Volkswagen Vento launched – facelifted Polo Sedan, 1.2 TSI, DSG, ESP; RM80,646 to RM94,461

VW_Vento_Highline_Ext-18

Volkswagen Group Malaysia has pulled the wraps off the facelifted Polo Sedan, now rechristened the Volkswagen Vento. The refreshed B-segment sedan comes with a revised look, a new engine and transmission option and a revised kit list.

The range has now been fragmented into three models, starting with the Trendline model, priced at RM80,646, while the Comfortline is priced at RM87,646. At the top sits the Highline, which retails at RM94,461. Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance. Additionally, early-bird buyers will also be able to enjoy an RM2,000 cash rebate, bringing the entry price down to RM78,635.

Exterior changes include a larger grille with three chrome slats, a redesigned front bumper and bonnet, rectangular fog lights, new tail light graphics, a reprofiled rear bumper and chrome bars on the rear bumper and bootlid. These revisions give the Vento a markedly different look compared to the Polo hatch.

Also fitted are twin round beam halogen headlights that were used on the initial CBU Polo Sedan and 1.2 TSI hatch, replacing the simpler rectangular units introduced on the previous CKD models. Trendline and Comfortline models retain the 15-inch ‘Riverside’ seven-spoke alloy wheels, while the Highline steps up to 16-inch ‘Syenit’ five-twin-spoke alloys with a two-tone machined finish.

VW_Vento_Highline_Ext-20

Inside, the changes are more minor, limited to a new silver finish for the centre console. The Mk7 Golf-style flat-bottomed steering wheel – with phone controls on the right spoke – had already been introduced on the updated Polo Sedan last year.

The standard powertrain remains the 1.6 litre MPI naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine which develops 105 PS at 5,250 rpm and 153 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. As before, it’s mated to an Aisin-sourced six-speed automatic transmission.

Biggest news is the 1.2 litre TSI turbocharged mill on the Highline model – last seen on the CBU Polo 1.2 TSI hatch, it too makes 105 PS but at just 5,000 rpm, while torque has swelled to 175 Nm, made between 1,550 and 4,100 rpm. It’s mated to a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission.

The Trendline model is the new base model in the range – compared to the previous sole Polo Sedan grade, it loses out on fog lights, a height-adjustable front armrest, chrome interior highlights, leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob, Climatronic auto air-con, cruise control and Bluetooth connectivity (it gets just a 220G radio/CD player with USB and AUX-in instead).

It still gets auto up and down power windows on all four doors, reverse sensors, 60:40 split-folding rear seats and a tilt and telescopic adjustable steering wheel; the ‘Cloud’ fabric upholstery is new on the Vento. The missing items have been usurped by the Comfortline, which also gets a chrome highlight along the front air intake and a 350G radio/CD player with iPod connectivity, while the Highline adds ‘Cable’ fabric upholstery.

Safety-wise, all models get ABS, brake assist, ISOFIX child seat anchors and an Intelligent Crash Response System (ICRS). The Trendline loses side airbags, dropping the airbag count to just two. Comfortline and Highline retain four airbags, but only the range-topping model gets stability control and hill-hold assist. The company says that with this, the Highline is eligible for a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.

As with all Volkswagen cars in Malaysia, the Vento comes with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and a five-year mobility guarantee. Available colours include Candy White and Flash Red solid paint and Reflex Silver, Carbon Steel and Deep Black metallic paint.

You can use CarBase.my to compare all three Volkswagen Vento specs.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Vento 1.6 Comfortline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Vento 1.2 TSI Highline

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• owner on May 19, 2016 at 11:11 am

Hope it comes with free 24/7 tow car services & courtesy car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 16
    • hailthepurist on May 19, 2016 at 11:24 am

DSG sucks globally..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
      • Same L00 on May 19, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Better buy 2 cars in a row. If one break down, you still have another to drive. When the second one break down, the first one probably repaired and the cycle continue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
      • JB_KIA on May 19, 2016 at 9:39 pm

