 1:19 pm

but we ARE NOT DEVELOPED , deal with it !

• Carmakers LOVE people like you who apologise on behalf of them and take whatever crap they throw at us.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 02, 2016 at 12:10 am

Suprima S better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • bukapintubayartol on May 02, 2016 at 2:46 am

I wonder if Hyundai will launch the Elantra Sport 1.6 Turbo here. That thing will have 200hp. Will make an interesting comparison.

• cendol (Member) on May 02, 2016 at 9:15 am

The price can’t be more expensive than Basic Honda Accord 2.0 right.

• civic go on May 02, 2016 at 9:38 am

the car interior looks dirty… -_-
    anyone has 0-100KM acceleration time?

• malaysia car standard car price bracket irregardless of quality of parts/import/export actual cost of manufacturing…

non malaysian car brand
    80-90k
    100k-130k
    130k-150k

we can see their prices always drop into these few brackets…

• Pai86 on May 02, 2016 at 10:04 am

Should I just buy mazda3 now or wait for this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • coconut on May 02, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Mazda3 has nice interior and quality as well. I believe skyactiv technology is good…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 02, 2016 at 7:40 pm

Buy a NA engine car. Turbo don’t last in Malaysian hot & sudden wet weather. The maintenance is also way higher vs NA engines. Unless you plan to sell the turbo car within 3 yrs….do some research in the use car list & you will see what I’m talking about.

• Loler on May 02, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Later you complain pulak why this car is so crampy, lol

• takNakP1 on May 02, 2016 at 9:39 pm

skyactive good. my concern is low profile tire & 18″ rim.

• tested 1.5 ecoboost, damn damn nice torque and handling, will trade in my wife old mazda 2 for it ….tested x-trail 2.5 NA cvt, it is like kura-kura…

• karam singh on May 02, 2016 at 1:14 pm

How many John are there actually all in all? Including otak batu?

• Well, theres me (that luv to troll the trolls), theres a more level-headed one but he sometimes come in, and then theres my RBA clonetroopers who try to smear me by talking bollocks. Some knows him as Albert Yong.

• Peria=albert=samelorrrf on May 02, 2016 at 8:44 pm

All commenters here are one person

• Mr am on May 02, 2016 at 2:50 pm

Ikut kemampuan masingmasing. Tk mampu just lihat. Mampu + minat then go buy la .

• anakmalaysia on May 02, 2016 at 6:26 pm

everybody knows what the reality is and still ther are people voting and supporting them …. s#sayaanakmalaysia

• Thaiboy on May 02, 2016 at 7:48 pm

All colors are available in Thailand now i kinda like the silver since there are so many on the road surely in 1 or 2 years time i can come across a used one, i can wait, new car tax here is high

• takNakP1 on May 02, 2016 at 9:50 pm

if i were to get a turbo, i would consider a simple 6 speed manual, AWD, mechanical hand brake with minimal fancy dashboard & interior & a 2 door hatch.

• Adui. Come out from under the coconut shell lar bro.