Graduates from Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s Apprentice Training Centre absorbed into after-sales workforce

MBM-ATC-graduates

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) yesterday celebrated the graduation of the 11th batch of its Apprentice Training Centre‘s Automotive Mechatronic training programme.

“As Mercedes-Benz celebrates our 130 Years of Innovation, we are very proud to witness these young talents who will continue the tradition of providing the ‘Best or Nothing’ experience to our customers. These graduates form the backbone of our network. We are confident that they will continue to ensure that customers have the very best experience each and every time they come in contact with the brand,” MBM president and CEO Dr Claus Weidner said n his keynote address.

Following three years of training, the ATC graduates are now qualified to provide after sales services to Mercedes-Benz customers, and will be assigned to MBM’s nationwide dealer network.

At the ceremony, 25 graduates received three certifications; Mercedes-Benz Automotive Mechatronic Training Certificate; Mercedes-Benz Qualified Maintenance Technician Certificate; and the National Dual Training System (NDTS) Certificate, which is equivalent to Malaysia Skills Certificate Level 3, recognised by the Department of Skills Development under the Ministry of Human Resources.

The Class of 2016 best student award was presented to Mohd Farhan Bin Mokhtar. “I am truly grateful to MBM for this career opportunity, and to our trainers for their dedication and guidance. I am looking forward to starting my career in the automotive industry, and intend to practise all that I have learnt during the Apprentice Training Programme to advance my career,” said the 24-year old from Alor Setar.

Over the last 13 years, MBM has invested more than RM30 million in developing the 55,000 sq ft ATC, located at Glenmarie, Shah Alam. The company also invests RM3 million annually for the implementation of the training programme. To date, 778 apprentices have graduated from the initiative.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ootai on Jun 02, 2016 at 6:18 pm

The more people buys 3 stars, the more secured the job for these guys.

• What about those from UiTM/Mara?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Learn English on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:37 am

After they graduate from MBM they still need to go for another English course bro

• Tak sama UiTM/MARA is full academic uni, whereas this Benz skool is more vocational.
        But Benz is stupid. MY pipu now hi keras dun wan do 3D job anymore. Very soon u will see this skool filled with Indon, Banglas, & nepals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • John is otak batu on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:46 am

Uitm doesn’t have automotive engineering course, but ikm and giat mara have. Both cater to the bottom end automotive students who had trouble with academic studies

• Same L00 on Jun 02, 2016 at 7:15 pm

I wonder when these graduates will be able to afford a Mercedes after years in working there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Congrats guys. Bright future awaits those of you who are prepared to work hard, committed to ever-improve your skills and possessed of the vision to make the leap to become business-owners and go beyond even that. Solid first step. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Anak Orang Kaya on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Ni semua anak2 org kaya..hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Hafriz’s car would be serviced by them :-D

• longjaafar on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:18 am

I wonder what other companies are doing about training their workers.
    For example, to service your Peugeot in Glenmarie, you have to make an appointment one month ahead.
    Not that quality of work is so great…

• hamtaro on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:46 am

10x better than working at Proton SC….

The technician at Proton SC are only trained to say “Biasa lah bro. Ini masalah standed bagi Proton. So takyah baiki lah”

• oh my english on Jun 03, 2016 at 2:59 pm

wonder if these freshmeats now how to get the engine oil level right. many ‘mechanics’ are still overfilling when they shouldn’t surpass Max oil level.

And English! please lah….these young people….can or not….?

• vocational edu on Jun 03, 2016 at 8:02 pm

with qualified and assessed skills like this, you can easily immigrate to Australia!