UBER cars!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • VW Mechanics in Malaysia are not fully trained, they just assumed …what leads to the actual fault they don’t care/know .. all they know is to change new parts ..if possible change the whole new engine even better for them.
        Another problem is someone exchanged my original back lights in the workshop without knowing after 2 months .. it’s terrible…and now I hv to bear with it with one faded back lights ..so ugly.
        Careful to all owners to check the lights before taking it back from the workshop …

• mini-Passat LOLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • A 2015 New Jetta is only RM88k. Why buy this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…nothing special about this car…puihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Stay away from DSG.. Please!!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 11:20 am

vw vento. we have made the vw “car masuk workshop” experience more affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 18
    • knn la, high spec also no DRL, so kiamsiap. Both ESC and DRL is a must in 2016.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • jim labu on May 19, 2016 at 9:38 pm

“Hey dude, where’s your new car? Haven’t seen it for a while…”
      “Biasa la, vento workshop already…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • ProtonGSC on May 19, 2016 at 11:20 am

1.2 engine with starting price RM 77,888. One word expensive for a “world scandal brand”. CEO must be sleeping and still day dreaming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 57
  • Gracke on May 19, 2016 at 11:22 am

Nice!! Mini PASSAT look..!!! and performance :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Vento Box on May 20, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Wow, you get a cheap old tech 1.6 or a 1.2 TSI with a plague gearbox, but i got to admit the price is good though….

VW Malaysia will give discount year end…They the people brand like BN giving Br1m

• isengard12 on May 19, 2016 at 11:22 am

No stability control across all Ventos.. booooooooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • farghmee on May 19, 2016 at 11:39 am

only 95k then u get ESP?
      bad move….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Nobody bats an eye when vios do that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Its worse. Vios dun even have ESC in the topkek TRD ah beng spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
      • Wisecracker on May 19, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Who said nobody? Are u new to paultan.org? When the current gen vios was launched, ppl literally fling poop @ each other in the section comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • And yet 300k pipu dun wan listen to us and still buy moving coffins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • RavenAii (Member) on May 21, 2016 at 11:58 pm

Because all those pipu probably owned a Toyota.

• Whatever without ESP at trendline and comfort line,but the handling still a lot better then vios,city and almera

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Kipas angin on May 19, 2016 at 1:45 pm

But more stable than any honda with satbility control bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Pengguna Bijak on May 19, 2016 at 11:23 am

Better give 10 years warranty. Or best, life time warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • too free to check stupid comment on May 19, 2016 at 1:33 pm

give you 10 years of warranty you also wont buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • chocobo7779 on May 19, 2016 at 11:28 am

So… why would I pick this over the Mazda2/City?

Only the range topping model gets ESP, and the pricing is not that attractive either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on May 19, 2016 at 12:05 pm

German car brand, so makes you feel like driving Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
      • Car Explode on May 19, 2016 at 12:56 pm

get lost lousy car audi what di di.
        Honda way better,coming soon Civic will again thrash all germany nazi cars back to the nazi country like City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • Rohan on May 19, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Same as banzai japanese potong kapla…..go back japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • orchard on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:19 pm

not banzai, Kamikaze car, boomm potong kapala at 80kmh

• Don’t want to die in Honda’s explosive airbags leh, or be seen dying in one either.

• Car Explode on May 19, 2016 at 12:52 pm

of course Honda City.
      Happily driving one of the best selling car in Malaysia.
      Get lost mazda and germany cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
      • Kipas angin on May 19, 2016 at 2:00 pm

I like honda, but i never like their suspension.. sucks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Ilikematrempit on Jun 15, 2016 at 4:00 am

gay like honda, like attention

• liechot on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:23 pm

you just took my word bro, gay like those shinning2 thing so piupil turnhead

• Get into Facebook and search for Honda Malaysia Complaints. Happy reading

• Go to Facebook and search for VW Malaysia Complaints which is even better. Happy reading!

• Wow soo shock after going thru the search for Honda Malaysia Complaints in facebook….now Honda drop to VW Malaysia’s level already in customer services…..unbelievable, guess that what happened when huge growth of sales with limited service centre to cater to the sudden increase in volume….just like what happened to VW waayyy back in 2011-2013….huge volume of sales but limited amount of SC to handle the cars….

• India Vento MUCH better.Why always we getting lower spec?

• contender on May 19, 2016 at 11:37 am

Well at least they have kept the NA 1.6 engine 6 speed auto ….. to be honest it is decent car, solid and reliable for the Polo Sedan CBU.

Another story for the top spec 1.2TSI ….. remains to be seen whether the 7 speed DSG has been resolved. Would like to hear from real owners on the new batch of 7 speed DSG and not hear say or arm chair critics …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • BeemerFreak on May 19, 2016 at 12:17 pm

So far so good for a post 2012 7 speed DQ200. No juddering yet, and no breakdowns so far…2012 vw jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Neo4g63t on May 19, 2016 at 5:49 pm

112k km for my polo gti 1.4tsi with 7 speed dsg,no drivetrain problem yet,only abs sensor faulty once and radiator leakage due to some socket rubbing but all rectified and in good running condition. Lube oil consumption oso getting less and less as the mileage going up.

• rchoo on May 19, 2016 at 11:44 am

After launching straight away massive discount given in view of the massive discount carnival which is ongoing from Peugeot.

Mind you, Peugeot 308 is only at 94K and performance and features such much better even compared to the high line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • lolpanda on May 19, 2016 at 11:46 am

stick to the 1.6 NA mated with the 6-speed Aisin slushbox and you should be fine.

i know of 2 people who bought the Polo with this setup and haven’t seen any problems so far (over a year plus)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • seman on May 19, 2016 at 12:49 pm

i wonder why they can’t mate the 1.2 TSI & 6 speed Aisin GB?

• Too much torque for the Aisin, maybe

• francis on May 24, 2016 at 7:03 pm

http://www.aisin-aw.co.jp/en/products/drivetrain/lineup/index.html#AWF6F16

According to Aisin, the lowest spec gearbox should able to withstand at least 300Nm. Even the TSI just only managed to produced 175Nm..

• yeap, in US their TSI engine are using normal torque converter box…no dry clutch dsg7 there. Only wet clutch dsg sold in US. why?…my guess due to lawsuit if anything happened to the dry clutch dsg…

• Yup agreed…most 1.6 polo owner with the NA engine & torque converter aisin gearbox are happy with their cars. My office mate have been driving his polo sedan for more than 3 years without any problem, guess the 1.6 & aisin combo is a very reliable solution.

• Ben Yap on May 19, 2016 at 12:27 pm

what’s the acceleration time and top speed for the 1.2TSI?

• gaviny on May 19, 2016 at 12:45 pm

i see turbo with NO INTERCOOLER.

superb clever cost saving from VW, good luck stupid fella suffering from overheated charge air 36 degrees ambient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • they put air to water intercooler at the intake port.thats why it look like no intercooler

• TKhengong on May 19, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Why buy this Vento when you can get the much bigger Jetta at RM88K or Passat at RM108K? You still get TSI and DSG! Anyway, for those buying, just be mindful there may be another episode of DROP EVERYTHING SALES; rendering your Vento worthless at resale value that is insufficient to cover your bank loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • All sold out lah. Awal bulan Mei, gua pergi tanya beberapa tempat pun sudah takde stok. Tinggal demo units je.

• Dear VW, why is the power & troque from your 1.2L turbo engine is worst off than Ford 1.0 Ecoboost. That is why you failed to win best engine award nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • gaviny on May 19, 2016 at 2:15 pm

no intercooler ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Najib PM on May 20, 2016 at 8:51 am

Ford 1.0 is a 3 cylinder while VW 1.2 Tsi is a 4 cylinder.
      Have you owned a Kelisa before? It’s a 3 cylinder engine and engine vibrate like hell until steering wheel causing your arm pain. Engine mounting also very expensive Rm300/piece and need to “turun engine” to change it.

• Whyyy it look sooo borriingggg…??!!! Gosshhh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • VW designs are always conservative but manly and practical. It’s cool.

• Dont bother with VW… the amount of headache it brings you is not worth the car at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • sEngz on May 19, 2016 at 1:48 pm

bravo Volkswagen Malaysia, you have just joined the ranks of UMW Toyota Malaysia by believing that safety of owners of lower range consumers can be compromised by omitting stability control and side airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • ColaBear on May 19, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Does it come with free maintenance service?

• The tail looks like proton saga, only wider.

• Compare with India Vento spec…

http://www.volkswagen.co.in/en/models/vento/variants.html

Many,many things missing.

• I think for 95K otr with insurance , better get Mazda 2 , which is the same price . has better interior . more tech .

• Crusher on May 19, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Currently I hv a Polo Tsi with dsg, where a lot ppl comment on this gb. Touch wood, the gearbox is working good. Reaching 10k km soon. I guess some of ppl here may saying just wait you clocked higher then tell my experience. My car low mileage is due to I only drive it in my town. I’m living in a small town but most of the time I’m waiting inside my car. Sometimes I am idling the car without moving it in more than half an hour and this has sufficient to heat up the engine and gearbox, compare with the car is moving. So far I don’t face any problem from the gearbox as well as the air cond. still cool enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • malaysian on May 19, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Just wondering, how old is the car?

• waters on May 19, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Are you driving your care or living in it?

• Polo1.2TSIowner on May 19, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Just wait bro. I was just like you until it really happen..

• Crusher on May 20, 2016 at 10:27 am

I’ll wait. My first VW was a MK6 GTi in 2010. I sold it and I replace with a Tiguan in 2012 and have it till now. My bro, used to hv a Mk6 R and sold it few weeks ago due to find another car. None of us got a problem with the DSG.
        Well, I believe that buying a car is depends on luck. Some have a lot of mechanical faluire, some hv electronics. I could said VW is the best car, in my life I hv driven a lot of cars. We can’t compare the car price with other countries. What we should compare is the similar platform of the car. For the Polo platform, we could compare with Fiesta, Myvi, Swift, 206, Jazz etc. I can tell that except Fiesta, Polo quality build beat all of them, especially Japanese car. My wife is a car nerd, when I brought her to test drive Jazz, she questioned me “why do you bring me to see a plastic box”… sorry no offence to Jazz owner her, just want to know that bringing a card nerd to view the car, u could listen their naïve advise which is without prejudice. I brought her to Ford, can’t deny the car is nicer than polo. Size bigger, more solid, cheaper roadtax, similar power and cheaper price. The only thing I reject the car is the sales person gave me a bad image to represent their car.

• Vento Box on May 20, 2016 at 12:21 pm

Yeah right bro, so you saying all the bad reviews are haters?

Have you seen VW Malaysia facebook?

These Europeans brand make great cars but their support for the Asean market sucks as they still see us as the 3rd world. Fact.

• I’m sure it puts a smile on your face each time you drive it right? This is something which the non-continental car owners would never ever understand.

• Ikan bilis on May 20, 2016 at 9:26 am

He probably never drive the car….lol

• Crusher on May 20, 2016 at 10:38 am

Oh sometimes, depends on my mood. There’s no perfect car, polo tsi can’t give me 100% satisfaction yet.

• getrübt on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:32 pm

usually it started at 20k you’re half the way, hearimg from you soon

• Said No to VW on May 19, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Start selling new model with RM2k discount. Ha-ha…. Showing that VW Malaysia not even have confidence on their new model.

10years warranty also will not help compensate your personal time spend on getting the car in out of service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Das Autar on May 19, 2016 at 3:49 pm

Still believe with Hoaxwagen? Many more potential victims soon squeezing their cars into service centers. Be ready to “Buy and Regret” if you plan to own one of their lemon product. Don’t say people never warn you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • putra_rider on May 19, 2016 at 5:15 pm

1.2 Underpower la..hahaha
    iriz is better ..wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Kipas angin on May 19, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Perasan

• ong chee boon vw con-man on May 19, 2016 at 11:31 pm

eh…hentam only..,Read article properly lah.. ur comment makes u looks like kapcai_rider only

• Under powered? You obviously never even try driving a Volkswagen before….. especially their tsi engine….

• Aero (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 5:19 pm

It’s good that they raised the safety specs with the Vento… 6 airbags + ESC is a big jump from the previous Polo Sedan for almost the same price. But it’s still disappointing how they were unwilling to make ESC standard fit… the airbags, I can understand, but not the ESC.

Whatever it is, good luck VGM, you guys are going to need it.

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 6:41 pm

only 4 airbags, there is no 6 airbags across the range

• Aero (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 7:26 pm

I stand corrected. Thanks for pointing it out. I must have misread somewhere.

• All cars manufacturer selling no ESP as standard should die and close down

• Sammy Loo on May 19, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Stay away from Highline at all cost, 7 speed dry clutch DSG gearbox is a tried and tested failure gearbox in Malaysia climate.

Both non turbo version has got no ESC, it is better to get the sushi B-segment sedans than this german junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Polo1.2TSIowner on May 19, 2016 at 8:26 pm

Stay awayyyyy you have been warned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • It's a Hoaxwagen on May 19, 2016 at 9:44 pm

You had been warned many times. VW now are being charged with hybrid patent infringement on-top of their dieselgate scandals. Buying a Hoaxwagen?

• autodriver (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 10:36 am

I am really really doubt how on earth vw malaysia comes out with this suicide strategy.

The dry clutch gearbox itself is big no no to global and also msia market. Even if the newer version has improved and no issue on gearbox the image of this 7-speed dry clutch had tarnished the vw imagine.

Btw this car will not make any impact to the market and looking forward the new passat launched in near future. This vento is just a joke.

• Crusher on May 20, 2016 at 10:44 am

I own VW cars since 2010, just after cartrade.
    I can tell all the cars I bought b4, has no gearbox problem. There are some minor problem which could be solved. VW is a fun car to drive. Early models have a dry clutch problems due to the clutch oil turn to become a conductivity fluid when it gets hot. After VW has replaced to mineral oil, hardly to hear that the dry clutch gearbox got problem. Hardly means less, didn’t mean did not hv problem at all. As u know, all cars got problem and even MB or Toyota cars, they have gearbox issue too.

• getrübt on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:39 pm

am I missing something, just this week alone I saw one passat white color and a brand new shinning red polo stranded along federal highway while dont see any other car not even an old 30 years saga there?

• alex chan on May 20, 2016 at 12:10 pm

DSG gearbox issue is an overplayed statement by the same person using different nick names.
    DSG shift very fast and powerful, a car with same hp & torque will accelerate faster than the other one.
    ..love them..milleage is now 179,000km 3 years and running good.
    maybe when the milleage shows 999999km then..my DSG kaput

• Sammy Loo on May 21, 2016 at 2:29 am

7 speed dry clutch DSG is a proven failure in Malaysia (DQ200). If you are saying clocking close to 200k mileage on DQ250 or DQ500, then it is fine but it is not related to this DQ200 in the Polo TSI.

• ahbeng on Aug 12, 2016 at 2:41 pm

good luck you need it, please reply when you change you mind

• error on May 21, 2016 at 11:23 am

DSG aside, the ride quality was one of the best in the price range. It was quieter and more comfortable than a vios,city,P208, Almera and all the rest.
    But the DSG on the 1.2TSI and the 1.6 in the cheaper variant is enough to kill this car. The 1.6 eats more petrol than even the Proton Preve and the the DSG paired with the 1.2TSI is something that will make you sit in the service center constantly.

• The car should come with 1.4 TSI, 1.2TSI is too small

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:29 am

Hi Guys… the wait is over! Just in less than a year, Vento base model price dropped from early 80,688 to 62,888

Almost 18K discount!

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:37 am

It always never too late to buy a VW car! you will regret buy it earlier!

Record holder :

VW Passat
    2012 – MYR 173,888
    2016 – MYR 115,888
    Net drop = MYR58,000 or 33.5%